728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tankless Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater

Enjoy endless hot water throughout the home with this PowerStar 3.7 GPM Electric Tankless Water Heater provides enough hot water at 105 degrees Fahrenheit with a 55-degree Fahrenheit inlet. It features a space-saving design and overheats protection. This heater is designed to replace a 40-gallon tank to provide endless hot water throughout your home. The element and polymer canister are designed to optimize heat transfer and reduce scaling. The small product footprint fits in tight spaces. The flow sensor to provide a constant output temperature.
Overall rating:
3.655 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product41 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Ease of installation 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product41 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Review 1 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Ersilia
from Tampa, FL

Perfect in Florida

PostedJune 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed inline after whole-house water softener-purification system. No more moldy hot-water tank to clean! Tankless clean unlimited hot water for the entire household year round!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
plumbob
from Booyhwyn, PA

Powerstar a PLUS

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I retired in 2005. My Wife and I have become very aware of uor household expenses. The purchase of our Powerstar has been s real plus in controlling our overhead. I would surely recommend this unit to all seniors who are retired or approaching retirement. The support I received from the Home Depot, Brandywine, I frequent, was excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
jrmldm
from Louisiana

PostedMay 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product. We previously had a 55 gallon gas hot water heater. We have never noticed a difference in water temp or pressure. Our electric bill also did not go up that we noticed. Meaning electric comsumption has been minimal. I have already recommened it to all my friends. We never run out of hot water, even when my grandkids are here and want to take back to back hot baths. I love the fact that you heat only the water you are going to use. We switched because of the size factor. We have an old house and were very limited on the space we had to install one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Renovating2010
from Carrollton, GA

A must have

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tankless water heater is great. It was easy to install and provides enough water for my 2 bathroom home. It takes 3 double breakers so you have to make sure you have space in your breaker box for it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
James
from Henderson Kentucky

James Schinault

PostedMay 13, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like the whole house hot water heater. I am on well water and didn't know if it would heat 66 degree inlet water temp but it will. I turned the easy access temp. control down one third of the way and still have plenty of hot water for showers, dish washer, baths and washing machine. I installed a ball valve on inlet and outlet side of water heater which allows me to control flow of water which stopes any to hot and to cold water flow being on a electric pump 25 to 50 pound pressure and it workes great. Unit was easy to install. Takes up almost no space in utility room. I haven't used it enough yet to tell if it saves me on electricity yet. But I am sure it will. We don't run out of hot water.
+43points
60out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
ATLBCHFL
from Florida

tankless water wonder :)

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live at the beach and I was constantly having problems with rust, etc in my water heater. I had just gotten frustrated and replaced several, probably before they needed to be as I was tired of calling people to my house to work on it. I had this unit installed about a month ago, and have had no problems with the water heater. I did have to hire someone to do this, a professional, and there was a lot of discussion of amps and breakers and wiring. I do know some of the breakers had to be replaced. I highly recommend this as I live in a house with two kitchens and three baths and we have had no hot water problems.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
GAJJAX
from Jacksonville, FL

Electric Tankless water is great

PostedMarch 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit is small and works as advertised. The temperature can be adjusted to very hot if desired. Needed a Professional electrian to connect because it requires 3 separate lines, can't just use old electric tank water line. I waited 2 months to write the review and I am very happy with the unit. I have no guilt for a long hot shower anytime.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
waterld
from Dammeron Valley, Ut

AE125 Tankless Heater

PostedMay 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently renovated our home and after much research decided to change the old 70 gal water tank for the Tankless Hot Water Heater. The first day after moving back into the house, my wife ran 5 loads of laundry, 2 loads in the dishwasher, and we both took showers without ever running out of hot water. The real test though, was Memorial Day Weekend when 5 of our children, their spouses, and 2 of our grandchildren came to visit. The children all decided to "test" our our new water heater. All of them took showers, one right after the other, and none of them ran out of hot water. As a further test, my wife waited till I was in the shower and then turned the dishwater on. Not only did I not run out of hot water in the shower, I didn't notice a drop in the water temperature!
The only draw back I see is the amount of power required in the breaker box, 3 - 40 amp breakers. This was not a problem for us as we removed all the baseboard heaters in the house so we had plenty of breaker space available. If this option is not available, I recommend talking to an electrician and have them check your power availability. Other than that, we have only good things to say about this heater. In fact, removing the old tank water heater gave me the room to install a custom cabinet style ironing board for my wife.
We highly recommend this product for anyone thinking of converting to a tankless system.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
bosch
from Omaha, NE

AE125 tankless hot waer heater

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although the installation instructions could be much better and easier, the product works great. The water is warm and then hot very quickly. I would recommend this product to my family and friends any day of the week. Save money; buy one of these great inventions!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
CO3TDCJ
from East Texas

AE125

PostedSeptember 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed an AE125 Tankless Hot Water Heater over the weekend. Other than the electrical needs it was a snap to install. It takes three (3) dedicated 220 leads of 8 gauge wire. If your not knowledgable on electric wiring, I would recommend you get a certified electrican. Other wise you shouldn't have any trouble. Our 50 gal. hot water heater was getting old and not giving the service we wanted. When we deceided to install a new water heater, we said why keep 50 gal. of warer hot all the time. Just a waste of energy. There was no wait for the AE125 to fill up with water and get hot. Once it was installed we had a steady stream of hot water. Will have to wait to see if there are any energy savings,but, we are totally satisfied with the performance of the unit. Would reccomend it to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
tbc6374
from Greensburg, LA

Great Product!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is exactly as described.Easy installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
danh
from Bonaire, Ga

Hot water

PostedSeptember 10, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install... Works as described... Can be placed in a small closet, has a small footprint..... Wife loves it......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
OKIETANKLESS
from Anadarko, OK

Tankless Waterheater

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product does what they say it will. Electric work was costly due to power needs (3 40 AMP Breakers, older boxes just do not have the space) on my older home, but well worth the cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
amanda
from Honolulu

It heats up water very fast.

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation is easy for the plumber and the electrician.
However the cost to have more circuit breakers cost almost as much as the unit.
I would recommend this unit if you need the space.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Ed
from Ridgeway, SC

Electric Tankless hot water heater Powerstar AE125

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was easy to install. It does require 200 amp service to the house & 3 - 40amp 220 circuits. I am not an electrician or plumber, and I was able to install it myself. The hot water has been great. We did have one strange problem. The second shower (farest away from the heater) was not getting constant hot water. It was hot, then cold, and then would get hot again; never constant. The problem was our lack of water pressure (less than 40 pounds); we increased the water pressure and it works great. I wish I had done this years ago!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
rtrt
from Feeding Hills, MA

tankless water heater (electric)

PostedAugust 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this product after first week of use. I can even run the dishwasher and take a shower at the same time (although the temperature does fluctuate). Love being able to run one thing after another without running out of hot. Also love the little space it takes up. It was quite a project to get connected but would still do it again. Hopefully it will save electricity in the long run too.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Speckledbird
from Laramie, WY

Works Great

PostedDecember 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the AE 125 after our regular hot water heater went out. Make sure that your electrical system is at 200 amps, because that is what the hot water heater requires. Once we got it hooked up, it works great. I would recommend getting a water softener because you won't have to worry about corroding of the hot water heater. The hard water can make the heater stop working and the instructions recommend a water softener. Overall it gives out plenty of hot water and works great in the Wyoming winter. I would definetly recommend this hot water heater if you are looking to upgrade.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
Voice
from Galveston, TX

Works

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best investment I have ever made to save $$$ at home ... We used it at our vacation condo on the coast and have cut our electric bill by at least 1/3 ... This Unit does not like two people trying to shower at the same time but with Water Saver Shower Heads and summer temps it is doable ... We have 2 bedrooms (1200sqft) - if it was bigger I would go with one of the Gas Models ... But the bottom line is The Bottom Line - It works !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
lakeside2
from Edcouch Texas

Great savings

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a Power star in Nov 2008
We have a 3 bedroom house 2 1/2 baths and we have never ran out of hot water
I would recomend this to anyone who is trying to cut down on elecrical expenses
I will be purchasing another one for the cottage at the lake
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 26.85 kW 220/240 Volt Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater
flash332

Works Like Magic

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a fantastic appliance - exceeds my expectations. Easily supplies endless hot water to our whole house (2 baths + kitchen). One caveat: make sure you have the capacity in your electrical panel for 3 40amp 2 pole breakers, and that you have 200amp service to your panel.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>