728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Setting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

The Custom Building Products VersaBond 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar is a professional formula, all-purpose mortar, polymer-modified to provide good bond strengths. VersaBond cures quickly and adheres to most surfaces. Suitable substrates include interior and exterior floors, countertops and walls.
Overall rating:
4.557 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product93 of 100reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(75)
4
(23)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product93 of 100reviews
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions | 92 Answers
Customer reviews for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
Review 1 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really strong mortar

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used this to hang stacked stone on a fireplace and it really did the trick. The stone was very heavy and this was strong enough to hold it on a column 9' high. It looks beautiful. It mixes really smooth and trowels on easily.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Richland Hills
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A must have for tile install!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tiled my kitchen and breakfast area with 12x24 tiles and this product is wonderful to work with, easy directions to understand, application was smooth, color works great, cleans up easy as well. I did a lot of research and compared brands and for the price and durability I would highly recommend this product. Will be using it again in the near future!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Orange County, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best all around thin-set mortar

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thin-set can be used in a shower install, over drywall on a back splash, or even on a sound plywood sub-straight. The additives in this thin-set give it excellent bond strength while still allowing flexibility that occurs during normal temperature fluctuation.
I have been using this thin-set for over 23 years and it is the best all around product I've found for setting tile bar none!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

Does the job

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used this thin set to lay 18x18 inch porcelain tiles in our kitchen. This was my first time laying tile and it came out beautifully. Word of advice, make small batches. The bag only gives directions on how much water to use with the entire bag, so be careful. I made small batches and created the consistency of thick peanut butter. Also, the estimated amount does not include back buttering the tiles so if you plan on doing this critical step, plan on buying more bags.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Reno, Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Used the mortar on my tub surround and bathroom floor. Somewhat difficult to set the wall tiles with it, though.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my 6th bath since 2002. I enjoy doing floors/walls in my home to save some money and as spare time projects. Versabond has been used in all 6 bath projects over the last 10 years in 2 homes.
I selected Versabond products due to the competitive pricing, ease of mixing and application, consistency of the product from bag to bag and in general......it does exactly what it says it will do with no guess work providing you follow the directions. The mold / mildew formula they incorporate into the product appears to work great in the moist environment of a bathroom.
I have also used Versabond products under Schuter Ditra as an underlayment over 3/4 T&G subfloors on 16" centers as well as over concrete substrate with EXCELLENT results. No squeaks, floor movement or tile/grout line cracks .
As with any DIY project, making sure the structure/floor/walls and any different substrate issues will support your tile project is CRITICAL. Adding additional screws to the floor, putting down a Hardiboard backer to strengthen the subfloor.........what ever it takes, spend the little extra now and make sure you don't cut corners because you will suffer the consequences later.
Mixing the product is another critical area as you don't want too much or too little water. Trowel size MUST be appropriate for the size of tiles you are using.
I know when the job is completed, the Versabond products, being the common denominator holding the tiles in place, will hold up without the need for a re-do in my lifetime!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

Customs thin-set mortar

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best thin set to use with porcelain tile
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ohio, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A very good thin set for installing tile

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good open time and good adhesion. Product also dried quickly enough to safely grout the next day.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Cupertino CA.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worth the extra buck!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We use this product all of the time, installing tile to concrete, wounderboard, hardy backer, and brick. Have never had any issue's with it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Lake Worth FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Thin Set did the job

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Mixed well and did the job with floor tiles. Just wish I had found a smaller bag as it was a small job (half bath).
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Middle Island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Product!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Been in the home improvement field for over 35 years, I've done hundred's of bathrooms and other tile jobs during this time. I encourage the home owners to purchase their own materials but tell them I will only guarantee my work if I supply the thin set...and I will ONLY use Versabond! So please Home Depot - DO NOT STOP CARRYING THIS PRODUCT!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Upper Marlboro, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the first time I used a thin set mortar, directions were easy and only had to make a few modifications to get consistency I needed. awesome product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

don't buy a New home update your current home

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wow I tell you this has been by far the best mortar I have ever used. It's easy to work with,and does the job. I now use this product everyday. Thank you home depot for having great material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar

Great product

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product the only thinset I use. Worked inside and out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from North Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am just doing a bathroom counter top so I am mixing small amounts as needed. It is hard to mix smooth by hand, but I'm sure mixing a larger amount in a bucket with the right tool would get rid of that problem. I just set the tiles last night and the mortar is almost dry (has been less than 12 hours) and tiles seem to be very well bonded. I plan on grouting later this afternoon.
I'm sure the person who left the one star review saying the product did not bond forgot to wipe the back of the tile off before using it. NO mortar will stick to tiles that are not clean. ALWAYS make sure your tiles are free from dust and dirt by wiping them off with a damp sponge. Then they stick just fine :)
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from escondido ca
Age Range:55 to 64

Great product

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed a mortar with a quick set. This is the product for tile jobs.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Falls Church
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Price, Good Product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For some reason, the gray mortar was $2 cheaper per bag than the white mortar. Couldn't figure out a difference so I bought the gray. We used it and works fine. You don't see underneath the tile anyway so I still can't figure out the price difference, but hey, it works, that's the bottom line.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Coral spring FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not that great much better product is available in the market

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We did not had the good experience with this product
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from Ellicott City, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Straightforward Use

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is everything I expected it to be. The ease of use is typical of any thin set mortar. It has good consistent color, white in my case. The one thing I would have liked is directions for mixing less than a bag at a time, like what's the approximate water to mix ratio. It stayed in a workable form in the jobber bucket long enough for me to get all the tiles on the wall section and it set relatively quickly on the wall. I installed it over the Kerdi waterproofing membrane and it went really well. As with any of these type products, any drops or spillages should be immediately cleaned up before it sets. Clean up is easy as long as you do it before setting starts.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for VersaBond White 50 lb. Fortified Thin-Set Mortar
from cape coral fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good buy

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
mixed well and applied good. recommended by the best flooring sales person!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>