728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Faucet Mounted Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter

Shower Water Filter

Enjoy cleaner, healthier hair and skin simply by taking a shower. Paragon shower filter efficiently helps purify your shower water. Immediate results for, brighter hair, cleaner glowing skin. Chlorine, radon, heavy metals and odors are found in most water systems. When showering these damaging impurities are absorbed through your skin and enter your body they build up residue on hair and skin. Reduces the effects of water hardness. Easy to install. Paragon Shower Filter, try it for health, beauty and cleanliness.
Overall rating:
4.134 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product102 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(75)
4
(25)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product102 of 121reviews
Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter
Review 1 for Shower Water Filter
LAPC2100
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Game Changer

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Are you having hair troubles? It might be hard water! Soon after I moved from my previous apartment, my hair slowly became oily, wouldn't lather & became brittle/thin. I tried everything: double shampooing, different shampoos, and even a clarifying shampoo. Nothing worked. This was my last resort - and it worked beautifully. The filter is a fantastic deal so I caved & bought it. It's easy to install (did it myself) and the water is so soft! My hair is back to being full, strong & shiny. It was the best decision- and such a steal at this price, too!! I bought 2 filter replacements at the same time & got free shipping! You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower Water Filter
DIY247

It works good

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have hard water and the Paragon filter works good. I didn't notice a huge change like if u had a water softener system but I have noticed my skin and hair are softer which was the purpose of getting the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, very easy to install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower Water Filter
Kelly

The Paragon Water Filter does what it's supposed to do!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My water is so bad I can smell it! This filter not only removes the smell, but my hair stays blond.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower Water Filter
mauraea
from Inland Empire, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy, quick, perfect price!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to combat our hard water, which I've never measured but I can see the effects: poor lathering for soap, terrible water spots, clogged water appliances - you get the picture.
We're renting, so purchasing a water softener system was not an option. This shower attachment received excellent reviews - and it should.
It was quick to install, we haven't had any issues, and the price is great. Not sure how long the filter will last with our water quality - but with the replacements being so inexpensive, I'm not worried about it.
It should also be noted, because no one else commented (that I saw) that detectable shower heads work perfectly with this filter. It can be positioned to the side of the pipe so as not to interfere with a shower handle and it doesn't jut out - but rather back.
Excellent option for our situation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Water Filter
mountainlakemom
from Speculator, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Helps reduce effects of hard water

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have very hard well water at our summer cabin, and my hair always loses its body and looks flat. I had gotten to the point where I would pour a pitcher of lake water over my hair after showering with the well water. This filter was very easy to install, and, while not a miracle cure, does lessen the effects of the hard water on my hair and it has some body again. The other difference I notice is that my eyes no longer sting when I get shower water in them. I wish I had found out about this years ago.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shower Water Filter
RJRJR87

Poor quality plastic connectors

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I attempted to install this product and saw that there was a major leak in the plastic nozzle that where it connects to the shower plumbing. The threads were completely worn out and the product is unusable.
Cons: low quality components - unusable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower Water Filter
cfash604
from Clifton, NJ, USA

Great filter for hair and skin

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Paragon shower filter is great for hair and skin as others have mentioned. The cons is that it was heavy and although the selling point was that you wouldn't change the filter for 1 year, I am going to guess that the NJ water is a bit harsh so I needed to replace the filter within 3 months. It's a bit bulky in the shower if you don't have a lot of room.
Pros: Portable
Cons: Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower Water Filter
Linda

good and bad

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install and find replacement cartridges altho' I would like to buy from the store, not from the website and have to pay shipping. I understand (2013) the filter has been updated for softer skin and hair.
For the reviews of leaking, only lately has the problem occurred after a year or so of use; however, when it happens, I turn off the shower and start it again and the leaking stops. I don't know if it filters enough of the minerals that cause hair color to fade and dull (calcium/magnesium) because it is not a water softener. Does remove chlorine effectively for an inexpensive filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shower Water Filter
AlwaysLearning
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Enjoying a chlorine-free shower!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works great and was easy to install. I love having a chlorine-free shower!
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shower Water Filter
Frustrated
from Prescott, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Paragon Replacement Filter Failure

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased a Paragon filter replacement on-line and when received noticed carbon particles littering the package. I installed the filter, ran water through it and noticed more particles on shower floor. I removed the filter and returned it to the nearest Home Depot for a full refund.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Water Filter
2ndreview
from Michigan, USA

Update after a little over a month of use...

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am not as excited as I was at first. I'm going down to 3 stars from 4 b/c it is not a noticeable change anymore. I could tell a small difference at first but now nothing at all. I am having a water softener hooked up Monday and I can NOT wait. This filter is NOT a softener by any means. My skin is very dried out, lotions dont work, pores are clogged, skin & hair greasy and dirty feeling. Gross. It may still be helping somewhat but if so it is so miniscule that I can barely tell. Can't wait for CLEAN, SOFT water again! I would still recommend it if you are unable to get a softener just because I think it does help somewhat, just not nearly as much help as we needed!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient
Cons: will not make water soft
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower Water Filter
trooper64
from Clarkesville, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for well water

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Takes out the minerals from my well water and leaves skin and hair soft. Installation was easy and I like the idea of a replacement filter. I purchased a replacement filter at the time of purchase so I would have it on hand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shower Water Filter
Nancy
from Plaistow, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product works!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although we have a water softener to remove iron from our well water, we were still getting rust stains in the shower. My blonde colored hair was also turning dull and orange looking, even after a fresh color job from my hairdresser. Since installing this filter, the shower staining is non existent and my hair is no longer orange tinged. My hair has gone back to being a very shiny & soft colored blonde.
If you have iron in your well water, I would highly recommend this filter, especially if you have blonde highlights or blonde colored hair. I am a 50 year old woman & I installed these filters in our two showers by myself. It was easy. I also replaced my shower heads too. All you need is some plumbers tape, which comes with the unit, and pliers. Remember ladies (and some gents I suspect), counter-clockwise loosens and clockwise tightens.
I would also recommend that the filters be replaced every 3 months or so depending upon how many people are using that shower everyday. You can purchase replacement filters for these units for $9.96 from Home Depot versus $19.97 for an entire new unit. If you wait too long to replace the filters, you will probably find the inside of the unit, that holds the filter, covered in rust (iron) and probably the shower head as well. Depending on the amount of usage & iron in your water, you can decide whether to just replace the filter or the whole unit. Either way, it is easy to do.
My one negative is the fact that these units can only be purchased on-line. I would prefer to pick these up at my local Home Depot.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Water Filter
dschultz

Packaged well, easy to install, works great

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife was complaining of dry itchy skin. Our water hardness is 140+, I think normal would be 60-90. We considered going to a water softener thinking that would solve the problems, however that is a pretty expensive solution. So we decided to try a filter and see if it would make any difference. We installed the filter, literally took about 7-10 minutes and that was with a leak check. Instructions were easy to follow - really not much to it. We did go through the first filter in less than a month, this got me a little concerned. However, I can actually feel a difference in my skin. My wife skin irritation has subsided. I am very impressed. I did order an extra filter when we initially purchased the product. I know that my skin feels softer and after two months haven't seen any orange\brownish build up in the shower.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Water Filter
NoHardWater
from Temecula
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The hard water in my area is the worst. Cleaning and removing the hard water was pointless. The hard water build up was visible with in a day’s use. I purchased this product in hopes of minimizing if not eliminating the hard water build up on my glass shower doors. I was skeptical at first but it really works, it’s been almost 2 months and no hard water, amazing. I’m buying one for every shower in the home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient
Cons: not buying one sooner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower Water Filter
Alias
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not as expected

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The odor from water is no more but the skin is still dry after taking a shower. The water is almost the same with o without the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Portable, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Water Filter
MarcTony
from Detroit, Michigan

Terrific Shower Filter

PostedOctober 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water in our neck of the woods here in southeast Michigan contains a high level of chlorine. So much so, that simply turning on a faucet produces an odor similar to that of standing next to a hotel swimming pool. Due to this, we do not use tap water for cooking or drinking (strictly distilled water). We wanted something to minimize the chlorine in the shower water however, since chlorine is easily absorbed through the skin.
I ran across the Paragon shower filter in a health magazine recently, which gave it a "great" rating amongst other contenders when considering performance and price (initial and long-term). I immediately did further research online and found similar reviews, then purchased the unit here at Home Depot's web site.
The unit was received quickly (Bravo Home Depot shipping!) and installation was very simple, taking less than ten minutes even with a detachable hand-held shower head.
We're very impressed with this filters performance. There was NO TRACE of the inundating chlorine smell in the shower water. Additionally, perhaps due to filtering other contaminants, there was a marked increase in the "cleaning action" (for lack of a better description) of soap and shampoo.
Considering price, including long-term cost for replacement filter elements, and the filters performance, we give the Paragon Shower Filter FIVE STARS.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shower Water Filter
Used
from SC.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My product looked used.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The last Paragon shower filter I bought from Home Depot had a dirty film on the inside of it like it had been used then returned. I've used Paragon shower filters in the past so I know what it should look like.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: it looked used and returned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Water Filter
Happy
from Iowa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it x2

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one for me and one for my mother. My mother had been having problems with rashes since moving into a house with city water instead of well water. I have very dry skin, and very hard water. The water filter was very simple to install and only took minutes. It works with our detachable shower heads and doesn't lower the shower head. But most important my hair and skin feel great and my mother's rash miraculously disappeared. Too bad she didn't get this before going to the dermatologist.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shower Water Filter
Renee

Product is ok

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The original filter that came with the product did not work very well. Good thing I bought another one as I swapped them out and it worked a lot better. The filter seems to not work as well with a hot shower. A warm shower it does work. My hair is softer however not as soft as if I were to shower elsewhere. I would recommend but feel that it isn't the final solution.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>