728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vinyl Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)

12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)

The Armstrong Stylistik II 12 in. x 12 in. Black Terremora Vinyl Tile (45-Pack) feature a solid black surface and an embossed texture to complement many home interiors. The self-adhering back offers easy installation and helps eliminate the need for glue or other adhesives. The tiles are designed for indoor residential use and can cover up to 45 sq. ft. for your convenience.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product19 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product19 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
Review 1 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks nicer than expected

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm remodeling my entire house room by room. By myself. I bought this tile to save money and because I wouldn't have to buy/rent a wet saw. I figured I would lose some style points using the peel and stick tiles, but I get tons of compliments and most don't realize its not real tile unless the reach down and touch it. I started in the guest bathroom and now plan to use it in the master bath, kitchen, laundry room and entry way. I definitely recommend this product. its easy to install and a great savings on your budget.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, but some pieces missing sticky back

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really great product, and it has totally transformed our dining room. We used the black tiles, along with the white version to create stripes instead of checkers. They were so easy to use, especially because the wooden floor we put them on already had some glue leftover from the layer we ripped off. Trimming them was easy with a utility knife. For our first "putting down a new floor" experience, it couldn't have been easier. The only reason why it got 4 stars was because 5 of the tiles were missing the sticky back to them, we could not use them. We had to order a new box to complete our floor. Otherwise, amazing product, and we'll probably continue the same pattern into our kitchen because of low price and ease of use!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Seymour, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Tile!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant about buying peel and stick tile. I was wrong. :) I bought a box of these to place over existing roll vinyl flooring that was old and worn. THESE SQUARES STICK LIKE MAD! They stay in place and are very easy to cut and place. Best $40 I have every spent. They make my bathroom look like a pro has installed them. They fit together with no gaps and shine like a new penny. I did have problems cutting them to fit around the toilet but that was my fault because my measurements were a little off. I have one small place that I could see a bit of the white flooring underneath so I grabbed my semi-gloss black paint and a small artist brush and dabbed paint over the white showing and now no one is the wiser. :)
I highly recommend this flooring to anyone who is unsure if they can do flooring. It's easy to use and you will love the results!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from San Ramon, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good price, fast delivery, easy install, quality product

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 12 cases of tile to cover two separate rooms. The tile arrived on schedule, in good shape and looked as expected. Installation was easy and am happy with final result.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Stuff

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to install. very happy with the product, looks great.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from New Braunfels, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The peel and stick vinyl tile was easy to apply and the commercial grade adhesive ensures it will last a long long time. Excellent product for the Price... I purchased black n white 12x12 tiles and then applied these Vinyl Raider Decals to the Black tiles, and it made my Man Cave come to Life! Very Happy...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Wagoner, OK 74467, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall Ok

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used these to make a top for a checkerboard workbench. So far they look great. A few showed up with scratches but nothing major. Shipping was very quick. If your putting these on new wood you really need to put down a primer base first.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Gunnison, CO 81230, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"wafer thin" product...

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We bought these for our utility room remodel to lay over a new concrete floor. This was the only product that we could find in self adhesive that came in black and white so we could do a diagonal checkerboard floor layout.
Do not believe the thickness listed by the HomeDepot specs. I have no idea who comes up with that stuff. The thickness of the tiles is approx. 1/16". They do cut easily for trimming, and lay down nicely. Our tiles came with some damaged corners from shipping - "whatareyagunnado"...
Go to Armstrong's website for install instructions/layout ideas...but don't make things too complicated. I started with diagonal 1/2 squares, snapped a chalk line down the center of the room, and ran with it...came out beautiful.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: No Instructions
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use product

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this in my basement after priming and sealing the concrete. Simple to install, cuts easy too. Recommend having some adhesive remover for your fingertips. Happy with the results.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)

Fine by me

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it to replace my old laundry room floor, also a peel and stick. I laid it on the diagonal. Looks great paired with white tiles.
Only problem taking up the old floor over concrete. Tried everything recommended on You Tube. Finally rented some electric floor scraper from Home Depot. EZ PZ
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Duxbury, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks professional.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tile is exactly what we were looking for and could not find at our store. Easy to install and cleaned up effortlessly. Great price too.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective, spruced up our entryway
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Orange Va.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not use again

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The edges lifted 10 days after installation. I tried re-rolling but had no success.
I believe the tile had a defective batch of adhesive. The white tile next to it performed well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Austin, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Armstrong Floor Tile

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install - easy to cut. Fast installation. I used black and white for a retro look.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for my use

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I didn't use this for flooring I used as a washable table top for garage. It was easy to use and cleans easily.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

beautiful floor

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i wanted a shiny black and white floor with no messy grout and that is exactly what i got! my husband put it down without any problems,,also the cuts were easy he said! I love it
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from medina ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best title to work with

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the tiles are so easy to work with and they look good. They are the nice thing I work with and the price is just what want.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value,Easy Installation

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using this tile for a workshop/mancave project.I've got 160 sq.ft. of floor space.I'm using 2 boxes ea. of the black and white,self stick tile.Armstrong is the manufacturer,and you should visit their website for installation and care details.
You can find it under the "style stick" selection.My sub-floor is sanded plywood,with an acrylic primer/bond enhancer that rolled on like paint.Installation is easy,these tiles have a good adhesive applied and lay down nicely.I press them into place by hand and then use a wall paper seam roller over the whole tile.(It is recommended to use a 100lb. roller when you're done). These are NOT commercial grade tiles,so be careful when handling.They are thin and can be damaged easily,especially at the corners.You will probably find some cracked corners,due to shipping and handling,but still usable,for "cut tiles" at the end of a run,near the wall.I had 2 actually broken tiles out of the 4 boxes I ordered.I would recommend these self-stick tiles for a hobby or craft room,man cave/home sports bar/game room.I don't know how they will hold up under "heavy" traffic areas(kitchen),or damp/wet conditions(a busy family bathroom)
Pros: Very Adhesive, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Marysville Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No Bueno

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered this product online twice.
The first shipment the entire case was defective with scratches all over each tile.
The second time we ordered, we asked for the tiles to be checked before they were shipped to the store. They were still defective with chips and scratches all over the tiles.
We are trying Sears for their black and white checkerboard tiles next.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Oklahoma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was easy to install and floor looks great.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tiles were easy to install and now my floor looks great.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. x 12 in. Black Gloss Vinyl Tile (45 sq. ft. /Case)
from Hesperia, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not buy these tiles

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tiles are beautiful , HOWEVER, Armstrong sends out under par merchandise. The boxes are supposed to have 45 in them and I received my 2 boxes - one with 39 the other with 42. Plus, they have been broken on 2 separate occasions. Not ordering these ever again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: gets to your house broken
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>