728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Faucet Mounted Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter

Shower Water Filter

Enjoy cleaner, healthier hair and skin simply by taking a shower. Paragon shower filter efficiently helps purify your shower water. Immediate results for, brighter hair, cleaner glowing skin. Chlorine, radon, heavy metals and odors are found in most water systems. When showering these damaging impurities are absorbed through your skin and enter your body they build up residue on hair and skin. Reduces the effects of water hardness. Easy to install. Paragon Shower Filter, try it for health, beauty and cleanliness.
Overall rating:
4.066 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product105 of 129reviews
Rating Breakdown 136 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(77)
4
(27)
3
(11)
2
(6)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product105 of 129reviews
Customer reviews for Shower Water Filter
Review 1 for Shower Water Filter
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Game Changer

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Are you having hair troubles? It might be hard water! Soon after I moved from my previous apartment, my hair slowly became oily, wouldn't lather & became brittle/thin. I tried everything: double shampooing, different shampoos, and even a clarifying shampoo. Nothing worked. This was my last resort - and it worked beautifully. The filter is a fantastic deal so I caved & bought it. It's easy to install (did it myself) and the water is so soft! My hair is back to being full, strong & shiny. It was the best decision- and such a steal at this price, too!! I bought 2 filter replacements at the same time & got free shipping! You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Convenient, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower Water Filter

It works good

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have hard water and the Paragon filter works good. I didn't notice a huge change like if u had a water softener system but I have noticed my skin and hair are softer which was the purpose of getting the filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, very easy to install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower Water Filter

The Paragon Water Filter does what it's supposed to do!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My water is so bad I can smell it! This filter not only removes the smell, but my hair stays blond.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower Water Filter
from Inland Empire, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy, quick, perfect price!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to combat our hard water, which I've never measured but I can see the effects: poor lathering for soap, terrible water spots, clogged water appliances - you get the picture.
We're renting, so purchasing a water softener system was not an option. This shower attachment received excellent reviews - and it should.
It was quick to install, we haven't had any issues, and the price is great. Not sure how long the filter will last with our water quality - but with the replacements being so inexpensive, I'm not worried about it.
It should also be noted, because no one else commented (that I saw) that detectable shower heads work perfectly with this filter. It can be positioned to the side of the pipe so as not to interfere with a shower handle and it doesn't jut out - but rather back.
Excellent option for our situation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Convenient, Takes Less Space, Nice Design
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Water Filter
from Speculator, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Helps reduce effects of hard water

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have very hard well water at our summer cabin, and my hair always loses its body and looks flat. I had gotten to the point where I would pour a pitcher of lake water over my hair after showering with the well water. This filter was very easy to install, and, while not a miracle cure, does lessen the effects of the hard water on my hair and it has some body again. The other difference I notice is that my eyes no longer sting when I get shower water in them. I wish I had found out about this years ago.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shower Water Filter
from Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing product

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This shower filter seemed to be a good choice for a not very large shower enclosure with a somewhat low shower pipe. It did not lower the shower head and did not extend it much farther into the enclosure as a directly in-line filter unit would have. Unfortunately after a little over a month of use it became hard to keep the canister in the upright position as shown in the picture. It kept gradually rotating downward around the shower pipe even though the chrome ring that threads onto the shower pipe was tight. This chrome ring is similar to the part of a garden hose that screws onto a faucet. The chrome ring rotates about a metal member which is threaded into the plastic body of the unit. These threads are not very deep and eventually they stripped out leaving no way to attach the unit to the shower pipe. I had the unit for about 5 months, but only got about 3 months use out of it before it failed. The warranty is apparently 3 months. It might have lasted longer with a lighter shower head, but I feel that the metal member threaded not very deeply into the plastic body is a weakness in the design.
Pros: Takes Less Space
Cons: did not last long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower Water Filter
from Charlottesville, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth Buying

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We really didn't notice any difference in the water quality between using this product and not using this product. Not worth buying in our opinion.
Cons: not effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower Water Filter
from Annapolis, MD

Leaky

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was excited to install this to try and filter out the iron we have in our well water, which turns my hair orange. It's too soon to tell if it's making a difference, but the seal doesn't appear to work properly, as water is spraying out of the connector joint all over the shower. I read other reviews that mentioned this and thought they just hadn't tightened it enough, but we did everything correctly and still can't get it to stop spraying water indiscriminately all over the place.
Cons: leaky connection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shower Water Filter

good and bad

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install and find replacement cartridges altho' I would like to buy from the store, not from the website and have to pay shipping. I understand (2013) the filter has been updated for softer skin and hair.
For the reviews of leaking, only lately has the problem occurred after a year or so of use; however, when it happens, I turn off the shower and start it again and the leaking stops. I don't know if it filters enough of the minerals that cause hair color to fade and dull (calcium/magnesium) because it is not a water softener. Does remove chlorine effectively for an inexpensive filter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shower Water Filter
from Il
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Does the job I'm Shure.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. When I first installed it and turned on the shower head black water came out, I'm guessing thats normal. I just wished they would have noted that in the instructions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Water Filter
from Plaistow, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product works!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although we have a water softener to remove iron from our well water, we were still getting rust stains in the shower. My blonde colored hair was also turning dull and orange looking, even after a fresh color job from my hairdresser. Since installing this filter, the shower staining is non existent and my hair is no longer orange tinged. My hair has gone back to being a very shiny & soft colored blonde.
If you have iron in your well water, I would highly recommend this filter, especially if you have blonde highlights or blonde colored hair. I am a 50 year old woman & I installed these filters in our two showers by myself. It was easy. I also replaced my shower heads too. All you need is some plumbers tape, which comes with the unit, and pliers. Remember ladies (and some gents I suspect), counter-clockwise loosens and clockwise tightens.
I would also recommend that the filters be replaced every 3 months or so depending upon how many people are using that shower everyday. You can purchase replacement filters for these units for $9.96 from Home Depot versus $19.97 for an entire new unit. If you wait too long to replace the filters, you will probably find the inside of the unit, that holds the filter, covered in rust (iron) and probably the shower head as well. Depending on the amount of usage & iron in your water, you can decide whether to just replace the filter or the whole unit. Either way, it is easy to do.
My one negative is the fact that these units can only be purchased on-line. I would prefer to pick these up at my local Home Depot.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower Water Filter
from Michigan, USA

Update after a little over a month of use...

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am not as excited as I was at first. I'm going down to 3 stars from 4 b/c it is not a noticeable change anymore. I could tell a small difference at first but now nothing at all. I am having a water softener hooked up Monday and I can NOT wait. This filter is NOT a softener by any means. My skin is very dried out, lotions dont work, pores are clogged, skin & hair greasy and dirty feeling. Gross. It may still be helping somewhat but if so it is so miniscule that I can barely tell. Can't wait for CLEAN, SOFT water again! I would still recommend it if you are unable to get a softener just because I think it does help somewhat, just not nearly as much help as we needed!
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient
Cons: will not make water soft
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shower Water Filter
from JAX, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

not the best

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although my research on this filter sounded great, the actual product seems very average. It does not have the flexibility of others enabling you to alter the flow direction. I ordered white and should have ordered chrome.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: no flexibility
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Water Filter
from Detroit, Michigan

Terrific Shower Filter

PostedOctober 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water in our neck of the woods here in southeast Michigan contains a high level of chlorine. So much so, that simply turning on a faucet produces an odor similar to that of standing next to a hotel swimming pool. Due to this, we do not use tap water for cooking or drinking (strictly distilled water). We wanted something to minimize the chlorine in the shower water however, since chlorine is easily absorbed through the skin.
I ran across the Paragon shower filter in a health magazine recently, which gave it a "great" rating amongst other contenders when considering performance and price (initial and long-term). I immediately did further research online and found similar reviews, then purchased the unit here at Home Depot's web site.
The unit was received quickly (Bravo Home Depot shipping!) and installation was very simple, taking less than ten minutes even with a detachable hand-held shower head.
We're very impressed with this filters performance. There was NO TRACE of the inundating chlorine smell in the shower water. Additionally, perhaps due to filtering other contaminants, there was a marked increase in the "cleaning action" (for lack of a better description) of soap and shampoo.
Considering price, including long-term cost for replacement filter elements, and the filters performance, we give the Paragon Shower Filter FIVE STARS.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Water Filter
from MO

Great Shower Water Filter!

PostedSeptember 10, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the part of the country where I live, the water is very hard. I decided to buy a shower water filter to eliminate it. I tried this model and ever since I installed it, it has been great. My skin isn't dry anymore, my hair dosen't have a dull color/look to it. Also, the water doesn't seem "heavy" anymore, probably due to how the hardness level has dramatically decreased. After two showers with the filter, I noticed a huge difference in my skin. This is an inexpensive model and I believe it does the job. Definitely reccommended!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower Water Filter
from Iowa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it x2

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one for me and one for my mother. My mother had been having problems with rashes since moving into a house with city water instead of well water. I have very dry skin, and very hard water. The water filter was very simple to install and only took minutes. It works with our detachable shower heads and doesn't lower the shower head. But most important my hair and skin feel great and my mother's rash miraculously disappeared. Too bad she didn't get this before going to the dermatologist.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Water Filter
from Westerville, OH

Great Quality

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased this shower water filter based on online research of different filtration systems. I also read some of the reviews on homedepot.com and decided to try out this Paragon filter.
Installation literally took less than five minutes and only required a wrench. The water quality is so much better now, and all the odors are gone from my city water! I wish I had purchased a shower filter much earlier, and I would recommend this one to anyone!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shower Water Filter

Poor quality plastic connectors

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I attempted to install this product and saw that there was a major leak in the plastic nozzle that where it connects to the shower plumbing. The threads were completely worn out and the product is unusable.
Cons: low quality components - unusable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Water Filter

Great Product!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After moving into my new home, I noticed my skin and hair started to suffer from the poor water quality. I purchased this filter after reading the positive reviews. I'm glad I did! After using it only a week, my skin and hair improved drastically. BE ADVISED: When you install this filter for the first time and turn the water on, it will leak a fair amount of black carbon from the filter. Be ready to wash your shower after turning it on for the first time. Let it run for at least 5 minutes to rinse the excess carbon. After the initial use, the carbon will only be visible for a few seconds after you turn the shower on. After around a week, it will disappear altogether. Still a wonderful product! I have bright blonde hair and it did not stain my hair or skin at all.
Pros: Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shower Water Filter
from Pleasanton, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good better than best

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The water was so hard at our place. Though this shower filter doesn't make it very softner but it is doing its job. For this price couldn't expect more than this and it is Good.
Pros: Portable, Takes Less Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>