728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tankless Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Enjoy endless hot water throughout the home with this PowerStar 3.7 GPM Electric Tankless Water Heater provides enough hot water at 105 degrees Fahrenheit with a 55-degree Fahrenheit inlet. It features a space-saving design and overheats protection. This heater is designed to replace a 40-gallon tank to provide endless hot water throughout your home. The element and polymer canister are designed to optimize heat transfer and reduce scaling. The small product footprint fits in tight spaces. The flow sensor to provide a constant output temperature.
Overall rating:
3.683 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product43 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Ease of installation 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product43 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Do not puy this Bosch product.

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bosch will not honor the warranty. Their rude phone staff will tell that what ever is burn out or tore up is not under warranty, then tell you what is. Then when that goes out, then that is not under warranty.
My new issue is the diffuser just on the inside of the screen has broke, and a shard of it is pinned in the flow sensor, and will not generate hot water. They have told me that this piece of debris came from the water supply and magically made it through the screen. The warranty does not cover debris that comes into the system from the supply.
Cons: bosch not honoring the powerstar warranty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from kent island

decent product

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it ran for 5 years without an issue. used it to fill the hot tub several times. amazing on demand; and i have cold well water. then it developed a small leak around the white wires and the bottom of the middle heater. turned green. called bosch, they asked for pictures and i sent them. i received a call back in 15 minutes telling me they were sending a new one to my house. thanx bosch, i'll keep buying your stuff.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Escondido, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Less than 1 star

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We originally had a Bosch AE115 after less than 3 years we replaced it with a Bosch AE125 from Home Depot. The AE125 is no longer functioning after only 9 months. Tried to get someone to fix it and everyone we contact says "we don't work on those anymore". My husband went to Home Depot who called Bosch and Bosch wants an electrician to get on the phone with them to assess the tankless water heater. Home Depot gave us the name of an electrician they recommend but when we called them they also said "we don't repair those". So we still don't have hot water. The electrician said someone would call us back but that was over a week ago.
What ever you do don't buy a Bosch Tankless Water Heater.
Cons: no one will repair
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from cumming, ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Customer Service

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had this unit for about 5 years. It replaced a typical water heater that had leaked all over the floor and caused a large amount of damage.
I noticed one morning that I did not have any hot water. I had the weird feeling that it was the tankless water heater and it was. I turned off the valve and both breakers. I called Home Depot and finally Bosch. They are replacing the unit with a new one after I submitted pictures. It had a manufacturer's defect in the unit. All is well. Thanks to Home Depot and Bosch.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Perry, Fla.

Not dependable!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned two of these units in less than 6 years. The company finally replaced the first one after $200 in parts were ordered to try and repair it. Now about a year later the new one is not working right. Find a different brand!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid - no support

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This does not have a very hot setting. Also I have had two go bad in two years. The support will not troubleshoot with you unless you are an electrician. They will not offer to reimburse you for getting an electrician to troubleshoot their product. Avoid this product there are many better choices out there.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: support, heat
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from boring or
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it is a little slow in getting the hot water to the faucet, but then the water is nice and hot. I like the product and would buy it again
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Canadohta Lake ,PA

Not in Stock??

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The first problem that I encountered when "trying" to purchase this item was, that it was not available in a store. Normally when someone needs to buy a water heater it is an emergency and not being able to get one quickly was a hassle. I also recomend that you put an aproximate cost of additional materials needed, for me it was $160, fortunately I was able to install everything myself or the cost of installation could have been very large. So far the product usage has been questionable, adjustments have been made when using the shower, and sinks in my house. Overall I am not as pleased as I would like to have been with this product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This heater will save you money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of tankless heaters. But there are a few points to consider before installing one. First, go with the gas version if at all possible. Much more efficient and in many cases, an easier install. The electric versions pull about as many amps as an outside air conditioner so you better be sure your electric panel can handle it. Second the rated hot water output depends on how cold the inlet water temperature is. The output temperature depends on the contact time of the water and the heating elements. The colder the inlet temperature, the longer the contact time needed to heat the water. What this means is if is really cold out, the output flow will need to be reduced substantially for the unit to work properly. Otherwise the output water does not heat. Not lukewarm, not mildly hot. It will not heat. I installed one of these last summer here in Arizona and there were no problems. This winter it got unseasonably cold and the the first unit could not keep up with the demand of even one shower. So I installed this second unit and the problem was solved. Be prepared for about $2,000 in install costs split about evenly between plumbing and electrical. These really pull some amps! But only when they are running so you do save a quite a bit of money. If you decide to install more than one, install them parallel, not one after another. Better check to see if Bosch recommends this if you are concerned about warranty issues. I am very happy with the end results. There are several other brands out there. One is a Japanese named unit. I had one of them in a home in Northern California and it worked great until it didn't work great. Very expensive to install and they force you to use expensive plumbers they set up as "dealers". Beware of such a scheme. Home Depot is by far my first choice for purchasing this unit. But check with a plumber AND an electrician before ordering this unit. Unless you are HIGHLY proficient in both high voltage wiring and plumbing, you will need the services of both trades.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, endless hot water, money saver, good price
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Henderson Kentucky

James Schinault

PostedMay 13, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like the whole house hot water heater. I am on well water and didn't know if it would heat 66 degree inlet water temp but it will. I turned the easy access temp. control down one third of the way and still have plenty of hot water for showers, dish washer, baths and washing machine. I installed a ball valve on inlet and outlet side of water heater which allows me to control flow of water which stopes any to hot and to cold water flow being on a electric pump 25 to 50 pound pressure and it workes great. Unit was easy to install. Takes up almost no space in utility room. I haven't used it enough yet to tell if it saves me on electricity yet. But I am sure it will. We don't run out of hot water.
+43points
60out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent hot water for nyc 45F to 130F no problem

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
read other people's review was kinda nervous before ordering it, so many crazy reviews saying its not enough hot water, and this and that problem. of course all this install is best left to professionals. had our electrical updated to 220 and ran 120amp to the tankless, runs perfectly fine hot water in this nice cold winter that we having already. water coming in 45F and i have perfectly hot 130F. i'd say to those who doesn't have hot water please turn on the temperature control to the max! cause the professional installer did the opposite and turn it to the otherside to the lowest setting temp. due to this tankless not having a temp gage. we can't tell what temp it is. that's probably 1 of the only thing i would like to have vs. the dial we have. also i ran both the sink and shower at the same time during this nice cold winter , still have enough hot water for showering with out the cold water. :D enjoy many days of hot shower to come
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Portland, OR

Don't do it!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product about 3 years ago and was somewhat happy with it for the first year or so, in spite of uneven water temperatures. Be aware the discharge water temperature will vary as the incoming water temperature or pressure changes. Then things began to fail one at a time after the warranty ran out. First a thermal cutout went bad. It took me two weeks to get one from the factory. (It's a specialty item only sold through Bosch....everything is) Finally the control board failed.
I'm tired of working on it and am going back to a standard, old fashioned and reliable hot water tank. To be honest, I really didn't notice much savings in electricity. This unit is just too unreliable to justify the high purchase price and the high installation costs. Invest in more insulation.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from NEWBURGH, NY

power star 125

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent unit i like that i don't have to wait anymore for my hot water to come. Every one in the household could take a shower and there will always be hot water no matter how long of a shower u take. Also the size of the unit is very small and lite so it won't take up space. Is a good energy saver. Dislike: if you don't know about electrical i don't recommend installing it your self.u must have enough amprage coming into the main electric panel a least 200amp which the book does not mention. And also your elec. Panel must have enough space for the breakers 3 40 amp breakers.always use higher gage wire. Plumbing is very simple. P.s make sure your elec. Panel could hold it or you will poping you main breaker.
+26points
35out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Seminole, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't Believe They Still Sell This

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have replaced this unit 4 times and it is not working again! Don't waste your time or money!
Cons: not reliable
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Fair product

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
water temp fluctuates like others have stated, seems to also be related to water pressure. I upgraded every piece in my plumbing system, even installing pressure regulator as suggested in manual and still getting fluctuation. Which when your lathered up and it goes scalding hot or freezing cold in a small stand up shower its not nice. This would probably work better if you lived in an area with city water. Well water on this unit is not advised...
Going to attempt to return this item and get better name brand online since its not offered in store :(
My only advantage I have is it was clearance priced at my store to $244.06 and I see why it was now...
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

DO NOT BUY THIS!

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a poorly designed product.
The manufacturer recommends this for cold climates, but the unit is unable to produce acceptably hot water at the full output temperature setting for well water measuring 60 F, well within the specified input.
The unit turns on at a flow of 1.25 gpm, not 0.8 gpm as the spec sheet says. That is where it turns off. The result is that my bathroom sink (and most small sinks) will never see any hot water from the unit. If your sink does have hot water it will only be at full on. That is simply not energy efficient.
Technical support is abysmal. The personnel are trained to turn any problem back onto the customer and try to ignore the design flaws. Their tech hung up on me, then didn't answer the phone when I called right back.
By the time I had figured out all these problems, it was too late to return the unit. Don't let this happen to you.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Alabama

Overall Good Product

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently I purchased this tankless hot water heater for my home which is about 2400 sq ft. It works pretty good, although it does take several minutes for the hot water to reach most of the rooms. I can say to be prepared for additional cost to install the unit. As many of the other reviews were quite helpful in knowning what to except during the install, it did take a plumber and an electrician to insure proper installation. I do like this product. I have yet to run out of hot water, and have actually used both showers in my house at the same time and had no problems. Overall this is a good product and I would recommend.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Cambria, CA

AE 125 Hot Water Heater

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Two disappointments. Hot water never above 100-105 degrees with nothing else running.
Electrical needs should be more prominently disclosed. 3 40amp circuit breakers @ 220 needed to make system work.
Unit small and compact.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Lake Worth
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pure Garbage

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Within three months the first unit failed, within 2 months of replacing it with a new Same System unit, it failed too. Warranty is garbage, customer support is a joke. Trying to find someone to repair the system is impossible.
Save yourself the headache this thing isn't at all worth it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Oregon
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unreliable, broad temp fluctuation, short life.

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like instant on water heaters and have used them for years with no problems. Unfortunately, this brand is of poor quality, and the output temperature fluctuates wildly. Other times, hot water flow stops and then resumes a few minutes later for no apparent reason. That's not fun when you're lathered up! And worse yet, this brand does not last long; it quit after 4 years. Yes, it's under warranty, but the warranty does not cover new installation; warranty does not cover the hassle, and I would rather not have to replace expensive appliances every four years.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>