728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer

RIDGID stationary power tools are designed to provide best in class performance. This jointer/planer will produce flat boards time after time.
Overall rating:
4.627 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product56 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product56 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Review 1 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
sacherjj
from Indianapolis, IN

Well built jointer

PostedJune 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I considered installing link belts when assembling this Jointer, to deal with vibration. I decided to wait and found there was no need. This is a very smooth jointer. I haven't had any problem with dust collection, but I am connected to a true 4" dust collection system, not just a shop vac.
The angle gauge is really just a throw away piece of plastic. However, the push blocks are useful and it is nice to have storage slots on the side.
The machine has plenty of power and the fence adjustments are among the best I have seen. My only complaint is that it is pretty low to work on for a 6'5" guy. I added a mobile base to the jointer and used a little wood to give me a little more height. Now it is a joy to use.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Getrdone
from Sebring, Florida

Unbelievable Value for the Money

PostedSeptember 22, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine almost ten months ago, it was an attempt at making only one jointer purchase instead of buying a cheaper one and upgrading. I certainly made the right choice. This Machine has operated Flawlessly and I have absolutly no complaints what so ever and I like to complain. It was damaged slightly in shipping but the damage was confined to the power switch which RIGID replaced without any complaint within a few days of my calling. The blades are wonderful and have held an edge, are set properly out of the box. The fence is easy to operate as are the controls. DON"T SETTLE FOR CHEAP RIGID had it right on the head with this unit.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
TMarch
from Easton PA

RIDGID Joiner planer

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased from Home Depot and have not been disappointed. Assembly was fairly easy but two people make it easier due to the weight and a few bolt placements. Yes, the 90 degree stop was a bit off but resetting is not difficult. The hardware packaging was superb - hope others take note. No issues with power or performance. Handles red oak and poplar with ease - even did well on some Bubinga. The only "wish for improvement" would be some retractable casters as I am not able to keep the unit truly stationary due to shop size. I hope RIDGID comes out with something soon. For now the unit is on furniture sliders so I can move it in and out. I highly recommend this tool.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
George
from Oregon

Quite winner ... Jointer JP0610

PostedMay 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros:
Cast Iron Table and Fence, easy assembly and use, quiet operation,
solid stand, easy adjustments, accurate out of box. Good overall
quality control. Best in class.
Cons: Angle guide is flimsy, Dust collection only works well with
higher powered dust collection system. Table height is somewhat low.
You might want to consider a mobile base or crafting your own for
additional table height.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
JP04
from Tucson, AZ

Great

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
RIDGID products are great. They have proven their professional quality, and this jointer is another perfect example. The top is heavy duty, and only required minor adjustments after setup. Setup total time was about 3 hours. The blades are great after cutting a few hundred board feet. My only suggestion is to construct/purchase a mobile base for this jointer if you wish to move it around because it is heavy (220 lbs. or so). I have made mobile bases for my other stationary tools and plan to do so for this as well. My shop is fairly small and any extra space I can create is beneficial. This is a great tool and I expect plenty of years of use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Snoozie
from Leesburg, VA

Ridgid Joiner/Planer

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this on line when Home Depot had it discounted to $299. Item was delivered fast and in good condition. Needed some help assembling it as it is quite heavy. Needed two people to line up some of the holes, but everything fit nicely. Table was level and cutting head was perfect from the factory. Needed to tweek the 90 degree stop screw a very small amount, but that was it. 135 degree was set perfectly. After assembly I had some black walnuit I needed to plane for some Christmas presents I am making. Machine worked perfectly and finish is very good for a $300 machine. Would recommed to anyone looking for a joiner/planer for smaller projects.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
TLROWLAND
from Eastern VA

A HIGHER CLASS MACHINE WITH A LOWER PRICETAG

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a woodworker and was looking for a quality Jointer for my home shop, but everything I found started in the $600 and up range. Then I saw this machine and after reading the reviews thought I'd give it a shot, and boy am I glad I did.
Goes together great, and you can feel the quality in every piece, and the bed is very heavy. Assembly took about 2 hours by myself (I wish more tools were packaged and instructions clear like this one). The only thing I had to adjust was the 90deg stop on the fence. Everything else was dead on right out of the box and right within tolerance. As with cast iron beds, you'll need to clean it with some mineral spirits and then apply a paste wax to protect the metal and keep wood moving smoothly across the surface.
My first test cut was like butter, and no snipe whatsoever. This is the first Rigid tool I have owned, and I must say that when compared to some high end woodworking machines in this class, I am impressed. I hope to get many years of good use out of this tool.
(a word of advice: if you put it together by yourself, open the box top side up. When it's time to assemble the stand to the table, keep the table in the box in the styrofoam and carefully cut around the foam. Once everything is bolted together, wedge the bottom under the foam, and lift the tool upright. Use your legs, not your back)
Cheers!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Mike
from Mansfield, PA

The little air craft carrier

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The Ridgid Jointer is an interesting machine. Allot of the features are really good, but there are some major design and manual flaws. I have tones of Ridgid tools so I know they are quality, but this machine just does not feel like the same level of care was put into it.
The Good:
I do have to say that the surfaces were smooth and clear of rust and voids. The depth control works perfect and accurately. Hooked up to a 4" dust collect leaves nothing in the dust port shoot. Speaking of the frame, it has a rock stead design and when adjusted for height, is rock steady. Over all a good machine, but now for what I didn't like.
The Bad:
Fence adjustment is a nightmare. The preset stops were off by 2 to 3 degrees and needed to be adjusted. Squaring the fence was a pain. As soon as you went to lock down the fence, the tightening of the pivot knob would throw the fence back out of alignment. It took almost 2 hours to get it square. Additionally, the fence pivot lock out knob is poorly located. I banged my hand several times. The fence knob was designed to be operated from the back of the machine only and not the front. Finally, the location of the power switch and the design of it are terrible. The switch is tiny and located so low on the machine that if you want to kill the machine in a hurry you need to look for it and can't hit it with your knee. A paddle switch should in my opinion be there instead.
The Okay:
The paddles that are included do the job allowing for light pushing and little to no slipping. For the quality they are not great but will do the job. Handle size throughout the machine is good, easy to operate. This overall is only okay because of some of the unusual locations.
Overall:
This is definitely not a Powermatic or even of Grizzly quality. Would I buy it again? Maybe, but for the additional cost and a mobile base I could have gone with a Grizzly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
JASWASHHEIGHTS
from New York, NY

Initial impressions good

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I haven't spent too much time with the machine yet, but wanted to share some thoughts about setup.
It arrived well-packed and intact, and the instructions are easy to follow. Be aware that with a stamped steel support base, there are fluctuations in the shapes of the metal that may require you to do a little clamping or spreading to make the base fit together. A couple of medium sized quick-grip type clamps that can also spread may be needed to get the parts to go together. Also be sure to give a good cleaning to the cast iron machined surfaces using kerosene (not mineral spirits or paint thinner) and hit them with a coat of wax prior to use.
I had to make an adjustment to the outfeed table to get it down a hair to the level of the blades. Since all of the blades were equally too low, this was easier than adjusting each blade up to the outfeed level. I haven't checked the tables in relation to each other with a machinist's straight edge, but using an aluminum straight edge they seem to be good.
Since the bottom of the support base is open, there's a little more noise than other machines of this size. That's easy to remedy if you add a few pieces of plywood to block off the openings. I'm using self-adhesive velcro strips so they are easy to remove. It makes a big difference. It also makes the dust collection more intense.
Very little vibration from the motor so far. Knives are super sharp.
One dislike is the way the fence 90 degree stop works. There's a little too much play in it, so I won't be setting the fence back to 90 without checking it against a square.
I'll update this review after a few hours of use.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Charlie2Horse
from Richmond, VA.

Built to last! Solid as a rock.

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually had fun putting this well made jointer together. It is very well packaged and very heavy. Over two hundred pounds. The instructions recommend inverting the cast iron bed on the floor and installing the stand (after it's put together) on it upside down. I installed it right-side up and had no problems. There are 3 bolts that hold the bed to the stand and they can be tightened by laying on the floor. No problem! It appears that the jointer performs as advertised and I am looking forward to putting it through the paces.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
LDelP
from Saratoga Springs, New York

How to take it home in a car...

PostedMay 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't really have anything to add in terms of the quality of this machine -- I've been averaging 10 hours / week of runtime with all types of wood on this machine for the past 6 months and couldn't be more pleased. Excellent machine.
Instead I'll talk about getting it set up without any help, which can be done. I bought it at a store (as opposed to online) and got it to my shop in a passenger car by unpacking the box in the HD parking lot and loading the pieces in the back seat area. The heaviest single piece is the cast iron bed, which is heavier than my dog but lighter than my girlfriend, so I'm guessing around 100 lbs. However, it's not too bulky, and also has plenty of places where you can get a good grip without hurting your hands. I'm 5'7" with a medium build and carried it for a total of about 30' without ever feeling I couldn't handle it.
Assembly took me 90 minutes, and if you're doing it alone, have some scrap wood handy to support the machine while it's upside-down. Getting the correct tension on the motor was difficult, but if you leave the nuts loose and tilt the machine upright, you can use the weight of the motor to get it set properly. Also, the nuts that secure the motor are in cramped quarters -- I had to use a fixed wrench for those and used a ratchet for the rest.
The bed and blades shouldn't need adjusting, but I would recommend familiarizing yourself with the procedures anyway, before the manual gets misplaced.
The machine can handle a pretty good load, and dust/chip collection is an issue, especially if you're working with softwoods. My shopvac was filling up really quickly, so I cut 2 holes in a plastic garbage can, running a hose from the jointer's dust port into one, and the shopvac's vacuum tube into the other, and it's been working surprisingly well.
The only complaint I have is that Home Depot doesn't stock replacement knives, so I'd recommend ordering a set online and having them handy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
bigAshman
from Deer Creek, MN

all good but the delivery

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this jointer on ash, it seems to have plenty of power. It leaves a nice square edge. It is quite heavy and is best left in one location in your shop. For the money I would buy this machine again. The only Issue I had with this is the getting it part. I thought it was going to be delivered in 4-7 days. In my case it took 9 days. which normaly would not be a big deal but, I needed it at the time and it put me behind on my project. Also the box had a big gash in the side and the bussness I had it dropped off at accepted it. However everything was there and not damaged as far as the jointer goes I am very happy with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
NJ4020
from Sheridan, IN

Ridgid 6" Jointer

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Very well packed with excellent instructions for assembly. I have used for 6 months on seasoned oak with perfect results.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
bmf175
from West Columbia, SC

Ridgid joiner/planer is a good get

PostedJanuary 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned this piece for a year now and have absolutely NO complaints concerning the value, ease of set up, and overall quality.
Obviously it was a bit heavy but assembly was straight forward and from there I had no problems. Runs smooth and quiet. The joints are great. The only snipe I have had are on figured woods such as tiger maple and curley cherry but that is to be expected.
I also like the rabbet feature on this piece. Instead of setting up my router or table saw for a rabbet cut. I can make rabbets quickly and they cone out clean. All around I am very pleased with this piece.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
bobrobert
from Indiana

I was impressed

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered it and received it in less then a week and me and my grandson put it together in less then 2 hours. I loved the way they had all the parts on a card and tell you size and what they was for. Most the time there just in a bag and you have to play around for a hour trying to find what your looking for.Of all the thing I have had to put together this was the easiest . The very best. I am sure it will work just fine looking forward to trying it out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Amshoff
from Louisville KY

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was fairly easy to put together. It does take a couple of people because of the weight. However, my wife helped me and we had no problems.
I have to say jointer preforms very well. It works as good as any I've seen. Comparing it to other units, I have to say for the price makes it a no brainer.
The 46" table is more than long enough for items needed when making cabinets and furniture.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Dino09
from Schenectady, New York

Excellent Buy

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Planner/Joiner, and was extatic about the delivery. They delivered it directly to the house and off loaded it to my guarage. It took about three hours to assemble. Just follow the detailed directions. I tried it out on some pine and oak boards, and found that I did not need to adjust the blades. It was all set up. It works as advertised, and would strongly recomend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
jointer2
from CHICAGO

the edger

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great vakue,the substantial weight keeps it in place & eliminates vibration. smooth cutting turns out tru edges making easy board glue ups .it's dust collection works great on reducing clean up. nice humming motor is quieter, in it's inclosur. even it's color brightens up the shop.this is my 4th' RIGID tool; they are great performers and I recommend that everyone try ANY ONE OF THEM.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
Pirateover50
from Pensacola Fl

Great for the money

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got the unit on sale for $269 with free shipping. Truck delivery was excellent. Driver wheel the item into my garage for me. Set up was relatively easy. I did it by myself and assembled it upright. Directions were easy to follow and all items fit perfectly. After assembly I tested a few boards through the unit and it performs as described. I definitely recommend this item.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for JP0610 6 1/8 In. Stationary Jointer/Planer
backpacker

dd

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
instructions were good. wonderful packaging for the small parts and well marked. set up was fairly easy. the machine works perfectly without any significant adjustments. am very pleased with this tool. my wife was able to use it with only a one time instruction and did a good job finishing some old boards
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>