728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Held Sprayers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Painter - Pro

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Power Painter - Pro

Paint in 1/3 the time of a brush. Our largest spray pattern - maximum versatility for all home projects. The wide shot covers large areas quickly. Great for fences, sheds, garages, medium house, cabins. Sprays thin to thick materials such as: semi-transparent stain. Sprays clear wood preservative, water sealer, varnish, oil-based paint. Sprays paints or stains. Includes: wide shot tip, 1-1/2 qt. paint cup, 2-speed pattern control. Also includes suction set to draw paint directly from can and extra atomizer valve.
Overall rating:
3.906 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product26 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(5)
81%of customersrecommend this product26 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for Power Painter - Pro
Review 1 for Power Painter - Pro
from Tucson, AZ

PostedJune 24, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a block wall that needed painting. After spending a few hours painting with a roller and not getting very far, we decided to pick up the Wagner Power Painter Pro. After spending a few minutes with an associate in the store, he educated us on the best model for our project and type of paint. I have to say he steered us in the right direction.
The powere sprayer worked beautifully. This model comes with a backpack to put the paint in. It came in very handy, and with the enclosed plastic liners, clean up was easy. Cleaning the sprayer takes a little time, but it's no worse than cleaning a roller. In fact, you can hook it up to a hose to help clean all the parts.
I would recommend this sprayer to anyone tackling a large job where a roller or paint brush just isn't feasible.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Painter - Pro
from Monterey Park, CA

Wagner 2400 PSI Wide Shot Power Painter

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For medium size projects this is the best power painter for a DIY person to buy. It does the job with the least amount of fuss, and conforms to all the requirements that I would expect from a Spray painter. Sprays water based latex paints wih no problems whatsoever.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Painter - Pro
from Chandler, AZ

Wagner Power Painter Pro Review

PostedNovember 24, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this sprayer to paint the outside of my home. So far I have gotten one side of the house done (darkness halted my project). This sprayer is easy to use. Just follow the instructions and you are ready to go in less than 5 minutes. It lays down latex paint very smoothly with no thinning and the end result looks very professional. It was a bit louder than I expected but not any worse than a weed eater. It is fairly lightweight even when the paint cup is full so my arm did not get tired. One drawback I have noticed is that the paint cup is pretty small so you have to stop constantly to refill it. I haven't tried the backpack yet because it looks like it might be kind of a pain to set up. Clean up went well too, contrary to some of the other reviews. I filled the paint cup with water and sprayed until all the paint was cleared out and I was spraying mostly clear water. Then I disassembled the sprayer and rinsed the parts in the sink. The process only took about 10 minutes. Overall, this product is a good value for the money. I didn't think it would be able to handle a big job like painting an entire house (one-story) but based on today, I think it will work just fine. It is much easier to use than the $300-$500 commercial type sprayers. I definitely recommend this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Painter - Pro
from Fulton, NY

Wagner Power Painter ...Excellent Time Saver!

PostedJune 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend the Wagner Power Painter-Pro for anyone who wants to paint ANYTHING and save time. This saved me abundance of time and provided professional looking results. Excellent for painting doors which are really hard to cover with the average roller or brush and it does a perfect job without streaking!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Painter - Pro
from Orlando, FL

Do not buy!

PostedAugust 21, 2006
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just moved to a new house and wanted to paint each room. And wanted to find a quicker option than a roller and a paint brush.
If you have a closet or a small room to paint this may work for a short while, anything larger don't waste your money on this. If it is in your budget I higher recommend buying a ?Magnum by Graco Dx Airless Paint Sprayer? or similar model where the paint and pump stay on the floor.
I bought this gun, and it is terrible, here is why
1) It shakes/vibrates a lot in your hand a great deal while running, and the trigger is hard to keep depressed over time as your hands and arms ache.
2) It weights a lot, after a 10 minutes or so holding this gun kills yours arms and shoulders especially as it vibrates so much.
3) It is very noisy, its like running a small generator inside.
4) The paint clogs all the time.
5) It takes a long time to clean each part inside the gun after each use.
6) The spray pattern is very inconsistent; you have to make several passes just to cover the surface being painted. And it spits globs of paint each time it starts up again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Painter - Pro

Great Painter

PostedJanuary 25, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great for small or large projects. Many people say it's too noisy, what do u expect when it's throwing paint out at 2400 psi with a hand held motor. It was expected when I bought it so it didn't bother me. Yes it does waste a considerable amount of paint but when u really think about it, you're actually laying down 3 to 4 coats of paint at once. Most people buy this product who are trying spray painting for their first time. So a complaint about having to hold the button down is something they always speak about. When spraying it's sometimes better to do burst while your arm is in motion back and forth and also to prevent dripping. The big container is great allowing less refills when doing a project but beware, u should buy the liners unless u really want to spend large amounts of time cleaning it out. For the sprayer itself, if u are done with your project, clean it immediately if not, u will be cleaning it out for over 30 min. If u do as u should this product can be clean and ready for next use in less than 10 minutes or even half that time. I painted my entire house and it took me no more than 5 minutes between changing paints and cleaning. I used over 8 different color paints and had absolutely no problems with the changing and cleaning of this product. Just for everyone to know, if u lose or need some more of the lubricant, it's actually 10w 40 motor oil . So it's pretty cheap if u really need more lubricant. In conclusion it's a great product and would recommend to anyone, unless they don't like noise at all then I would suggest a brush.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Painter - Pro
from Las Vegas, Nevada

Might be Good for Occasional Small Jobs

PostedOctober 2, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the PP-Pro specifically to pain a new shed (400 sqft) with trim, using latex exterior paint.
I considered using the backpack, but quickly resolved that the best approach is to simply hold the tubing and the pain can handle in one hand, and sprayer with the other. The backpack seemed simple enough to use, but even though it comes with one liner for quick clean-up, I didn't like the idea of not knowing how full it was, or having to transfer paint in and likely out upon finishing. The backpack does make a decent place to store all of the components however. . .Definitely a plus. A molded case that snugly holds a gallon can would be a good substitution for the backpack on future models.
My arm was very tired by the time I finished. The arm holding the paint can was fine, but the one holding the gun was shaking and unsteady. I built the shed myself (A-Frame Barn style), so I wouldn't consider myself week.
Clean-up was ok, but not quick. Of course after paying $133, I wanted to make sure it was well cleaned. I estimate it took 30-45 minutes.
The next time I used the PP-Pro was to paint the trim before attaching it to the shed. I used the paint cup for this project, and placed the boards on table. What a pain! What a mess! I quickly learned that the PP-Pro only works at or near level. If you try to tip it, the intake is exposed (despite the deepened reservoir in the cup which accomodates the intake tube and filter.) It also dispenses way too much paint for that type of project. After a few boards I stopped and finished with a brush. I painted about 6 boards with over 1/2 gallon of paint with the sprayer. I painted double that with about 3 cups using the brush!
I also learned that the spray tips will only last about one project (2 gallons of latex) before needing to be replaced. When the spray tip wears out, the gun spits large globs of paint, instead of a smooth pattern.
The sonar guide is a gimmick. Sure it works, but I think I only looked at the distance once while working, simply because I remembered it was there.
Summary:
- Works good on verticle surfaces, but not horizontal
- OK at best spray pattern & consistancy.
- Heavy
- A little loud (Since the motor is never more than an arms length away)
- Sonic Guide should be ignored for purchasing decision
- Goes through spray tips fast - buy extra.
- Paint can attachhment is good, but could be improved.
- Backpack may be as useless as the sonar.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Painter - Pro
from Allegan, MI

It sure beats the 'OLD Fashioned' Way!

PostedJuly 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I must say, this is definitely the fastest way to go for DIY'ers. It was worth every penny just to push the painting along.
My husband and I can't afford a Professional, however we still get the same results. Works great with Behr Semi Gloss House Paint. Never once did it clog...
I read all reviews before I purchase, just to validate it as a great sprayer for those who do not have alot of money to begin with but have a large project to complete.
Wagner is a Great product! They also have other more professional sprayers...
If you don't like to pay shipping, I would recommend picking it up at your local store.
5 Stars all the way!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Painter - Pro
from Ledyard, CT

Painting made easy

PostedJune 4, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I attempted to paint a slotted closet door several times, but could not get the paint to look evenly applied. Ten minutes with the power sprayer and it looked great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Painter - Pro
from lewisburg, tn

PostedJune 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend using the Wagner Power Painter-Pro. I used it to paint my barn and I did it in half the time it would have taken me to do it with a brush.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Painter - Pro

Wonderful

PostedMay 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have read other reviews, and it seems that the most common complaint is the spatter of paint. As soon as I thinned the paint to the max recommendation, I had no issues at all. Read and follow the recommendations on the paint for thinning. It would start to splatter again a tiny bit when the reservoir was getting low. It took me about 10 minutes to dial it in, and about 15 minutes to clean it up like new. I highly recommend fully reading the instruction manual (even though I generally toss those aside) for tips on using and cleaning. All in all, a great tool to add to your collection. It saves a ton of time and the finish is much better than rolling or brushing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Painter - Pro
from Columbia , Illinois

Best Sprayer for the best price

PostedJuly 24, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sprayer totally met and exceeded my expectations. It has wonderful paint control with the ability to put down a lot of paint in a short amount of time. I painted a complete room ( 14" X 8" X 10" tall) in less than one hour. I painted the ceiling and all the walls in no time at all with no runs or blemishes in the paint. This painter also has no problem like others do with throwing globs of thicker paint out of the sprayer the paint comes out in a fine spray ( even thick latex) with great control...
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Painter - Pro
from Southeastern N.C.

Power Painter newby

PostedJune 29, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just purchase this product recently. I've always wanted one and, when the lattice underneath my front porch needed paint, I decided to get it. READ THE DIRECTIONS! I did and setting the unit up was a breeze. I was a little startled at the noise produced during operation, but it covered the lattice well. I was worried about the volume of paint that would be used, but it was comperable to what I would have used with a brush or roller. I finished what has been a 45 to 60 minute job in 5! The only drawback I've found with this product is cleanup, which took me a good, long while. When you consider the cost of replacing these "swirl valves", though, it's time well spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Painter - Pro
from Rhode Island

Wagner Power Painter

PostedAugust 8, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little leery about using a paint sprayer since I had never done so. I read many of the reviews, and even though a lot of them were negative, I decided to give it a try. The first time I tried it, it took a bit of getting used to. It kept spitting droplets of paint instead of an even spray. Being quite mechanical, I decided to disassemble it and find out what was going on. If the unit sits for a while before being cleaned (or gets hot from use), the paint can start to set up, which leads to clogging the piston and spray nozzle. The piston and nozzle may have to be cleaned a few times during the application, which I was able to do in about one minute after some practice. All in all, this sprayer cut the time it took to paint my house by at least 60% or more. I have a small house (1600 sq ft approx), and my son and I did 3 sides in about 2 1/2 hours (a friend let me borrow another sprayer so we had two). What a great product!!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Painter - Pro
from Atlanta, GA

So disappointing

PostedMay 21, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this sprayer to stain 275 feet of fence. It spattered paint everywhere and unevenly. The accessories were poor quality. I tried using the backpack and putting the hose directly in the paint bucket, the cup it came with was just too small for this big a job. After priming the sprayer (as per enclosed directions) it would not stay primed and the stain would run right back down the hose. I spent more time re-priming the sprayer than I did painting. There were numerous other problems with this sprayer. I ended up using a roller and a brush and was much happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Painter - Pro
from Modesto, CA

Power Painter Pro

PostedJuly 23, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit performed very well on my indoor bathroom project. Shot a couple of doors and 16 feet of beadboard using semi-gloss enamel paint. No thinning of the paint was required which was nice. The key is to practice on some scrap wood first. I found that the max setting worked best and produced a very uniform and even coat of paint. The only problem was that the unit stopped producing an even coat when the level in the paint basin dropped below about the 1/2 full point. Once it was refilled it worked well. Clean-up was not a big issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Painter - Pro
from Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey

Do not buy!

PostedJuly 28, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this sprayer to paint a large number of doors on a remodeling project. Due to the poor performance of this product, I was unable to successfully finish even one. The sprayer seemed promising at first with a nice even spray pattern and even coverage. however, it rapidly deteriorated to to spitting and large globs of paint that would last a few seconds. stopping and restarting would often clear thigs up, but, the good pattern would only last a few seconds before the globs would reappear.
I tried thinning the paint (latex) to the point where coverage was significantly degraded with no change in performance. A couple of years ago, I used an older model that a friend had given me. It had the same problems. I assumed it might have been abused at some point. Now, however, it seems to be a trait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Painter - Pro
from Seattle, WA

Not bad at all, but I did expect better..

PostedAugust 9, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a pretty great product... I am using it to paint up a basement, and it is certainly faster than doing it by brush/roller..
I have run into some problems though:
When feeding paint directly from a paint can, the flow rate is serverly reduced, which runs into problems when using latex paint. The paint hopper on the unit is just too small to use for anything but the tiniest job.
The backpack thing is a pain to setup, I generally just feed straight from the can for interior work (walk around holding the paint can). I can see this would be great for exterior work.
Cleanup takes WAY longer than their advertised 15minutes, if you wanna do cleanup properly.
All in all, a good product, but I was hoping for better feed rates using latex paint from the can. I know I can thin the paint slightly, which would help, but then coverage is reduced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Painter - Pro
from CA

Useless

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this Power Painter - Pro to paint my wood patio cover. It's useless for Latex paint / primer unless you know exact ratio to thining the paint. It takes a lot of time to cover thing up, adjust the paint thickness, and clean-up of the painter. Plus, the coverage of paint is not as good as rolled-on painting. You will waste huge amount of paint during spray. Not worth it.
I will try to return it if I can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Painter - Pro
from Ann Arbor, MI

Good for the cost

PostedJanuary 24, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This paint sprayer does a great job with coverage and is extremely easy to clean. I found there is only one downside. When pulling or releasing the trigger the paint sometimes comes out in little globs that land on what you are painting. I would recommend having a roller handy to smooth them out in case this happens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>