728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Residential Gas or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

The GE 40-gal. 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater helps you reduce your energy emissions thanks to its powerful low-NOx burner. The heater's innovative Piezo ignition system saves you the hazard and effort of lighting matches, and its combustible air intake means there are no filters for you to clean or replace. The heater recovers at a rate of 36.4 GPH to maintain a reliable supply for your various hot water applications.
Overall rating:
3.774 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product39 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product39 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Butler, Pennsylvania

No Problem

PostedMay 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first hot water heater installation and had no trouble at all. I t fired right up. The old one died on Memerial Day Weekend and thankfully Home Depot was open and had everything I needed.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from High Point, NC

Yeah - I can take a shower!! Whew!

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 2 bdrm/2 ba townhouse with original appliances from 1987. This morning the hot water heater failed and by 6 pm this evening I had this water heater installed and ready to go! Home Depot and their installers were amazing through this process. I'm looking forward to my new GE water heater working for yeras to come!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Cleveland, OH

Water Heater GG40S06AVJ00

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently brought one of these and paid to have it installed. So far I am very pleased with the product and very impressed with the customer service. The installer's name was Joseph and I would definetly return to Home Depot for additional home and garden items.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from PA.

GE water heater

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time ordering a water heater on line send my info online and was called backed in less then 2 hrs. Next day they installed water heater they were pros start to finish took only 1hr. Will use the Home depot on line serivice and there pros again.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine, very quick recovery - easy to install.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed ther unit myself, only help required was to carry it to basement. Fit to former heater site, only had to use a 1" longer close nipple for the gas supply as the control valve was lower than previous unit,
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Columbia, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

6 years and counting

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
By chance I discovered my old water heater was leaking...it was about 15 years old so I was expecting it. Ran to HD to get this one, installed it myself no problems. That was 6 years ago and still no problems. Heats quickly, quietly, and miserly with the gas. Will soon be helping my dad install one at their home.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Bridgeton, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It heats the water very fast

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install, once I got the right piping. I had to replace the thermocouple two day after installing.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: had to replace thermocouple
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product at a good price

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This water heater is easy to install. The unit is easy to light. I am enjoying the nice hot water it produces reliably every day. This water heater is perfect for my needs and I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from East Providence, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Unit!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install ( about 2 hours). 1st time installing my own. Was just a little tricky starting up. No complaints from my tenants and plenty of hot water!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: tricky starting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product at a good price

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Affordable pricing especially coupled with a 20% coupon HomeDepot sent me in the mail. The plumber who installed this product had great reviews about his experience with it
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Amherst, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect on day one, long term reliability not known...

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed it myself yesterday. Very easy. No issues with the start up. Works perfectly with lots of hot water. Have no idea about long term quality or reliability but will post more if there is a problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
Gender:Female

Definately a DIY item, saves you money on insallation, I love it!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great buy, the water heater works great, hot water and heat works properly. The water heater so far so good, I hope it last for the amount of years listed. I believe this was a great investment, and a good price as well. The performance so far is great, getting me trough the winter comfortably.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, good price
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the order online, pick up in store same day

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been very impressed with Home Depots customer service, their stores and online site. They have a great assortment, their staff is extremely friendly, knowdgeable and eager to help.
This water heater is an updated version of the one I replaced. Not much to say about a water heater, it gives me great hot water on a regular basis. That rocks! lol
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Western, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what we wanted.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this new water heater after seeing water on the floor of our basement when packing away our holiday decorations. Just what you don't need: an added expense right after the holiday buying season. Well we went to our Home Depot, found exactly what we wanted at a price that was less than we expected. We arranged for delivery and installation. Everything went off without a hitch! Things should always go this smoothly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from US
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has nice features and a great price.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My last hot water tank was by GE. I think it would have lasted 6yrs or more, but due to a flood in my basement it got wet on the inside. If I had had my proof of purchase, GE may have replaced it. GE is a good product with a great price. Thank you
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Went in so easy

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the installation and is a great size for my house usage. Is very good control of temperature.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED

Worked perfect right out of the box

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy install, hardest part was getting the old one out. Note, it has no feet but the overall height was the same as the old one. Be patient with lighting to purge air out of the gas line, might have to push the lighter several times then the pilot will light.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy hook-up

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did initial search and purchase on-line. Store had heater ready before the scheduled time. So pleased with ease of shopping and ease of installation.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Canton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Hot water tank was easy to install and it worked the first time. It has been installed a little over a month and I have had no problems! It heats the water real well! I set it on the medium setting and had to turn it down because it was too hot!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 gal. Short 6 Year 36,000 BTU Natural Gas Water Heater - DISCONTINUED
from Rowlett, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and operates great. Previous water heater had been replaced twice in the last ten years. Plumber recommended this brand as a replacement. Glad I took his advice.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>