728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tankless Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Ideal for use in warm climates with a high groundwater temperature, this PowerStar 2.3 GPM Electric Tankless Water Heater provides enough hot water at 105 degrees Fahrenheit with a 55-degree Fahrenheit inlet temperature for a shower, laundry or bathtub. The element and polymer canister are designed to optimize heat transfer and reduce scaling, and the flow sensor provides a constant output temperature. The small product footprint fits in tight spaces, and the water heater can be installed in various locations for versatility.
Overall rating:
3.103 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product15 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(8)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product15 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Homestead, FL

Tankless Water Heater

PostedDecember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought power star tankless water unit two months back. Installation was not easy, had help from family and took about 4 days to be put in. I recommend anyone that lives in warm climate the AE-115 water heater. This model requires a 150 amp circuit breaker and 2 40 amp breakers which i believe is the standard for most homes. The next model would require you to have a 200 amp breaker and 3 40 amp breakers. The AE-115 uses a lot of power, about 60 amps which is more than most kitchens. But remember you are only using it for the time you are taking a shower. Running mutilpe items around the house has not givien me a problem, such as the A/C, Pool pump, wsher, dryer, and taking a shower. I also recommend that this item is used with a house hold of less than 5 and a family that doesnt take to many long showers. Than you can see a change in your electric bill, about $15-$25 less a regular water heater.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Chiefland, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product, I have had mine for 7 years trouble free!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As stated I have had 7 trouble free years, and when I called customer service I was able to walk through an issue with technical support who quickly and efficiently found that one of my two elements had failed. After a brief phone call I now have a new set of heating elements on the way covered by an excellent warranty... This unit covers my shower, bathroom, dishwasher, and kitchen needs flawlessly for two people, for the life of me I cannot understand a lower rating... Highly recommended, well supported product! I installed mine according to installation recommendations with 8AWG wiring on a 2 foot run fed by two 40amp breakers in a 200amp Square D panel, (also purchased at Home Depot), and found this unit freakishly reliable...
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not so good at all

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the Ae115 for 3 years. This past Saturday Nov 23, 2013 the flow transducer ruptured and filled my condo. I called the company and they said they could not do anything. The inside of this product is plastic not like the other companies that have copper. I paid over 500 hundred dollars for this product and it lasted only 3 years. The tank that I replaced with this AE115 was over 20 years old. So all I can tell you buyer beware.... As you can see by the reviews on this page this is not a good product, so do some research and get something that is better....
Frank Rescigno
Cons: Leaks
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from laplace, louisiana

Little dissappointing...but ok.

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I installed this heater to replace a standard 40 gallon unit that had a tank failure. I had always wanted to install a tankless unit but the cost was a little excessive in the past. This one seemed to be priced right so I took the plunge. The heater works fine with a few somewhat minor issues. Installation was simple (wall mounted) and I had no major problems. But be advised that this unit will require TWO 240 volt power lines instead of the one typically used by the standard heater. This could be a really big deal in some situations. As of the date this was written, my unit is being powered by only one and works fine though it sometimes "trip" the breaker or reset switch. I do not recommend this. The unit should be wired with two. This unit also requires a 40 amp breaker which required replacing the 30 amp in use at the the time of installation. Both changes in most cases will require an electrician which will for most add to the cost of installing the unit. Also be advised that the time to get hot water at the faucet was increased, but not dramatically. Maybe by another 10 seconds or so. For me , no big deal. What is a big deal though, and I believe for others as well, is the dramatic decrease in hot water flow. There was a significant decrease in the amount of flow from the tank heater to the tankless. About half would be a reasonable estimate. If you like strong hot showers, for example, you will not be happy. Be sure to compare, unlike I did, the gpm (gallons per minute) of your old unit to that of this unit or any other that you may consider purchasing. Changing my shower heads to low flow, high pressure types solved the "strong hot shower" issue and probably will save water and money as well. All in all I'm relatively happy with the unit and would purchase it again. I think the more expensive units would be a better choice but for me this unit is satisfactory.
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Lakeland, Fl.

Very Satisfied

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Let me just start by this is the gift that keeps on giving! My family was having to trip the breaker to get our old 40 gallon tank water heater to turn on and then it would just run until it got too hot and shut down. My dad had installed one of these in his house and said that it had cut down on his electric bill a little, but I had no idea the impact it would have on mine. With a little common sense and around $600 from start to finish I was able to this project my self and it has paid for itself time and time again. Our electric bills were cut by 25% and it is great knowing that when we are not at home that there is not electricity running to a device that isn't neccessarily being used. I would reccomend this product to anybody who is looking to replace their water heater and doesn't want to shell out a whole lot of money in the process.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy, it will be better to buy Rheem water heater

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The circuit board doesn't last more than 2 years. Two units in 3 years. No warranty.
Cons: bad circuit board design, bad support, expensive
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Costa Rica
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Would Advised Against This One

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this heater 14 months ago. Now out of warranty and one of the circuit boards burnt out. I contacted Bosch and the person was rude and could have cared less about my problem. I just wanted to replace the circuit board but he said they couldn't do that without seeing the unit first. Shipping it to them would not be cost effective. Plus the cost of the part was about the same as the unit. It was great while it lasted but I would expect it to last more than one year.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

marginal product

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
works OK about half of the year when inlet water is warm, use low volume heads and throttle flow just to get lukewarm water most of the year, certainly not a whole house heater as sold
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from St Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Have bought 3 of your heaters, had to replace 2. Will not buy another until you have a better unit.

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Much too expensive to last only 3 yrs. No help from technical support plus was put on hold for over 50 minutes!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Menlo Park, CA

AE115

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If your house has at least 125Amp @ 240, and there is space in your breaker box for 2 240v circuits and the heater isn't too far from the breaker box the rest is pretty easy. At 20# the installation can be performed by 1 person. It worked right off the bat. I thought it would hum like an electric chair was being used, but it is quiet.
I have electric solar panels on my roof, so now my hot water will be free. Replacing a tank gas heater, I should be more energy efficient and zero pollution. I have a small household and the amount of water is adequate.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Ventress, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Computer Board Burns Out Regularly

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The computer board cannot handle the load it has to deal with (flawed design I assume), and these newer washing machines alternate hot and cold water draw to deliver the warm water setting, which I mostly use. Now I am scared to use the warm water setting for fear it will burn out the board sooner.
I am on my second unit because the first one I bought had to be replaced by company (and I had to pay a plumber to install). The computer (control) board is not built to last and only has a one-year warranty and is not returnable; the second unit the company sent me had the original board burn out within a year (had to pay a plumber to change it) and now that replacement just died (three years later) and had to pay for it and plumber, which is almost the cost of a new heater.
Check the breaker box for loose wires on the two switches. Mine would trip the breaker in 6 minutes, when I had soap in my hair.
When this computer board burns out I may look at natural gas on demand because it does save me at least $40 a month on electric bill. I have had similar problems with the company stated in other reviews. Will not buy anything that is this brand again. Really sad, because when it works, it works great; you just can't depend on how long it will be before the board burns out.
Cons: totally unreliable longevity, can't be fixed overnight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Atlanta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a very long life- going back to a tank

PostedMay 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not worth the money or the headache. I had it in a rental property and didn't get very long use out of it.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

plan to replace yearly

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my third unit. All have been warranty except last year when the circuit board failed. I had to order and pay for that. When you have an issue, be sure it is not on the weekend, they are not open. When you call, be sure you have at least 45 minutes of hold time available. You also will not get service unless you are looking at the unit when you talk with someone. They will not help you if you are not at the heater.
My first two units would work about six months then go out. This last unit one of the heating tanks cracked and flooded my room. They will not ship replacements overnight unless you want to spend $210 plus.It takes five days to get a replacement so prepare to be out of hot water for a week.
Do not think of sending them an email. I have emailed at least four different times and I have never receive an answer on any of them.
I will say they are good about honoring the warranty, you just have to know it will be a good week to get results.
Over all If I ever have to pay for repairs or service I will buy a different product. I would not buy one of these or from this company
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more water heater tanks for me

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have installed 3 of these tank-less electric water heaters and I'll never go back. They work great and save money. Just have a general knowledge of plumbing and electrical experience. Especially perfect for 2nd homes and vacation rentals. They use no power if no water goes through. One has been in service for 2 years and never a problem even when not used in several months. Directions could be a little more specific and "man friendly". In other words, show pictures in sequential steps.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Jacksonville, Florida

this is the second PowerStar tankless we have purchased. Worth every dollar and much more.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have instant hot water anytime and all-the-time. Enjoy the space the old water heater tank took. Like the clean look with no large tank, but love the savings in the electric bill...
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, saves money
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from PA
Gender:Male

good product

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was very pleased with unite and shipped free. Why some people think these units dont work are because their not turning the valve pressure down coming out of the unite. It must be no more than 1.5 gallons per min. in upper states. customer really pleased....and use the 6gauge wire as required with 2 -40amp double pole breakers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Leesburg, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Water Heater. Highly recommend. Works well. Easy to install.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm about to purchase my second one

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced a unit with this one and could not be happier
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Europe has these for years

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted one for years. Easy to install even with the extra cut off box since it is not in sight of the breakers.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17.25 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from deer lodge,tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

replace regular, poor tech service

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought first one in 2010 and I am currently working on for the forth time and on second unit. still junk! It takes forever to get help with and most are rude or unknowledgeable. won`t buy any more bosch products .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>