728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tankless Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Enjoy endless hot water throughout the home with this PowerStar 3.7 GPM Electric Tankless Water Heater provides enough hot water at 105 degrees Fahrenheit with a 55-degree Fahrenheit inlet. It features a space-saving design and overheats protection. This heater is designed to replace a 40-gallon tank to provide endless hot water throughout your home. The element and polymer canister are designed to optimize heat transfer and reduce scaling. The small product footprint fits in tight spaces. The flow sensor to provide a constant output temperature.
Overall rating:
3.655 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product41 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Ease of installation 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product41 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Tampa, FL

Perfect in Florida

PostedJune 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed inline after whole-house water softener-purification system. No more moldy hot-water tank to clean! Tankless clean unlimited hot water for the entire household year round!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from minnesota

AE125 Electric Tankless Water Heater

PostedAugust 18, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was pretty easy to install. I'm familiar with electrical and plumbing. The water temp does tend to vary a bit but it's hardly noticeable. I have city water with 80 psi so I don't think it's a pressure issue.
I would recommend to anybody as long as you have the panel space for 3 40 amps 220's. I put an amp meter on it and it does suck some serious ampage. Don't even think about it unless you have a 200 amp service.
It's amazingly compact 16" x 16" x 4". Everybody says "that's your water heater?"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Booyhwyn, PA

Powerstar a PLUS

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I retired in 2005. My Wife and I have become very aware of uor household expenses. The purchase of our Powerstar has been s real plus in controlling our overhead. I would surely recommend this unit to all seniors who are retired or approaching retirement. The support I received from the Home Depot, Brandywine, I frequent, was excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Louisiana

PostedMay 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product. We previously had a 55 gallon gas hot water heater. We have never noticed a difference in water temp or pressure. Our electric bill also did not go up that we noticed. Meaning electric comsumption has been minimal. I have already recommened it to all my friends. We never run out of hot water, even when my grandkids are here and want to take back to back hot baths. I love the fact that you heat only the water you are going to use. We switched because of the size factor. We have an old house and were very limited on the space we had to install one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Amarillo, TX

Loving the unit.

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed the unit in January to replace a Seisco unit that had given us relentless grief for three years. The AE unit has been terrific and has provided limitless hot water. We can now use our bathtub again. The Seisco unit could not produce enough hot water to fill the tub.
My husband installed the unit with very little trouble. Make sure you have the electrical requirements before you begin installation.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Carrollton, GA

A must have

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tankless water heater is great. It was easy to install and provides enough water for my 2 bathroom home. It takes 3 double breakers so you have to make sure you have space in your breaker box for it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Amazing! And easy!!!

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing is amazing! I was hesitant at first, as I live in upstate NY, where it gets really cold in the winter. I was worried about it being able to get the water hot enough - if you have any doubts, leave them now. I don't have the water heater turned up all the way, and it's so hot coming out of the faucet I have it barely past the middle point to take a steaming hot shower. I think the reason it's only rated for what it is, is that if someone were to get less, because of a high load, the company cannot be held liable. Believe me though, it is more than sufficient even in the coldest weather. Incoming city water, even in winter, usually isn't lower than 45 in the ground, fyi.
Easy to install as well - you need 200A service to your house, 6 empty spots, and an afternoon with a helper, and you can install it yourself.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Henderson Kentucky

James Schinault

PostedMay 13, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like the whole house hot water heater. I am on well water and didn't know if it would heat 66 degree inlet water temp but it will. I turned the easy access temp. control down one third of the way and still have plenty of hot water for showers, dish washer, baths and washing machine. I installed a ball valve on inlet and outlet side of water heater which allows me to control flow of water which stopes any to hot and to cold water flow being on a electric pump 25 to 50 pound pressure and it workes great. Unit was easy to install. Takes up almost no space in utility room. I haven't used it enough yet to tell if it saves me on electricity yet. But I am sure it will. We don't run out of hot water.
+43points
60out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Jacksonville, FL

Electric Tankless water is great

PostedMarch 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit is small and works as advertised. The temperature can be adjusted to very hot if desired. Needed a Professional electrian to connect because it requires 3 separate lines, can't just use old electric tank water line. I waited 2 months to write the review and I am very happy with the unit. I have no guilt for a long hot shower anytime.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Chester, VA

Great product, easy install

PostedNovember 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First things first - this thing works very well, but you have to make sure you have sufficient electrical service to install it. You need 3 40 amp 240 volt breakers, and a 200 amp power panel. Ok, having said that, i've had this for a month now, and find that it heats quickly, has been very reliable, and I was able to install it myself. I am an electrician, which helps, but the plumbing tie-in was also fairly easy. I can't ask for much more than that!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Greensburg, LA

Great Product!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is exactly as described.Easy installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Ridgeway, SC

Electric Tankless hot water heater Powerstar AE125

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was easy to install. It does require 200 amp service to the house & 3 - 40amp 220 circuits. I am not an electrician or plumber, and I was able to install it myself. The hot water has been great. We did have one strange problem. The second shower (farest away from the heater) was not getting constant hot water. It was hot, then cold, and then would get hot again; never constant. The problem was our lack of water pressure (less than 40 pounds); we increased the water pressure and it works great. I wish I had done this years ago!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Feeding Hills, MA

tankless water heater (electric)

PostedAugust 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this product after first week of use. I can even run the dishwasher and take a shower at the same time (although the temperature does fluctuate). Love being able to run one thing after another without running out of hot. Also love the little space it takes up. It was quite a project to get connected but would still do it again. Hopefully it will save electricity in the long run too.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Galveston, TX

Works

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best investment I have ever made to save $$$ at home ... We used it at our vacation condo on the coast and have cut our electric bill by at least 1/3 ... This Unit does not like two people trying to shower at the same time but with Water Saver Shower Heads and summer temps it is doable ... We have 2 bedrooms (1200sqft) - if it was bigger I would go with one of the Gas Models ... But the bottom line is The Bottom Line - It works !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Anadarko, OK

Tankless Waterheater

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product does what they say it will. Electric work was costly due to power needs (3 40 AMP Breakers, older boxes just do not have the space) on my older home, but well worth the cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Honolulu

It heats up water very fast.

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation is easy for the plumber and the electrician.
However the cost to have more circuit breakers cost almost as much as the unit.
I would recommend this unit if you need the space.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Phoenix, AZ

HOT water continuously

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pro: We have a family of 4. The unit provides instant hot water continuously.
Con: SW USA has hard water. Recommend a whole house water softener if you intend to purchase a tank-less water heater.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Works Like Magic

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a fantastic appliance - exceeds my expectations. Easily supplies endless hot water to our whole house (2 baths + kitchen). One caveat: make sure you have the capacity in your electrical panel for 3 40amp 2 pole breakers, and that you have 200amp service to your panel.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Edcouch Texas

Great savings

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a Power star in Nov 2008
We have a 3 bedroom house 2 1/2 baths and we have never ran out of hot water
I would recomend this to anyone who is trying to cut down on elecrical expenses
I will be purchasing another one for the cottage at the lake
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent hot water for nyc 45F to 130F no problem

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
read other people's review was kinda nervous before ordering it, so many crazy reviews saying its not enough hot water, and this and that problem. of course all this install is best left to professionals. had our electrical updated to 220 and ran 120amp to the tankless, runs perfectly fine hot water in this nice cold winter that we having already. water coming in 45F and i have perfectly hot 130F. i'd say to those who doesn't have hot water please turn on the temperature control to the max! cause the professional installer did the opposite and turn it to the otherside to the lowest setting temp. due to this tankless not having a temp gage. we can't tell what temp it is. that's probably 1 of the only thing i would like to have vs. the dial we have. also i ran both the sink and shower at the same time during this nice cold winter , still have enough hot water for showering with out the cold water. :D enjoy many days of hot shower to come
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>