728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Solid Hardwood or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)

Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)

With the Bruce Natural Laurel Strip Oak 3/4 in. x 2-1/4 in. x Random Length Solid Wood Flooring (20 sq. ft./case) you can enjoy the natural beauty of oak's rich, robust grain characteristics throughout your home. The strips have eased edges and square ends for a classic, linear look. It has a Dura-Luster Plus finish for durability and beauty.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
Review 1 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Shirley, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very high quality. Almost no waste. Consistent machining.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this "lower priced' flooring. The dimensioning was very consistent and the boards fit together very well. The finish is very hard and has a consistent sheen. I had trouble scratching it with an awl when trying to scribe in to the wall. I put down 270 sq ft and probably ended up with 1 sq ft of cutoff pieces.
Pros: Good Wood, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Freeland, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality engineering, beautiful finished product, minimal waste

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We selected this product for the entrance foyer when the house was first built 14 years ago. I then used the same Laurel Oak for our den right off the foyer and installed it myself in 2007. Now, in 2013, I installed the same product in the living room. This is a 15x25 living room, 375 square feet. At 20 square feet per case, the room measures out to needing 18.75 cases. I fully used 19 cases, so there is minimal waste product in the cases. There are possibly one or two boards per case that are a little out of alignment, but you can usually fit them in easily. The pieces lock together beautifully and even if they don't seem to fit with a full tightness after banging them in place with a mallet, once you hit it with the floor nailer, they grab right into place.
Installation is not for the faint of heart, but it can be done by someone with moderate DIY and carpentry skills. You need the right tools. Buy the Flooring Nailer from Harbor Freight. It is a great deal at full price, but keep your eye out for coupons and discounts. I got mine for $120. It beats renting one from your local retailer. Now, I'll sell it on Craig's List for a steep discount so that someone will buy it, and then pocket the savings. For this space, including flooring and trim work it took me about 28 hours. It will go much quicker if you have two people working the install as one can be nailing a row while the next person is racking up the next row.
Regarding finish, we have two dogs and have for all 14 years on that hall foyer and there are no scratches to the finish. I'm not a fanatic about cleaning (!), but the product looks beautiful all the time. We have a Roomba that vacuums on a daily basis to keep the dog hair from flying, but other than that, this Bruce floor just keeps looking wonderful. The variety of tones in each case varies, so you know it's real wood with real grain and color. The varieties blend together in beautiful harmony.
Excellent product; highly recommend.
Pros: Good Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Central Connecticut

Excellent

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed this stuff in our living room around six weeks ago. It wasn't cheap to do, but we are very very happy with the results. Granted, I had a professional friend alongside me for the entire install, so the craftsmanship was top-notch. From now on, I would feel comfortable installing myself.
You will find one or two odd pieces per box, but that is to be expected. Overall quality is still superb.
Color and luster and fit were superb. HD's pricing matched all the local lumber suppliers prices for 2 1/4" oak, prestained. Honestly, no complaints. We went through 11 boxes and HD let us return the 12th unused box.
We bought a nice area rug a week after we put the hardwood in, but ended up returning it as it covered up too much of this gorgeous floor! Thrilled with it.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Reston, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

HIgh Quality

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We picked this flooring for our master bedroom from the dizzying array of flooring choices mostly because it is in stock at our Home Depot and we wanted to avoid the pitfalls of special orders. However, we could not have made a better choice. We had HD install it and it looks a lot more expensive than it was. Lots of long and medium length pieces make the room look longer.
Pros: Good Wood, Looks Great, Looks High End
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Mars, PA

Bruce Real - Hardwood Flooring!

PostedApril 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We decided to try this in our family room and now wish we had done the whole 1st floor. The narrow strips and 3.4 inch thickness adds to the overall appearance and gives you a sturdy quiet floor. Very durable! Very pleasant to look at! We went with th e natural color and it also lightened up the room and gave it a very classy look. We also found out the thickness was flush with the tile flooring in the kitchen, so we avoided using a thresh hold.
Guess what - we're getting the rest of the floor finished!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Plymouth Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excelent value and quality for the price.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The prefinished floor was easy to install and looks great. Similar flooring in another part of the house still looks great after 10 years of use. Expect the same results with the new installation.
Pros: Good Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)

The tongue on a number of pieces of flooring was not there. Doesn't compare to the mullican flooring I previously installed

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product has nice features but the quality is not what I expect from a name brand like Bruce.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: material was subpar quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Allentown, PA

great flooring!

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have purchased this flooring over and over again for our children's bedrooms. we are finishing up our final room now and are excited it is still available.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Cranston, RI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product has great appearance.

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's a hardwood floor. It does exactly what it is designed to do. It stays where we put it and looks beautiful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from CT

Very nice flooring

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The color and grain of this flooring is very nice. It has significantly improved the hallway it was installed in. The finish is very nice, a soft satin finish. The flooring feels very solid underfoot.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Dagsboro, DE, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

5

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Floor looks great with great installation done by installers. Thanks again Bruce Flooring and Home Depot!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Laurel 3/4 in. Thick x 2-1/4 in. Wide x Random Length Oak Natural Hardwood Floor (20 sq. ft./case)
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is an excellent value

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the prefinished oak hardwood flooring for a bedroom. When finished the flooring is beautiful. Great quality hardwood, nice natural finish.
Pros: Good Wood, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.