728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Weather Stripping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

To help prevent drafts, water and dust from entering your garage, the MD Building Products 5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom can be used to close the gap between the door and floor. The rugged aluminum extrusion installs to the bottom of the door with the included screws. The door bottom is long lasting and fits even double garage doors.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product18 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product18 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
Review 1 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from North Haven, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job of keeping out the weather out

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These were easy to install. Just use a little lubricant to help the rubber slide through the aluminum rails. The only thing I did not count on was that when water freezes under these the rubber has a tendency to stick to the ice and partially pulls out of the rail.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Hugo, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A replacement part that actually replaces!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Know how you need a replacement something, but your part doesn't quite match the shape of the replacement part? Like when you buy a universal remote that only does some of what your old remote did? Or finding a replacement garage door sealer on a 12 year old garage door?
Well, this isn't that. The bottom of my garage door isn't flat. It's bowed in the middle. They don't make the rubber gasket any more. They don't make garage door like that either. But, this replacement has an aluminum piece that fit right over that and only required some longer sheet metal screws to attach. Attached the aluminum support, slid in the rubber gasket and VIOLA! done and done!
The rubber even formed to shut the gap in the garage floor of an inch. Still functioning in a Minnesota winter.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

Great product!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product. I have combined this with a tsunami seal on my garage floor and now have no more rain water coming underneath. The product comes with four 4.5 foot aluminum mounting brackets and a single 18 foot long vinyl seal. Brackets are easy to drill through and install. Screws are included, although if you have an unusual garage door like mine you may need to buy longer ones. The vinyl seal is a little tricky to slide into place, however spraying the mounting grooves with silicone spray will make this much easier. Overall I have been very happy with this product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Murfreesboro , Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to install. It is a high quality product that will work on any garage door.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall a great product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good product relatively easy to install, but with a few glitches. First more self tapping screws should be included you will need more to hold the aluminum firmly to the bottom of the door. Also you might want to predrill small holes to start the self tappers.
P.S. Have a good sturdy drill to set the screws.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: instructions a bit vague
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Memphis, Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for sealing bottom of garage doors.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is great - devised a new way to install. Have an 18' wooden door. Choose to install the 9' section on right side, first. I drilled holes in the aluminum and put the two 4.5' sections together with duck tape at the seam. Used the spray solution of water and dish soap to make the rubber base slide more easily on the track. To give this rubber substance and form, I pushed 1/2 inch foam pipe covers into the 9' hole. I placed the 9' section on the concrete and let the garage door come down on it. Used a pencil to line the top of the aluminum plate and then drilled the screws into four holes to hold. Then, I raised the door to a workable height and finished putting in the remaining screws. I had made a hole about every six inches. I was now ready for the left side of the door and repeated the above steps. When inserting the 1/2" foam (2.97 for 12 feet), use plenty of spray to push the foam into the rubber molding. (to make this easier, get 1/2 PVC and this really makes the foam go in better) I took my time and did one 9 ft. section one afternoon, and the other side took the same time. However, I have no more gaps between my concrete floor and the bottom of the garage door. First time in 35 years. Hope the above installation steps are helpful. Whatever the width of your door, just cut the rubber in half insert in the two sections. If door is 9' wide, you will receive two 4 1/2 aluminum sections and one rubber piece that is nine feet long. And, always start from the middle and work to the sides of the garage to insert the foam pipe cover. Can go to the end where garage rail is and insert the other end.
The rubber weatherstrip is tight against the concrete and looks great. Although the aluminum plates are level all the way across, they are not level with the bottom trim of the garage. So what, one really has to look hard and be really a perfectionist to see this. Replacement of the rubber will also be much easier down the road. I did not have instructions but had read all the other reviews. I analyzed the project and devised my own installation steps and it worked great. Hope you try this. BUT, this is a project which is not to be rushed -- take your time - pace yourself.
Pros: Durable, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Northville, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and seals nicely

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this at my local Home Depot. It was a little leary of the cost at $40 since it was double the cost of the other garage door bottom seal products but I was very happy with the purchase. The aluminum rail was fairly easy to install with the self tapping metal screws (I recommend using a cordless/powered drill since it requires a little force which would be difficult with a hand screwdriver). I did need to cut down the last rail to shorten it the length of my door with a hack saw and mitre box. The rubber seal then slides in nicely but it is helpful to have two people for this as it is much faster and easier to feed the seal into the end of the tracks and have someone pull it the length of the door at that same time. Once installed it seals nicely with the garage floor which was my concern since I had some water seep under the door with my old one. It has rained several times since I have installed it and no water has gotten through. I am very pleased.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Troy Mo
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to intsall

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easy to install til you get to the rubber bottom 1st of all another set of hands would of helped but what I did was I had a piece of 3/4 inch copper pipe and put it at the start of loading the rubber and rolled it up around the pipe and pushed it threw and it worked well still took a bit of time the whole job took about 1/2 hour
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok, but not exactly what I expected

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was difficult to know exactly what I was buying based on the limited information on the web site. I ordered delivery to my because because the description said it was 18 feet long. But the track was 4 pieces, each 4.5 feet long. The track wasn't a direct replacement for my garage door and I had to take more time to install to avoid intergerence with the door jam. It seals up pretty good now and I am happy with the product.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

Perfect Solution!!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I wanted, was easy to install although they did forget to include the screws but no big deal picked up some self tapping screws at the local hardware store for a couple bucks. Still worth it!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Washington, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would buy again

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked ok could have used longer screws had to use my own.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

One Small Problem!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
SO my 70 year husband and I installed this replacement on a cold NW day. Product installation was fairly easy IF you are a do-it-yourselfer.
Our specific frustration - no suggestions with the instructions to remedy the rubber not meeting the cement to form a seal which we could not foretell prior to installation!!! There is a 1/2" + - gap along entire door bottom after installation.
Do wonder about the screw heads wearing the rubber.
Note: automatic garage open/close - can light bean be adjusted for lower closure?
I will call the company 800 number for advice today.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: include hints to ease install
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Lewisville, TX 75067, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Everything went good

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
REcieved product in great shape, and was shipped fast. Lower door seal installed very fast. The final product was great it sealed very well. Perfect for early fall.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

works as advertised

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fit my 18' door perfectly. The seal dimensions allow for an uneven door-to-floor fit. The silicone tips in other reviews were right on. The lubricant allowed a very easy installation.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Valencia, Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

good value. easy to install.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Now critters cannot get into my garage! Just what I needed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from Everett, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was as described

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was as described on line and instructions were complete and installed very easily.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

item works exceptionally well

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
extremely happy with the performance of this item.. fixed the water leak issue I had for past 26 years
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom
from GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good value and easy to install.

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One suggestion is don't rely on the self taping screws predrill the holes.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

Finished up as a nice looking job.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Aluminum track pieces are high quality. Had to use other screws than those provided to attach tracks to my metal garage door, which was no problem. One piece rubber seal (not vinyl) was a two person job to get pulled into place. But the finished job came out very well. I am quite pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-5/8 in. x 18 ft. Aluminum and Vinyl Garage Door Bottom

Good,not great

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Easy to install, though having some pre-drilled holes in the frames would have been nice. The provided screws were way too small for my needs; ended up using longer screws I had on hand. Rubber liner seems a bit flimsy... hoping it'll hold up to extreme heat we experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.