728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Setting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

The Custom Building Products VersaBond 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar is a professional formula, all-purpose mortar, polymer-modified to provide good bond strengths. VersaBond cures quickly and adheres to most surfaces. Suitable substrates include interior and exterior floors, countertops and walls.
Overall rating:
4.563 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product105 of 113reviews
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(86)
4
(24)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product105 of 113reviews
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 117 Answers
Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Review 1 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really strong mortar

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used this to hang stacked stone on a fireplace and it really did the trick. The stone was very heavy and this was strong enough to hold it on a column 9' high. It looks beautiful. It mixes really smooth and trowels on easily.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's all we use

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We exclusively use versabond on all of our installations, it's easy to work with, easy to mix, sets great, and sticks!!!! We install split face granite tile and versabond is perfect for our granite tiles!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Richland Hills
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for tile install!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tiled my kitchen and breakfast area with 12x24 tiles and this product is wonderful to work with, easy directions to understand, application was smooth, color works great, cleans up easy as well. I did a lot of research and compared brands and for the price and durability I would highly recommend this product. Will be using it again in the near future!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

Does the job

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used this thin set to lay 18x18 inch porcelain tiles in our kitchen. This was my first time laying tile and it came out beautifully. Word of advice, make small batches. The bag only gives directions on how much water to use with the entire bag, so be careful. I made small batches and created the consistency of thick peanut butter. Also, the estimated amount does not include back buttering the tiles so if you plan on doing this critical step, plan on buying more bags.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 6th bath since 2002. I enjoy doing floors/walls in my home to save some money and as spare time projects. Versabond has been used in all 6 bath projects over the last 10 years in 2 homes.
I selected Versabond products due to the competitive pricing, ease of mixing and application, consistency of the product from bag to bag and in general......it does exactly what it says it will do with no guess work providing you follow the directions. The mold / mildew formula they incorporate into the product appears to work great in the moist environment of a bathroom.
I have also used Versabond products under Schuter Ditra as an underlayment over 3/4 T&G subfloors on 16" centers as well as over concrete substrate with EXCELLENT results. No squeaks, floor movement or tile/grout line cracks .
As with any DIY project, making sure the structure/floor/walls and any different substrate issues will support your tile project is CRITICAL. Adding additional screws to the floor, putting down a Hardiboard backer to strengthen the subfloor.........what ever it takes, spend the little extra now and make sure you don't cut corners because you will suffer the consequences later.
Mixing the product is another critical area as you don't want too much or too little water. Trowel size MUST be appropriate for the size of tiles you are using.
I know when the job is completed, the Versabond products, being the common denominator holding the tiles in place, will hold up without the need for a re-do in my lifetime!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Orange County, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best all around thin-set mortar

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thin-set can be used in a shower install, over drywall on a back splash, or even on a sound plywood sub-straight. The additives in this thin-set give it excellent bond strength while still allowing flexibility that occurs during normal temperature fluctuation.
I have been using this thin-set for over 23 years and it is the best all around product I've found for setting tile bar none!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Tampa, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grout

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product absolutely stands up to everything the manufacture states. The nuetral color makes it even more appealing when it spreads beyond the grout joints, very easy to clean off. I also love the consistency, it mixes without lumps and spreads better than any other product I have worked with. I also like the fact that it spreads into the joints with ease, making me trust this product to hold up long after installation.
Sorry I can't provide a picture that was taken during installation. I didn't know at the time that it would be part of "A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND DOLLARS" survey.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good stuff

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
have purchased this product before, worked as expected.
Pros: Very Adhesive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Laredo, Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For great uses and very effective

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I have done several projects with no experience, all donde perfect as a professional. It does the job dryies well, no cracks, I have use it for a countertop, bond natural stone, I've done planters and I keep doing projects.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great, easy to use product.

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product mixes up well and predictably. If you use a drill mixer you can have no lumps and any thickness you want. I have tried other products and now I only use this one. I am a Master Plumber and use it in many different situations and it works well.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, easy to mix
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am just doing a bathroom counter top so I am mixing small amounts as needed. It is hard to mix smooth by hand, but I'm sure mixing a larger amount in a bucket with the right tool would get rid of that problem. I just set the tiles last night and the mortar is almost dry (has been less than 12 hours) and tiles seem to be very well bonded. I plan on grouting later this afternoon.
I'm sure the person who left the one star review saying the product did not bond forgot to wipe the back of the tile off before using it. NO mortar will stick to tiles that are not clean. ALWAYS make sure your tiles are free from dust and dirt by wiping them off with a damp sponge. Then they stick just fine :)
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

best mortar

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this mortar for over 20 years.
I'm contractor - remodeler.
This is the best mortar to use for the floor tile installation.
Strong, quick drying, easy to work with material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ohio, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very good thin set for installing tile

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good open time and good adhesion. Product also dried quickly enough to safely grout the next day.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from dallas, texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just as described. Great results.

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Mix per instructions and you have no problem. Dried within 24 hrs.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Odessa, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very reliable purchase

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is not the first time I buy this product at Home Depot and the reason I keep buying it is because of the quality of the product and the results I get every time I use it. I recommend this product to all of my friends.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome thinset

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent product but a little pricey. Used more than a hundred bags because I used this product to also level the concrete floor at the same time while tiling. After trying to remove a tile that was not leveled, I knew then that this product is awesome. Removing the tile was a monumental task and when I hit the porcelain tile with a 5lb hammer, it bounced off. So I used a chisel to crack the tile first but that was also difficult. This stuff sticks really good so if you are intending to use the same bucket again, clean it before it hardens. Once it hardens it's too late unless you want to waste your time trying to remove it. Also used it to install shower tiles vertically up a wall and no problems holding. I'm sold on this product and would not use anything else to set tile. Also used Red guard to prime and water proof the concrete slab prior to tiling. So probably both product go hand in hand according to these products company. Good stuff I recommend these products and intend to buy more in the future.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Aurora, CO

Terrific Bonding

PostedOctober 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this product to lay my 18X18 kitchen tiles and it worked beautifully. Sets up quickly so don't spread out too much product.
I have been laying tiles for years and this is the product for floor tiles!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time Female tile installator !

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like doing things around my house but don't have anyone for advice. And people who know the info don't want to share for free. So I buy off line using the reviews for everything. I love reviews and appreciate people who do them. I bought this thin set by reading these reviews as well. It was my first time ever installing ceramic tiles in my kitchen. I watched videos, read instructions and spoke to extremely surprised people in home depot. The water ratio is about 3 water to 4 parts of thin set. Put cold water and then add 1 part of thin set, then mix. Then add second part of thin set, then mix and so on. If you add all at once it will have clumps and pieces and will not be uniform. As per previous reviews it it very hard to mix by hand. It is true. But even if small pieces are unmixable the stuff still works. 3 cups water to 4 cups thin set give you enough for 6 12x12 tiles to be put in one time. So vacuum the area for 6 tiles, wash it with rag (!) extremely important then wash back side of tiles with rag or sponge. Set aside. then go and mix your mortar. Spread with flat side of trowel over area for 6 tiles then use the zigzag side to shape it. Put tile just a few mi limiters off where you want it, then put spacers and push tile gently into the space to hold spacers tightly.Then put the next tile and so on.By the time I do 6th tile the first one already stuck and impossible to move and readjust so position your tile right away. In 6 hours they are set. But I waited 12 to put the grout just in case. I opened my window and put exhaust fan to maintain nice temperature for tiles to set. I recommend this thin set above all other brands and kinds. It is good. It's true.
+80points
88out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Reno, Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Used the mortar on my tub surround and bathroom floor. Somewhat difficult to set the wall tiles with it, though.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ellicott City, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Straightforward Use

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is everything I expected it to be. The ease of use is typical of any thin set mortar. It has good consistent color, white in my case. The one thing I would have liked is directions for mixing less than a bag at a time, like what's the approximate water to mix ratio. It stayed in a workable form in the jobber bucket long enough for me to get all the tiles on the wall section and it set relatively quickly on the wall. I installed it over the Kerdi waterproofing membrane and it went really well. As with any of these type products, any drops or spillages should be immediately cleaned up before it sets. Clean up is easy as long as you do it before setting starts.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>