728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ranges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White

4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White

The Americana 30 in. Freestanding Gas Range features 4 all-purpose burners that deliver a wide range of heat output to meet most cooking needs. The 4.8 cu. ft. oven capacity and 2 removable oven racks can accommodate up to three 9 x 13 in. casserole dishes or 6 plates at a time. The raised edges on the porcelain cooktop help contain spills for easy cleanup, and the broiler drawer supplies concentrated heat to crisp and brown a variety of foods.
Overall rating:
3.981 / 5
4
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product39 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(10)
3
(9)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product39 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Review 1 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for my use in my lacation

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Due to the local electric company making so called "improvements" the people in my area can go 2 to 3 days a month without electricity. Trying to find a gas stove that has NO electronic ignition is not easy and we do use the stove to eat. This stove is perfect for us. These types of gas pilot stoves should be available everywhere for with the economy as it is and the utilities no longer being dependable, everyone should be able to cook without electricity
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this range 4 years now and every now and then the pilot for the oven makes a noise (squeal) and the cook top is cracking on the side the part was not painted underside is rusting last night as cleaning it fell apart in pieces at the burners call for replacement part it cost $200. just for the top the whole range cost $ 329. will not buy or recommend >pay a little more for the better quality one < don't buy for price!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White

Not worth the "value" price

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has been a horrible oven. As others have mentioned, the burners have to be set as low as possible in hopes of NOT burning the food your cooking, and the stove ALWAYS stays warm. I have burned almost twice as much gas with this oven than my old one, so what I saved in the cost of the oven, I have more than made up with gas. There is also a horrible smell every time I use the oven. I was told this "new" smell would burn off, but after a year, it's still just as bad as the first day. I would not recommend this appliance for anyone.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from San Diego, CA

fine low-end appliance

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A person can spend more money and get a more substantial, better constructed, energy-efficient range, but for around $400 this range seems like a decent buy. I chose it specifically because it has no electronic parts.
NOTE: I smelled a funny odor after installation and thought either the appliance or the gas connections were leaky, so I called the gas company to check it out. Turns out the oven was giving off a "new appliance" smell, which is supposed to disappear once I burn it off by turning on the oven for a half hour or so. (I have not done any baking yet.)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from PURCHASES MADE IN ROCHESTER, NY

OK FOR THE PRICE I GUESS

PostedJuly 27, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I BOUGHT 5 OF THESE GAS RANGES OVER THE PAST 4 YEARS FOR APARTMENTS AS THE PRICE IS GREAT BUT I WISHED I HAD PURCHASED THE EXTRA WARRANTY. A MINUTE PAST TEH ONE YEAR, ON TWO OF THEM THE PILOT LIGHTS GO OUT CONSTANTLY AND NOTHING ANYONE CAN DO WILL FIX IT. ON ONE THE PILOT IN THE OVEN HAS TO BE CONSTANTLY LIT OVER AND OVER AGAIN. ON THE OTHER, THE PILOT ON THE TOP GOES OUT AS SOON AS YOU CLOSE THE COVER. THE TENANT USES A GAS LIGHTER WITH IT. CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT IS WRONG?
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Saginaw, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't be afraid to buy it

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best buy I ever made. The Americana is made by GE and was bought to replace a fancier range that the "sparker" died in. Large enough to cook a turkey and best of all- NO ELECTRONICS TO FAIL! With pilot lights this range should last the rest of our lives. Who needs the expensive maintanence of the fancy electronic gee-jaws. I just need something to cook in. Great Deal! Oh- installation was fast and professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White

Excellent Product for the Price!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just looking for an inexpensive stove while I have teenagers who cook around the clock still at home. Very pleased with this purchase - High flame heat on all 4 burners, very basic so fairly easy to keep clean, large oven area. Would definitely recommend for the price.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Port Hadlock, WA

My New Range

PostedJanuary 22, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the range my husband bought for our new house. I didn't think it was fancy enough. He was right though sometimes simplier is better. This range is easy to clean. The covers on the tops lift off and I've even put the pieces in the dishwasher. The over has never had a problem baking anything.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Upstate New York

OK stove if your willing to work at it!

PostedDecember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I Purchased this stove because it was a simple stove without electronic ignition. (last 2 stoves I bought had ignition problems). Delivery was as promised and crew was very good. The problems started upon setup. I am probably more mechanically inclined then most, and the set-up and conversion to LP gas took about 4 hours. most of the time was spent trying to properly align the oven door. According to the instruction sheet it was an easy adjustment, however I had to dismantle the front of the appliance and remove the Broiler panels to access the hinges. This should have been done at the factory! I also had a problem with the pilots going out everytime my hot water heater turned on. This was finally corrected by loosening the "Pilot Flame screw" about 3/4 turn. The Book just said to change it upon conversion, not adjust it. Now that all the bugs are ironed out, it seems to be a fine stove.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from West Union, W.V.

I LOVE MY NEW STOVE !!!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
"This is an awesome stove! I LOVE IT. During power outages we can still use this oven, there is no electric required. This is a gas pilot ignition range. I am a baker with 4 kids and need my oven to work with or without electric. Burners come on instantly, and the oven heats up quickly. As soon as it was hooked up I made pizza and the oven worked great ! I would definitely recommend this range.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from West Union, W.V.

I LOVE MY NEW STOVE !!!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
"This is an awesome stove! I LOVE IT. During power outages we can still use this oven, there is no electric required. This is a gas pilot ignition range. I am a baker with 4 kids and need my oven to work with or without electric. Burners come on instantly, and the oven heats up quickly. As soon as it was hooked up I made pizza and the oven worked great ! I would definitely recommend this range.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Chicago, IL

Awesome Range From Americana

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered it online and I was wondering if it would look as good as the picture and work as good as the description...I WAS IMPRESSED!! What a great looking range, a great working range, AND a great price for a range. Even the delivery was timely and the set-up was quick and professional. I would most definitely recommend this range to ANYONE!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing But Good

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this stove based solely on low price. I somehow overlooked the fact that this model relies on pilot lights (which I did NOT want) instead of electric ignition. Except for that oversight, this model suits my tenant's needs just fine. She does miss having a clock and timer (this model does not even require an electric outlet).
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Roseville, MI, USA

Great Brand, Good Value

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I trust Home Depot to sell quality products so, sight unseen, I ordered the range for my son and daughter-in-law who needed one desperately. I had such a good experience with ordering a refrigerator in June with HD, I thought it would be a no brainer. Good service and again, Kudos to the delivery team who were great despite the very hot weather. Thanks again, K. Dunlap
Roseville, Mi.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, works!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White

good deal on gas range

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this range particularly because we have a number of power outages during the winter, and it has done exactly what we wanted. The one disappointment was that we were hoping that the broiler would not be in the bottom drawer like our last one, but it is. Apparently manufacturers are doing them all this way, so as with our other one, we don't use the broiler feature. I would suggest to all range manufacturers to try bending or squatting down, with a broiler pan of meat, and try to put it in the drawer....then see if they could put it back the way it was in the "olden" days.....
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I like the color

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is not what I expected for the money. There is no oven light, the range doesn't have a timer or clock, it stays warm constantly so this means it is not energy efficicient. It does offer ample oven space and is easy to wipe clean. I wouldn't reccommend this product for a house but it is ok for apt.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Oklahoma City, OK

Awesome!!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome stove! I love it. I wanted just the basic pilot ignition range. Burners come on instantly and the oven heats up quickly. The delivery crew did a great job of installing. They were very efficint and cleaned up afterwards. As soon as they were gone I made pancakes, eggs, and bacon! Superb! I would definitely recommend this range. my Mom even wants to replace hers with this exact model.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Great stove, right price

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so happy with this stove. It wasn't very expensive, either. It bakes at the correct temperature with no fluctuations. The pilots light no problem.
If you need a new stove, and you're on a tight budget, this is perfect!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from fenton mi

why put a window in a door without an interior light?

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's an ok stove for the price & I needed it & ordered it qiuckly. But I guess it was a rookie mistake to assume a light inside, because there's a window! Short of a fire in there, you can't see anything! Any answers, anyone?
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.1 cu. ft. Gas Range in White
from Elma, WA

New Little Mother-in-Law Appt.--GREAT NEW RANGE

PostedJune 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bake alot. Love this stove. Can get lots of pans in large oven. Have had this stove for a year now.
Easy to clean. No bells and whistles to run the price up.
Totally LP gas. Very economical to cook on, canning, baking etc. Thank you!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>