728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

The Custom Building Products VersaBond 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar is a professional formula, all-purpose mortar, polymer-modified to provide good bond strengths. VersaBond cures quickly and adheres to most surfaces. Suitable substrates include interior and exterior floors, countertops and walls.
Overall rating:
4.508 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product54 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product54 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Review 1 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ohio, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very good thin set for installing tile

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good open time and good adhesion. Product also dried quickly enough to safely grout the next day.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Orange County, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best all around thin-set mortar

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thin-set can be used in a shower install, over drywall on a back splash, or even on a sound plywood sub-straight. The additives in this thin-set give it excellent bond strength while still allowing flexibility that occurs during normal temperature fluctuation.
I have been using this thin-set for over 23 years and it is the best all around product I've found for setting tile bar none!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Richland Hills
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for tile install!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tiled my kitchen and breakfast area with 12x24 tiles and this product is wonderful to work with, easy directions to understand, application was smooth, color works great, cleans up easy as well. I did a lot of research and compared brands and for the price and durability I would highly recommend this product. Will be using it again in the near future!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 6th bath since 2002. I enjoy doing floors/walls in my home to save some money and as spare time projects. Versabond has been used in all 6 bath projects over the last 10 years in 2 homes.
I selected Versabond products due to the competitive pricing, ease of mixing and application, consistency of the product from bag to bag and in general......it does exactly what it says it will do with no guess work providing you follow the directions. The mold / mildew formula they incorporate into the product appears to work great in the moist environment of a bathroom.
I have also used Versabond products under Schuter Ditra as an underlayment over 3/4 T&G subfloors on 16" centers as well as over concrete substrate with EXCELLENT results. No squeaks, floor movement or tile/grout line cracks .
As with any DIY project, making sure the structure/floor/walls and any different substrate issues will support your tile project is CRITICAL. Adding additional screws to the floor, putting down a Hardiboard backer to strengthen the subfloor.........what ever it takes, spend the little extra now and make sure you don't cut corners because you will suffer the consequences later.
Mixing the product is another critical area as you don't want too much or too little water. Trowel size MUST be appropriate for the size of tiles you are using.
I know when the job is completed, the Versabond products, being the common denominator holding the tiles in place, will hold up without the need for a re-do in my lifetime!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ellicott City, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Straightforward Use

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is everything I expected it to be. The ease of use is typical of any thin set mortar. It has good consistent color, white in my case. The one thing I would have liked is directions for mixing less than a bag at a time, like what's the approximate water to mix ratio. It stayed in a workable form in the jobber bucket long enough for me to get all the tiles on the wall section and it set relatively quickly on the wall. I installed it over the Kerdi waterproofing membrane and it went really well. As with any of these type products, any drops or spillages should be immediately cleaned up before it sets. Clean up is easy as long as you do it before setting starts.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Thinset ont he market

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I lay tons of tile and I've tried lots of brands over the years. This one mixes up better then most, very little clumping and it's got amazing holding power, trust me I've layed tile for people and then they change their mind so trying to get that tile up is nearly impossible.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Uniontown, PA 15401, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixes and trowels easily. Excellent holding power.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a few dollars more than others, but no worries when using or after job is completed. You will not be disappointed.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Bonita Springs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good easy to use and mix

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product easy to mix great work time bonds well easy to clean
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from dublin, ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product worked really well. very impressed with how quickly it set and i had no problems
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

Good product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good quality product at reasonable price. It was a easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am just doing a bathroom counter top so I am mixing small amounts as needed. It is hard to mix smooth by hand, but I'm sure mixing a larger amount in a bucket with the right tool would get rid of that problem. I just set the tiles last night and the mortar is almost dry (has been less than 12 hours) and tiles seem to be very well bonded. I plan on grouting later this afternoon.
I'm sure the person who left the one star review saying the product did not bond forgot to wipe the back of the tile off before using it. NO mortar will stick to tiles that are not clean. ALWAYS make sure your tiles are free from dust and dirt by wiping them off with a damp sponge. Then they stick just fine :)
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Prosper Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to mix, no clumps. I like to use "like" colors for setting tile, obviously helps with clean-up. The white has been an reliable product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from SoCal Beach community
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For a couple of bucks more well worth it!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Versabond is just a couple of bucks more than the unbleached and more versatile when you have left over product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Santa fe,New mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best purchase ever

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Another great product from custom building products
Pros: Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Montgomery, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bonds to wood subfloor very well

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The one issue I am having is tiles popping up. I am using a 12 x 24 tile. So far I've laid about 300 sqft and the tiles are randomly popping up. I have since started back buttering and am not seeing the same problem. I have laid numerous floors and back splashes without the same issue.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from El Sobrante Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

versabond mortar

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We do a lot of tile in several apartment complexes and so far this product has done a fine job.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not good.did not work well on plywood. 80% did not stick

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stuck to tile but not plywood not recommend. Cost me a lot of time and money
Cons: did not stick to plywood
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

terrible

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
took way too long and never even got installed. long story.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Peachtree City
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Will only use Versabond

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works much better than other products I have used. Clean up, if needed, is easier after it has dried, just a little water and a brush
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Use

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and worked for the project that I was working on.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>