728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Faucet Mounted Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter

Shower Water Filter

Enjoy cleaner, healthier hair and skin simply by taking a shower. Paragon shower filter efficiently helps purify your shower water. Immediate results for, brighter hair, cleaner glowing skin. Chlorine, radon, heavy metals and odors are found in most water systems. When showering these damaging impurities are absorbed through your skin and enter your body they build up residue on hair and skin. Reduces the effects of water hardness. Easy to install. Paragon Shower Filter, try it for health, beauty and cleanliness.
Overall rating:
4.082 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(147 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product114 of 140reviews
Rating Breakdown 147 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(29)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product114 of 140reviews
Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter
Review 1 for Shower Water Filter
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Game Changer

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Are you having hair troubles? It might be hard water! Soon after I moved from my previous apartment, my hair slowly became oily, wouldn't lather & became brittle/thin. I tried everything: double shampooing, different shampoos, and even a clarifying shampoo. Nothing worked. This was my last resort - and it worked beautifully. The filter is a fantastic deal so I caved & bought it. It's easy to install (did it myself) and the water is so soft! My hair is back to being full, strong & shiny. It was the best decision- and such a steal at this price, too!! I bought 2 filter replacements at the same time & got free shipping! You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower Water Filter

The Paragon Water Filter does what it's supposed to do!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My water is so bad I can smell it! This filter not only removes the smell, but my hair stays blond.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower Water Filter

It works good

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have hard water and the Paragon filter works good. I didn't notice a huge change like if u had a water softener system but I have noticed my skin and hair are softer which was the purpose of getting the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, very easy to install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower Water Filter
from Ocala, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I wasted my money.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are looking at this item to reduce chlorine in city water, save your money. I had this installed for a bout two weeks and tested my water. The water from this filter in my shower had the about the same chlorine level as my kitchen sink! Obviously the filter did little to no good removing chlorine.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Water Filter
from Inland Empire, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy, quick, perfect price!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to combat our hard water, which I've never measured but I can see the effects: poor lathering for soap, terrible water spots, clogged water appliances - you get the picture.
We're renting, so purchasing a water softener system was not an option. This shower attachment received excellent reviews - and it should.
It was quick to install, we haven't had any issues, and the price is great. Not sure how long the filter will last with our water quality - but with the replacements being so inexpensive, I'm not worried about it.
It should also be noted, because no one else commented (that I saw) that detectable shower heads work perfectly with this filter. It can be positioned to the side of the pipe so as not to interfere with a shower handle and it doesn't jut out - but rather back.
Excellent option for our situation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shower Water Filter
from Reading, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needs improvements--not as well constructed as earlier models

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The filter system was purchased to replace an identical predecessor that was failing due to metal and plastic "fatigue"---it was wearing out from use. The new one is not built as well as the original--it periodically leaks at its gasket where the cover of the filter is attached to the plastic base which requires retightening---and worse yet sometimes the top pops right off of the filter when the shower valve is opened the first thing in the morning...water pressure pops the filter off of the base, and it's done this right after I tighten it down on the base! I guess I will need clamp the filter cover to the base--not very aesthetically pleasing.
Cons: not built well, Leaks
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower Water Filter
from Mechanicsburg, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and inexpensive to operate

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed in minutes and noticed an instant change in water quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower Water Filter
from Speculator, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Helps reduce effects of hard water

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have very hard well water at our summer cabin, and my hair always loses its body and looks flat. I had gotten to the point where I would pour a pitcher of lake water over my hair after showering with the well water. This filter was very easy to install, and, while not a miracle cure, does lessen the effects of the hard water on my hair and it has some body again. The other difference I notice is that my eyes no longer sting when I get shower water in them. I wish I had found out about this years ago.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shower Water Filter
from Nyssa, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Inexpensive, easy to install and does all we expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shower Water Filter
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to Install

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great inexpensive filter to help with well water. It was very easy to install.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Water Filter
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reliable Product

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an allergy to chlorine and this filter is an inexpensive answer to my problem. Very easy to install. Replacement filters are not that expensive and easy to purchase on line.
Pros: Convenient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower Water Filter
from Corrales, NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does the job.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easy and straight forward to install. The water pressure stayed the same after installing the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shower Water Filter

good and bad

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install and find replacement cartridges altho' I would like to buy from the store, not from the website and have to pay shipping. I understand (2013) the filter has been updated for softer skin and hair.
For the reviews of leaking, only lately has the problem occurred after a year or so of use; however, when it happens, I turn off the shower and start it again and the leaking stops. I don't know if it filters enough of the minerals that cause hair color to fade and dull (calcium/magnesium) because it is not a water softener. Does remove chlorine effectively for an inexpensive filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Water Filter

Filters away my itchy skin!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This filter is a godsend! No longer do I itch like crazy after showering thanks to this bad boy! Works well with high quality shower heads too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Water Filter

Great product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, my hair is back to being healthy and soft thanks to this water filter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower Water Filter
from Eatonville Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Shower water filter

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Filter work great, would recommend to anyone on a well!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Water Filter
from Plaistow, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product works!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although we have a water softener to remove iron from our well water, we were still getting rust stains in the shower. My blonde colored hair was also turning dull and orange looking, even after a fresh color job from my hairdresser. Since installing this filter, the shower staining is non existent and my hair is no longer orange tinged. My hair has gone back to being a very shiny & soft colored blonde.
If you have iron in your well water, I would highly recommend this filter, especially if you have blonde highlights or blonde colored hair. I am a 50 year old woman & I installed these filters in our two showers by myself. It was easy. I also replaced my shower heads too. All you need is some plumbers tape, which comes with the unit, and pliers. Remember ladies (and some gents I suspect), counter-clockwise loosens and clockwise tightens.
I would also recommend that the filters be replaced every 3 months or so depending upon how many people are using that shower everyday. You can purchase replacement filters for these units for $9.96 from Home Depot versus $19.97 for an entire new unit. If you wait too long to replace the filters, you will probably find the inside of the unit, that holds the filter, covered in rust (iron) and probably the shower head as well. Depending on the amount of usage & iron in your water, you can decide whether to just replace the filter or the whole unit. Either way, it is easy to do.
My one negative is the fact that these units can only be purchased on-line. I would prefer to pick these up at my local Home Depot.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shower Water Filter

works great!!

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have very hard water where I live. My hair and skin became very dry to the point of my hair breaking off. No matter how often I showered my hair was very weighed down and looked greasy. This shower filter solved the problem completely. You notice results after only one use. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Water Filter
from Detroit, Michigan

Terrific Shower Filter

PostedOctober 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water in our neck of the woods here in southeast Michigan contains a high level of chlorine. So much so, that simply turning on a faucet produces an odor similar to that of standing next to a hotel swimming pool. Due to this, we do not use tap water for cooking or drinking (strictly distilled water). We wanted something to minimize the chlorine in the shower water however, since chlorine is easily absorbed through the skin.
I ran across the Paragon shower filter in a health magazine recently, which gave it a "great" rating amongst other contenders when considering performance and price (initial and long-term). I immediately did further research online and found similar reviews, then purchased the unit here at Home Depot's web site.
The unit was received quickly (Bravo Home Depot shipping!) and installation was very simple, taking less than ten minutes even with a detachable hand-held shower head.
We're very impressed with this filters performance. There was NO TRACE of the inundating chlorine smell in the shower water. Additionally, perhaps due to filtering other contaminants, there was a marked increase in the "cleaning action" (for lack of a better description) of soap and shampoo.
Considering price, including long-term cost for replacement filter elements, and the filters performance, we give the Paragon Shower Filter FIVE STARS.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shower Water Filter
from Michigan, USA

Update after a little over a month of use...

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am not as excited as I was at first. I'm going down to 3 stars from 4 b/c it is not a noticeable change anymore. I could tell a small difference at first but now nothing at all. I am having a water softener hooked up Monday and I can NOT wait. This filter is NOT a softener by any means. My skin is very dried out, lotions dont work, pores are clogged, skin & hair greasy and dirty feeling. Gross. It may still be helping somewhat but if so it is so miniscule that I can barely tell. Can't wait for CLEAN, SOFT water again! I would still recommend it if you are unable to get a softener just because I think it does help somewhat, just not nearly as much help as we needed!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient
Cons: will not make water soft
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>