728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Instant Power Main Line Cleaner clears clogged main sewer lines and lateral/vertical lines. Powerful, non-acid formula dissolves hair, grease, paper and other gunk in drains. Safe for all pipes (including PVC) and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.369 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product105 of 120reviews
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(95)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product105 of 120reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Review 1 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham,Al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a chemical cleaner that really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
About every year or two we would have a backup in our main line and had tried various chemical treatments, but none of them had worked. My brother is a plumber and would have to snake the almost 100 ft. main line which usually took 2 hours each time to free the blockage. He suspected there was a belly in the line somewhere that would accumulate grease, debris, toilet paper, and other things that would normally break down quickly. My wife read about this product and I bought 2 gallons to try. I poured both gallons in at night and in the morning poured about 4 gallons of boiling water followed by hot water. After a couple minutes it backed up again. I waited 10 more minutes and checked, to my amazement the water had receded. Followed by 10 minutes of hot water and the line is clear. Now I don't have to call little brother the plumber except to tell him this product works!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
40out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

This works!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had the usual symptoms of a backup in my main sewer line: when you flushed the toilet or did a load of laundry, nasty water would start coming out of another drain in a different part of the house. I almost called a plumber but happened to stumble across this product. It is basically a gallon of pure lye, a powerful corrosive that can dissolve anything organic. I poured it in a bathroom sink, didn't use the water for 6 hours, then flushed the toilet. I heard a slight rumbling under the floor and PRESTO! The plumbing is working perfectly now. This will save you hundreds of dollars over calling a plumber if you have the same type of clog. 5 stars.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

WOW!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a house full of girls so at first I thought our toilet was clogged again. After an unsuccessful plunge attempt, I noticed during my plunging that water was coming up out of the shower drain. My wife quickly tried the other bathroom and the same thing occurred. So we had an obvious main sewer line problem. I ran to Home Depot to give this stuff a try. I poured it in the shower drain closest to the main right before bed. Make sure you allow the water to drain the best it can before putting it in. I got up the next morning and ran hot water through the drain for 5 minutes. And WOW! It really worked!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Saved me lot of money!!

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My shower drain was blocked with very very slow drainage. I tried everything - local drain cleaners, drano, baking soda/vinegar with hot water flush etc, but nothing worked. I even tried the snake cable and some clog came out, but still the drain was very slow that it would take one day to clear the shower after single use. I knew that the clog was some where a bit far away. Reading good reviews, I thought I will give this product a try. I only bought one gallon and dumped it in the shower at night. I checked once in an hour and the liquid was already draining. But, about 10 hours later in the morning, I boiled 2 gallons of water just to make sure and poured it in. To my surprise, it didn't back up. Then, I just ran some hot water from the shower for a minute to check and it kept flowing. This is really a great product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from west virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now that was the best $$$$ ever spent!

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had the P trap and faucet replaced in upstairs bath and hope to unclog the drain. Handyman showed me the black sludge. He said call a plumber. Plumber wanted $400. The left side of my kitchen sink had sludge. ICK! I poured a gallon in every drain except the toilets. All cleared. The upstairs basin required a second treatment. Much improved but a tad slow. Saved myself a few hundred $$$. I let mine stew for 12 hours. Poured BOILING water as directed. Good luck!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the finest alternative to using a snake.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every 3-5 years the 38 year old plumbing in my kitchen decides to clog. The last time my landlord called an excellent plumber who solved the problem with a snake powered by a cordless drill. Well, I decided to handle the problem myself with a product I'd had my eyes on for several years. Guess what, it thoroughly cleared away all the years of gunk/grime/grease/soil.
Although, not as swift as a snake, this less expensive alternative needs an overnight amount of time to effectively bring results. Also, you'll need to poor ample amounts of boiling hot water after the 8hr timeframe. Once all the above tasks are completed, your drain should be up and running all good as new. Yes, you can pour this miracle substance straight into the kitchen sink without damaging your pipes.
I'm completely and utterly satisfied with Main Line Cleaners effectiveness at ridding me of a serious and unsanitary clog.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, less than $12, no need to mess with an unsanitary snake, no overpowering or nasty odors
Cons: Too Slow, depending on severity of clog 8hrs required, over a gallon of boiling hot water after 8hrs
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Menifee, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I remember the day it happened. A Sunday. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, breakfast was ready, football was about to come on and then things got real dark real fast.
The washing machine entered its drain cycle followed quickly by an horrible gurgling, bubbling sound coming from the bathtubs and showers. All kinds pestilence, debris and things I will not even try to describe were flowing in the absolute most opposite way one could imagine.
And then nothing.
I stood there in shock. I was adding up what it would cost to bring out a plumber on a Sunday to make that soup of death go away. That frightened me even more.
I frantically went to work with a plunger. Nothing! It was the mother of all stoppages.
I knew there had to be a easy solution. A quick search online for "Main Line Cleaner" led me to this product at Home Depot.
I was skeptical. I read the reviews and hoped that everything I read was true.
I poured it into the bathroom sink at 2 PM. Hoping I didn't just buy into a bunch of hype. The hours ticked by. Nothing. No movement whatsoever. The pool of disgust just sat there in my tubs mocking me.
I decided to retire for the day at 9 PM. It was not going to be a peaceful sleep knowing what was lying in my bathrooms.
And then it happened.....
It was 9:30 PM.
A death groan of the monster that had plagued me all day, followed by a rushing sound of of all that horrible mess going away.
I jumped out of bed and prepared a giant pot of boiling water to rinse out all that was left behind. I filled the tubs with hot water and drained them both at the same time to finish the purge.
It was done.
I won.
I couldn't believe it. It really works. Finally something that does what it promises.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+98points
100out of 102found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow Main Drain No More, Cleaner Kicks Butt

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
main drain would sometimes back up a bit if the washing machine and shower were running simultaneously.....being out of work meant a visit by a plumber was not a first choice so I read about the success of this product and gave it a try.....waited until late evening to add a gallon to the main drain at last clean out in the basement, there was almost no water in the pipe......checked the main drain line in the morning and was sad to see lots of standing water, a toilet had been flushed and water run in a sink...... reluctantly called our plumber who couldn't get there until later in the day.......then I checked the main line about 1 hour later and nothing, no water!
could it be that this was just a slow drain finally clearing?......connected a garden hose to a hot water source and ran that hot water directly into the line for about 10 minutes, no issues at all, no back up, no funny noises, the cleaner had worked, seems it just needed a bit more time to dissolve the clog.....
called the plumber to let them know the line was draining properly and canceled service call.....best $11 plumbing repair in a long time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Lenexa Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked for me!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm really not one to write reviews especially a
favorable one but this product cleared my very
very slow main drain and saved me a lot of $$!
My drain is a bit irregular and hard to auger out.
But used 3 gallons let it set 8 hours followed by l
ots of hot water
Drain is running great.
Its great to find something that really works!
Be careful and wear at least goggles and gloves.
Best of luck.
Mike
Pros: Reliable
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Gibsonton Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared my Drain Lines

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My problem has been a slow draining line that was evident when the washer was draining. It would back up & overflow onto the garage floor. Several years ago, we rented a power drain auger from Home Depot which bored thru the build-up (which looks & feels like soft rubber) & alleviated the problem. This time we used this product overnight. Our drain line is linear thru the house.
One half gallon was put in the shower drain at one end of the line. The other half was put in the washer drain at the other end of the line. The next morning we flushed from both ends with hot water for 15 minutes. The problem no longer exists. We saved the extra gallon for maintenance cleaning as needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Rockford, IL
Gender:Male

Worked even when 100' auger didn't!!

PostedAugust 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wife went down to load washer and seen the laundry area was flooded around the floor drain. I plunged and used my 25' snake to no avail. Then figured out it wasn't the floor drain because any water usage make it back up even more.
Went and rented a 100' sewer auger and had to remove the toilet to use it because the 50 year old cleanouts where frozen in solid. All that did was make a plugged up main line into an extremely slow draining main line (after backing up water would drain out after half hour or so), so I figured I'd have to call a plumber with a longer auger, problem was anything over 100 ft (which I already did) pretty much doubled the prices they charged!
So as a last resort before spending a bundle on a plumber I tried this. Bought 3 gallons and put them all in at once about 8 last night. Waited till 10 this morning (14 hours) to pour 4 large pots of boiling water down the drain (heard "clunk" come from pipes while pouring 3rd and 4th pot of water in), and went down and ran hot water in laundry sink. Ran it till no more hot water in tank and the floor drain never backed up! Problem Solved!!!
I'm extremely happy and next time I have any sewer issues this will be my 1st choice!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Northen California

Worked Great

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A stormy Sunday morning and raw sewage starts bubbling up from the shower drain.Wonderful . . . I looked online at the rooter companies and they all wanted hundreds of dollars and most had mixed or bad reviews. I used two gallons of the line cleaner and waited seven hours. It worked great. We have been taking showers, flushing toilets and doing laundry with no problem. I would imagine it works best on waste clogs and might have a tougher time with roots. It worked great for us.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Follow up to my January 21, 2014 post that it did not work for me. I applied for my refund online, very simple and already got my refund (less than 3 weeks). and got it for both bottles. so it's certainly worth trying.
Pros: 100% guarantee
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have about 100 feet of teracotta pipe as a main sewer line running from my house to the city sewer line at the street. I've had to snake out this main line several times a year to keep it open. Because it's old, it's subject to roots entering at the terracotta joints and grease build up from the kitchen. I have an outside cleanout right where the mainline exits the house. I used this product exactly as directed....at night, following all the safety precautions. The next morning I ran hot water down the disposal for five minutes followed by pouring 2 gallons of boiling water in the cleanout where I put in the Main Liine Cleaner the night before.
I have an additional cleanout halfway between the house and the street where i can look straight down and see the speed of the water flowing form the house to the street. I was delighted to see after one treatment the water was moving about three times as fast as I've ever seen it. I've lived with these lines for over 40 years so I know them pretty well. To say the least I'm happy with this product and will retreat as needed.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Joe the Plumber, start packin'

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is liquid gold. I had a back up in the sewer line. Water from the washing machine was draining up into the bathtub. This happened about 10 years ago and the cause was tree roots and the result was a $400 bill from the plumber who had to snake the line. Last night before going to bed, I applied the product as directed and then flushed with hot water this morning, 8 hours later as directed. The line is totally clear! I have washed a load of clothes, taken a shower, and flushed the toilet, with no back up! It is amazing that I have dodged the bullet for just a few dollars. Instant Power will become part of my sewer line maintenance program.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, does what it says it will do
Cons: none
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sewer back up with slow draining

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We tried this product because of the reviews it received and the fact it was the cheaper way to go. We had sewer back up with slow draining. Six months earlier we had the some problem. We rented a snake for the main line but found nothing blocking it. We used a sink snake in the floor drain and heard a pop and it was draining again.
When it happened this time, I looked online and found this product. Since it promised it would work or your money back, we decided to try this first. I bought 2 gallons used one as directed and waited the 8 hours. Starting running water and some came up again but it did drain faster. So we thought we would use the last gallon and wait another 8 hours. We are so glad we did. The drain is running like it is suppose to. We have come to the conclusion that our problem is soap scrum build up. We are planning to use this product every couple of months to keep the drains running clear. I am so glad we decided to try this way first. Less money, less work just needs some time to remove what it took months to build up. With the money back promise if it does not work, you have nothing to lose but some time trying it.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from CT

REALLY WORKS

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this for several years. I actually only use about 1/4 of a gallon each time. Always Pour it in the drain opening of the lowest plumbing level. It doesn't have to be the toilet. it can be the sink. Let it sit a few hours, if you can. However, I just used it and I only waited an hour. I then poured hot boiling water, a kettle full, down the drain, then ran water after that. CLOG GONE!!!
I think using it, maybe every 4 to 6 months as a preventive measure, may be a good idea.
Pros: it works!, reasonable price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

skeptical

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was really skeptical about this product. I mean come on why I gotta buy two is it not good enough? Yet I bought two put one in n tried it the next day still had same result washing machine backing up into my rear house drain but would then go down rapidly
So I'm figuring I don't have full blockage. So I did second treatment the next night and then tried it again and lo and behold I didn't have the problem anymore
So now that that issue is resolved I'm going to put the zep root kill in after a full day of water running n kill any roots that might be creeping in my drains as well.keep things running smooth I hope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Fantastic product with great results!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have had main line sewer backups from the past four years having to call out a professional plumber several times a year at a cost of $250 each. I read about this product and thought I would give it a try - I mean $11.95 or $250 so what could it hurt? I can now say that I am a proud advocate for this product. It can do things that my plumber has not been able to do. After using this product, our main line had more water flow than I can ever remember. I absolutely support and recommend this product for anyone having in home line trouble or outside main line trouble - you will not be disappointed.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Mt Sterling, Il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read all the reviews and thought I might have to do it a couple of times. It worked perfectly the first time. I put it in the drain at night and flushed it with hot water the next morning. Now I can wash clothes again without water backing up in the basement. I am so grateful for this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>