728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Instant Power Main Line Cleaner clears clogged main sewer lines and lateral/vertical lines. Powerful, non-acid formula dissolves hair, grease, paper and other gunk in drains. Safe for all pipes (including PVC) and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product53 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product53 of 63reviews
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Review 1 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
BigBo
from Birmingham,Al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a chemical cleaner that really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About every year or two we would have a backup in our main line and had tried various chemical treatments, but none of them had worked. My brother is a plumber and would have to snake the almost 100 ft. main line which usually took 2 hours each time to free the blockage. He suspected there was a belly in the line somewhere that would accumulate grease, debris, toilet paper, and other things that would normally break down quickly. My wife read about this product and I bought 2 gallons to try. I poured both gallons in at night and in the morning poured about 4 gallons of boiling water followed by hot water. After a couple minutes it backed up again. I waited 10 more minutes and checked, to my amazement the water had receded. Followed by 10 minutes of hot water and the line is clear. Now I don't have to call little brother the plumber except to tell him this product works!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
SdG501
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the MONEY!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had clogs in the front & master bathroom bathtubs and commodes, when I would used the washer everything would back up into the bathtubs with this ugly gurgling noise. It was a that point I just knew I had an expensive plumbing problem on my hands until I was told about this product by a relative that works for Home Depot. I purchased this product about 5pm immediately went home and poured into the clogged areas. Awoke the next morning and did as instructed...I was able to shower, use washer, toilet flushed without any problems. I will be purchasing another gallon just to keep on hand.
Plumber in a bottle!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Mike
from Menifee, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I remember the day it happened. A Sunday. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, breakfast was ready, football was about to come on and then things got real dark real fast.
The washing machine entered its drain cycle followed quickly by an horrible gurgling, bubbling sound coming from the bathtubs and showers. All kinds pestilence, debris and things I will not even try to describe were flowing in the absolute most opposite way one could imagine.
And then nothing.
I stood there in shock. I was adding up what it would cost to bring out a plumber on a Sunday to make that soup of death go away. That frightened me even more.
I frantically went to work with a plunger. Nothing! It was the mother of all stoppages.
I knew there had to be a easy solution. A quick search online for "Main Line Cleaner" led me to this product at Home Depot.
I was skeptical. I read the reviews and hoped that everything I read was true.
I poured it into the bathroom sink at 2 PM. Hoping I didn't just buy into a bunch of hype. The hours ticked by. Nothing. No movement whatsoever. The pool of disgust just sat there in my tubs mocking me.
I decided to retire for the day at 9 PM. It was not going to be a peaceful sleep knowing what was lying in my bathrooms.
And then it happened.....
It was 9:30 PM.
A death groan of the monster that had plagued me all day, followed by a rushing sound of of all that horrible mess going away.
I jumped out of bed and prepared a giant pot of boiling water to rinse out all that was left behind. I filled the tubs with hot water and drained them both at the same time to finish the purge.
It was done.
I won.
I couldn't believe it. It really works. Finally something that does what it promises.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Raeslee
from Chicago IL

Not for me

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading good amount of positive reviews, I bought two bottles as recommended per instruction in case one is not enough. But no success story for me. Before pouring this into my kitchen sink, at least I had some minimal drain function although it took about 7-8 hours for complete drainage. But it got worse and no water movement for 4 days. I gave up and I ended calling a plumber. Costed me $290, including some parts replacement which were melted due to the chemical reaction from this product. I was hoping to avoid high plumber cost billing with this product but not my case. Wish others good luck.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
clogged
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow up to my January 21, 2014 post that it did not work for me. I applied for my refund online, very simple and already got my refund (less than 3 weeks). and got it for both bottles. so it's certainly worth trying.
Pros: 100% guarantee
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
dfarris
from Kansas City, MO.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had sewage back up issues in the basement of my rented house for the three years I've been living in it. I've rented snakes, called plumbers, and spent several hundred dollars.
I was researching alternate approaches and come across this product. It had good reviews and was guaranteed, so I took a chance.
I purchased one gallon and poured it in the backed up water with little hope. I came home from work 8 hours later and nothing had happened. I then poured a second gallon. Five minutes later whatever was blocking the drain broke free and the water drained freely. I hosed off the floor, ran the dishwasher, ran the washer, and took showers. There was no slow drain or back up at all. I was running out of options and this offered the best results. The cost was $21.50 total.
Man, what a huge load off my mind!
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
ABC123
from Trumbull, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing!!!!

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the great reviews. I have a 100 year old house with old plumbing.
I poured one bottle and hot water, no. I poured a second bottle and boiling water, no, but better. I poured a third bottle down and let it sit for about 12 hours. I poured one large pot of boiling water...o.k. then a second...still o.k....third...fourth...I then said a prayer and turned the tub faucet on full and set a timer for 5 minutes and went downstairs to monitor it...five minutes came and went. No more total clog.
I let the product sit for up to 12 hours or more, used boiling water after use, and had to work this process over a two day period. But it worked. For a little over $30. With a total clog. Pipes fine.
What more could anyone ask for?
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
bones252100
from Gibsonton Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared my Drain Lines

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My problem has been a slow draining line that was evident when the washer was draining. It would back up & overflow onto the garage floor. Several years ago, we rented a power drain auger from Home Depot which bored thru the build-up (which looks & feels like soft rubber) & alleviated the problem. This time we used this product overnight. Our drain line is linear thru the house.
One half gallon was put in the shower drain at one end of the line. The other half was put in the washer drain at the other end of the line. The next morning we flushed from both ends with hot water for 15 minutes. The problem no longer exists. We saved the extra gallon for maintenance cleaning as needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Landers
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have about 100 feet of teracotta pipe as a main sewer line running from my house to the city sewer line at the street. I've had to snake out this main line several times a year to keep it open. Because it's old, it's subject to roots entering at the terracotta joints and grease build up from the kitchen. I have an outside cleanout right where the mainline exits the house. I used this product exactly as directed....at night, following all the safety precautions. The next morning I ran hot water down the disposal for five minutes followed by pouring 2 gallons of boiling water in the cleanout where I put in the Main Liine Cleaner the night before.
I have an additional cleanout halfway between the house and the street where i can look straight down and see the speed of the water flowing form the house to the street. I was delighted to see after one treatment the water was moving about three times as fast as I've ever seen it. I've lived with these lines for over 40 years so I know them pretty well. To say the least I'm happy with this product and will retreat as needed.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Firlasmi
from Milpitas, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Main Line Cleaner works well

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Following directions printed on the bottle of "Main line cleaner" (i.e. let backed up water to drain out, then pour the whole gallon cleaner into the drain, and let it sit for 8 hours), I was able to fix the problem of slow flow in my bathtub with one treatment of this cleaner.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
REGT
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Joe the Plumber, start packin'

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is liquid gold. I had a back up in the sewer line. Water from the washing machine was draining up into the bathtub. This happened about 10 years ago and the cause was tree roots and the result was a $400 bill from the plumber who had to snake the line. Last night before going to bed, I applied the product as directed and then flushed with hot water this morning, 8 hours later as directed. The line is totally clear! I have washed a load of clothes, taken a shower, and flushed the toilet, with no back up! It is amazing that I have dodged the bullet for just a few dollars. Instant Power will become part of my sewer line maintenance program.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, does what it says it will do
Cons: none
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Teachesl
from Tn

Thought I had been fooled but it worked!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About 2 months after moving to my new home, the toilets suddenly stopped flushing. Called a plumber and he snaked the drain to the road. Said there was a problem with the fitting from our line to the city. Previous owners had installed an entire new main line and also left us some enzyme cleaner. Now we knew why!!! Plumber said that if it happens every few months we would have to dig it up but if it was once a year maybe we should just call him and have it snaked. Well a year later I start hearing the toilets bubbling when I showered and started to see water back up in the tub when I did laundry. Slower drains. The whole bit so basically I knew that paper and grease and all that was getting caught all the way at the road again. The one night when I went to drain my kids bath water it stopped. No draining. No flushing. So I looked online to see if there was any way possible to DIY and ran across all the review for this stuff. I bought two bottles. Used one Friday night and did hot water flush Saturday morning. Nothing. Put another bottle in Saturday morning and did hot water Saturday night. Nothing. I felt like an idiot for having such high hopes. How could this gallon of chemicals make it all the way to a clog at the street? A clog that had been building for a year? Walked back in the bathroom and noticed a normal water level. Flushed it. Flushed another. Did laundry. Took showers. Wow! Two bottles really worked!
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
161610NAK
from Sheboygan, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried almost all drain cleaners plus snakes for drains in the past 6 months. When I really was loosing hope on everything. My husband found this product looking on line. I said try it,it cannot be any worse than others we had tried. Yes it took 2 bottles but my drain never drained as good as it does now. Only $20.00 later verses what a plumber would have been... Yes to this very good product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
djohns74
from Ferndale, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Product!

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like some other reviewers, I went into this with low expectations in terms of what the product would really be able to do for the extremely slow main line in my house. I began with a drain snake, not expecting much from it either, but pulled out several large clumps of tree roots. The rate of drain was unaffected however. One full bottle of Main Line Cleaner and 5 or 6 hours later, and the drain was running normally, able to fully evacuate my rather full sump pit without blinking.
Even if you doubt it, this stuff is entirely worth taking a chance on for the price. Give it a shot!
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Cyndi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It solved my problem

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to flush the toilet several times, now it's gone back to once since I used this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
RickS
from Athens NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

more wasted money

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading other reviews I decided to purchase this product with hope that it would open my drain that had backed up into my kitchen sink. I followed the instruction to the letter, however it did absolutley nothing to my clog. In will not buy this again. it was a complete waste of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
pbnj
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a downspout with some funky angles that tend to catch debris. We used a 1/4 of a bottle, left for only 4 hours and whoosh - it worked like a charm. No more blockage.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Ness
from Yorkville, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did exactly what the label said.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after trying to clear a clogged main drain in my basement manually with 2 different augers. Poured a gallon of this in the drain and within a few hours it was totally clear. Now I buy this every few months and pour it in there just to keep it clear.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Thankful

Saved me a few thousand dollars!

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a complete blockage in our decades old sewer line. Spent hundreds on a plumber and with their 200 foot snake and a blow bag were only able to get the water flowing a tiny bit. We were advised to resolve the clog we would have to hire someone else to dig up our line.
I was trying to figure out how I was going to come up with a few thousand dollars out of thin air when I found this product on the Home Depot website and saw so many reviews where people had a similar issue like mine. I decided to get a couple bottles and try as a last resort.
We used the product that night and did the hot water flush the next morning. The draining was still very slow, but since it says two applications may be needed we tried it again the next night. There was a noticeable improvement by morning and by afternoon we were able to have the showers running again without anything backing up at all. In fact, things seem to be draining better then ever!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
HappyEnding
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sewer back up with slow draining

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tried this product because of the reviews it received and the fact it was the cheaper way to go. We had sewer back up with slow draining. Six months earlier we had the some problem. We rented a snake for the main line but found nothing blocking it. We used a sink snake in the floor drain and heard a pop and it was draining again.
When it happened this time, I looked online and found this product. Since it promised it would work or your money back, we decided to try this first. I bought 2 gallons used one as directed and waited the 8 hours. Starting running water and some came up again but it did drain faster. So we thought we would use the last gallon and wait another 8 hours. We are so glad we did. The drain is running like it is suppose to. We have come to the conclusion that our problem is soap scrum build up. We are planning to use this product every couple of months to keep the drains running clear. I am so glad we decided to try this way first. Less money, less work just needs some time to remove what it took months to build up. With the money back promise if it does not work, you have nothing to lose but some time trying it.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>