728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover

1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover

Motsenbocker’s Lift Off 1-Gallon #5 Latex Paint Remover Lift Off works on fresh and old latex paint, linseed oil, water-based sealers, wood stains, paint overspray, stencil paint and lacquer. It cleans paint tools and equipment, brushes, windows, cabinets, floors, vehicles, concrete and stone.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
Review 1 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, low toxicity latex paint remover

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed something to take latex paint off of varnished and oil base painted surfaces. This product did the job quickly and easily--leave it on 60 seconds, scrape the paint and wipe off the residue. It doesn't stink out the house and it is mild enough to let my teenager do her own woodwork.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless product

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an older home and wanted to remove the latex paint the former owner painted the whole house with. I can only score the product this way without be too irritated on wasting $20.00.... Paint Removed Zero, latex paint won.
Cons: No Instructions, useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover

Best Product I Found

PostedJune 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought a fixer upper and decided to stain the concrete floors. Unfortunately there was a ton of glue from old vinyl tile, latex paint, and greasy black blobs on the floor. After much frustration with results from many different stripping products on the latex paint (Klean Strip, Tuff Job, Dad's Easy Spray, Soy Gel, Paint Thinner, and more) I skeptically bought a little bottle of Motsenbocker's #5. It not only did better than all other products at taking up the latex paint, it also removed the glue! I couldn't have been more pleased with the results - and it's biodegradable, not very fumy, and easy to clean up. On top of all that, it's cheaper than most other products at $20 a gallon. Home Depot only sells 22 oz bottles in the store so order the gallons online. I used this product with a floor maintainer (big buffer) and then used Rapid Strip wheels on grinders and drills to take up remaining paint. Bean-E-Doo worked for the black blobs and remaining mastic.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover

Worked very well.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works very well. Removed latex overstay on hardwood flooring while leaving the floor finish in place. Nice smell and keeps paint in suspension as long as you keep it wet. Use with additional water to keep it moist and pulled up the paint very well
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
from Denver, Colorado

Paint remover

PostedApril 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a home about a week ago. i needed a paint remover to take paint off the kitchen cabinets. This prouduct works great my made the cabinets look new again. All i had to do was refinish them it was AMAZING.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover

Good for small jobs

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I hoped it would remove large areas of paint from a concrete wall. It did not. I also spilled latex paint onto asphalt and it would not remove it. However, it worked well on smooth concrete in the shade and on clothing.
Recommended for very small jobs only.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
More useful that stuff in little yellow can. Had to order online as store has discontinued on shelf.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
from Maine

Great product. Even takes paint off clothes and furniture.

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got a gallon of Lift Off 5 to fill the spray bottle I have been using on wooden floors that are polyurethaned. For thick drips, I leave it on 25 minutes. For smudges, it takes less time.
Lift Off 5 removes latex paint and Peel Away 7 from my clothes! The directions are very clear. I used Lift Off 5 on a fine wood table that was too near a paint sprayer about 2 years before. Another product smeared the paint. Now there is not a trace of paint left and the finish is like new.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover

This worked when nothing else did !

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We needed to remove a latex made sticky by a high alkalinity environment and this worked a treat ! Nothing else would lift it off the surface. It needed 2 applications, but this was a very extreme situation. Very happy with the result.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty well.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Requires some elbow grease but does a nice job with less odor than harsher products. Although there is some odor & will sting if contact with skin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover

It works!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried to remove over a year old over-sprayed paint on outside windows and it works as described.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 gal. #5 Latex Paint Remover
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Possibly the best....

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to remove latex paint from vinyl composite tile flooring. I was concerned that methylene chloride based paint stripper would "melt" the tile, so I had been looking for a paint stripper with a different chemical base. Tried a different "green" water-based stripper, without any success. Tried a 22 oz. bottle of Motsenbocker's #5, and, voila! Within about 20 - 30 minutes, the paint was softened to the point where I could scrub it off with a scrub pad and a reasonable application of elbow grease. Yes, it did require a couple of applications and repeated scrubbing, but this product was quite effective in removing latex paint from vct tile, without noticeable effect on the vinyl tile. *Disclaimer* - I did not allow this product to sit on the vinyl tile for more than about 30 minutes tops at any given time before I would scrub the paint, and mop up the residue.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: gallons only available for purchase online
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.