728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Care & Maintenance or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend 8 fl. oz. Grout Renew in sandstone color is a water-based, acrylic, urethane stain and sealer for renewing or changing the color of cement grout joints. It seals against stains while it colors and has patented technology to inhibit mold and mildew.
Overall rating:
4.489 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(182 reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product158 of 176reviews
Rating Breakdown 182 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(132)
4
(32)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product158 of 176reviews
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Review 1 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Looks like new!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to renew the grout in my kitchen. It really makes it look like the floor is brand new. I used #10 Antique White. As others have stated, this is NOT an easy or quick solution. It took me about 10 hours to do a 300 sq foot area, and my knees and back were about to break. Two days later I'm still hurting! But the result was amazing and I still have about a quarter bottle left after all that work. A few tips: do not waste your money on the grout applicator (a squeeze bottle with a brush on top. It is too wide for normal grout lines and ended up making more of a mess. I abandoned that and went to a toothbrush which was faster. I would suggest using a baby toothbrush to minimize the wiping you have to. The wiping was the worst and most frustrating part. One reviewer said that you can wait and wipe afterwards but I was too nervous that that the product would not come off.
Overall, this product has amazing results, goes a long way and is a great price. If you don't mind a little hard work I highly recommend it.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Woodinville, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Polyblend Grout color review - for tile and grout floors

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used Polyblend Antique white grout color to recolor black grout on 13,000 feet of historic tile in Seattle. The grout colorant worked great and covered the black almost perfectly. The client was very pleased.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Memphis TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE this product!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a house in 1999 that has brick floors in the guest bath, laundry room, back hall, and kitchen. The grout is gray and looks dirty all the time. I have scrubbed and cleaned this grout with everything all the way up to acid and it still looks dirty. I finally decided to just paint the grout and hunted to find this product. I have painted two rooms so far and just love it! It is NOT the easiest thing to stay on your knees for days on end using a craft brush to paint grout (especially with over 500 square feet to do). But it is well worth it. LOVE the final results. Here is the laundry room prior to me adding the sealant (sealing the brick with wet look sealant).
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 2 bottles but didn't even use 1/2 of one. I redid the grout in both of my bathroom floors and they look so good! I went from a dark orangey brown grout to antique white. It's been about a month and it looks the same as the day I finished! Time will tell how well it holds up, but I have plenty left over to do touch ups if needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

kitchen, next bathroom!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was researching various DIY and found a blogger who raved of this product. An hour later I had purchased the bright white color and was at the kitchen island with a toothbrush, wet cloth and nervous husband! Ended up to be an amazing and quick freshen up (an hour, maybe?). We will plan in finishing the rest of the kitchen and then up to the master bath shower (insert scary music here). Some notes in other reviews that I just read after the fact (impulse made me lose my usual research marbles) suggested good tips. A wet rag after about 10 minutes to wipe off excess allows the grout to dry a little without wiping off what you just put down. I will use a small paintbrush in shower. Wrist gets quite workout, but quick results make it worth it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We recently had a large amount of tile steam cleaned. It removed years of dirt but also revealed deep stains that were not ever going to come out. We used this product in sandstone. A couple of tips:
1) We used a child's toothbrush with the outside rows trimmed off-it had a suction cup handle that was very handy.
2) We dipped the brush into the product-it is really too thick to squirt from a bottle without using far too much product and increasing the cleanup.
3) We used damp washcloths to wipe off the excess every couple of tiles. My husband lightly swabbed over tile and joint-much like you do when grouting tile.
4) Rinsing the washcloths before each use (running water-not a bucket) cleaned edges well and kept product off tile.
5) After a section was done, I went back in with cold water and a plain magic eraser to clean off the tile, check corners and remove any excess he missed.
6) Definitely start in an unobtrusive room-you will want to develop your technique.
It has been about a month and it looks great! This product went much farther than predicted. For less than $15 we did a dining room, entry, laundry room, kitchen and two bathrooms. We are very pleased with the end result; well worth the tedious application.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: somewhat tedious to apply
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Dallas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the back ache!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
OK so sitting on the floor for three days to apply Polyblend with a paint brush killed my back, but it was worth it! Obviously there's no other way to apply something to grout than to painstakingly apply it line by line but that being said, Ease of Installation was actually great! The product goes on easily and wipes off easily. Don't freak out when you first apply, it looks like paint..but absorbs in and looks like grout as it dries. Love the results!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Great choice

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used this product after many MANY failed attempts to restore grout color throughout our first floor. We purchased a neglected foreclosure. Worked wonderfully but was VERY time consuming. Literally painted my grout lines with this product. I liked the easy clean up and the results I got! Used crafting paint brush to apply and people have come to our home and asked if we've redone the flooring!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Atlanta, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It really does work

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the other reviews, but wasn't really expecting a miracle. My grout looked terrible. I figured for $12 it couldn't be any worse than all the other cleaners I had tried. My floor looks FABULOUS! Sure, it takes time, and its on your hands and knees, but I've been scrubbing this grout for a couple years now, and getting no results. Now it looks brand new. By the way, I read the one star reviews, too. One person said the paint didn't come off, and stained their tile. I don't know what that customer was doing because I had absolutely no problem wiping the excess off. Just work in small batches. Paint on - wipe off. It's great!
Pros: Looks Great
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Good purchase

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Covered the old colored gout nicely. All in all a good purchase
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Jacksonville, FL

Amazing colorant AND sealer!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We recently replaced the tile in the kitchen to match the tile installed in the living area from the previous homeowner. Not knowing what color grout was used, I tried to match it as close as possible. Turns out the color I picked was too light. It bothered me so much that I researched what I could do to dye the grout. Luckily I found this product! Not only was I able to match the color to the existing grout perfectly (had to mix two different colors), but the grout is now sealed as well! Our dog has tested it out already by tracking her muddy paws through the kitchen and it wiped right up from the grout lines! It is a little time consuming to apply, but well worth it!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Looks great

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read the reviews first and determined a small craft paintbrush would work best. I poured some in the cap and painted it on my clean but stained grout (spilled black paint once) it took 2 coats but it looks like the day the floor was installed. I will see how it holds up before I do the kitchen and bathroom but my small entryway is gorgeous!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this product..If you are trying to renew your grout with out getting new floor this is perfect
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Awesome!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product saved my grout without removing it. So easy and looks like new!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Mooresville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used a "Peanuts" kid's toothbrush to apply...

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
...just the right width for our grout lines. 12x12 white tiles with wavy edges (= wavy grout lines!)and bumpy texture (Florida Tile)-easy to apply, just took work to keep it off the tile-it dries very fast. We cleaned the grout beforehand with Zep to get off 16 years of gunk and let dry for a day. It's only been a week so I can't comment on durability but it literally looks like a new floor-this color looks like the original grout color which no matter how much we scrubbed, was not coming back. Very, very pleased-only regret is that we should have done this years ago. I can't imagine what a company would charge to do this, but we did about 300 square feet of tile and didn't even use a whole bottle of the Grout Renew. Get It!
Pros: Looks Great
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Lexington, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Polyblend Grout Renew

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was my first time using Polyblend Grout Renew, but it won't be the last. It had great coverage on tired old countertop grout. Looks like new again.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Love it!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First time I have ever written a review of any type of product... I love this stuff. I have used many, many products and this is the only one that still looks great after 1 month. I mean, really great. I had a bit of a hard time getting in the groove- at first it seemed too thin, maybe I didn't shake it up well enough?? But once I figured out the right thickness for my toothbrush and grout line, it was incredible.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Carmichael
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I applied this product a couple months ago, and it still looks brand new. I've had a few spills that, in the past, would have further stained my old grout. Now they wipe right off and no discoloring
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Prairie Village, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't believe my eyes!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I moved into my rental house, I thought the grout in the kitchen and bathroom floors were tinted. Then I moved something away from the wall and discovered the grout there to be the standard light gray...and immediately got disgusted because what I thought was tint...was dirt! (yuck) No amount of scrubbing or mopping helped me. Then I read about this and thought I would give it a try! It's nothing short of a miracle! I got the antique white which is a perfect light color...not too stark white and not cream color but just in between.
First I cleaned the grout with Zep grout cleaner and whitener and let that dry overnight. I used a child's toothbrush to apply this, but cut off the outside rows of bristles to make it more narrow. This is painstaking work, especially if you have a large floor...my muscles ached for days afterwards from stooping and bending. But it's so worth it!
One bottle is all I needed, this surprised me because it's not a big bottle. However, you need to use such a small amout...less is more! The less you squirt into the grout line...the less you'll need to wipe off the tile :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST PRODUCT EVER!!!

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the grout in my kitchen was originally off-white and got dirty very quickly. after 10 years, it was beyond cleaning. this product is amazing and is very easy to apply but it does take time. the results are nothing but AMAZING!
i will be doing all of the grout in my house with this product so i will never have to clean grout again. (it changes the grout color and seals it at the same time)
did i say that this was the BEST PRODUCT EVER??
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>