728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Film or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film

24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film

Light Effects by Artscape, creates the visual effect and sparkle of textured glass. Light effects window films refract light producing a three-dimensional quality. These thin, translucent films provide privacy while still allowing natural light to enter the room. Artscape films are easily applied to any smooth glass surface. They do not use adhesives and are easily removed if needed. They can be trimmed or combined to fit any size window. The images have a repeating pattern left to right and top to bottom and can be used either vertically or horizontally. These films provide UV protection and are the perfect decorative accent for windows that require continued privacy. Artscape patented products are all made in the USA.
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product37 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product37 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
Review 1 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film

Stained glass window film

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed something to cover our front door window. It was a privacy issue with people driving and walking by. This is perfect because it allows light in but keeps people from seeing in our front door. You cannot see in through this film. Works great and simple to install. If putting on a door like ours, dont trim it first. Just trim with a blade around the edge as you apply.
Pros: Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to install & looks great!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for my needs. I applied this on both odd shaped (13"x78.5") windows that are on both sides of my front door. It's easy to install with the included squeegee. I used that & a spray bottle of a few ounces of water with a few drops of dish soap mixed in. This product gives me lots of privacy. Standing outside at night with indoor lights on, you can see the shadow of a person, but only if they are standing near the window. During the day it lets light in to reveal the pretty amber colored pattern even more. It stays firmly in place even in direct sunlight & cold weather. I love that I don't have to see the street or clean these windows anymore. I needed to buy a couple of pieces per window. I lined up the pattern & you can't even see the seam.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very cool accessory!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've put this film on my front living room window for some privacy. Now I can keep my curtains open and light still comes into what is usually a dark room. It was very quick and easy to put up and I love the added color! I only wish I could get this in a larger size. maybe 24 X 48 or so.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Pacific Grove, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Product!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Simple Installation with no adhesive necessary. Looks like real stained glass. Absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Ordering more for another window.
Pros: Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Sugar Hill, Ga

A small project that makes a big difference!

PostedMay 13, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very user friendly and easy to install. You can have a new look on your windows in minutes. The color is more amber than what the picture shows. I was very pleased with the results and get many compliments from guest as they enter my home. One roll was enough to do each window panel on the sides of my front door. Looks beautiful when the light hits it! This product also gives me complete privacy without high cost and time consuming installation of window coverings! The best part is no more cleaning my windows every day {I have 3 kids}! Instead of seeing smudged windows, I see pieces of art!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film

Love the colors

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Used it to add privacy to my bathroom window. I pressed my face to the window from the outside and saw only shadows, so it serves its purpose. The only downside was the shrinkage, it was more than I expected.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Glendale, CA

Best and easiest window makeover - EVER

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a not-so-desirable view looking out my vertically-sliding kitchen window (it faces some not-so-pretty apartment complexes). The window is only about 2ft. x 3ft. and applying this amazing film was definitely one of the easiest and most effective home-imrpovement tasks I've ever done. Simply clean the window, measure the dimensions of the glass for each pane, cut the film to size, spray water on the glass (the more the better), apply the film and squeegy out the water along with any air bubbles.
There are no adhesives, and the film is easily removed without any residue left over.
And it looks AMAZING. With the sunlight shining throughout my kitchen, it brings the warm hues into your room, and at night it shimmers like real stained glass. And I don't have to see the ugly view outside because when the window is closed you can't see the shapes of anything outside, even though the light comes through.
I also applied this film to my privacy glass window in my bathroom shower. What a difference. Usually the light shining through bathroom privacy windows is diffused in such a way that it brings an unnecessarily bright and harsh light into the bathroom, but this film makes the bathroom look elegant as it softens the light and subtly colors the room.
My guests all believe it's real stained glass until I tell them otherwise.
BUY THIS FILM if you're looking for a relatively inexpensive way to add decorative flavor and naturally beautiful lighting to any room in your house. It's so inexpensive compared to other solutions and it's fun and easy to install.
NOTE: I have a generally earth-tone warm palette in my home, so of course the color of this film compliments it wonderfully. And the pattern is very neutral (it's not flowers or trees or harsh geometric shapes) which makes it go with other design elements fairly easily (such as tile work, bathroom fixtures which are generally silver, bronze, gold or white). But, if you have a room with a different color palette or specific theme (e.g. bright blue, purple and/or flowers, the ocean) you may want to get a different film design that works with your setup. Personally I think this design is THE BEST ONE for most situations, and let's just say I have a 'professional eye' for these things.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from San Diego, CA

Privacy at last!

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I love our apt especially the big sunny windows. We DON'T love that they open out to the parking lot and sidewalk where everyone gets an peek at our little sanctuary. This window film has given us our privacy back without taking away the light that we enjoy so much--in fact it seems to diperse it better making our rooms brighter. Was very easy to install, but looks like it took hours! Neighbors and guest compliment it all the time. Now we can relax at home without worrying about putting on a show! It'd be great if it were a touch cheaper since it took so many to do our windows but overall is worth it!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Canton, Georgia

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased this window film for my sidelights. After installing it and seeing how easy it was and how esthetically appealing, I decided to also use it for my bathroom window. I checked to be sure no one could see in at night and with the light on before installing. It is secure and private but also gorgeous during the morning when the sun rises and shines through the window. It is amazing! Love this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA

Product looks great.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product go's on easy, looks good, but should be offered in larger sizes.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: Size & Weight, should offer in larger sizes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Hillsborough, NC

So many uses - and you can re-use them!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This style especially is very versatile, as you can cut across along the pattern and get a cool natural-looking effect. We did this on the top and bottom to leave some room for peeking out but obscuring most of the window. We've even used it on a front-door window and cut out just one of the "pebbles" for a peep hole! In addition, we've also used it to help decorate the outside of a fishtank, using long strips to go across the bottom, and cutting some designs extending upward to disguise the pumpworks. We've re-used the same two pieces many times, as they are so easy to remove and reposition.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from nc

First Effects Stained Glass window film

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
5 Stars!! This is very easy to install. I bought 25 rolls to do transome windows and they turned out beautiful. Would buy this product again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Maryville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really pleasantly surprised!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this product. Very easy to install and does add privacy and elegance to any window. Read the directions very carefully on cutting the product because a slight error in measurement will mean that the product will not fit your window.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: must be careful in measurement.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Yes this product is very good

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great material, but the price is a little high, the size is perfect for average windows but for bigger windows if you need to buy more material the pattern do not match, so for bigger windows this product don look to good to the sight.Should you make 48"x48" to have a better coverage. But I still like it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

very easy to install

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
...very easy to install, just get a window squeegee, that makes it super easy. Lets in a lot of light and in the sunlight it really looks like stained glass. It also provides privacy as it is very hard to see through. I should have gotten this years ago, very satisfied!
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film

Looks great on my basement windows, easy to put up.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this on 3 basement windows. It looks nice from the inside, lets light in, but I was surprised that from the outside it looks black. A bit disappointed about that, but it sure gives privacy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Memphis, TN

Great Solution

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently used the stained glass window film on my front door glass, in lieu of installing blinds or curtains. The film was fairly easy to install, and gave me the privacy I wanted without blocking out the light or hiding the design of the door behind costly window treatments.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from New Hyde Park, NY

Great product!

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed privacy, but wanted light in my living room and first floor bathroom. This was the perfect solution - easy to install and beautiful from inside and out. It stays where you put it, doesn't interfere with the movement of the windows and is easy to remove if you want to.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Yukon, OK

Love the stain glass window film

PostedJune 5, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was the easiest thing to do, and so very beautiful. It was easy to line up on my large window, it took four sheets. It cut the heat that came in the window dramatically. I am now looking for other places in my house to use it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. x 36 in. First Stained Glass Decorative Window Film
from Ephrata, PA

Privacy treatment works great!

PostedAugust 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this to provide privacy to our laundry room windows. It works great ! it stays put and is easy to clean. It provides amble privacy. I love it and highly reccomend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>