728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon

Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon

Klean-Strip Klean Heat is the perfect choice to use in place of K-1 kerosene in kerosene-burning appliances such as heaters, lamps and stoves. This premium fuel is safer and more convenient to store than kerosene. It contains less sulfur and aromatics so it has NO kerosene odor - before, during, and after burning. The clear formula burns clean to extend the life of your wick and limit smoke, soot and emissions. Klean Heat is the superior choice for safe and odorless warmth this season.
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
Review 1 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
james3751
from Menifee, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent kerosene heater and lamp fuel substitute!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is excellent for kerosene heaters or lamps. It gives off virtually no odor when burning. It is better than the 1-K kerosene which up till now was the best you could buy for your lamps or heaters.. Klean Heat burns clean, makes your wicks last longer and has less odor than the 1-K kerosene. The price of the Klean Heat is very competitive with the 1-k kerosene. I have read reviews where some say that Klean Heat has an odor, I don’t believe this to be the fault of the product, but a problem with a to rich or to lean adjustment on the burning wick or a wick that needs trimming or some other operational problem. I have used Klean Heat in my Aladdin Lamps and my Aladdin Blue Flame heaters without a noticeable odor. It is just a great product.
Pros: High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
TxNMHandyman
from Hobbs NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lantern fuel

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cleaner burning than kerosene, less odor, indefinite shelf life if stored properly.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, low odor, indefinite shelf life
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
camelback43
from Jerry in NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kleen Fuel

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Barely an odor, just when you first lite. Expensive, use only when you want to heat just the rooms that you are using or emergency heat, no power.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
UncleLumpy

Excellent for oil lamps, especially my Aladdin mantle lamps.

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I repair and restore oil lamps, be they flat wick, tubular (round) wick or mantle lamps like ALADDIN lamps.
All perform better with this oil, and the odor is so small as to be negligible. Make sure to leave at least 1/2 inch of headspace in the font when filling, as any oil expands when it warms.
I particularly like it's clean-burning properties.
I discovered Klean-Heat when a friend moved and left me four gallons...I started using it in oil lamps, and have not looked back>
It is also competitively priced with liquid paraffin, as I've seen a 3 liter (3 qt. 4 oz.) container for as much as $18 within the last few days.
It is stable for as long as it's in the original container, or properly stored in a kerosene (blue color) container.
DO NOT store the oil in the lamps if you can prevent it, as any oil will give off volatiles over time, decreasing it's burnability. Instead, keep the oil safely stored, with a funnel and paper towels to hand for cleanup.
IMMEDIATELY after wiping up any spills, move the oily rags/towels outside to a METAL container in case of fire.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
DaveinMD

Good kerosene substitute

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've used this for a few years when emergencies arise, such as power outages or times when the furnace is down for repair. It is not true that there is NO smell, but there is only a little and it is much better than any kerosene I've been able to find. It's burn time is roughly the same as kerosene as well. I always keep a few gallons around for emergencies. I don't know what the max.shelf life is, but I have been able to keep and use unopened bottles from one winter to the next.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
NoName
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's kerosene

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I started buying this product 3 years ago for a home based business I run out of my garage. The space heaters were not sufficient. So I purchased a forced air heater and the regular kerosene left a bad odor. This was perfect. I can be in there all I want during the cold months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
Eastgrand
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great clean, low scent.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product does not emmit the smell of kerosene as others do. The air is more tolerable for breathing. It does cost a little more than regular kerosene, but it is worth it, especially when you have company.
Pros: High Quality, extremely low scent
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
Rio823

Not odorless

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I paid more for this product than I would have paid for kerosene becuase it claimed odorless. Not true. Won't pay extra for this again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
tweety
from Ridley, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this item will heat my entire home for 24 hours

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
excellent for emergency but fluids cost way to much 11.00 a gallon ouch
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
Judd
from Haymarket, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Virtually Odorless, but Expensive

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used Klean Heat for several years. It isn't really absolutely odorless; it does have a slight odor. (My wife has the gift of outstanding sense of smell -- she says she can detect some, slight odor. I can not detect any odor.) It has a long shelf life. We use it exclusively for lamps and lanterns when the power goes out. We would not use any other product. The ONLY down side is the expense. At over $11.00 a gallon, it's not cheap. But, when the lights go out, it's dependable, so who's counting?
Pros: High Quality, only very slight odor
Cons: expensive
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
Simdude

Pricey but worth it

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this during the power outage in CT last month and it worked great. It wasn't completely odorless as there was a slight smell during startup and shutdown but it was 10x better than kerosene. I'm not sure what the shelf life is but I plan to always have at least a couple gallons in the house for emergencies.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
Debi
from Seymour, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product - very little odor

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
During the recent power outage in CT, I was scrambling around trying to find kerosene and luckily I came across this, never heard of it before but had no choice it was all that was around. What a pleasant surprise!! I will never go back to kerosene. No soot, no obnoxious smell... works great on heating my house. It may be a bit more than kerosene but I think it's well worth it.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
Bruceb
from Twentynine Palms, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT SO MUCH ODORLESS

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Honestly the fuel is far from odorless..trimmed wicks in inside oil lamp I noticed no dfference from any other lamp fuel....
Cons: not odorless
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
PSYS
from Appleton, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

clean burning kerosene

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Definitely one of the better, cleaner burning kerosene out there. I will definitely purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heat Odorless Fuel - Gallon
marbles
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

it's like all rest

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it's still smell, but it dose last just a little longer. next time i'll just stick with propane heater.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.