728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

The Custom Building Products VersaBond 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar is a professional formula, all-purpose mortar, polymer-modified to provide good bond strengths. VersaBond cures quickly and adheres to most surfaces. Suitable substrates include interior and exterior floors, countertops and walls.
Overall rating:
4.567 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product79 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(17)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product79 of 84reviews
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Review 1 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really strong mortar

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this to hang stacked stone on a fireplace and it really did the trick. The stone was very heavy and this was strong enough to hold it on a column 9' high. It looks beautiful. It mixes really smooth and trowels on easily.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Richland Hills
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for tile install!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tiled my kitchen and breakfast area with 12x24 tiles and this product is wonderful to work with, easy directions to understand, application was smooth, color works great, cleans up easy as well. I did a lot of research and compared brands and for the price and durability I would highly recommend this product. Will be using it again in the near future!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

Customs thin-set mortar

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best thin set to use with porcelain tile
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 6th bath since 2002. I enjoy doing floors/walls in my home to save some money and as spare time projects. Versabond has been used in all 6 bath projects over the last 10 years in 2 homes.
I selected Versabond products due to the competitive pricing, ease of mixing and application, consistency of the product from bag to bag and in general......it does exactly what it says it will do with no guess work providing you follow the directions. The mold / mildew formula they incorporate into the product appears to work great in the moist environment of a bathroom.
I have also used Versabond products under Schuter Ditra as an underlayment over 3/4 T&G subfloors on 16" centers as well as over concrete substrate with EXCELLENT results. No squeaks, floor movement or tile/grout line cracks .
As with any DIY project, making sure the structure/floor/walls and any different substrate issues will support your tile project is CRITICAL. Adding additional screws to the floor, putting down a Hardiboard backer to strengthen the subfloor.........what ever it takes, spend the little extra now and make sure you don't cut corners because you will suffer the consequences later.
Mixing the product is another critical area as you don't want too much or too little water. Trowel size MUST be appropriate for the size of tiles you are using.
I know when the job is completed, the Versabond products, being the common denominator holding the tiles in place, will hold up without the need for a re-do in my lifetime!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
26out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Upper Marlboro, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the first time I used a thin set mortar, directions were easy and only had to make a few modifications to get consistency I needed. awesome product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ohio, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very good thin set for installing tile

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good open time and good adhesion. Product also dried quickly enough to safely grout the next day.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Orange County, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best all around thin-set mortar

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thin-set can be used in a shower install, over drywall on a back splash, or even on a sound plywood sub-straight. The additives in this thin-set give it excellent bond strength while still allowing flexibility that occurs during normal temperature fluctuation.
I have been using this thin-set for over 23 years and it is the best all around product I've found for setting tile bar none!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Falls Church
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Price, Good Product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For some reason, the gray mortar was $2 cheaper per bag than the white mortar. Couldn't figure out a difference so I bought the gray. We used it and works fine. You don't see underneath the tile anyway so I still can't figure out the price difference, but hey, it works, that's the bottom line.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

good product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this for years with no problems bonds and setc up grate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am just doing a bathroom counter top so I am mixing small amounts as needed. It is hard to mix smooth by hand, but I'm sure mixing a larger amount in a bucket with the right tool would get rid of that problem. I just set the tiles last night and the mortar is almost dry (has been less than 12 hours) and tiles seem to be very well bonded. I plan on grouting later this afternoon.
I'm sure the person who left the one star review saying the product did not bond forgot to wipe the back of the tile off before using it. NO mortar will stick to tiles that are not clean. ALWAYS make sure your tiles are free from dust and dirt by wiping them off with a damp sponge. Then they stick just fine :)
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ellicott City, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Straightforward Use

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is everything I expected it to be. The ease of use is typical of any thin set mortar. It has good consistent color, white in my case. The one thing I would have liked is directions for mixing less than a bag at a time, like what's the approximate water to mix ratio. It stayed in a workable form in the jobber bucket long enough for me to get all the tiles on the wall section and it set relatively quickly on the wall. I installed it over the Kerdi waterproofing membrane and it went really well. As with any of these type products, any drops or spillages should be immediately cleaned up before it sets. Clean up is easy as long as you do it before setting starts.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Milford, OH USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as predicted and advertised

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's less expensive to purchase 50 lbs. in a bag than 10 lbs. (what I needed) in two boxes. Oh well, now I have a big bunch left over for the next project that I can only hope won't happen ;-). The "white" version is better than the slightly less expensive gray version for glass and porcelain tiles that need more adhesion than ceramic tiles, and especially for glass tiles that don't have an opaque backing.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Divide, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed natural stone and tile in a shower with the same adhesive saving time and money by not having to change adhesives when changing from tile to stone and the additional clean-up that would be involved.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

Easy to work with

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As an amateur remodeler, this product was quite good in that it mixed easily and was easy to work with. When using smaller tiles, amateurs should not attempt to mix an entire bag, as unless you are proficient in laying tiles quickly and expertly, the product could dry out. Mix in quarter-bag increments and keep a wet towel over the bucket/container you are using to hold the mortar. Sets very well. Mixing ratios (product weight or volume to water) would be a great help to add to instructions.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time Female tile installator !

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like doing things around my house but don't have anyone for advice. And people who know the info don't want to share for free. So I buy off line using the reviews for everything. I love reviews and appreciate people who do them. I bought this thin set by reading these reviews as well. It was my first time ever installing ceramic tiles in my kitchen. I watched videos, read instructions and spoke to extremely surprised people in home depot. The water ratio is about 3 water to 4 parts of thin set. Put cold water and then add 1 part of thin set, then mix. Then add second part of thin set, then mix and so on. If you add all at once it will have clumps and pieces and will not be uniform. As per previous reviews it it very hard to mix by hand. It is true. But even if small pieces are unmixable the stuff still works. 3 cups water to 4 cups thin set give you enough for 6 12x12 tiles to be put in one time. So vacuum the area for 6 tiles, wash it with rag (!) extremely important then wash back side of tiles with rag or sponge. Set aside. then go and mix your mortar. Spread with flat side of trowel over area for 6 tiles then use the zigzag side to shape it. Put tile just a few mi limiters off where you want it, then put spacers and push tile gently into the space to hold spacers tightly.Then put the next tile and so on.By the time I do 6th tile the first one already stuck and impossible to move and readjust so position your tile right away. In 6 hours they are set. But I waited 12 to put the grout just in case. I opened my window and put exhaust fan to maintain nice temperature for tiles to set. I recommend this thin set above all other brands and kinds. It is good. It's true.
+75points
83out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from FORT LAUDERDALE< FLORIDA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

VERSABOND WHITE 50 LB. FORTIFIED THIN-SET MORTAR

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product performed exactly as expected, easy to mix and apply.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Aurora, CO

Terrific Bonding

PostedOctober 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product to lay my 18X18 kitchen tiles and it worked beautifully. Sets up quickly so don't spread out too much product.
I have been laying tiles for years and this is the product for floor tiles!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use and went farther than I expected....clean-up was simple also
Pros: High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from orlando fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

versabond white

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
all i use when installing any tile,great product. what can i say this is a good product easy to install.and cleans up easy.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Thinset ont he market

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I lay tons of tile and I've tried lots of brands over the years. This one mixes up better then most, very little clumping and it's got amazing holding power, trust me I've layed tile for people and then they change their mind so trying to get that tile up is nearly impossible.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>