728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chemical Drain Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Instant Power Main Line Cleaner clears clogged main sewer lines and lateral/vertical lines. Powerful, non-acid formula dissolves hair, grease, paper and other gunk in drains. Safe for all pipes (including PVC) and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.307 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product85 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(77)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(11)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product85 of 99reviews
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Review 1 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham,Al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a chemical cleaner that really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
About every year or two we would have a backup in our main line and had tried various chemical treatments, but none of them had worked. My brother is a plumber and would have to snake the almost 100 ft. main line which usually took 2 hours each time to free the blockage. He suspected there was a belly in the line somewhere that would accumulate grease, debris, toilet paper, and other things that would normally break down quickly. My wife read about this product and I bought 2 gallons to try. I poured both gallons in at night and in the morning poured about 4 gallons of boiling water followed by hot water. After a couple minutes it backed up again. I waited 10 more minutes and checked, to my amazement the water had receded. Followed by 10 minutes of hot water and the line is clear. Now I don't have to call little brother the plumber except to tell him this product works!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
31out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the finest alternative to using a snake.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every 3-5 years the 38 year old plumbing in my kitchen decides to clog. The last time my landlord called an excellent plumber who solved the problem with a snake powered by a cordless drill. Well, I decided to handle the problem myself with a product I'd had my eyes on for several years. Guess what, it thoroughly cleared away all the years of gunk/grime/grease/soil.
Although, not as swift as a snake, this less expensive alternative needs an overnight amount of time to effectively bring results. Also, you'll need to poor ample amounts of boiling hot water after the 8hr timeframe. Once all the above tasks are completed, your drain should be up and running all good as new. Yes, you can pour this miracle substance straight into the kitchen sink without damaging your pipes.
I'm completely and utterly satisfied with Main Line Cleaners effectiveness at ridding me of a serious and unsanitary clog.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, less than $12, no need to mess with an unsanitary snake, no overpowering or nasty odors
Cons: Too Slow, depending on severity of clog 8hrs required, over a gallon of boiling hot water after 8hrs
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Lenexa Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked for me!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm really not one to write reviews especially a
favorable one but this product cleared my very
very slow main drain and saved me a lot of $$!
My drain is a bit irregular and hard to auger out.
But used 3 gallons let it set 8 hours followed by l
ots of hot water
Drain is running great.
Its great to find something that really works!
Be careful and wear at least goggles and gloves.
Best of luck.
Mike
Pros: Reliable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Northen California

Worked Great

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A stormy Sunday morning and raw sewage starts bubbling up from the shower drain.Wonderful . . . I looked online at the rooter companies and they all wanted hundreds of dollars and most had mixed or bad reviews. I used two gallons of the line cleaner and waited seven hours. It worked great. We have been taking showers, flushing toilets and doing laundry with no problem. I would imagine it works best on waste clogs and might have a tougher time with roots. It worked great for us.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Mt Sterling, Il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read all the reviews and thought I might have to do it a couple of times. It worked perfectly the first time. I put it in the drain at night and flushed it with hot water the next morning. Now I can wash clothes again without water backing up in the basement. I am so grateful for this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Stuff!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a 40+ year old house and have pets so the plumbing gets clogged or sluggish regularly - usually from pet hair in the laundry.
The first time I called those Rooter people and they charged $125 to snake out the line.
The second time I called them, they wanted $250 to do the same thing so I sent them away and went to Home Depot.
I saw this stuff and bought 2 gallons.
Poured it down the laundry drain and it worked like a charm.
$22 vs. $250. I call that a bargain.
Now I use it about once every 3 years and haven't had a problem since.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from CT

REALLY WORKS

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this for several years. I actually only use about 1/4 of a gallon each time. Always Pour it in the drain opening of the lowest plumbing level. It doesn't have to be the toilet. it can be the sink. Let it sit a few hours, if you can. However, I just used it and I only waited an hour. I then poured hot boiling water, a kettle full, down the drain, then ran water after that. CLOG GONE!!!
I think using it, maybe every 4 to 6 months as a preventive measure, may be a good idea.
Pros: it works!, reasonable price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

WOW!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a house full of girls so at first I thought our toilet was clogged again. After an unsuccessful plunge attempt, I noticed during my plunging that water was coming up out of the shower drain. My wife quickly tried the other bathroom and the same thing occurred. So we had an obvious main sewer line problem. I ran to Home Depot to give this stuff a try. I poured it in the shower drain closest to the main right before bed. Make sure you allow the water to drain the best it can before putting it in. I got up the next morning and ran hot water through the drain for 5 minutes. And WOW! It really worked!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kitchen drain was completely stopped. I removed the trap and put a 25 foot snake into the wall (four times) which didn't get to the clog. I purchased this product, put it into the sink drain, waited 6.5 hours and then poured about five gallons of nearly-boiling water down the sink drain. The water initially raised level in sink about six inches then started moving downward. Within about seconds, the water got a vortex right into the drain and the water was very quickly draining. Saved probably 200 bucks by not requiring a plumber. I am very satisfied with this product!
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Menifee, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I remember the day it happened. A Sunday. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, breakfast was ready, football was about to come on and then things got real dark real fast.
The washing machine entered its drain cycle followed quickly by an horrible gurgling, bubbling sound coming from the bathtubs and showers. All kinds pestilence, debris and things I will not even try to describe were flowing in the absolute most opposite way one could imagine.
And then nothing.
I stood there in shock. I was adding up what it would cost to bring out a plumber on a Sunday to make that soup of death go away. That frightened me even more.
I frantically went to work with a plunger. Nothing! It was the mother of all stoppages.
I knew there had to be a easy solution. A quick search online for "Main Line Cleaner" led me to this product at Home Depot.
I was skeptical. I read the reviews and hoped that everything I read was true.
I poured it into the bathroom sink at 2 PM. Hoping I didn't just buy into a bunch of hype. The hours ticked by. Nothing. No movement whatsoever. The pool of disgust just sat there in my tubs mocking me.
I decided to retire for the day at 9 PM. It was not going to be a peaceful sleep knowing what was lying in my bathrooms.
And then it happened.....
It was 9:30 PM.
A death groan of the monster that had plagued me all day, followed by a rushing sound of of all that horrible mess going away.
I jumped out of bed and prepared a giant pot of boiling water to rinse out all that was left behind. I filled the tubs with hot water and drained them both at the same time to finish the purge.
It was done.
I won.
I couldn't believe it. It really works. Finally something that does what it promises.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+74points
76out of 78found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from San Mateo, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't work

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You pour in the product and then wait 7 hours to flush with water. Then you pour in the product (the second gallon since the first one didn't work) and wait another 7 hours to flush with water...and than you call a plumber who clears the drain in 20 minutes. Save yourself the time and the money unless you know for sure what the blockage is and whether this product will clear it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Follow up to my January 21, 2014 post that it did not work for me. I applied for my refund online, very simple and already got my refund (less than 3 weeks). and got it for both bottles. so it's certainly worth trying.
Pros: 100% guarantee
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

We aren't quite sure that it worked...

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
On Monday night, my husband noticed that the toilet was draining very slowly, and by Tuesday morning everything was backing up into the bathtub, which was pretty disgusting. Everything was draining pretty slowly - enough for one flush in the morning and one flush at night. I knew we needed to call a plumber, but neither my husband nor I could stay home from work, so we decided to try the Instant Power Main Line Cleaner. We put it into the bathtub drain on Tuesday night, and we poured boiling water into the drain and ran the hot water for 5 minutes. Nothing. The bathtub just filled up and didn't drain. Because neither of us enjoyed taking a "spit bath," we decided to schedule a plumber for Thursday morning. On Wednesday night, I decided to take a quick shower, and the tub immediately began filling with water; suddenly, everything gurgled and began to quickly drain! We had the plumbers check it out anyway, and the line was clear all the way to the street. The plumber seems to think that taking a shower helped the clog to fee itself, but I think the Main Line Cleaner must have helped because we had already run water in the shower several times up to that point.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Gibsonton Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared my Drain Lines

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My problem has been a slow draining line that was evident when the washer was draining. It would back up & overflow onto the garage floor. Several years ago, we rented a power drain auger from Home Depot which bored thru the build-up (which looks & feels like soft rubber) & alleviated the problem. This time we used this product overnight. Our drain line is linear thru the house.
One half gallon was put in the shower drain at one end of the line. The other half was put in the washer drain at the other end of the line. The next morning we flushed from both ends with hot water for 15 minutes. The problem no longer exists. We saved the extra gallon for maintenance cleaning as needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the MONEY!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had clogs in the front & master bathroom bathtubs and commodes, when I would used the washer everything would back up into the bathtubs with this ugly gurgling noise. It was a that point I just knew I had an expensive plumbing problem on my hands until I was told about this product by a relative that works for Home Depot. I purchased this product about 5pm immediately went home and poured into the clogged areas. Awoke the next morning and did as instructed...I was able to shower, use washer, toilet flushed without any problems. I will be purchasing another gallon just to keep on hand.
Plumber in a bottle!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have about 100 feet of teracotta pipe as a main sewer line running from my house to the city sewer line at the street. I've had to snake out this main line several times a year to keep it open. Because it's old, it's subject to roots entering at the terracotta joints and grease build up from the kitchen. I have an outside cleanout right where the mainline exits the house. I used this product exactly as directed....at night, following all the safety precautions. The next morning I ran hot water down the disposal for five minutes followed by pouring 2 gallons of boiling water in the cleanout where I put in the Main Liine Cleaner the night before.
I have an additional cleanout halfway between the house and the street where i can look straight down and see the speed of the water flowing form the house to the street. I was delighted to see after one treatment the water was moving about three times as fast as I've ever seen it. I've lived with these lines for over 40 years so I know them pretty well. To say the least I'm happy with this product and will retreat as needed.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

The best $22 I ever spent

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this thing works on cast ion pipe.my bathroom on the second floor had some clogs near the main drain. we have not used this bathroom frequently for almost 3 years so stuffs may solidify near the main drain P trap. The water came out the the shower drain when we flush the toilet I called plumbers on a saturday. None of them were available. Since we were remodeling the bathroom upstair, we have no time to waste. We accidentally came across this product when searching for how to clean cast ion pipe. Out of desperation, I thought to myself why not ? 22 bucks vs 1K, which is the estimate they gave me over the phone. Surprisingly It worked, even after only 3 hours. To make it short, give it a try, I glad I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Joe the Plumber, start packin'

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is liquid gold. I had a back up in the sewer line. Water from the washing machine was draining up into the bathtub. This happened about 10 years ago and the cause was tree roots and the result was a $400 bill from the plumber who had to snake the line. Last night before going to bed, I applied the product as directed and then flushed with hot water this morning, 8 hours later as directed. The line is totally clear! I have washed a load of clothes, taken a shower, and flushed the toilet, with no back up! It is amazing that I have dodged the bullet for just a few dollars. Instant Power will become part of my sewer line maintenance program.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, does what it says it will do
Cons: none
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from North Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 gallons of this stuff and used it as directed. It would not clear the blockage which was about 40 ft down the 4" main line under the crawl space of my home. It was not possible to drain the water in that line prior to pouring cleaner into the sink. So the 2 gallons were diluted with all that water that was already in the line making it ineffective. I ended up buying a 50 ft snake to fix the problem. I would have given them a lower rating but they sent me a refund about 2 weeks after I sent my receipt in.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: did not work
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

WOW!!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Main sewer line and line from washer to main line clogged. I snaked both with little improvemen. I put 1/2 of the gallon in each line camesback. In 3hrs and rinsed with hot water. They were 100 percent open . This product is the real deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>