728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck Post Solar Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Deck Post Solar Light

This item is currently shipping in 2 - 3 weeks. Durable Bronze Plastic Construction with Super Bright White LED. Bronze Texture Finish. Mounts 4 ways: Deck Post, Flat Railing, Wall Mount, Table top.
Overall rating:
3.821 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product19 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(3)
68%of customersrecommend this product19 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for Deck Post Solar Light
Review 1 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Suburb of Buffalo, NY

Taking A Chance

PostedJuly 12, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I loved the concept and look, but I think they need improvement. Had to return 2 of 3 immediately for relacement because I could not get them to retain light. Within 1 month, the solar panel on 2 clouded over and within 1 year the last light just won't work. Spent more $ on trying replacement batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Lynn, MA

PostedMay 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product with a nice price. Very easy to replace batteries.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deck Post Solar Light
from St Petersburg, Fl

They don't work for long

PostedDecember 29, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought eight of these to put on top of the 4x4 posts on my new fence. I had to take 3 back because they didn't work out of the box. It's been about 4 months and of the eight, 3 work and they are dim and stay lit about an hour after dusk. I wouldn't waste the money on these!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deck Post Solar Light
from New Baltimore, MI

Deck Post Solar Light

PostedApril 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We recently purchased the Deck Post Solar Lights, due to our dissatisfaction with our current deck post lights (Malibu brass lights) around our deck, which were pitted and faded after only two years. We are not only estatic with the beautiful design and sturdiness of the material, but also with the ease of installation on our deck posts. Since the material is non-metal, there is no chipping or fading of the unit. The price per unit is so affordable, and with the durability of the product, we are looking forward enjoying our solar lighting this season. In addition, the illumination is of exceptional quality and lights up our deck area very well, with just the right amount of light. Great product for a terrific price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Rome, GA

Deck Post Solar Light

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased ten of the lights to install on the 4x4 posts on my newly build deck railing. All of them worked except for one that went dim before the others. I pulled the batteries out it and put them back in to insure a good connection...this took care of the problem.
My wife and I enjoy the lights as they light up our entire deck. We had a light put on the light post at the front of our lot by our power company and the trees have lost all their leaves. When daylight savings time comes, the trees block the street light, and full darkness comes, we will know more about their effectiveness.
I would recommend them to anyone desiring to enhance the appearance of their deck or patio. They are a welcomed addition to our deck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Brunson, SC

Deck Post Solar Light, for Pool Deck

PostedSeptember 6, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Hampton Bay Solar lights are nice, more than I expected it to be, that being said, the lights give good illumination on my deck by the pool, the wife & and I sat on the deck last night as Tropical Storm Hanna went by the South Caroline Coast, the wind a little rain at times, the glow of the lights was very nice. All the lights work, they stayed illuminated all night on the first night, when I left for work Friday morning, all but one was still illuminated. Very satified with product, thanks for a good price and product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deck Post Solar Light
from White Pine, TN

DECK POST SOLAR LIGHT

PostedSeptember 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently retired and moved to a new location. I have a deck that I thoroughly love and wanted to add some light for evenings. I had looked online at several products. The price of these was what attracted me. I was amazed at how simple they were to install (I chose to install to the top of my deck posts). The light they emit is just perfect for the location. I am curious to see how they hold up during the winter months. I am thoroughly pleased with the product and debating on purchasing a few more for a side deck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Macon, GA

Solar Lights

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use alot of solar lights on our property and these lights are definitely one of my favorites. Although they are made of plastic, they appear to be made of metal so they look expensive without breaking the bank. We decided not to use the base which attaches to a post, but to use them as post caps instead. They look great and are easy to open when the time comes that the batteries will need to be changed. The only downside I can find is that I needed different screws, which weren't provided, to use them as post caps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deck Post Solar Light

Disappointing

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased these Hampton Bay post lamps thinking they would be of the same quality as their ceiling fans. They are not. One out of the box didn't work. Then one would only light from time to time. Water leaked in around the solar cell into the light and around the batteries. The contacts on the fixture and batteries then corroded. Being it was not worth the problem of mailing them back, I opened them up and sealed the solar panel leaks and cleaned the contacts. A month later on set of batteries died. From time to time, they don't always light a night. It's not the sun because they are both out in the open to fully charge during the day, and it's usually one one that doesn't work per night. Light only lasts a few hours. I have smaller and brighter Westinghouse walk lights that last all night until morning. Definitely would not buy these again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Plantersville, Texas

Awesome!

PostedJune 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 20' x 34' deck. Our 4' x 4' are 4' oc. Every other post has one of these solar lights on them and they are AWESOME! The deck is attached to our rap around porch and by utilizing these lights on the deck posts, we are able to turn our porch lights off and have excellent lighting for our deck. Please understand that these lights are for subtle use only. If you are ecpecting them to light up an airport runway they won't; however, if you like subtle lighting and a romantic setting these are the perfect lights for you. Make sure that the sun is able to reach the sensor. By doing this, the light is brighter than if the sensor has been obstructed most of the day. We are very pleased with our lights and would highly recommend them to anyone. They are very easy to install and you will enjoy them alot. Good luck and have fun with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Savannah, Ga.

Absolutely wonderful.....

PostedNovember 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights were purchased to place on the stair posts at the bottom of the patio deck off the house. The only lighting is the light directly at the back door and large lights at each end of the back of the house. These Deck Lights are just bright enough so that you can clearly see all the five steps going up and down at night. I am so happy with them because they serve the purpose they were purchased for!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deck Post Solar Light
from New Brighton, PA

Deck Solar Post Light

PostedJune 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had recently purchased 3 of these Deck Solar Post lights to try to light the steps at the exit off our new deck, easily installed them two on the top caps of the post ,(starting at the top of the steps) and one on the corner of the deck .Seeing how these three lights brightly illuminated the outer perimiter and making it look awesome at the same time, I ordered five more that were delivered, and quickly installed them at each corner and middle post of the deck, made not only a big improvement, but also made the lighting at night bright enough, we can sit on our deck, without turning the porch light on. It made a real big difference..Our neighbors were so impressed with this new concept, they went to Home Depot and bought them for their deck..This was one of the best products, for the money from Home Depot..Thank you, Home Depot, for a great buy that made our new outdoor deck lighting issue a breeze to correct.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Huntsville, AL

Great Lights

PostedSeptember 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are so simple to install with a couple of options. They are easy and look nice. I use them on the deck posts and they provide an outline of the deck and enough light so that no one trips when walking around at night yet the light is not blaring. Less bugs too! For light with privacy, choose these. You won't be disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Allen Park, MI

Desk Post Solar Light

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased four Solar Lights for my backyard deck. I am very pleased with the quality of this product. They are stylish and add to the deck area, not to mention adding light. They were easy to install, no wiring needed. I would recommend these to anyone wanting to add light and decor. Thank you Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Mebane, NC

Poor Quality Product

PostedJanuary 13, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered 6 of these and within the warranty period, 4 have failed. Finish is very poor as well. Plastic fades badly. Very inconsistant lighting, some will burn brightly, others are dim or don't work at all. When they work, they are very nice. I would advise looking at a different brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deck Post Solar Light
from DURHAM NC

GREAT LIGHTS

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I GOT THESE LIGHTS FOR MY DECK POSTS. I ONLY GOT 4 AT FIRST. THEY WORK GREAT. I GOT 4 MORE SEVERAL MONTHS LATER. THEY ALL BURN GREAT. JUST A FEW MORE NEED TO HAVE ALL THE POSTS WITH LIGHTS. THE BATTERIES MAY NEED TO BE CHANGE AT A LATER DATE. BUT GREAT LIGHTS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Touchet, Washington

Lighting affect I wanted

PostedJune 15, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The lighting is not bright but that wasn't the affect I was going for anyway. The lighting is subtle (not too dim though). I put them on all the posts of my fence in the front yard. It was also VERY EASY to install! I will buy more for my fence in the backyard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Narragansett,RI

I like these lights

PostedMay 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights have been working for a couple of years through rain, snow and heat and once a year I change the batteries. They did fade though and the lens yellowed but I like these lights.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Fishers, IN

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect light for our deck. They're solar so you don't have to worry about wiring or trying to figure out how to get power to them, you just attach and wait until night time. They are an exceptional buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deck Post Solar Light
from Deltona, Florida

Deckpost solar light

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lights only light for maybe 2hrs or less. They get ample light all day.Not impressed at all. Would not recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>