728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple

36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple

The Honeywell 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple is designed for gas furnaces and 30 millivolt systems. It includes universal adapter fittings and is compatible with screw-in, push-in or clamp-type pilot burners. The element is built for reliability and long life and designed as a replacement for existing universal gas thermocouples.
Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
Review 1 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple

Not quite "universal" (left vs. right hand thread)

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware: If you have a natural gas water heater manufactured by American Water Heater Company, with a model number beginning with "FG", that this thermocouple will not fit your water heater. The connector on the original thermocouple that attaches to the control valve has left handed threads, where the connector on this replacement part has right handed threads.
Save yourself a lot of time and hassle by first checking the threads on your existing thermocouple and compare to the threads on the replacement thermocouple before you attempt replacement.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked on my gas boiler

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the pilot light started working again after I installed this thermocouple. I ordered it online and picked it up from the store. anyone who is having trouble with the pilot light on their gas boiler should replace this. easy to do but if you are not comfortable doing this, you can always contact a plumber.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Orange, CA

No HOT water

PostedOctober 7, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a hard day doing yard work I was looking forward to a nice shower. But there was a problem, no hot water. I checked the hot water heater and found the pilot light was out. I tried to light it, but it would not stay lit. From past experience I figured the thermocouple as being bad. I hopped into the car for a trip to Home Depot were I found the Honeywell Universal Gas Thermocouple. It took less then five minutes to install. It came with several adapters for any installation situation. The 36-inch length was longer than I needed, but coiled up nicely out of the way. The pilot light was lit and soon I was enjoying a nice warm shower.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Lifespan

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I feel like I just replaced this thermocoupler not even a year ago and now I am doing it again. I noticed someone else had the same issue with the 24" model. For the small price I don't care so much. But running out of hot water is a hassle. Not to mention the hassle of getting at my hot water heater to do the work. Yoga and contortions are not my thing. Shouldn't this product last more than a year???
Pros: reasonably priced
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Germantown, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great - Saved holidays.

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saturday morning wake up because room was too cold. Checked the thermostat and found heating is not working, called couple of guys and was told because of holidays the best we can do is on Wednesday. Or emergency fix can be done on Monday. Anyway found one person and he spend couple of hours and told me I need to replace the furnace because motor and valve are not working and it is better to replace instead of fixing. I noticed when he light up pilot and as soon as he release the knob pilot shutoffs.
Googled the issue and found that thermocouple might be an issue, went to HD and the guy greeting on the door saw old one in my hand told me oh thermocouple go to isle 30. Found it there, took me around 15 minutes to replace and bingo furnace back in to business. Good product worked great. Saved holidays
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Lady Lake, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to find; Easy to install

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our water heater started acting up and my husband was out of town. I am an accountant and not into maintenance. He told me what the problem could be and I immediately when to our Home Depot site to look for the needed part. I easily find the part number and the price and set off to our local store. Not only was it right at the front of the isle, easy to find but when I went to the self check out, the nice employee there helped me on through. My son had my water heater up and running within the hour.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality product and easy installation

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Right product for water heater repair and ease of installation!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Hamilton, Mercer County, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Saved the day!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My heater quit in mid snow storm so I checked out all the 'could-be's' and found the thermocouple was bad.
So I hopped in my car and hit the local HD. I picked up a new thermocouple, popped it in, (it was easy) and in a few minutes I fired off the heater. The thermocouple and heater are working so-far-so-good!l
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Hopkinton, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick, easy, and inexpensive fix to get the pilot working on my gas furnace!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple

Perfect for what I needed

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Original thermocouple went out in my home, in the middle of snowapocalypse. So I needed to replace it asap, called the store, they were opened. A representative assisted me within seconds, product works great. Easy install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

accessories

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Turns out looking at the picture that my item did not include the attachments which could have saved me a lot of trouble as the screw was melted on the copper Eire making it a nightmare to complete the installation.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: no sttachments
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Florence, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is the one you want! Not the Rheem

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Honeywell is straight forward replacement on both my steam furnace and water heater. The Rheem has to be rigged to stay in the pilot light position and it's a pain figuring it out.
Unfortunately, HD only had the Rheem on this emergency run. Not sure if they don't carry the Honeywell anymore. Wish they did....
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Lancaster, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Easy to install!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very well made product that was easily and quickly installed.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Chicago
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased for replacement on a space heater. Adapted and worked very well. Had a couple of months, so far no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product works very well.

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love all of the products my family and I purchase at home depot. They have a great return policy and great customer service when you go or call the store.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Ashland, Ohio

Worked Great!

PostedJanuary 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hot water tank has been giving me problems for a few weeks. Pilot light won't stay lit sometime will light but won't stay for more than a day. Anyway looked at buying a new water heater and then saw this ThermoCoupler. Thought that a $11 puchase was worth the chance that this was what was wrong. Was very easy to change just 2 screws and it worked. Water heater works great. Give this a try if you have the same symptoms.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple

Great value

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My gas furnace pilot light would not stay lit when put it to on position.Replaced with this easy to do replacement and heat is on.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple

I saved almost $250

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Getting ready to leave to England & my H2O Heater stops working. Wife goes nuts and I calmly called So. Cal Gas Co. to send out tech. Turns out my Thermocouple-a-thingy is weak but under warranty. Will arrive next day air; after we leave for UK - Wife goes into panic again. I called a plumber to fix it tonight & they quoted me $250 minimum; Yup, Wife is mental now. I remember buying my H2O Heater at Home Depot & called them to see if they carry this GE/Rheem part (Lowe's only carries Whirlpool heater parts). Took my part in and brought it home and installed it under 20min. If you've got a decent set of tools & a little know-how (there's a bunch of YTube videos) I suggest you save the money on the service call & the gas from driving your wife to the mental institution.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: $4 more if you buy it at store
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from King of Prussia, PA

Worked like a champ - 2001 Bradford White HWH

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pilot light on my 2001 Bradford White hot water heater went out (Robert Shaw thermostat). Tried to relight about 10 times and sometimes the pilot would stay on, but as soon as I switched the thermostat gas dial to "on" and turned up the temp, the burners would fire for about a second and then everything went out, pilot and burners.
Replaced the thermocouple with this guy and with a five minute install, everything is up and running. My HD sells a 24" version of this as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. Lead Length Universal Gas Thermocouple
from Chester, VA

Works great!

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My gas hot water heater stopped working. I could light the pilot, but as soon as I released the pilot button, the pilot went out. The lead on this replacement thermocouple is quite long, but better to have too much length than not enough. I was able to coil the excess and place it inside the access hole in the heater. The heater worked properly once this thermocouple was installed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.