728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive

6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive

Roberts 128 fl. oz. 6700 Indoor and Outdoor Carpet Adhesive is rated for residential and commercial areas with heavy traffic. The solvent-free, nonflammable formula is water resistant when cured.
Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
Review 1 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Buhl, ID 83316, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy applacation

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a product that is water proof when it dries
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective, dries fast
Cons: dries fast
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Stanwood, MI 49346, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Carpet Adhesive

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When applying this product over plywood or metal, be careful not to apply too much. I learned the hard way by using a 1/8”notched trowel. It takes forever to cure and you get some bleed through and bleed over. I ended up using a 2" flat end flexible putty knife or 1/16” notched putty knife and applied an even coat only thick enough so that you can't see the substrate material. I used this adhesive to re-carpet my bass boat and this method worked great for both, the metal doors and the plywood decks. Wait about 45 minutes before applying the carpet to the substrate. Make SURE you wait 72 hours before you get the carpet wet and it will stay down.
This method is my preference, you need to do what you feel is right for you.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Lolo,MT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Boat flooring

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this product to install carpet on the wood floor of my small boat.
Just had to spread it so that it would not seep through the carpet.
Easy clean up also.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome Carpet Adhesive-Easy to use before cure time expires

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Roberts 6700 carpet adhesive worked great for me. I had to replace the floor in my recessed front porch and after installing a rubber membrane with rubber cement on 3/4" AC plywood the Roberts adhesive glued my new Lancers Marine capret down like a professional installation. I bought my $2.97 Roberts dual V notched trowel and it works great, all the above items, adhesive, trowl and a 6'x20's roll or Lancers marine carpet came to only 156 bux so a very budget friendly price on this project.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive

Clean up is easy, easy to work with, strong bond

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to bond artificial turf to treated plywood. It has a creamy texture and dries slowly which made it easy to spread and left plenty of time to apply the turf and roll it after application. I let it dry for 2 days before I let my 100 lbs son use his new "pitching mound". It did not budge due to the twisting motion of his landing foot when he delivered pitch after pitch. That told me the bond between plywood and turf was strong. Would use it again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Des Moines
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

carpet adhesive

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked well on deck easy to apply and held secure.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: na
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive

works as expected

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use...spreads easy. I would recommend purchasing more than you think you need as it is easier to spread if you put on a little thicker than recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Brandon Ms
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outdoor carpet glue

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the 6700 to install carpet on my pontoon boat. It went on well and I let it cure to tacky before I installed the 28 oz carpet. Within 24 hrs the carpet had adhered well. No bleed through after three outings. Only time will tell how long it last in wet conditions. Coverage was less than stated, about 70 to 75 sq ft per gal. 200sq ft took almost three gal.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
Cons: less coverage than stated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive

try something else

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product bleed through carpet and I now have 40 white sticky glue spots on my grey carpet. I tried everything to try and clean it up but only makes the carpet worse. Buy something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Middletown, PA

Porch

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased some 6'x8' remnant outdoor carpeting and Roberts 6700 from Home Depot to redo our porch. The adhesive has the consistency of toothpaste or pudding, and was easy to work with, although you should do relatively small sections as a time as it sets up somewhat fast. It's tacky even when wet, which means you should be careful with clothes and wear gloves, but otherwise this quality helps a lot. I say that because my porch project includes taking the carpet at 90* bends over the edge. Even while wet, this adhesive had the power to hold the carpet against the side and not let it pull away. I find I'm going to have to use more than quoted on the directions (I think 1gal to ~90 sq. ft) as there is old glue that is near impossible to get off, leaving the surface a bit porous... but otherwise the quoted amount should be plenty.
Just my experience, I did not have the adhesive bleed through like the other reviewer. The carpet I used, while thin, did utilize a latex backing which may have been a barrier, but also I did use a 'V' cut trowl to spread it, which may have resulted in less product *to* bleed through? Either way, this stuff is very sticky and sets fast, so you surely don't need to overdo it, a little goes a long way.
Easy to spread/work with, sets fast, excellent bond, 'enironmentally safe', low odor. I don't think it could perform much better in my experience.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Dallas Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked great for my pontoon boat... Carpet looks great! I read in boat forums that it holds very well on boats. Saves you $$ as well. Check the competitors, you'll see that their prices are high!!!! Very satisfied!! FYI...I installed in direct sunlight, this stuff dries fast. Also be prepared to destroy a pair of gloves and whatever clothes your wearing to do the job....messy!!!! :-)
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good price on product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this product at the recommendation of my contractor.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Panama City, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but watch application instructions

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not many choices in using a glue for indoor/outdoor carpet. It's definitely water soluble and you have to be careful of globs or thick areas, it WILL bleed through the carpet. I think in this case, less is better. Wipes off easy and tools clean up well.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: must ensure even application
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Valdosta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I really like this PRODUCT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and works great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!REally great to work with . Better than I expected !!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Easy to Install, Looks High End, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Manasquan, NJ

Great product!

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to install new carpeting in my boat. I followed the instructions, and got a little less coverage than I thought I would.
When applying, I used the recommended trowel size. It spread nicely, and was just the right consistency. I was worried that I would spread the adhesive along the side of the boat, and it wouldn't be strong enough to hold up the carpet while it dried. I didn't need to worry. The carpet stayed in place perfectly. I was also able to make small adjustments for the fit while it was still tacky.
Like I said, I ended up having to buy another adhesive product to finish the job. The difference was amazing. It was very sloppy and runny, and hard to work with. It really pointed out to me how lucky I was to have gotten most of the job done with this carpet adhesive.
I used it in my boat, and I couldn't be happier with it. I'd highly recommend buying it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pain to apply

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This adhesive works as advertised, however, it is a major pain to apply and clean up is terrible. Ended up having to use paint thinner.
Pros: Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Memphis, Tn

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I used it to install new carpet on my pontoon boat. Easy to work with & easy to clean up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive

great glue

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked out fine to glue carpet on my flote boat !!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive

great product

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great product, good service, adheres well to stained and water sealed wood. the pic is of a test strip. i will be re-carpeting my boat and engine cover box. this product works excellent when fully cured in wet conditions, perfect for marine use
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Effective
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6700 1-gal. Indoor/Outdoor Carpet and Artificial Turf Adhesive
from Plano, TX

Excellent carpet adhesive.

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this adhesive to secure indoor/outdoor marine carpet to my Sea Doo and pontoon trailer running boards. This adhesive worked well for the application.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>