728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chemical Drain Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Instant Power Main Line Cleaner clears clogged main sewer lines and lateral/vertical lines. Powerful, non-acid formula dissolves hair, grease, paper and other gunk in drains. Safe for all pipes (including PVC) and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.319 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product79 of 92reviews
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(72)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product79 of 92reviews
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Review 1 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham,Al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a chemical cleaner that really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
About every year or two we would have a backup in our main line and had tried various chemical treatments, but none of them had worked. My brother is a plumber and would have to snake the almost 100 ft. main line which usually took 2 hours each time to free the blockage. He suspected there was a belly in the line somewhere that would accumulate grease, debris, toilet paper, and other things that would normally break down quickly. My wife read about this product and I bought 2 gallons to try. I poured both gallons in at night and in the morning poured about 4 gallons of boiling water followed by hot water. After a couple minutes it backed up again. I waited 10 more minutes and checked, to my amazement the water had receded. Followed by 10 minutes of hot water and the line is clear. Now I don't have to call little brother the plumber except to tell him this product works!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Lenexa Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked for me!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm really not one to write reviews especially a
favorable one but this product cleared my very
very slow main drain and saved me a lot of $$!
My drain is a bit irregular and hard to auger out.
But used 3 gallons let it set 8 hours followed by l
ots of hot water
Drain is running great.
Its great to find something that really works!
Be careful and wear at least goggles and gloves.
Best of luck.
Mike
Pros: Reliable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Stuff!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a 40+ year old house and have pets so the plumbing gets clogged or sluggish regularly - usually from pet hair in the laundry.
The first time I called those Rooter people and they charged $125 to snake out the line.
The second time I called them, they wanted $250 to do the same thing so I sent them away and went to Home Depot.
I saw this stuff and bought 2 gallons.
Poured it down the laundry drain and it worked like a charm.
$22 vs. $250. I call that a bargain.
Now I use it about once every 3 years and haven't had a problem since.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Menifee, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I remember the day it happened. A Sunday. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, breakfast was ready, football was about to come on and then things got real dark real fast.
The washing machine entered its drain cycle followed quickly by an horrible gurgling, bubbling sound coming from the bathtubs and showers. All kinds pestilence, debris and things I will not even try to describe were flowing in the absolute most opposite way one could imagine.
And then nothing.
I stood there in shock. I was adding up what it would cost to bring out a plumber on a Sunday to make that soup of death go away. That frightened me even more.
I frantically went to work with a plunger. Nothing! It was the mother of all stoppages.
I knew there had to be a easy solution. A quick search online for "Main Line Cleaner" led me to this product at Home Depot.
I was skeptical. I read the reviews and hoped that everything I read was true.
I poured it into the bathroom sink at 2 PM. Hoping I didn't just buy into a bunch of hype. The hours ticked by. Nothing. No movement whatsoever. The pool of disgust just sat there in my tubs mocking me.
I decided to retire for the day at 9 PM. It was not going to be a peaceful sleep knowing what was lying in my bathrooms.
And then it happened.....
It was 9:30 PM.
A death groan of the monster that had plagued me all day, followed by a rushing sound of of all that horrible mess going away.
I jumped out of bed and prepared a giant pot of boiling water to rinse out all that was left behind. I filled the tubs with hot water and drained them both at the same time to finish the purge.
It was done.
I won.
I couldn't believe it. It really works. Finally something that does what it promises.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+69points
69out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from CT

REALLY WORKS

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this for several years. I actually only use about 1/4 of a gallon each time. Always Pour it in the drain opening of the lowest plumbing level. It doesn't have to be the toilet. it can be the sink. Let it sit a few hours, if you can. However, I just used it and I only waited an hour. I then poured hot boiling water, a kettle full, down the drain, then ran water after that. CLOG GONE!!!
I think using it, maybe every 4 to 6 months as a preventive measure, may be a good idea.
Pros: it works!, reasonable price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

The best $22 I ever spent

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this thing works on cast ion pipe.my bathroom on the second floor had some clogs near the main drain. we have not used this bathroom frequently for almost 3 years so stuffs may solidify near the main drain P trap. The water came out the the shower drain when we flush the toilet I called plumbers on a saturday. None of them were available. Since we were remodeling the bathroom upstair, we have no time to waste. We accidentally came across this product when searching for how to clean cast ion pipe. Out of desperation, I thought to myself why not ? 22 bucks vs 1K, which is the estimate they gave me over the phone. Surprisingly It worked, even after only 3 hours. To make it short, give it a try, I glad I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Follow up to my January 21, 2014 post that it did not work for me. I applied for my refund online, very simple and already got my refund (less than 3 weeks). and got it for both bottles. so it's certainly worth trying.
Pros: 100% guarantee
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from North Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 gallons of this stuff and used it as directed. It would not clear the blockage which was about 40 ft down the 4" main line under the crawl space of my home. It was not possible to drain the water in that line prior to pouring cleaner into the sink. So the 2 gallons were diluted with all that water that was already in the line making it ineffective. I ended up buying a 50 ft snake to fix the problem. I would have given them a lower rating but they sent me a refund about 2 weeks after I sent my receipt in.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: did not work
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

WOW!!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Main sewer line and line from washer to main line clogged. I snaked both with little improvemen. I put 1/2 of the gallon in each line camesback. In 3hrs and rinsed with hot water. They were 100 percent open . This product is the real deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Loveland, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply Amazing

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thank you Main Line Cleaner. I am not a person who typically writes online reviews but with this I felt obligated. We had raw sewage backed up from the main line emptying into our garage. After renting a 50 foot power auger the problem was still not corrected. I purchased this as a last resort before calling a plumber in the A.M.$$$ I poured 2 bottles down the floor drain, said a little prayer and headed to bed. Boy am I glad I took a chance with this product. Woke up and poured a large pot of boiling water down drain and lo and behold the drain was clear!!! Ran hot water for ten minutes and it is problem solved. Best 20 dollars I have ever spent!!! Gonna stock up on this stuff. I promise to spread the word.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, does exactly what it says!!
Cons: hmm.. it didn't pour me a beer while waiting?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the MONEY!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had clogs in the front & master bathroom bathtubs and commodes, when I would used the washer everything would back up into the bathtubs with this ugly gurgling noise. It was a that point I just knew I had an expensive plumbing problem on my hands until I was told about this product by a relative that works for Home Depot. I purchased this product about 5pm immediately went home and poured into the clogged areas. Awoke the next morning and did as instructed...I was able to shower, use washer, toilet flushed without any problems. I will be purchasing another gallon just to keep on hand.
Plumber in a bottle!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Gibsonton Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared my Drain Lines

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My problem has been a slow draining line that was evident when the washer was draining. It would back up & overflow onto the garage floor. Several years ago, we rented a power drain auger from Home Depot which bored thru the build-up (which looks & feels like soft rubber) & alleviated the problem. This time we used this product overnight. Our drain line is linear thru the house.
One half gallon was put in the shower drain at one end of the line. The other half was put in the washer drain at the other end of the line. The next morning we flushed from both ends with hot water for 15 minutes. The problem no longer exists. We saved the extra gallon for maintenance cleaning as needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Annapolis, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Excellent product!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like many of the other reviews, this worked as described! I was worried only buying one gallon wouldn't be enough after seeing other used more but, it did the trick. After letting the cleaner sit over night the clog was still there. However, I continued with the instructions and poured boiling water down my drain, waited a few minutes, and bam, it started draining! Saved so much money!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have about 100 feet of teracotta pipe as a main sewer line running from my house to the city sewer line at the street. I've had to snake out this main line several times a year to keep it open. Because it's old, it's subject to roots entering at the terracotta joints and grease build up from the kitchen. I have an outside cleanout right where the mainline exits the house. I used this product exactly as directed....at night, following all the safety precautions. The next morning I ran hot water down the disposal for five minutes followed by pouring 2 gallons of boiling water in the cleanout where I put in the Main Liine Cleaner the night before.
I have an additional cleanout halfway between the house and the street where i can look straight down and see the speed of the water flowing form the house to the street. I was delighted to see after one treatment the water was moving about three times as fast as I've ever seen it. I've lived with these lines for over 40 years so I know them pretty well. To say the least I'm happy with this product and will retreat as needed.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from SE Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Purchase EVER!!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product after my drain started all draining slowly.. I was afraid the main line was clogged with who knows what and that I would be required to call a plumber for a septic tank clean out.. and that is $400 I just don't have since the holidays.. after reading rave reviews I bought this at my local Home Depot, and for $12 its a steal! I bought 2 bottles, just in case. The last time the water was used at my house before putting the product in my shower drain was ~12 hours. I put 1 gallon in the shower drain and went to bed.. this morning (about 7 hours later) I boiled 2 pans of water and poured them down the shower drain, I was very discouraged because the hot water was NOT going down at all, it just filled the trap and sat in the shower.. so I took the other pan of hot water and poured it in the sink, again, the water just sat there.. steaming.. thinking nothing was going to happen I went ahead and took a shower because well I needed one before work. Of course the shower water just sat in the shower.. a good 3 inches.. I got out, and went to get ready.. about 15 minutes later I hear this tremendous gurgling from the kitchen and bathroom.. seriously, like my plumbing had the worst gut ache ever! it groaned and groaned and I said to my daughter, oh my gosh! I think it may be working!!! **I was WAY more excited than she was!** and then it happened... ALL of the water in the shower wooshed away.. the toilet water sucked down and the water in the kitchen sink DISAPPEARED! I ran hot wter in the kitchen sink just to be sure it was all flushed and flushed the toilet! Seriously one of the happiest days of my life. With all that said, YES! I would recommend this product :)
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Joe the Plumber, start packin'

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is liquid gold. I had a back up in the sewer line. Water from the washing machine was draining up into the bathtub. This happened about 10 years ago and the cause was tree roots and the result was a $400 bill from the plumber who had to snake the line. Last night before going to bed, I applied the product as directed and then flushed with hot water this morning, 8 hours later as directed. The line is totally clear! I have washed a load of clothes, taken a shower, and flushed the toilet, with no back up! It is amazing that I have dodged the bullet for just a few dollars. Instant Power will become part of my sewer line maintenance program.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, does what it says it will do
Cons: none
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Chicago IL

Not for me

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading good amount of positive reviews, I bought two bottles as recommended per instruction in case one is not enough. But no success story for me. Before pouring this into my kitchen sink, at least I had some minimal drain function although it took about 7-8 hours for complete drainage. But it got worse and no water movement for 4 days. I gave up and I ended calling a plumber. Costed me $290, including some parts replacement which were melted due to the chemical reaction from this product. I was hoping to avoid high plumber cost billing with this product but not my case. Wish others good luck.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Kentucky
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for me!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My washing machine drain was backing up. It would still drain, but couldn't keep up with the rate the washing machine pumps water out. I ran a snake down and was unable to find any blockage. I guess it was just too far down the pipe. I was just about to call a plumber when I saw this in the Home Depot site with all the good reviews. I poured it in this morning before I left for work and did the rinse with hot water when I came home. Things are much better! I'm sure I could run the washer as is, but I'm going to go ahead and treat it with the second container I bought. Well worth the price!
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

It really works !!!

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Decided to try this product after I gave up on snaking the drain, after one application of this product my drain was cleared and working better than before. This is a awesome product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from CROWN POINT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

getting drains to work

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
now this is the mac daddy to put in drain . install when family is in bed and let it do its thing. it worked so well I got more to just keep on hand . system working better then ever . this is a very good drain cleaner . this is the won to use if having slow drains .
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>