728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Track Heads & Pendants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

The Hampton Bay Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture has an adjustable gooseneck design that can be aimed to control the illumination in your home. The Gooseneck features a versatile white finish and is compatible with Hampton Bay track systems. Uses one 50-watt halogen bulb (included).
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
Review 1 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Blounts Creek, NC 27814, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderfully functional.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already owned 4 of these fixtures, and wanted more because of the ease of aiming the light compared to our other track lights. The bulbs on these lights are exposed which makes the bulb easier to install than most GU 10 fixtures however I would not use these in a place where the fixture is noticeable. I traded out the bulbs that came with the fixture for LED bulbs since our tracks will only accomodate a limited amount of wattage. I bought both black and white versions of this fixture to use in 2 different places. Wish that I could get black LED bulbs to go with the black version of the fixture since the bulb is exposed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Fast / Speed, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Florence, CO 81226, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for tight places

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had an antique vanity that we needed extra lighting for. This product was easy to install and gave the versatility and results that were needed !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

Cheap

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Never did get it to work, in standard Halo track. For $10 bucks or so I tossed it in my basement to look at another day. On appearance, the bulb just looks like it is sitting there; doesn't seem to be a tight connection.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance, didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Nevada City, CA 95959, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mixed bag, but on the plus side

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple, economical fixture that stays in the position placed. Lateral brightness of lamp (bulb) is bothersome, and it gets quite hot. Both negatives are better since I installed a dimmer.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: hot, needs a shield
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

Flexible, super cheap, works as advertised

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Over the past several years I've bought about a dozen of these and never had a problem. The absurdly low price (for white) includes a bulb that seems to be as good as any replacement.
The gooseneck easily bends about 120 degrees in any direction. It doesn't hold a really tight radius -- don't expect to make a U-turn, S-curve, or pigtail. Bending the gooseneck doesn't flake the paint.
Bulb changes are super quick: grab the edges, give a quarter turn, and the GU10 bulb pops out. Since the back of the bulb is exposed, a replacement bulb probably won't be identical. Some bulbs let light through the back, some don't. If you care, it's easy to swap around so that similar bulbs are on a single track.
I'm trying out some GU10 LED bulbs and they work fine as well. Maybe they will make the ease of replacement less significant. I also found a GU10 CFL replacement, but its base is too wide to fit in this fixture.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Huntington Beach Ca.

Only track light long enough for large frame paintings.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have now purchased 12 of these unique track lights for my art collection. I just wonder why they are not stocked in stores. They are the answer to a long search for a product to satisfy the lighting of my art works.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Schaumburg, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have these lights in a couple locations and they are great. You can't beat the price and the shipping was quick, great experience. I will buy these lights again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Huntington Beach Ca.

The only one long enough to illuminate my prize painting.

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have looked high and low for a product that was long enough to shine light on my favorite painting because the frame is so wide. This light group did the trick. I couldn't be happier.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Sacramento, CA

I'm going to buy another set

PostedJune 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had these in my kitchen and loved being able to aim the light right where I wanted it. I'm going to put some in the bathroom I'm remodeling in my new home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Oak Ridge, TN

Too bad it's been discontinued.

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought three of these, one at my local store (open box, last of its kind) and two online. I could not get them shipped to any local HD store- listed as not in stock.
I am using two of these as bedside reading lamps using a track mounted above our headboard and GU-16 LED floodlamps. Note that this comes with a halogen flood which is too bright and too hot for my purposes. The gooseneck has no switch.
Luckily, I had a pair of switch blocks (don't know what else to call them) which lock into the track, and the goosenecks twist into the blocks. Otherwise I would have no way to turn off these lamps. Most track lighting systems are wired to a wall switch so that generally is not a problem.
Shipping was fast and free for $50 purchase.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Allegan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These are the perfect lights that I have been looking for that fit my needs.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the fact that these are easy to install and the function is what best fits my needs. The fact that I can easily bend them in the direction that I need is one of its best features. The afford ability and quantity that I needed can not be surpassed by any one else.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Bucks County, PA

great for lighting art

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really love these lights. It is possible to really focus each spot on a particular picture to create a nice "gallery" effect. My only complaint is that they do not fit "standard" tracks, only Hamilton Bay.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

great with some caveats

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gooseneck is great but doesn't hold position if bent too much.
Also because bulb is not covered light leaks from side of bulb and is distracting.
Unique and flexible fixture.
Pros: Unique, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

attractive and functional

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good product good value good service,Did not have the 8 foot strip that I ordered, even though it said so on line
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

nice

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Inexpensive and nice. Hard to go wrong. I got these for an art studio with a 10-11ft ceiling. Seems to work great. The only thing I may try is frosting the glass lens to diffuse the the light a little bit more to avoid hotspots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Blounts Creek, NC 27814, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderfully functional

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Gooseneck Linear Track Head Black Finish
The goosenect allows aiming the light much easier that the other fixtures on the track. The only reason I gave a 4 star for appearance is because the bulb is exposed. I would not use in a place that the fixture is highly visible since the bulb is visible. I traded out the bulbs that came with the fixtures for LED bulbs since the dimmer on my track only accomodates a limited wattage. Note that the bulb is exposed making changing the bulb easter than with most GU10 fixtures.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture

Fixture was fine but both bulbs were damaged.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Gooseneck Linear Track Head Black Finish
I have a real problem with this item. The fixture itself was as advertised and as expected. However, both bulbs were damaged (cracked). One still worked but the other did not. I would expect a fragile item of this nature be thoroughly inspected before being shipped and obviously it was not or the damage occurred during shipping. I doubt it was damaged during shipping due to the manner in which it was packaged. I believe it left the warehouse damaged.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect for the application

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Gooseneck Linear Track Head Black Finish
love the flexibility this light affords when trying to create an interesting look in a space. it worked so well on the ceiling beams that we used 4 to spot pictures and objects in the room. gives it a classy and artsy feel at the same time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Palm Harbor, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look and work well.

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Gooseneck Linear Track Head Black Finish
Work in a poor quality track when the R20's won't light up or get contact. They are hot like all hallogens. Don't touch the goose neck until cool.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gooseneck White Track-Lighting Linear Fixture
from Dallas, TX, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent but inferior bulb and socket.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Gooseneck Linear Track Head Black Finish
Uneven light with included bulb so I had to purchase a frosted bulb elsewhere. Socket doesn't cover the sides of the bulb so it leaks a lot of light there. And WHY is the black fixture so much more expensive than the white one?
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.