728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter

Shower Water Filter

Enjoy cleaner, healthier hair and skin simply by taking a shower. Paragon shower filter efficiently helps purify your shower water. Immediate results for, brighter hair, cleaner glowing skin. Chlorine, radon, heavy metals and odors are found in most water systems. When showering these damaging impurities are absorbed through your skin and enter your body they build up residue on hair and skin. Reduces the effects of water hardness. Easy to install. Paragon Shower Filter, try it for health, beauty and cleanliness.
Overall rating:
3.964 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product123 of 158reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(90)
4
(32)
3
(15)
2
(9)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product123 of 158reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter
Review 1 for Shower Water Filter
from Eastern Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

One of the best decisions I have ever made!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Due to a family emergency I recently had to move into a home that was NOT ready to move into. One of the problems was the INCREDIBLY hard well water. After much research I found the majority of water filters would not address the issue of hard water...then I found the Paragon shower filter system! I was desperate to find something to restore my skin and hair to a normal state and the Paragon system did not disappoint. It was beyond easy to install with simply a basic wrench and about 5 minutes of time. I am more than pleased with this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower Water Filter
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Game Changer

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Are you having hair troubles? It might be hard water! Soon after I moved from my previous apartment, my hair slowly became oily, wouldn't lather & became brittle/thin. I tried everything: double shampooing, different shampoos, and even a clarifying shampoo. Nothing worked. This was my last resort - and it worked beautifully. The filter is a fantastic deal so I caved & bought it. It's easy to install (did it myself) and the water is so soft! My hair is back to being full, strong & shiny. It was the best decision- and such a steal at this price, too!! I bought 2 filter replacements at the same time & got free shipping! You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
41out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower Water Filter
from Westside, Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't notice a difference

PostedJuly 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I moved to the Westside of Los Angeles about 6 months ago and since the move my hair has been feeling more dry and damaged at the tips and oily and limp at the roots. But every time I would go on vacation my hair was restored to it's beautiful bouncy shiny self. Therefore, I figured it was the hard water and chemicals in LA water, and decided to purchase this product based on reviews.
Pros: Easy to install. No tools needed. You attach your own showerhead to the filter so if you like your water pressure and flow, this is great!
Cons: Didn't notice much of a difference. If I washed my hair before replacement, and after replacement with my eyes closed, I don't think I would believe there was a difference.
Hence, I have returned the product and purchased another filter to try.
Too bad, I had high hopes for Paragon!
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: no change noticed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower Water Filter

The Paragon Water Filter does what it's supposed to do!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My water is so bad I can smell it! This filter not only removes the smell, but my hair stays blond.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Water Filter

It works good

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have hard water and the Paragon filter works good. I didn't notice a huge change like if u had a water softener system but I have noticed my skin and hair are softer which was the purpose of getting the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, very easy to install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shower Water Filter
from Broomall PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shower Water Filter seems to work, little bulky, easy to install

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not bad...when installed, it offsets the nozzle a few inches. The off-white color may or may not go in your bathroom - they have a chrome option. The thing is a bit bulky - not exactly an eyesore but you can decide.
Installation is very easy takes a few minutes total. Filter cartridge is good for 6-9 months. When replacing filter, don't tighten the cartridge housing more than finger tight; housing is plastic and can break. There is a good sized rubber ring seal for the cartridge - just make sure it is seated propertly before tightening the housing.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: a bit bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower Water Filter

Quality now is not what it was 20 years ago

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The old Paragon filter case I had was well-made and worked well for 20 years. I ordered two more of the same style recently. I opened them when they arrived at the local Depot and was disappointed the plastic groove inside that holds the large o-ring was extremely thin, and had rough irregularities that obviously would make it difficult to seal when closed and prevent leaks. This thin plastic O-ring groove was too delicate and not made to last over time. I did not accept these two new filter cases.
Cons: these are not the same quality as in the past!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower Water Filter
from Inland Empire, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy, quick, perfect price!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for something to combat our hard water, which I've never measured but I can see the effects: poor lathering for soap, terrible water spots, clogged water appliances - you get the picture.
We're renting, so purchasing a water softener system was not an option. This shower attachment received excellent reviews - and it should.
It was quick to install, we haven't had any issues, and the price is great. Not sure how long the filter will last with our water quality - but with the replacements being so inexpensive, I'm not worried about it.
It should also be noted, because no one else commented (that I saw) that detectable shower heads work perfectly with this filter. It can be positioned to the side of the pipe so as not to interfere with a shower handle and it doesn't jut out - but rather back.
Excellent option for our situation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shower Water Filter
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy Campers!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've wanted to get this forever but it was out of stock for quite awhile. Was very happy to see it available again and jumped on the purchase right away. I'd viewed lots of reviews from a few different sites and must concur that this is a great product. I'm almost temted to take it with me when I travel as we were away and family and hotel showers now seem to reek of chlorine. Th filter flow is great and installation took all of 3 minutes. Just be sure to flush it out when you first install and if you have a showere head with multiple jet types then cycle through all of them. Besides removing the chlorine smell I have already noticed less dry skin. Don't waste time anymore get one for yourself before they sell out again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shower Water Filter

Unfortunately, in Los Angeles - Hancock Park specifically this filter did not work to remove the minerals..

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Seems like a nice product, better for chlorine I reckon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Water Filter
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not great for Well Water

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work on removing metals like iron and rust from the shower water. These metals contribute to flat, heavy, coated feeling hair. It might do a good job removing chlorine but well water doesn't contain added chlorine. It was easy to install but hangs awkwardly around the shower head.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: didn't remove iron or rust from water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower Water Filter
from Midwest
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We selected this product because the filter doesn't need to be replaced as often as most of the others we viewed. The documentation on this filter states it only needs changing approximately once per year which is the longest we saw. When changing the filter there is no need to disassemble the whole thing you just unscrew the outer part. With the others we saw you have to disconnect them from the shower pipe. We did the installation with a minimum of frustration and have had no leaks. I have personally noticed that my skin is less dry with no need for the daily application of lotion which is why we purchased a shower filter in the first place. It seems to be a great product that works as advertised. We would buy one again since replacement filter cartridges are very inexpensive and extra long lasting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shower Water Filter
from Speculator, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Helps reduce effects of hard water

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have very hard well water at our summer cabin, and my hair always loses its body and looks flat. I had gotten to the point where I would pour a pitcher of lake water over my hair after showering with the well water. This filter was very easy to install, and, while not a miracle cure, does lessen the effects of the hard water on my hair and it has some body again. The other difference I notice is that my eyes no longer sting when I get shower water in them. I wish I had found out about this years ago.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Water Filter

NO DIFFERENCE AFTER TEST

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tested my water directly before and after installing the filter. I again tested it after using it a few days. I kid you not, there was absolutely no difference. I don't know how they're able to sell something that obviously has no better outcome. Do not purchase. I suggest paying more for something that actually works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Water Filter

Great, easy to install

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this as I moved to an area with hard water and my hair was dry and breaking. Since installing this, my hair is greatly improved, more volume and shinier. The filer it very easy to install. I don't think it would work with a handheld shower attachment... maybe with some extra pieces. Really great and would buy it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great
Cons: Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower Water Filter
from Carmichael
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Shower Filter

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation instruction very easy.
Be sure to look for the plumbers tape provided on one side, inside the box.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Water Filter
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the money

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install, no change in water pressure, noticeable change in feel and smell of water through filter. Replacement cartridges won't cost a fortune when time to change. No complaints
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shower Water Filter

Shower Water Filter

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately I don't recommend this product. It did nothing for my hair. The only difference I noticed was the water quality feels a bit crisper but honestly don't bother.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Water Filter
from Reading, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needs improvements--not as well constructed as earlier models

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The filter system was purchased to replace an identical predecessor that was failing due to metal and plastic "fatigue"---it was wearing out from use. The new one is not built as well as the original--it periodically leaks at its gasket where the cover of the filter is attached to the plastic base which requires retightening---and worse yet sometimes the top pops right off of the filter when the shower valve is opened the first thing in the morning...water pressure pops the filter off of the base, and it's done this right after I tighten it down on the base! I guess I will need clamp the filter cover to the base--not very aesthetically pleasing.
Cons: not built well, Leaks
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shower Water Filter
from Plaistow, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product works!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although we have a water softener to remove iron from our well water, we were still getting rust stains in the shower. My blonde colored hair was also turning dull and orange looking, even after a fresh color job from my hairdresser. Since installing this filter, the shower staining is non existent and my hair is no longer orange tinged. My hair has gone back to being a very shiny & soft colored blonde.
If you have iron in your well water, I would highly recommend this filter, especially if you have blonde highlights or blonde colored hair. I am a 50 year old woman & I installed these filters in our two showers by myself. It was easy. I also replaced my shower heads too. All you need is some plumbers tape, which comes with the unit, and pliers. Remember ladies (and some gents I suspect), counter-clockwise loosens and clockwise tightens.
I would also recommend that the filters be replaced every 3 months or so depending upon how many people are using that shower everyday. You can purchase replacement filters for these units for $9.96 from Home Depot versus $19.97 for an entire new unit. If you wait too long to replace the filters, you will probably find the inside of the unit, that holds the filter, covered in rust (iron) and probably the shower head as well. Depending on the amount of usage & iron in your water, you can decide whether to just replace the filter or the whole unit. Either way, it is easy to do.
My one negative is the fact that these units can only be purchased on-line. I would prefer to pick these up at my local Home Depot.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>