728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Decking Boards or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber

5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber

The WeatherShield 1-1/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Pressure-Treated Decking Board is protected against rot, decay and termites. It is ideal for aboveground use where lumber will be exposed to the elements.
Overall rating:
2.222 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product3 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product3 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber
Review 1 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber
from Corinth, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Depot has the worst lumber

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
BUYER BEWARE!!!
We have built a deck with the standard and most recently with 5/4 IN. X 6 IN. X 16 FT. PREMIUM PRESSURE-TREATED LUMBER. This product was delivered extremely warped, cracked, split and several boards already had mold. we had to have Home Depot replace boards 3 times!
Installing was difficult because of the inconsistencies, pre drilling made no difference, the wood splits anyway (we installed the wood while it was moist and not dry hoping to avoid splits).
We will NEVER buy wood from Home Depot, there is no value since the quality is poor.
This wood is supposed to be "premium" and pre-treated for water resistance, but our deck stopped beading water and is starting to mold (sunny location) in less than 2 months.
Pros: poor quality
Cons: not worth the extra money, warped cracked and split
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber
from MANCHESTER, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

SOUTHERN YELLOW PINE IS JUNK

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
NEVER USE THIS JUNK- IT WARPS-SPLITS-CRACKS- END CHECKS- GRAIN LIFTS. IT NEEDS TO BE STAINED OR PAINTED OR IT WILL LOOK JUNKY IN LESS THAN A YEAR. USE 5/4X6 CEDAR OR TIMBERTECH DECKING. CEDAR IS ONLY A LITTLE MORE $ AND ITS 10 X BETTER
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Planning and prep work needed first, then good results

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this wood to rebuild and expand a deck to about 420 sq ft. The wood had few knots and was reasonably straight. It's a bit overpriced in my estimation, but it will do the job and look reasonable it you take the following into consideration:
Do not have this wood delivered if you can help it. From everything I've heard, you will be saddled with a lot of warped, bowed, knotty and otherwise deficient boards. Hand pick and inspect each board for quality before buying.
This is not KDAT (wood that is dried after pressure treatment) lumber as some seem to think it is. KDAT lumber can been installed immediately after you buy it and then sealed/ stained or painted. This wood is KD19 before pressure treatment. That means you will get a huge variance in moisture content from board to board (up to 30% MC or even much more) when you pull it off the rack or have it delivered as there may be boards from many different lots . You will notice a difference in weight as you load them.
The only way to prevent a huge issue with gaps and splitting after the wood is installed is to dry the boards first. Buy 5-10% more than what you need (depending on your confidence/experience level) and stack them in a manner that supports the boards to keep them from warping and allows even air flow around them. Buy or borrow a moisture meter (there are some as inexpensive as $20) and sample the boards as they dry (keep in mind that the drying process may take weeks or more depending on the climate). You will observe that some of the boards will crack and split as they dry- these boards should be returned later.
Once you are in the 12% moisture content range you are ready to install the planks and then seal or stain them immediately after. You will be able to set the spacing as you wish without worrying about having large gaps grow later. Once you properly treat the wood with a quality sealant, you won't have to worry about cracking and splitting later (as long as the wood isn't subject to abuse.)
So, in summary, a decent product that's a bit overpriced due to the prep work and lead time needed over the only slightly more expensive KDAT. If the additional time and work isn't worth it, go with KDAT lumber (if you can find it) or try some composite decking.
Cons: high prep time
+67points
67out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worthy of the name premium

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As with most wood decking some cracking may occur.I pre drilled all holes,screwed them in and the next day the boards are splitting already. Had 40 delivered and 13 of them were horrible,chipped,cracked from one end to the other. I went this this product after mold issues with composite but id rather deal with the pressure washing twice a year than this.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber

Awful!!!!

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The weathershield lineof pressure treated products as a whole is AWFUL! I've built 4 decks of varying sizes from 8x10 to a 550 square feet with all weathersheild lumber. As a contractor, I've built many things outdoors and have used many different outdoor products. By far this is the worst lumber I have ever used. It splits and shrinks very fast, yes even the 6x6's. It leaves the deck looking ratty and worn very quickly. I will not use this product for any of my outdoor products ever. Dissatisfied customers are not fun to deal with, and it's hard to be proud of any type of project when it ends up looking like garbage within a few weeks, even days of completion. I have not had this problem with any other type of pressure treated product. I would give this product no stars if I could. I have seen kiln dried lumber last longer outdoors.
+104points
115out of 126found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no knots but has other problems, would not buy it again.

PostedMay 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not use this again, granted it is almost knot free if you pick through the pile BUT #1 the board width is not consistant runs from 5 3/8" to 5 5/8" which really makes it tough to keep the runs looking nice #2 the inked on label and a crayon slash mark are 75% of the time on the bark side of the board which is the side that is supposed to go up. The ink penetrates the wood so you can't sand it off
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber

Volunteer for a friend before you do YOUR deck

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
First, recommendation is to use the new composition decks. I did mine over ten yrs ago and don't regret the cost one second.
Second, volunteer to help a neighbor on his deck first!!! You will get the learning curve on someone else's deck.
Don't even consider the standard, if this stuff is "premium".
Anyway, I offered to build my daughter's deck...they agreed to pay for the premium, didn't consider the composite. The stuff is heavy, must be half water, it is straight, but does have some knots. Regardless of all the website discussion, put the bark side up and don't leave any gaps. It is incredible how much this stuff shrinks. So the temptation is to let it dry out...omg does the stuff twist and warp. The big inked stamp is inevitably on the better side.
Then the question is anchorage...thinking it best, I used the 3" deck screws. When the boards are wet and soft the screws can get sucked into the boards...screw when dry and the wood cracks like crazy. I ended up screwing about 1-1/2" from the edges..too far away and the shrinkage makes for big gaps; too close to the edges and the shrinking boards literally split and pull themselves apart. Pre-drill the butt joints!!
After all is said and done, you need a rasp and lots of sand paper...about every screw and miter needs attention.
After all said and done, wait and save some extra cash and use the composite material.
+23points
27out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Premium Decking - 2 thumbs up

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this premium decking to redeck a 25 year old 12 x 14 deck. I for the most part am not a fan of treated lumber but this decking was a #1. Very little warpage and the knots were nonexistant. I have used premium decking before and this was as good or better. I would recommend using the premium over the standard decking if you want a great looking deck. Its worth the few extra dollars to not have to deal with knots that usually fall out or are loose.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5/4 in. x 6 in. x 16 ft. Premium Pressure-Treated Lumber

Boards are inferior, check real lumberyards.

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Their deck boards should not be labeled as premium. Premium would indicate they are superior to all competitors which is not the case. Depot's deck board is an inch thick even though they call it 5/4. This makes a huge difference when buying treated lumber, it should not be stored indoors. Depot does sell an even thinner non-premium deck board which is almost a 1x treated board with rounded edges, I recommend all deck boards be a minimum 1 1/8" thick to ensure you will not be doing the deck again in a couple years.
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.