728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tankless Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Ideal for replacing your electric storage tank water heater, the Bosch/PowerStar WH27/AE125 electric whole house tankless water heater is compact and powerful and can installed virtually anywhere inside the home. Advantages include endless hot water, reduced electricity costs and substantial space savings. Designed to replace a 40-gallon electric tank, the Bosch/PowerStar WH27/AE125 electric tankless water heater is built to last with solid copper heat exchangers, and can help provide homeowners with a lower energy bill.
Overall rating:
3.613 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product43 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(15)
Ease of installation 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product43 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Tampa, FL

Perfect in Florida

PostedJune 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed inline after whole-house water softener-purification system. No more moldy hot-water tank to clean! Tankless clean unlimited hot water for the entire household year round!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Florida

tankless water wonder :)

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live at the beach and I was constantly having problems with rust, etc in my water heater. I had just gotten frustrated and replaced several, probably before they needed to be as I was tired of calling people to my house to work on it. I had this unit installed about a month ago, and have had no problems with the water heater. I did have to hire someone to do this, a professional, and there was a lot of discussion of amps and breakers and wiring. I do know some of the breakers had to be replaced. I highly recommend this as I live in a house with two kitchens and three baths and we have had no hot water problems.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Dammeron Valley, Ut

AE125 Tankless Heater

PostedMay 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We recently renovated our home and after much research decided to change the old 70 gal water tank for the Tankless Hot Water Heater. The first day after moving back into the house, my wife ran 5 loads of laundry, 2 loads in the dishwasher, and we both took showers without ever running out of hot water. The real test though, was Memorial Day Weekend when 5 of our children, their spouses, and 2 of our grandchildren came to visit. The children all decided to "test" our our new water heater. All of them took showers, one right after the other, and none of them ran out of hot water. As a further test, my wife waited till I was in the shower and then turned the dishwater on. Not only did I not run out of hot water in the shower, I didn't notice a drop in the water temperature!
The only draw back I see is the amount of power required in the breaker box, 3 - 40 amp breakers. This was not a problem for us as we removed all the baseboard heaters in the house so we had plenty of breaker space available. If this option is not available, I recommend talking to an electrician and have them check your power availability. Other than that, we have only good things to say about this heater. In fact, removing the old tank water heater gave me the room to install a custom cabinet style ironing board for my wife.
We highly recommend this product for anyone thinking of converting to a tankless system.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Anadarko, OK

Tankless Waterheater

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product does what they say it will. Electric work was costly due to power needs (3 40 AMP Breakers, older boxes just do not have the space) on my older home, but well worth the cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Amazing! And easy!!!

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This thing is amazing! I was hesitant at first, as I live in upstate NY, where it gets really cold in the winter. I was worried about it being able to get the water hot enough - if you have any doubts, leave them now. I don't have the water heater turned up all the way, and it's so hot coming out of the faucet I have it barely past the middle point to take a steaming hot shower. I think the reason it's only rated for what it is, is that if someone were to get less, because of a high load, the company cannot be held liable. Believe me though, it is more than sufficient even in the coldest weather. Incoming city water, even in winter, usually isn't lower than 45 in the ground, fyi.
Easy to install as well - you need 200A service to your house, 6 empty spots, and an afternoon with a helper, and you can install it yourself.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Bonaire, Ga

Hot water

PostedSeptember 10, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install... Works as described... Can be placed in a small closet, has a small footprint..... Wife loves it......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Brighton, TN

Works like it should

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only problem I have had is with my Water Company, and their issues with water pressure and repairing broken mains in our area. If you have water pressure issues, just set the temperature at a lower setting, and you should keep hot water.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

To me, it worths the money

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far we have used for two weeks...it works like a charm...
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This heater will save you money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a big fan of tankless heaters. But there are a few points to consider before installing one. First, go with the gas version if at all possible. Much more efficient and in many cases, an easier install. The electric versions pull about as many amps as an outside air conditioner so you better be sure your electric panel can handle it. Second the rated hot water output depends on how cold the inlet water temperature is. The output temperature depends on the contact time of the water and the heating elements. The colder the inlet temperature, the longer the contact time needed to heat the water. What this means is if is really cold out, the output flow will need to be reduced substantially for the unit to work properly. Otherwise the output water does not heat. Not lukewarm, not mildly hot. It will not heat. I installed one of these last summer here in Arizona and there were no problems. This winter it got unseasonably cold and the the first unit could not keep up with the demand of even one shower. So I installed this second unit and the problem was solved. Be prepared for about $2,000 in install costs split about evenly between plumbing and electrical. These really pull some amps! But only when they are running so you do save a quite a bit of money. If you decide to install more than one, install them parallel, not one after another. Better check to see if Bosch recommends this if you are concerned about warranty issues. I am very happy with the end results. There are several other brands out there. One is a Japanese named unit. I had one of them in a home in Northern California and it worked great until it didn't work great. Very expensive to install and they force you to use expensive plumbers they set up as "dealers". Beware of such a scheme. Home Depot is by far my first choice for purchasing this unit. But check with a plumber AND an electrician before ordering this unit. Unless you are HIGHLY proficient in both high voltage wiring and plumbing, you will need the services of both trades.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, endless hot water, money saver, good price
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Ridgeway, SC

Electric Tankless hot water heater Powerstar AE125

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit was easy to install. It does require 200 amp service to the house & 3 - 40amp 220 circuits. I am not an electrician or plumber, and I was able to install it myself. The hot water has been great. We did have one strange problem. The second shower (farest away from the heater) was not getting constant hot water. It was hot, then cold, and then would get hot again; never constant. The problem was our lack of water pressure (less than 40 pounds); we increased the water pressure and it works great. I wish I had done this years ago!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from minnesota

AE125 Electric Tankless Water Heater

PostedAugust 18, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was pretty easy to install. I'm familiar with electrical and plumbing. The water temp does tend to vary a bit but it's hardly noticeable. I have city water with 80 psi so I don't think it's a pressure issue.
I would recommend to anybody as long as you have the panel space for 3 40 amps 220's. I put an amp meter on it and it does suck some serious ampage. Don't even think about it unless you have a 200 amp service.
It's amazingly compact 16" x 16" x 4". Everybody says "that's your water heater?"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Laramie, WY

Works Great

PostedDecember 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased the AE 125 after our regular hot water heater went out. Make sure that your electrical system is at 200 amps, because that is what the hot water heater requires. Once we got it hooked up, it works great. I would recommend getting a water softener because you won't have to worry about corroding of the hot water heater. The hard water can make the heater stop working and the instructions recommend a water softener. Overall it gives out plenty of hot water and works great in the Wyoming winter. I would definetly recommend this hot water heater if you are looking to upgrade.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Omaha, NE

AE125 tankless hot waer heater

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although the installation instructions could be much better and easier, the product works great. The water is warm and then hot very quickly. I would recommend this product to my family and friends any day of the week. Save money; buy one of these great inventions!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Phoenix, AZ

HOT water continuously

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pro: We have a family of 4. The unit provides instant hot water continuously.
Con: SW USA has hard water. Recommend a whole house water softener if you intend to purchase a tank-less water heater.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Works Like Magic

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a fantastic appliance - exceeds my expectations. Easily supplies endless hot water to our whole house (2 baths + kitchen). One caveat: make sure you have the capacity in your electrical panel for 3 40amp 2 pole breakers, and that you have 200amp service to your panel.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Jacksonville, FL

Electric Tankless water is great

PostedMarch 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The unit is small and works as advertised. The temperature can be adjusted to very hot if desired. Needed a Professional electrian to connect because it requires 3 separate lines, can't just use old electric tank water line. I waited 2 months to write the review and I am very happy with the unit. I have no guilt for a long hot shower anytime.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Chester, VA

Great product, easy install

PostedNovember 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First things first - this thing works very well, but you have to make sure you have sufficient electrical service to install it. You need 3 40 amp 240 volt breakers, and a 200 amp power panel. Ok, having said that, i've had this for a month now, and find that it heats quickly, has been very reliable, and I was able to install it myself. I am an electrician, which helps, but the plumbing tie-in was also fairly easy. I can't ask for much more than that!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Edcouch Texas

Great savings

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a Power star in Nov 2008
We have a 3 bedroom house 2 1/2 baths and we have never ran out of hot water
I would recomend this to anyone who is trying to cut down on elecrical expenses
I will be purchasing another one for the cottage at the lake
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Greensburg, LA

Great Product!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is exactly as described.Easy installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent hot water for nyc 45F to 130F no problem

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
read other people's review was kinda nervous before ordering it, so many crazy reviews saying its not enough hot water, and this and that problem. of course all this install is best left to professionals. had our electrical updated to 220 and ran 120amp to the tankless, runs perfectly fine hot water in this nice cold winter that we having already. water coming in 45F and i have perfectly hot 130F. i'd say to those who doesn't have hot water please turn on the temperature control to the max! cause the professional installer did the opposite and turn it to the otherside to the lowest setting temp. due to this tankless not having a temp gage. we can't tell what temp it is. that's probably 1 of the only thing i would like to have vs. the dial we have. also i ran both the sink and shower at the same time during this nice cold winter , still have enough hot water for showering with out the cold water. :D enjoy many days of hot shower to come
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>