728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter

Shower Water Filter

Enjoy cleaner, healthier hair and skin simply by taking a shower. Paragon shower filter efficiently helps purify your shower water. Immediate results for, brighter hair, cleaner glowing skin. Chlorine, radon, heavy metals and odors are found in most water systems. When showering these damaging impurities are absorbed through your skin and enter your body they build up residue on hair and skin. Reduces the effects of water hardness. Easy to install. Paragon Shower Filter, try it for health, beauty and cleanliness.
Overall rating:
4.031 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product122 of 153reviews
Rating Breakdown 161 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(90)
4
(31)
3
(14)
2
(7)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product122 of 153reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter
Review 1 for Shower Water Filter
from Eastern Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

One of the best decisions I have ever made!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Due to a family emergency I recently had to move into a home that was NOT ready to move into. One of the problems was the INCREDIBLY hard well water. After much research I found the majority of water filters would not address the issue of hard water...then I found the Paragon shower filter system! I was desperate to find something to restore my skin and hair to a normal state and the Paragon system did not disappoint. It was beyond easy to install with simply a basic wrench and about 5 minutes of time. I am more than pleased with this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower Water Filter
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Game Changer

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Are you having hair troubles? It might be hard water! Soon after I moved from my previous apartment, my hair slowly became oily, wouldn't lather & became brittle/thin. I tried everything: double shampooing, different shampoos, and even a clarifying shampoo. Nothing worked. This was my last resort - and it worked beautifully. The filter is a fantastic deal so I caved & bought it. It's easy to install (did it myself) and the water is so soft! My hair is back to being full, strong & shiny. It was the best decision- and such a steal at this price, too!! I bought 2 filter replacements at the same time & got free shipping! You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
39out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower Water Filter

The Paragon Water Filter does what it's supposed to do!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My water is so bad I can smell it! This filter not only removes the smell, but my hair stays blond.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower Water Filter

It works good

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have hard water and the Paragon filter works good. I didn't notice a huge change like if u had a water softener system but I have noticed my skin and hair are softer which was the purpose of getting the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, very easy to install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Water Filter
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy Campers!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've wanted to get this forever but it was out of stock for quite awhile. Was very happy to see it available again and jumped on the purchase right away. I'd viewed lots of reviews from a few different sites and must concur that this is a great product. I'm almost temted to take it with me when I travel as we were away and family and hotel showers now seem to reek of chlorine. Th filter flow is great and installation took all of 3 minutes. Just be sure to flush it out when you first install and if you have a showere head with multiple jet types then cycle through all of them. Besides removing the chlorine smell I have already noticed less dry skin. Don't waste time anymore get one for yourself before they sell out again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shower Water Filter
from Midwest
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We selected this product because the filter doesn't need to be replaced as often as most of the others we viewed. The documentation on this filter states it only needs changing approximately once per year which is the longest we saw. When changing the filter there is no need to disassemble the whole thing you just unscrew the outer part. With the others we saw you have to disconnect them from the shower pipe. We did the installation with a minimum of frustration and have had no leaks. I have personally noticed that my skin is less dry with no need for the daily application of lotion which is why we purchased a shower filter in the first place. It seems to be a great product that works as advertised. We would buy one again since replacement filter cartridges are very inexpensive and extra long lasting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower Water Filter
from Inland Empire, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy, quick, perfect price!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for something to combat our hard water, which I've never measured but I can see the effects: poor lathering for soap, terrible water spots, clogged water appliances - you get the picture.
We're renting, so purchasing a water softener system was not an option. This shower attachment received excellent reviews - and it should.
It was quick to install, we haven't had any issues, and the price is great. Not sure how long the filter will last with our water quality - but with the replacements being so inexpensive, I'm not worried about it.
It should also be noted, because no one else commented (that I saw) that detectable shower heads work perfectly with this filter. It can be positioned to the side of the pipe so as not to interfere with a shower handle and it doesn't jut out - but rather back.
Excellent option for our situation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower Water Filter

Great, easy to install

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this as I moved to an area with hard water and my hair was dry and breaking. Since installing this, my hair is greatly improved, more volume and shinier. The filer it very easy to install. I don't think it would work with a handheld shower attachment... maybe with some extra pieces. Really great and would buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great
Cons: Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shower Water Filter
from Carmichael
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Shower Filter

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation instruction very easy.
Be sure to look for the plumbers tape provided on one side, inside the box.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shower Water Filter
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the money

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install, no change in water pressure, noticeable change in feel and smell of water through filter. Replacement cartridges won't cost a fortune when time to change. No complaints
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Water Filter
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not great for Well Water

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work on removing metals like iron and rust from the shower water. These metals contribute to flat, heavy, coated feeling hair. It might do a good job removing chlorine but well water doesn't contain added chlorine. It was easy to install but hangs awkwardly around the shower head.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: didn't remove iron or rust from water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower Water Filter

Hard water

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The filter comes with everything you need and installation was easy.
The filter performs decently for filtering water. As I read in a previous review, "this is not a water softener".
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shower Water Filter
from Speculator, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Helps reduce effects of hard water

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have very hard well water at our summer cabin, and my hair always loses its body and looks flat. I had gotten to the point where I would pour a pitcher of lake water over my hair after showering with the well water. This filter was very easy to install, and, while not a miracle cure, does lessen the effects of the hard water on my hair and it has some body again. The other difference I notice is that my eyes no longer sting when I get shower water in them. I wish I had found out about this years ago.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Water Filter

Excellent for well water issues

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought 2 of these filters because our well water was so bad it was staining everything. There was bad odor too from the water. After using these filters both issues resolved. Great product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Water Filter
from Reading, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needs improvements--not as well constructed as earlier models

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The filter system was purchased to replace an identical predecessor that was failing due to metal and plastic "fatigue"---it was wearing out from use. The new one is not built as well as the original--it periodically leaks at its gasket where the cover of the filter is attached to the plastic base which requires retightening---and worse yet sometimes the top pops right off of the filter when the shower valve is opened the first thing in the morning...water pressure pops the filter off of the base, and it's done this right after I tighten it down on the base! I guess I will need clamp the filter cover to the base--not very aesthetically pleasing.
Cons: not built well, Leaks
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower Water Filter
from FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works, somewhat

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to assemble, not expensive but the water quality is so bad where I am that I need another filter now, and I will have to shell out more money for another type of filter.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Water Filter
from Wi.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very disappointed. Need to purchase something else.

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Turns my highlighted blonde hair orangey brown after first use, but no leaks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shower Water Filter
from california
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used, dirty shower filter

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
item looked used. big scrapes all over surface and dirt or dust.
would have returned for a new item but returns are such a hassel
and you probably get another used one sent to you.
dont like paying full new price for used , scraped item.
because of this sale i wouldnt use home depot for another mail order.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Water Filter
from Fresno, California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well....until it didn't.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this a couple of months ago, but I ended up returning it two weeks after I purchased it when the filter clogged up. It worked well up until then, so I wasn't sure if I just got a faulty one or my water was just that hard. After looking it up I saw that other people had similar issues. It's probably better to just chip in a couple of extra dollars and pay for a better quality filter.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Clogs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shower Water Filter
from Plaistow, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product works!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although we have a water softener to remove iron from our well water, we were still getting rust stains in the shower. My blonde colored hair was also turning dull and orange looking, even after a fresh color job from my hairdresser. Since installing this filter, the shower staining is non existent and my hair is no longer orange tinged. My hair has gone back to being a very shiny & soft colored blonde.
If you have iron in your well water, I would highly recommend this filter, especially if you have blonde highlights or blonde colored hair. I am a 50 year old woman & I installed these filters in our two showers by myself. It was easy. I also replaced my shower heads too. All you need is some plumbers tape, which comes with the unit, and pliers. Remember ladies (and some gents I suspect), counter-clockwise loosens and clockwise tightens.
I would also recommend that the filters be replaced every 3 months or so depending upon how many people are using that shower everyday. You can purchase replacement filters for these units for $9.96 from Home Depot versus $19.97 for an entire new unit. If you wait too long to replace the filters, you will probably find the inside of the unit, that holds the filter, covered in rust (iron) and probably the shower head as well. Depending on the amount of usage & iron in your water, you can decide whether to just replace the filter or the whole unit. Either way, it is easy to do.
My one negative is the fact that these units can only be purchased on-line. I would prefer to pick these up at my local Home Depot.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>