728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Care & Maintenance or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend 8 fl. oz. Grout Renew in sandstone color is a water-based, acrylic, urethane stain and sealer for renewing or changing the color of cement grout joints. It seals against stains while it colors and has patented technology to inhibit mold and mildew.
Overall rating:
4.566 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product125 of 138reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(110)
4
(21)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product125 of 138reviews
Customer questions and answers:
62 Questions | 99 Answers
Customer reviews for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Review 1 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Woodinville, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Polyblend Grout color review - for tile and grout floors

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used Polyblend Antique white grout color to recolor black grout on 13,000 feet of historic tile in Seattle. The grout colorant worked great and covered the black almost perfectly. The client was very pleased.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Memphis TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE this product!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a house in 1999 that has brick floors in the guest bath, laundry room, back hall, and kitchen. The grout is gray and looks dirty all the time. I have scrubbed and cleaned this grout with everything all the way up to acid and it still looks dirty. I finally decided to just paint the grout and hunted to find this product. I have painted two rooms so far and just love it! It is NOT the easiest thing to stay on your knees for days on end using a craft brush to paint grout (especially with over 500 square feet to do). But it is well worth it. LOVE the final results. Here is the laundry room prior to me adding the sealant (sealing the brick with wet look sealant).
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 bottles but didn't even use 1/2 of one. I redid the grout in both of my bathroom floors and they look so good! I went from a dark orangey brown grout to antique white. It's been about a month and it looks the same as the day I finished! Time will tell how well it holds up, but I have plenty left over to do touch ups if needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently had a large amount of tile steam cleaned. It removed years of dirt but also revealed deep stains that were not ever going to come out. We used this product in sandstone. A couple of tips:
1) We used a child's toothbrush with the outside rows trimmed off-it had a suction cup handle that was very handy.
2) We dipped the brush into the product-it is really too thick to squirt from a bottle without using far too much product and increasing the cleanup.
3) We used damp washcloths to wipe off the excess every couple of tiles. My husband lightly swabbed over tile and joint-much like you do when grouting tile.
4) Rinsing the washcloths before each use (running water-not a bucket) cleaned edges well and kept product off tile.
5) After a section was done, I went back in with cold water and a plain magic eraser to clean off the tile, check corners and remove any excess he missed.
6) Definitely start in an unobtrusive room-you will want to develop your technique.
It has been about a month and it looks great! This product went much farther than predicted. For less than $15 we did a dining room, entry, laundry room, kitchen and two bathrooms. We are very pleased with the end result; well worth the tedious application.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: somewhat tedious to apply
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Atlanta, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It really does work

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the other reviews, but wasn't really expecting a miracle. My grout looked terrible. I figured for $12 it couldn't be any worse than all the other cleaners I had tried. My floor looks FABULOUS! Sure, it takes time, and its on your hands and knees, but I've been scrubbing this grout for a couple years now, and getting no results. Now it looks brand new. By the way, I read the one star reviews, too. One person said the paint didn't come off, and stained their tile. I don't know what that customer was doing because I had absolutely no problem wiping the excess off. Just work in small batches. Paint on - wipe off. It's great!
Pros: Looks Great
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Polyblend Grout Renew

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first time using Polyblend Grout Renew, but it won't be the last. It had great coverage on tired old countertop grout. Looks like new again.
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Jacksonville, FL

Amazing colorant AND sealer!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently replaced the tile in the kitchen to match the tile installed in the living area from the previous homeowner. Not knowing what color grout was used, I tried to match it as close as possible. Turns out the color I picked was too light. It bothered me so much that I researched what I could do to dye the grout. Luckily I found this product! Not only was I able to match the color to the existing grout perfectly (had to mix two different colors), but the grout is now sealed as well! Our dog has tested it out already by tracking her muddy paws through the kitchen and it wiped right up from the grout lines! It is a little time consuming to apply, but well worth it!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Looks great

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews first and determined a small craft paintbrush would work best. I poured some in the cap and painted it on my clean but stained grout (spilled black paint once) it took 2 coats but it looks like the day the floor was installed. I will see how it holds up before I do the kitchen and bathroom but my small entryway is gorgeous!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Skowhegan , Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Polyblend #10

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product along with a good cleaner made the job a breeze , and did I mention the comments ! " nice floor is it new !"
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Accent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Mooresville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used a "Peanuts" kid's toothbrush to apply...

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
...just the right width for our grout lines. 12x12 white tiles with wavy edges (= wavy grout lines!)and bumpy texture (Florida Tile)-easy to apply, just took work to keep it off the tile-it dries very fast. We cleaned the grout beforehand with Zep to get off 16 years of gunk and let dry for a day. It's only been a week so I can't comment on durability but it literally looks like a new floor-this color looks like the original grout color which no matter how much we scrubbed, was not coming back. Very, very pleased-only regret is that we should have done this years ago. I can't imagine what a company would charge to do this, but we did about 300 square feet of tile and didn't even use a whole bottle of the Grout Renew. Get It!
Pros: Looks Great
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Whitby, Ontario
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1.5 years later and its chipping off

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this paint and did the grout throughout my main floor into the kitchen. It took me a long time and if you asked me then I would have given it five stars. It looked beautiful and completely transformed my floors with only two bottles. Can't beat the price of that when compared to redoing the floors. However its been about a year and a half since I did it and now my floors aren't looking so great. I did the antique white and the grout is always getting dirty so I spend a lot of time on my hands and knees with a toothbrush to clean it. Throughout the floor in different areas the grout is chipping off and is starting to look awful. It makes the floor look dirty because the rest of it is white. Now I have to figure out whether I repaint the white in the areas where it has come of (and will the white paint look a different shade on top of the old paint) or do I attempt to scrape it off. At this point I wished I had left it alone in stead of painting it. (p.s. I used a mop and gentle floor cleaners for mopping the floor so it isn't due to harsh chemicals or a steam mop.) Have a look at my picture. The grout looks like this all over the floor!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily, chips off
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Cal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Very Poor Product,,, Junk!

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product to attempt to whiten and seal grout lines between my bath tile. I would call this Glorified Paint.
It chips off and is only a very temporary snow job! Heck,,, of a mess to get off.
All said and done I had much better results using white vinegar and baking soda and a tooth brush. A nylon brush on a cordless drill did wonders to clean the grout lines and then a spray with pure bleach, let dry and looks fantastic.
Don't waste your time with this product.
Cons: Hard to Remove, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Prairie Village, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't believe my eyes!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I moved into my rental house, I thought the grout in the kitchen and bathroom floors were tinted. Then I moved something away from the wall and discovered the grout there to be the standard light gray...and immediately got disgusted because what I thought was tint...was dirt! (yuck) No amount of scrubbing or mopping helped me. Then I read about this and thought I would give it a try! It's nothing short of a miracle! I got the antique white which is a perfect light color...not too stark white and not cream color but just in between.
First I cleaned the grout with Zep grout cleaner and whitener and let that dry overnight. I used a child's toothbrush to apply this, but cut off the outside rows of bristles to make it more narrow. This is painstaking work, especially if you have a large floor...my muscles ached for days afterwards from stooping and bending. But it's so worth it!
One bottle is all I needed, this surprised me because it's not a big bottle. However, you need to use such a small amout...less is more! The less you squirt into the grout line...the less you'll need to wipe off the tile :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Love it!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First time I have ever written a review of any type of product... I love this stuff. I have used many, many products and this is the only one that still looks great after 1 month. I mean, really great. I had a bit of a hard time getting in the groove- at first it seemed too thin, maybe I didn't shake it up well enough?? But once I figured out the right thickness for my toothbrush and grout line, it was incredible.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST PRODUCT EVER!!!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the grout in my kitchen was originally off-white and got dirty very quickly. after 10 years, it was beyond cleaning. this product is amazing and is very easy to apply but it does take time. the results are nothing but AMAZING!
i will be doing all of the grout in my house with this product so i will never have to clean grout again. (it changes the grout color and seals it at the same time)
did i say that this was the BEST PRODUCT EVER??
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Louisvillle, KY

Never thought it would really work

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband and I purchased a 3 year old home. The master bath has beautiful white tile with not-so-beautiful white grout. I purchased the snow white grout colorant from my local HD just to try. I also purchased a bottle with a roller applicator designed for grout sealer in hopes it would make my application easy. Our grout had been stained from dirty feet and shoes by the toilet, both sinks and in the entry. I have cleaned the grout lines many times before but because of hairspray and dirt I cleaned them again - with no success in making them look new. I let that totally dry and then applied the colorant - WOW - looks like new again. I used the bottle to apply the colorant and then, using a toothbrush, brushed the color into the grout. I did small areas at a time and let it dry before rubbing the excess off the tile. I LOVE this product. I am looking for other colors so I can do the rest of grout in my kitchen and other baths. I just did this yesterday so the true test will be to see how it does over time.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Washington, DC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was skeptical but it totally works

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The grout in my shower looked terrible and nothing I used was able to make it look white again. I read about this product and decided to give it a shot. It's given new life to my shower and the antique white covered the dark spots that had taken over parts of the grout. I used a toothbrush to apply and it went on pretty easily. I decided to use painters tape to keep the lines straight, and while that adds a lot of time to the project, all of the lines are straight and my shower looks brand new!
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Renews grout

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are in the process of doing our kitchen with the Snow White color of this stuff. We tried a few methods and one in particular seemed to work the best and I am surprised I didn't see it posted in another review. We put down 2 long strips of blue painters tape on each side of the grout line and then painted over the top. The taping took about 3-4 minutes initially and our accuracy rolling it out got better with each line so now its about 2-3 minutes. The colorant/sealant goes down very quickly maybe 4 minutes total wall to wall, then we would tape another grout line while the sealant dries a few minutes. After that we ripped up the tape from the painted line and did small touch-ups and spot cleaned what little did make it on to the tile. We seemed to cover a much larger area quicker by doing it this way.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Western NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's Not a Miracle ~ It's Paint

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
And like any paint project it requires a lot of patience, a steady hand, and at least a little skill. Variations in coverage will produce variations in color and you can leave brush marks if you do not take care to cover evenly. My color was easy to choose and true to advertised. I applied it with a toothbrush with one outer row of bristles cut out. I wiped the edges with dry paper towels cut into 2 inch squares and kept a damp sponge handy. I won't say it was easy, and I wished more than once that I'd never started, but when I stopped obsessing over the tiny details and stood up to survey the results I had to admit it looked much better than when I started. But then it would have to. My grout was covered in ten years of ground in dirt that no amount of scrubbing would remove. The coverage was good and the clean up reasonable. I could go back over messy spots with a damp sponge and scrape off the product before it completely dried. The results were worth the money. I would have spent just as much time on my knees scrubbing once more with a toothbrush and cleaner, this at least left a noticeable improvement.
Pros: Effective
Cons: requires some skill with a brush
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Pearland, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY white grout

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It says "antique" white, but it's more of a pure white. It kind of looks like I painted my grout with a bottle of PaperMate White-out. That being said, it's super easy to apply and does freshen up the look of old tile. Next time, I might try a very light gray.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>