728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend 8 fl. oz. Grout Renew in sandstone color is a water-based, acrylic, urethane stain and sealer for renewing or changing the color of cement grout joints. It seals against stains while it colors and has patented technology to inhibit mold and mildew.
Overall rating:
4.505 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product85 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(74)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product85 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 73 Answers
Customer reviews for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Review 1 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Trish
from Memphis TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE this product!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a house in 1999 that has brick floors in the guest bath, laundry room, back hall, and kitchen. The grout is gray and looks dirty all the time. I have scrubbed and cleaned this grout with everything all the way up to acid and it still looks dirty. I finally decided to just paint the grout and hunted to find this product. I have painted two rooms so far and just love it! It is NOT the easiest thing to stay on your knees for days on end using a craft brush to paint grout (especially with over 500 square feet to do). But it is well worth it. LOVE the final results. Here is the laundry room prior to me adding the sealant (sealing the brick with wet look sealant).
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Bev70
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 bottles but didn't even use 1/2 of one. I redid the grout in both of my bathroom floors and they look so good! I went from a dark orangey brown grout to antique white. It's been about a month and it looks the same as the day I finished! Time will tell how well it holds up, but I have plenty left over to do touch ups if needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
MBRC
from Atlanta, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It really does work

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the other reviews, but wasn't really expecting a miracle. My grout looked terrible. I figured for $12 it couldn't be any worse than all the other cleaners I had tried. My floor looks FABULOUS! Sure, it takes time, and its on your hands and knees, but I've been scrubbing this grout for a couple years now, and getting no results. Now it looks brand new. By the way, I read the one star reviews, too. One person said the paint didn't come off, and stained their tile. I don't know what that customer was doing because I had absolutely no problem wiping the excess off. Just work in small batches. Paint on - wipe off. It's great!
Pros: Looks Great
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
hwilliams5200
from Jacksonville, FL

Amazing colorant AND sealer!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently replaced the tile in the kitchen to match the tile installed in the living area from the previous homeowner. Not knowing what color grout was used, I tried to match it as close as possible. Turns out the color I picked was too light. It bothered me so much that I researched what I could do to dye the grout. Luckily I found this product! Not only was I able to match the color to the existing grout perfectly (had to mix two different colors), but the grout is now sealed as well! Our dog has tested it out already by tracking her muddy paws through the kitchen and it wiped right up from the grout lines! It is a little time consuming to apply, but well worth it!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Terri

Looks great

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews first and determined a small craft paintbrush would work best. I poured some in the cap and painted it on my clean but stained grout (spilled black paint once) it took 2 coats but it looks like the day the floor was installed. I will see how it holds up before I do the kitchen and bathroom but my small entryway is gorgeous!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Nickname
from California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Renews grout

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are in the process of doing our kitchen with the Snow White color of this stuff. We tried a few methods and one in particular seemed to work the best and I am surprised I didn't see it posted in another review. We put down 2 long strips of blue painters tape on each side of the grout line and then painted over the top. The taping took about 3-4 minutes initially and our accuracy rolling it out got better with each line so now its about 2-3 minutes. The colorant/sealant goes down very quickly maybe 4 minutes total wall to wall, then we would tape another grout line while the sealant dries a few minutes. After that we ripped up the tape from the painted line and did small touch-ups and spot cleaned what little did make it on to the tile. We seemed to cover a much larger area quicker by doing it this way.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
JoeBob
from Mooresville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used a "Peanuts" kid's toothbrush to apply...

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
...just the right width for our grout lines. 12x12 white tiles with wavy edges (= wavy grout lines!)and bumpy texture (Florida Tile)-easy to apply, just took work to keep it off the tile-it dries very fast. We cleaned the grout beforehand with Zep to get off 16 years of gunk and let dry for a day. It's only been a week so I can't comment on durability but it literally looks like a new floor-this color looks like the original grout color which no matter how much we scrubbed, was not coming back. Very, very pleased-only regret is that we should have done this years ago. I can't imagine what a company would charge to do this, but we did about 300 square feet of tile and didn't even use a whole bottle of the Grout Renew. Get It!
Pros: Looks Great
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
tony
from Vienna, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product did a wonderful job. The grout has never looked better.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Must thank a very helpful clerk who directed us to this product. Once I determined that only a very little bit of the product was needed, I transferred it to a small squeeze bottle (like a saline nasal spray bottle ) and only used a small amount, it worked well. An old tooth brush was the application tool.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Cons: minimal instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
jason
from Cal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Very Poor Product,,, Junk!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product to attempt to whiten and seal grout lines between my bath tile. I would call this Glorified Paint.
It chips off and is only a very temporary snow job! Heck,,, of a mess to get off.
All said and done I had much better results using white vinegar and baking soda and a tooth brush. A nylon brush on a cordless drill did wonders to clean the grout lines and then a spray with pure bleach, let dry and looks fantastic.
Don't waste your time with this product.
Cons: Hard to Remove, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
paperhearts
from Whitby, Ontario
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1.5 years later and its chipping off

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this paint and did the grout throughout my main floor into the kitchen. It took me a long time and if you asked me then I would have given it five stars. It looked beautiful and completely transformed my floors with only two bottles. Can't beat the price of that when compared to redoing the floors. However its been about a year and a half since I did it and now my floors aren't looking so great. I did the antique white and the grout is always getting dirty so I spend a lot of time on my hands and knees with a toothbrush to clean it. Throughout the floor in different areas the grout is chipping off and is starting to look awful. It makes the floor look dirty because the rest of it is white. Now I have to figure out whether I repaint the white in the areas where it has come of (and will the white paint look a different shade on top of the old paint) or do I attempt to scrape it off. At this point I wished I had left it alone in stead of painting it. (p.s. I used a mop and gentle floor cleaners for mopping the floor so it isn't due to harsh chemicals or a steam mop.) Have a look at my picture. The grout looks like this all over the floor!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily, chips off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Totosmom
from Prairie Village, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't believe my eyes!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I moved into my rental house, I thought the grout in the kitchen and bathroom floors were tinted. Then I moved something away from the wall and discovered the grout there to be the standard light gray...and immediately got disgusted because what I thought was tint...was dirt! (yuck) No amount of scrubbing or mopping helped me. Then I read about this and thought I would give it a try! It's nothing short of a miracle! I got the antique white which is a perfect light color...not too stark white and not cream color but just in between.
First I cleaned the grout with Zep grout cleaner and whitener and let that dry overnight. I used a child's toothbrush to apply this, but cut off the outside rows of bristles to make it more narrow. This is painstaking work, especially if you have a large floor...my muscles ached for days afterwards from stooping and bending. But it's so worth it!
One bottle is all I needed, this surprised me because it's not a big bottle. However, you need to use such a small amout...less is more! The less you squirt into the grout line...the less you'll need to wipe off the tile :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
blackie1
from Raytown, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Label tint does not match actual product when applied. Much lighter than advertised.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very unfriendly to apply. Hard to clean up excess and does not dry smooth.
Cons: Hard to Remove, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
whitaker
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST PRODUCT EVER!!!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the grout in my kitchen was originally off-white and got dirty very quickly. after 10 years, it was beyond cleaning. this product is amazing and is very easy to apply but it does take time. the results are nothing but AMAZING!
i will be doing all of the grout in my house with this product so i will never have to clean grout again. (it changes the grout color and seals it at the same time)
did i say that this was the BEST PRODUCT EVER??
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
JGarza
from Louisvillle, KY

Never thought it would really work

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband and I purchased a 3 year old home. The master bath has beautiful white tile with not-so-beautiful white grout. I purchased the snow white grout colorant from my local HD just to try. I also purchased a bottle with a roller applicator designed for grout sealer in hopes it would make my application easy. Our grout had been stained from dirty feet and shoes by the toilet, both sinks and in the entry. I have cleaned the grout lines many times before but because of hairspray and dirt I cleaned them again - with no success in making them look new. I let that totally dry and then applied the colorant - WOW - looks like new again. I used the bottle to apply the colorant and then, using a toothbrush, brushed the color into the grout. I did small areas at a time and let it dry before rubbing the excess off the tile. I LOVE this product. I am looking for other colors so I can do the rest of grout in my kitchen and other baths. I just did this yesterday so the true test will be to see how it does over time.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Sprocket01
from Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product-use with caution

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We moved into a 40-year-old home and no matter how hard I scrubbed or which chemicals I used , the shower tiles were stained dark orange between white tiles! The shower never looked clean with the dark stains. I purchased this product and have to say it is wonderful. My suggestion for application is to use a disposable pastry bag with decorating tip #1 or #2, the bags are cheap and the tips usually 1 dollar at all art supply stores(Wilton). It will apply just the right amount onto the grout, then using a fine paintbrush to spread it out smoothly. This technique should keep the grout colorant/sealer on the grout not the tile. If you get it on the tile, wipe off immediately and work in very small batches. I used pastry tip #3, it put too much colorant/sealer on the joint, and I made a mess of 14 tiles that I needed to scrape the colorant/sealer off which was very labor intensive. I chose antique white and it was a perfect match. The coverage is excellent and my tiles look clean and new!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective, great coverage
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Maemae
from Milford, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelieveable Difference

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a 10 year old house with white marble pattern ceramic tile floors in foyer, kitchen, hallway &bathrooms. All were gross. What had been light gray grout was brownish black except closet areas, tile was yellow brownish, porous,some chips, poorly cared for. Scrubbed grout with a stiff bristle grout brush ($1.97) and full strength ammonia ($1.98) used a nylon scrubee brush ($3.49) with ammonia on tiles. Windows open! Then washed floor with scrubee soaked in bleach cleaner and water. Rinsed with water twice, dried for several hours. Applied Snow White Polyblend Grout Renew $11.97) with toothbrush to grout and chips, cleaned paint off tiles with soapy water around grout lines. Floor did not feel gritty anymore...and looked white. Applied 2 thin coats of sealer finish. Looks like new installation....gorgeous pearl sheen. Caulked edges of floor where grout was broken. An eyesore has become an enhancing focus, a pleasure to look at!
So, yes it is tedious, but sooo worth it!
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
CRinTX

Saved my floor

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a porcelain tile floor installed in my kitchen but the bozo installer mixed the grout incorrectly and it turned out Mary Kay pink. Really didn't work and I was sick about it.
Tried this Grout Renew, and although labor intensive, my kitchen floor looks great! Better than expected in many ways.
My muscles are sore from painting this Grout Renew but I'm smiling so much. Excellent product.
Just make sure you wipe up as you go, and you'll be a happy camper too.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Becky
from Tupper Lake, NY 12986, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

great buy.

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband had to regrout some areas of our bathroom floor which left different shades of grout color. We used the grout renew to even out the color and the floor looks like new. We have more than enough left over to do our other bathroom. Great price!! Previous buyers recommended using a toothbrush-that was great advice.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
GNNY
from New York

Pretty good results. No complaints

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to apply (use a toothbrush and wipe up the excess), and dries quickly. The end results really looked good, but the product is not entirely stain proof. You may have to do a little scrubbing in the grout lines to restore them to their renewed color after a few weeks, but the stains will lift. Nonetheless, a great improvement over the way the floor looked before I applied the product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Jason

Can't get the stain off the tile now

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried applying the stain to 4 grout lines then going back over and wiping up the excess that got on the tile. It was too late. I tried 1 grout line and immediately wiping it up. No luck. The tile was already stained. I tried a dry rag and a damp rage and lots of elbow grease. I cannot get the stain off the tile. Grout is stained though.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>