728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Instant Power Main Line Cleaner clears clogged main sewer lines and lateral/vertical lines. Powerful, non-acid formula dissolves hair, grease, paper and other gunk in drains. Safe for all pipes (including PVC) and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product96 of 110reviews
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(88)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(11)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product96 of 110reviews
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Review 1 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham,Al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a chemical cleaner that really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
About every year or two we would have a backup in our main line and had tried various chemical treatments, but none of them had worked. My brother is a plumber and would have to snake the almost 100 ft. main line which usually took 2 hours each time to free the blockage. He suspected there was a belly in the line somewhere that would accumulate grease, debris, toilet paper, and other things that would normally break down quickly. My wife read about this product and I bought 2 gallons to try. I poured both gallons in at night and in the morning poured about 4 gallons of boiling water followed by hot water. After a couple minutes it backed up again. I waited 10 more minutes and checked, to my amazement the water had receded. Followed by 10 minutes of hot water and the line is clear. Now I don't have to call little brother the plumber except to tell him this product works!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

WOW!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a house full of girls so at first I thought our toilet was clogged again. After an unsuccessful plunge attempt, I noticed during my plunging that water was coming up out of the shower drain. My wife quickly tried the other bathroom and the same thing occurred. So we had an obvious main sewer line problem. I ran to Home Depot to give this stuff a try. I poured it in the shower drain closest to the main right before bed. Make sure you allow the water to drain the best it can before putting it in. I got up the next morning and ran hot water through the drain for 5 minutes. And WOW! It really worked!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Lenexa Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked for me!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm really not one to write reviews especially a
favorable one but this product cleared my very
very slow main drain and saved me a lot of $$!
My drain is a bit irregular and hard to auger out.
But used 3 gallons let it set 8 hours followed by l
ots of hot water
Drain is running great.
Its great to find something that really works!
Be careful and wear at least goggles and gloves.
Best of luck.
Mike
Pros: Reliable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the finest alternative to using a snake.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every 3-5 years the 38 year old plumbing in my kitchen decides to clog. The last time my landlord called an excellent plumber who solved the problem with a snake powered by a cordless drill. Well, I decided to handle the problem myself with a product I'd had my eyes on for several years. Guess what, it thoroughly cleared away all the years of gunk/grime/grease/soil.
Although, not as swift as a snake, this less expensive alternative needs an overnight amount of time to effectively bring results. Also, you'll need to poor ample amounts of boiling hot water after the 8hr timeframe. Once all the above tasks are completed, your drain should be up and running all good as new. Yes, you can pour this miracle substance straight into the kitchen sink without damaging your pipes.
I'm completely and utterly satisfied with Main Line Cleaners effectiveness at ridding me of a serious and unsanitary clog.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, less than $12, no need to mess with an unsanitary snake, no overpowering or nasty odors
Cons: Too Slow, depending on severity of clog 8hrs required, over a gallon of boiling hot water after 8hrs
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

skeptical

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was really skeptical about this product. I mean come on why I gotta buy two is it not good enough? Yet I bought two put one in n tried it the next day still had same result washing machine backing up into my rear house drain but would then go down rapidly
So I'm figuring I don't have full blockage. So I did second treatment the next night and then tried it again and lo and behold I didn't have the problem anymore
So now that that issue is resolved I'm going to put the zep root kill in after a full day of water running n kill any roots that might be creeping in my drains as well.keep things running smooth I hope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

another satisfied customer

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like (nearly) everyone says, this stuff just works. I've had a constant problem with my tub, toilet and sink that branch off the main line. Total blockage. It is probably a tree root or something catching junk and clogging. I tried that root stuff but it still backed up 5 months later. Either another $300 router call or try this stuff for $20. Took a chance and bought 2 gallons and poured them down the drain at night. Next morning pour a pot of boiling water down drain and ran tub. SUCCESS! Let's see how long this lasts. Still it worked and for that I am grateful. Just get it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Northen California

Worked Great

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A stormy Sunday morning and raw sewage starts bubbling up from the shower drain.Wonderful . . . I looked online at the rooter companies and they all wanted hundreds of dollars and most had mixed or bad reviews. I used two gallons of the line cleaner and waited seven hours. It worked great. We have been taking showers, flushing toilets and doing laundry with no problem. I would imagine it works best on waste clogs and might have a tougher time with roots. It worked great for us.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Mt Sterling, Il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read all the reviews and thought I might have to do it a couple of times. It worked perfectly the first time. I put it in the drain at night and flushed it with hot water the next morning. Now I can wash clothes again without water backing up in the basement. I am so grateful for this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Works exactly as advertised

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Im not one to usually give reviews. But had to take the time out to say. This product really works. Tried snaking my kitchen sink. Didnt help much. Figured whats $11 compared to having to call a plumber. Did as the instructions said. Poured it in waited over night and ran hot water Instantly saw results. So i did it again the next night with a second bottle now the sinnk works better than when we first got the house. I plan on doing this to the bathrooms as well. And keeping a couple of bottles in stock home. Great results
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from CT

REALLY WORKS

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this for several years. I actually only use about 1/4 of a gallon each time. Always Pour it in the drain opening of the lowest plumbing level. It doesn't have to be the toilet. it can be the sink. Let it sit a few hours, if you can. However, I just used it and I only waited an hour. I then poured hot boiling water, a kettle full, down the drain, then ran water after that. CLOG GONE!!!
I think using it, maybe every 4 to 6 months as a preventive measure, may be a good idea.
Pros: it works!, reasonable price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Menifee, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I remember the day it happened. A Sunday. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, breakfast was ready, football was about to come on and then things got real dark real fast.
The washing machine entered its drain cycle followed quickly by an horrible gurgling, bubbling sound coming from the bathtubs and showers. All kinds pestilence, debris and things I will not even try to describe were flowing in the absolute most opposite way one could imagine.
And then nothing.
I stood there in shock. I was adding up what it would cost to bring out a plumber on a Sunday to make that soup of death go away. That frightened me even more.
I frantically went to work with a plunger. Nothing! It was the mother of all stoppages.
I knew there had to be a easy solution. A quick search online for "Main Line Cleaner" led me to this product at Home Depot.
I was skeptical. I read the reviews and hoped that everything I read was true.
I poured it into the bathroom sink at 2 PM. Hoping I didn't just buy into a bunch of hype. The hours ticked by. Nothing. No movement whatsoever. The pool of disgust just sat there in my tubs mocking me.
I decided to retire for the day at 9 PM. It was not going to be a peaceful sleep knowing what was lying in my bathrooms.
And then it happened.....
It was 9:30 PM.
A death groan of the monster that had plagued me all day, followed by a rushing sound of of all that horrible mess going away.
I jumped out of bed and prepared a giant pot of boiling water to rinse out all that was left behind. I filled the tubs with hot water and drained them both at the same time to finish the purge.
It was done.
I won.
I couldn't believe it. It really works. Finally something that does what it promises.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+82points
84out of 86found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Main line cleaner

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked like a charm!!!! I had a problem for the past few days with my basement slop sink and toilet not draining... The toilet flushed but nothing went down, it just filled the bowl... It eventually dissipated after quite some time... So I checked my clean out outside and it was full to the top... If I ran the sink or showered and flushed the toilets it would overflow out the vent... So I looked on line for something to pour in the vent for the main sewer line and I found this stuff...! So for 10/11 bucks why not try it before spending hundreds on a plumber.. Who happens to be my next door neighbor! He has enough money!! Anyway, I bought 2 gallons and poured 1 down the vent outside and split one between the slop sink and toilet In basement.... after 7+ hours I boiled two big pots of water and poured 1 down the vent and split one between the sink and toilet and boom! It opened up... All drains open and toilet flushes fine... This product is great! Glad I picked it up... So before calling a plumber, try this stuff... It really does work!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

It works !!

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kitchen sink was completely blocked , bought this stuff pour it down the sink for the night ,and next morning ran hot water for about 10 mins and it bubbled for a few minutes and then the it stared to drain .. Back as new . My sink was completely clogged , could not run the dishwasher or even attempt to wash a plate . Thx Home Depot .. Sabrina
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

worked for me.

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 2 gallons.
After 8 hours I flushed with extremely hot water and it began to trickle.
Used the second gallon and 8 hours.
Then flushed with hot water and when the bath tub started to fill up it broke free.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Follow up to my January 21, 2014 post that it did not work for me. I applied for my refund online, very simple and already got my refund (less than 3 weeks). and got it for both bottles. so it's certainly worth trying.
Pros: 100% guarantee
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Gibsonton Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared my Drain Lines

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My problem has been a slow draining line that was evident when the washer was draining. It would back up & overflow onto the garage floor. Several years ago, we rented a power drain auger from Home Depot which bored thru the build-up (which looks & feels like soft rubber) & alleviated the problem. This time we used this product overnight. Our drain line is linear thru the house.
One half gallon was put in the shower drain at one end of the line. The other half was put in the washer drain at the other end of the line. The next morning we flushed from both ends with hot water for 15 minutes. The problem no longer exists. We saved the extra gallon for maintenance cleaning as needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unclogged completed stopped drain when nothing else worked!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a COMPLETELY stopped drain in master bath. Unfortunately, I have dual vanities with an AC condensate line joining the drain line of one of sink drains. This continual water flow encouraged black algae growth which over time built up and completed stopped the drain.
I tried plunging, Draino, foams, granulated lye, etc. and nothing worked. I couldn't snake the line due to the cheap way the builder designed the drain pipes so I was either going to have to break through the cabinet/wall to access the drain pipes and cut a hole to run a snake or I had find a chemical solution.
This product has a very high concentration of lye and potash and recommends that you drain the lines as much as possible then pour the ENTIRE gallon down the drain and wait ALL NIGHT. This stuff will bubble and bubble forever, slowly decomposing the organics that are blocking the drain. Once I woke up the next morning I discovered that the drain is COMPLETELY clear and is flowing better than it ever has in the two years since I've been in this house.
If you have an organic debris blockage this stuff WILL clear it! Just be VERY careful handling this as it is incredibly caustic!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Stuff!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a 40+ year old house and have pets so the plumbing gets clogged or sluggish regularly - usually from pet hair in the laundry.
The first time I called those Rooter people and they charged $125 to snake out the line.
The second time I called them, they wanted $250 to do the same thing so I sent them away and went to Home Depot.
I saw this stuff and bought 2 gallons.
Poured it down the laundry drain and it worked like a charm.
$22 vs. $250. I call that a bargain.
Now I use it about once every 3 years and haven't had a problem since.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have about 100 feet of teracotta pipe as a main sewer line running from my house to the city sewer line at the street. I've had to snake out this main line several times a year to keep it open. Because it's old, it's subject to roots entering at the terracotta joints and grease build up from the kitchen. I have an outside cleanout right where the mainline exits the house. I used this product exactly as directed....at night, following all the safety precautions. The next morning I ran hot water down the disposal for five minutes followed by pouring 2 gallons of boiling water in the cleanout where I put in the Main Liine Cleaner the night before.
I have an additional cleanout halfway between the house and the street where i can look straight down and see the speed of the water flowing form the house to the street. I was delighted to see after one treatment the water was moving about three times as fast as I've ever seen it. I've lived with these lines for over 40 years so I know them pretty well. To say the least I'm happy with this product and will retreat as needed.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

The best $22 I ever spent

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this thing works on cast ion pipe.my bathroom on the second floor had some clogs near the main drain. we have not used this bathroom frequently for almost 3 years so stuffs may solidify near the main drain P trap. The water came out the the shower drain when we flush the toilet I called plumbers on a saturday. None of them were available. Since we were remodeling the bathroom upstair, we have no time to waste. We accidentally came across this product when searching for how to clean cast ion pipe. Out of desperation, I thought to myself why not ? 22 bucks vs 1K, which is the estimate they gave me over the phone. Surprisingly It worked, even after only 3 hours. To make it short, give it a try, I glad I did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>