728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Heat Odorless Fuel

Heat Odorless Fuel

Klean-Strip Klean Heat is the perfect choice to use in place of K-1 kerosene in kerosene-burning appliances such as heaters, lamps and stoves. This premium fuel is safer and more convenient to store than kerosene. It contains less sulfur and aromatics so it has NO kerosene odor - before, during, and after burning. The clear formula burns clean to extend the life of your wick and limit smoke, soot and emissions. Klean Heat is the superior choice for safe and odorless warmth this season.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product18 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product18 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Heat Odorless Fuel
Review 1 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Menifee, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent kerosene heater and lamp fuel substitute!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is excellent for kerosene heaters or lamps. It gives off virtually no odor when burning. It is better than the 1-K kerosene which up till now was the best you could buy for your lamps or heaters.. Klean Heat burns clean, makes your wicks last longer and has less odor than the 1-K kerosene. The price of the Klean Heat is very competitive with the 1-k kerosene. I have read reviews where some say that Klean Heat has an odor, I don’t believe this to be the fault of the product, but a problem with a to rich or to lean adjustment on the burning wick or a wick that needs trimming or some other operational problem. I have used Klean Heat in my Aladdin Lamps and my Aladdin Blue Flame heaters without a noticeable odor. It is just a great product.
Pros: High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
37out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Hobbs NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lantern fuel

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Cleaner burning than kerosene, less odor, indefinite shelf life if stored properly.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, low odor, indefinite shelf life
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Santa Barbara, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took some work to get HD to sell me some but worth it.

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this for oil lamps. It is about half as expensive as other "clean oil" but as far as I can tell just as good. My local HD store did not put these out for sale so I had to ask several people to get it for me that resulted in 3 trips to the store. I eventually figured out that it was better to order it on line and then pick it up after they found out where it was being kept. It is sometimes advertised as being a "gallon" but it is 120oz, 8oz short of a gallon.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from North Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best oil lamp fuel ever

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this for all my oil lamps, at home as well as the cabin on my hunting land. The smell is NOTHING compared to K2 kerosene. It seems to last longer and burn brighter as well. I can get a higher flame before the lamp starts to smoke the place up too.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from north country nh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well worth it

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this fuel works awesome .burns very nice no kerosene smell 9.5 hrs on a tank sweet will buy again
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, awesome stuff
Cons: need it in 5 gallon cans
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from north country nh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well worth it

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
awesome fuel no smell been using it for 3 yrs now little pricey about 9 hrs to a tank burns nice
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wish it came in 5 gallon cans
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heat Odorless Fuel

Good kerosene substitute

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've used this for a few years when emergencies arise, such as power outages or times when the furnace is down for repair. It is not true that there is NO smell, but there is only a little and it is much better than any kerosene I've been able to find. It's burn time is roughly the same as kerosene as well. I always keep a few gallons around for emergencies. I don't know what the max.shelf life is, but I have been able to keep and use unopened bottles from one winter to the next.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heat Odorless Fuel

Excellent for oil lamps, especially my Aladdin mantle lamps.

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I repair and restore oil lamps, be they flat wick, tubular (round) wick or mantle lamps like ALADDIN lamps.
All perform better with this oil, and the odor is so small as to be negligible. Make sure to leave at least 1/2 inch of headspace in the font when filling, as any oil expands when it warms.
I particularly like it's clean-burning properties.
I discovered Klean-Heat when a friend moved and left me four gallons...I started using it in oil lamps, and have not looked back>
It is also competitively priced with liquid paraffin, as I've seen a 3 liter (3 qt. 4 oz.) container for as much as $18 within the last few days.
It is stable for as long as it's in the original container, or properly stored in a kerosene (blue color) container.
DO NOT store the oil in the lamps if you can prevent it, as any oil will give off volatiles over time, decreasing it's burnability. Instead, keep the oil safely stored, with a funnel and paper towels to hand for cleanup.
IMMEDIATELY after wiping up any spills, move the oily rags/towels outside to a METAL container in case of fire.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Tyler Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Klean Heat is the best!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I would never go back to using kerosine again. Klean Heat burns a lot cleaner and is odorless. I can finally run my forced air heater without opening the shop doors. The price is a little high for it not to be a gallon but it's worth it. And without the fumes it should be a little safer to store.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: price is a little high
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Orange, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Loved this product. No fumes so we did not feel we were in danger of being exposed to carbon monoxide.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Haymarket, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Virtually Odorless, but Expensive

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have used Klean Heat for several years. It isn't really absolutely odorless; it does have a slight odor. (My wife has the gift of outstanding sense of smell -- she says she can detect some, slight odor. I can not detect any odor.) It has a long shelf life. We use it exclusively for lamps and lanterns when the power goes out. We would not use any other product. The ONLY down side is the expense. At over $11.00 a gallon, it's not cheap. But, when the lights go out, it's dependable, so who's counting?
Pros: High Quality, only very slight odor
Cons: expensive
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heat Odorless Fuel

Pricey but worth it

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I used this during the power outage in CT last month and it worked great. It wasn't completely odorless as there was a slight smell during startup and shutdown but it was 10x better than kerosene. I'm not sure what the shelf life is but I plan to always have at least a couple gallons in the house for emergencies.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Seymour, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product - very little odor

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
During the recent power outage in CT, I was scrambling around trying to find kerosene and luckily I came across this, never heard of it before but had no choice it was all that was around. What a pleasant surprise!! I will never go back to kerosene. No soot, no obnoxious smell... works great on heating my house. It may be a bit more than kerosene but I think it's well worth it.
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heat Odorless Fuel

Not a Gallon

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although advertised as "Gallon", the label on the container states, "120 fl oz" - that does not equal a gallon...128 oz equals a gallon. Keep that in mind when you do your cost analysis.
The product is great - zero complaints. However, the advertising is corrupt. I used to pay $6/gallon for this stuff at the Depot - and it used to be a full gallon - 128 fl oz.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heat Odorless Fuel
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's kerosene

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I started buying this product 3 years ago for a home based business I run out of my garage. The space heaters were not sufficient. So I purchased a forced air heater and the regular kerosene left a bad odor. This was perfect. I can be in there all I want during the cold months.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great clean, low scent.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product does not emmit the smell of kerosene as others do. The air is more tolerable for breathing. It does cost a little more than regular kerosene, but it is worth it, especially when you have company.
Pros: High Quality, extremely low scent
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Jerry in NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kleen Fuel

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Barely an odor, just when you first lite. Expensive, use only when you want to heat just the rooms that you are using or emergency heat, no power.
Pros: High Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Twentynine Palms, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT SO MUCH ODORLESS

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Honestly the fuel is far from odorless..trimmed wicks in inside oil lamp I noticed no dfference from any other lamp fuel....
Cons: not odorless
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heat Odorless Fuel

Not odorless

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I paid more for this product than I would have paid for kerosene becuase it claimed odorless. Not true. Won't pay extra for this again
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heat Odorless Fuel
from Ridley, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this item will heat my entire home for 24 hours

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
excellent for emergency but fluids cost way to much 11.00 a gallon ouch
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>