728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

The Custom Building Products VersaBond 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar is a professional formula, all-purpose mortar, polymer-modified to provide good bond strengths. VersaBond cures quickly and adheres to most surfaces. Suitable substrates include interior and exterior floors, countertops and walls.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Review 1 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
RichE
from Ohio, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very good thin set for installing tile

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good open time and good adhesion. Product also dried quickly enough to safely grout the next day.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Robert
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 6th bath since 2002. I enjoy doing floors/walls in my home to save some money and as spare time projects. Versabond has been used in all 6 bath projects over the last 10 years in 2 homes.
I selected Versabond products due to the competitive pricing, ease of mixing and application, consistency of the product from bag to bag and in general......it does exactly what it says it will do with no guess work providing you follow the directions. The mold / mildew formula they incorporate into the product appears to work great in the moist environment of a bathroom.
I have also used Versabond products under Schuter Ditra as an underlayment over 3/4 T&G subfloors on 16" centers as well as over concrete substrate with EXCELLENT results. No squeaks, floor movement or tile/grout line cracks .
As with any DIY project, making sure the structure/floor/walls and any different substrate issues will support your tile project is CRITICAL. Adding additional screws to the floor, putting down a Hardiboard backer to strengthen the subfloor.........what ever it takes, spend the little extra now and make sure you don't cut corners because you will suffer the consequences later.
Mixing the product is another critical area as you don't want too much or too little water. Trowel size MUST be appropriate for the size of tiles you are using.
I know when the job is completed, the Versabond products, being the common denominator holding the tiles in place, will hold up without the need for a re-do in my lifetime!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Sect228OsFan
from Ellicott City, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Straightforward Use

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is everything I expected it to be. The ease of use is typical of any thin set mortar. It has good consistent color, white in my case. The one thing I would have liked is directions for mixing less than a bag at a time, like what's the approximate water to mix ratio. It stayed in a workable form in the jobber bucket long enough for me to get all the tiles on the wall section and it set relatively quickly on the wall. I installed it over the Kerdi waterproofing membrane and it went really well. As with any of these type products, any drops or spillages should be immediately cleaned up before it sets. Clean up is easy as long as you do it before setting starts.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
vaquero
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product performed very well, provided great adhesion even under difficult conditions, plenty of working time, decent clean up. If anything could be asked of the manufacturer for future ease of use it would be to include small batch instructions on packaging.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Em75
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what is supposed to do.

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy mix, easy application. It is a good quality product at a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
tracym
from Montgomery, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bonds to wood subfloor very well

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The one issue I am having is tiles popping up. I am using a 12 x 24 tile. So far I've laid about 300 sqft and the tiles are randomly popping up. I have since started back buttering and am not seeing the same problem. I have laid numerous floors and back splashes without the same issue.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
alfulchino
from nh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

travertine project on my balcony at our winery

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product...easy to use and mix...because it has the polymer already mixed in, it makes it a quick time saver!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
misterarlingtontx
from Arlington tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I did not worked with this product. I only bought it for my floor installers.. but I was watching them mixing it and applying it to the floor tile . and it worked great... they did not complained at all..
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Jennifer
from North Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am just doing a bathroom counter top so I am mixing small amounts as needed. It is hard to mix smooth by hand, but I'm sure mixing a larger amount in a bucket with the right tool would get rid of that problem. I just set the tiles last night and the mortar is almost dry (has been less than 12 hours) and tiles seem to be very well bonded. I plan on grouting later this afternoon.
I'm sure the person who left the one star review saying the product did not bond forgot to wipe the back of the tile off before using it. NO mortar will stick to tiles that are not clean. ALWAYS make sure your tiles are free from dust and dirt by wiping them off with a damp sponge. Then they stick just fine :)
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Beth
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product was easy to use

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product, wasn't very complicated to use. Would purchase again
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
rudy
from Weston, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

excelent adhesive

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is one of the best products I have ever used to install
tiles, a little expensive but is worth it, I highly recommend it to anybody who is in the Industry of Installing Tiles.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
LeeJ
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Always gets the job done.

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this product many many times for tile and it is a great product and priced right.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
FirstimeLadyConstructor
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time Female tile installator !

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like doing things around my house but don't have anyone for advice. And people who know the info don't want to share for free. So I buy off line using the reviews for everything. I love reviews and appreciate people who do them. I bought this thin set by reading these reviews as well. It was my first time ever installing ceramic tiles in my kitchen. I watched videos, read instructions and spoke to extremely surprised people in home depot. The water ratio is about 3 water to 4 parts of thin set. Put cold water and then add 1 part of thin set, then mix. Then add second part of thin set, then mix and so on. If you add all at once it will have clumps and pieces and will not be uniform. As per previous reviews it it very hard to mix by hand. It is true. But even if small pieces are unmixable the stuff still works. 3 cups water to 4 cups thin set give you enough for 6 12x12 tiles to be put in one time. So vacuum the area for 6 tiles, wash it with rag (!) extremely important then wash back side of tiles with rag or sponge. Set aside. then go and mix your mortar. Spread with flat side of trowel over area for 6 tiles then use the zigzag side to shape it. Put tile just a few mi limiters off where you want it, then put spacers and push tile gently into the space to hold spacers tightly.Then put the next tile and so on.By the time I do 6th tile the first one already stuck and impossible to move and readjust so position your tile right away. In 6 hours they are set. But I waited 12 to put the grout just in case. I opened my window and put exhaust fan to maintain nice temperature for tiles to set. I recommend this thin set above all other brands and kinds. It is good. It's true.
+67points
75out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
aurora1111
from Aurora, CO

Terrific Bonding

PostedOctober 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product to lay my 18X18 kitchen tiles and it worked beautifully. Sets up quickly so don't spread out too much product.
I have been laying tiles for years and this is the product for floor tiles!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
1boxersbob
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it is supposed to

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Performed well, and is a product I would recommend
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
JenA

Worked great

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this up in the store to patch a 3ft by 3ft area of my bathroom floor (the ceramic tile had been coming up). It was my first tiling job; this thin-set mixed great and was easy to apply. The tiles set in about an hour but I left them alone for the recommended 24 hours before grouting. Turned out great. My only complaint would be that I wished this came in a smaller bag.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Jimmy
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product with nice with easy to understand features

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent products with knowledgeable associates will continue to shop at HD for all my upcoming projects
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
ColoradoCreationsLLC

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the best overall mortars you can use (price including). Its modified with polymer meaning its best suited for walls or ceilings and a bit of a waiste on floors especially where thers cement board down (so it the floor and tiles shouldnt be moving much at all there for the polymer allowing for some "give" as to not brake is unecessary). Use the Gray if your grout will be of a darker color and the white for lighter color grouts.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
prgeneral
from Trevose, Feasterville-Trevose, PA 19053, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product has great features

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good material for installed tile!!! Easy work with that material. Fast drying!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Dixie
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needed it to replace damaged ceiling from flood on lower floor.

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Glad product was so easy for us to use. Lightweight was definitely a PLUS. Project nearly completed!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>