728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Instant Power Main Line Cleaner clears clogged main sewer lines and lateral/vertical lines. Powerful, non-acid formula dissolves hair, grease, paper and other gunk in drains. Safe for all pipes (including PVC) and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.342 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product100 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(90)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product100 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Review 1 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham,Al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a chemical cleaner that really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
About every year or two we would have a backup in our main line and had tried various chemical treatments, but none of them had worked. My brother is a plumber and would have to snake the almost 100 ft. main line which usually took 2 hours each time to free the blockage. He suspected there was a belly in the line somewhere that would accumulate grease, debris, toilet paper, and other things that would normally break down quickly. My wife read about this product and I bought 2 gallons to try. I poured both gallons in at night and in the morning poured about 4 gallons of boiling water followed by hot water. After a couple minutes it backed up again. I waited 10 more minutes and checked, to my amazement the water had receded. Followed by 10 minutes of hot water and the line is clear. Now I don't have to call little brother the plumber except to tell him this product works!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

WOW!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a house full of girls so at first I thought our toilet was clogged again. After an unsuccessful plunge attempt, I noticed during my plunging that water was coming up out of the shower drain. My wife quickly tried the other bathroom and the same thing occurred. So we had an obvious main sewer line problem. I ran to Home Depot to give this stuff a try. I poured it in the shower drain closest to the main right before bed. Make sure you allow the water to drain the best it can before putting it in. I got up the next morning and ran hot water through the drain for 5 minutes. And WOW! It really worked!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the finest alternative to using a snake.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every 3-5 years the 38 year old plumbing in my kitchen decides to clog. The last time my landlord called an excellent plumber who solved the problem with a snake powered by a cordless drill. Well, I decided to handle the problem myself with a product I'd had my eyes on for several years. Guess what, it thoroughly cleared away all the years of gunk/grime/grease/soil.
Although, not as swift as a snake, this less expensive alternative needs an overnight amount of time to effectively bring results. Also, you'll need to poor ample amounts of boiling hot water after the 8hr timeframe. Once all the above tasks are completed, your drain should be up and running all good as new. Yes, you can pour this miracle substance straight into the kitchen sink without damaging your pipes.
I'm completely and utterly satisfied with Main Line Cleaners effectiveness at ridding me of a serious and unsanitary clog.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, less than $12, no need to mess with an unsanitary snake, no overpowering or nasty odors
Cons: Too Slow, depending on severity of clog 8hrs required, over a gallon of boiling hot water after 8hrs
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Lenexa Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked for me!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm really not one to write reviews especially a
favorable one but this product cleared my very
very slow main drain and saved me a lot of $$!
My drain is a bit irregular and hard to auger out.
But used 3 gallons let it set 8 hours followed by l
ots of hot water
Drain is running great.
Its great to find something that really works!
Be careful and wear at least goggles and gloves.
Best of luck.
Mike
Pros: Reliable
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Menifee, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I remember the day it happened. A Sunday. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, breakfast was ready, football was about to come on and then things got real dark real fast.
The washing machine entered its drain cycle followed quickly by an horrible gurgling, bubbling sound coming from the bathtubs and showers. All kinds pestilence, debris and things I will not even try to describe were flowing in the absolute most opposite way one could imagine.
And then nothing.
I stood there in shock. I was adding up what it would cost to bring out a plumber on a Sunday to make that soup of death go away. That frightened me even more.
I frantically went to work with a plunger. Nothing! It was the mother of all stoppages.
I knew there had to be a easy solution. A quick search online for "Main Line Cleaner" led me to this product at Home Depot.
I was skeptical. I read the reviews and hoped that everything I read was true.
I poured it into the bathroom sink at 2 PM. Hoping I didn't just buy into a bunch of hype. The hours ticked by. Nothing. No movement whatsoever. The pool of disgust just sat there in my tubs mocking me.
I decided to retire for the day at 9 PM. It was not going to be a peaceful sleep knowing what was lying in my bathrooms.
And then it happened.....
It was 9:30 PM.
A death groan of the monster that had plagued me all day, followed by a rushing sound of of all that horrible mess going away.
I jumped out of bed and prepared a giant pot of boiling water to rinse out all that was left behind. I filled the tubs with hot water and drained them both at the same time to finish the purge.
It was done.
I won.
I couldn't believe it. It really works. Finally something that does what it promises.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+90points
92out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

skeptical

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was really skeptical about this product. I mean come on why I gotta buy two is it not good enough? Yet I bought two put one in n tried it the next day still had same result washing machine backing up into my rear house drain but would then go down rapidly
So I'm figuring I don't have full blockage. So I did second treatment the next night and then tried it again and lo and behold I didn't have the problem anymore
So now that that issue is resolved I'm going to put the zep root kill in after a full day of water running n kill any roots that might be creeping in my drains as well.keep things running smooth I hope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

It Worked!

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My toilet and sinks were backing up into the tub. Plunging didn't work, boiled water didn't work, neither did the auger. The Rotor Rooter man wanted to charge me $399 to pull the toilet. I said, no way, I'll try this stuff 1st. I poured one bottle in yersterday at 1:00pm, poured boiling water in last night at 11:00 pm and everything is working properly this morning. YAY! I'm so happy it worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Northen California

Worked Great

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A stormy Sunday morning and raw sewage starts bubbling up from the shower drain.Wonderful . . . I looked online at the rooter companies and they all wanted hundreds of dollars and most had mixed or bad reviews. I used two gallons of the line cleaner and waited seven hours. It worked great. We have been taking showers, flushing toilets and doing laundry with no problem. I would imagine it works best on waste clogs and might have a tougher time with roots. It worked great for us.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

another satisfied customer

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like (nearly) everyone says, this stuff just works. I've had a constant problem with my tub, toilet and sink that branch off the main line. Total blockage. It is probably a tree root or something catching junk and clogging. I tried that root stuff but it still backed up 5 months later. Either another $300 router call or try this stuff for $20. Took a chance and bought 2 gallons and poured them down the drain at night. Next morning pour a pot of boiling water down drain and ran tub. SUCCESS! Let's see how long this lasts. Still it worked and for that I am grateful. Just get it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Gibsonton Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared my Drain Lines

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My problem has been a slow draining line that was evident when the washer was draining. It would back up & overflow onto the garage floor. Several years ago, we rented a power drain auger from Home Depot which bored thru the build-up (which looks & feels like soft rubber) & alleviated the problem. This time we used this product overnight. Our drain line is linear thru the house.
One half gallon was put in the shower drain at one end of the line. The other half was put in the washer drain at the other end of the line. The next morning we flushed from both ends with hot water for 15 minutes. The problem no longer exists. We saved the extra gallon for maintenance cleaning as needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Mt Sterling, Il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read all the reviews and thought I might have to do it a couple of times. It worked perfectly the first time. I put it in the drain at night and flushed it with hot water the next morning. Now I can wash clothes again without water backing up in the basement. I am so grateful for this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from CT

REALLY WORKS

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this for several years. I actually only use about 1/4 of a gallon each time. Always Pour it in the drain opening of the lowest plumbing level. It doesn't have to be the toilet. it can be the sink. Let it sit a few hours, if you can. However, I just used it and I only waited an hour. I then poured hot boiling water, a kettle full, down the drain, then ran water after that. CLOG GONE!!!
I think using it, maybe every 4 to 6 months as a preventive measure, may be a good idea.
Pros: it works!, reasonable price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Follow up to my January 21, 2014 post that it did not work for me. I applied for my refund online, very simple and already got my refund (less than 3 weeks). and got it for both bottles. so it's certainly worth trying.
Pros: 100% guarantee
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Works exactly as advertised

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Im not one to usually give reviews. But had to take the time out to say. This product really works. Tried snaking my kitchen sink. Didnt help much. Figured whats $11 compared to having to call a plumber. Did as the instructions said. Poured it in waited over night and ran hot water Instantly saw results. So i did it again the next night with a second bottle now the sinnk works better than when we first got the house. I plan on doing this to the bathrooms as well. And keeping a couple of bottles in stock home. Great results
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Main Line Cleaner Review

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought and did two applications exactly as directed and it didn't do a thing for my drain. I still ended up calling a Roto Rooter service to clean the main line. It might be good for maintenance, but in my case not for a clogged line. I did rate it with higher remarks because of the generous guarantee of your money back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Fairport, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW, A $300 SAVINGS !!!

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My low flow Toto toilet seems to clog the main sewer line just out of the reach of a 6 ft. plumber's snake. The last time it happened, about two years ago, I used a plunger which compounded the problem. The plumbers charged me over $300 for the messy and smelly cellar clean out of the pipes.
Fast forward, the same clog happened once again. I tried the plunger for a short time, but remembering my experiences with this problem I stopped plunging. I referred to the internet and found this wonderful product that really works. PROBLEM SOLVED! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.
NOTE: Very few products at Home Depot can be used on toilets, this was the only one that didn't contain a warning. Also, I let it work for more than the recommended 8 hours. I tried 6 days before I got the nerve to pour 2 gallons of 140 degree water down my toilet. Do not try boiling water which will crack your toilet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have about 100 feet of teracotta pipe as a main sewer line running from my house to the city sewer line at the street. I've had to snake out this main line several times a year to keep it open. Because it's old, it's subject to roots entering at the terracotta joints and grease build up from the kitchen. I have an outside cleanout right where the mainline exits the house. I used this product exactly as directed....at night, following all the safety precautions. The next morning I ran hot water down the disposal for five minutes followed by pouring 2 gallons of boiling water in the cleanout where I put in the Main Liine Cleaner the night before.
I have an additional cleanout halfway between the house and the street where i can look straight down and see the speed of the water flowing form the house to the street. I was delighted to see after one treatment the water was moving about three times as fast as I've ever seen it. I've lived with these lines for over 40 years so I know them pretty well. To say the least I'm happy with this product and will retreat as needed.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Cleveland,Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the directions bought two bottles and this product did nothing...waste of money do not buy!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Joe the Plumber, start packin'

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is liquid gold. I had a back up in the sewer line. Water from the washing machine was draining up into the bathtub. This happened about 10 years ago and the cause was tree roots and the result was a $400 bill from the plumber who had to snake the line. Last night before going to bed, I applied the product as directed and then flushed with hot water this morning, 8 hours later as directed. The line is totally clear! I have washed a load of clothes, taken a shower, and flushed the toilet, with no back up! It is amazing that I have dodged the bullet for just a few dollars. Instant Power will become part of my sewer line maintenance program.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, does what it says it will do
Cons: none
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

It works !!

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kitchen sink was completely blocked , bought this stuff pour it down the sink for the night ,and next morning ran hot water for about 10 mins and it bubbled for a few minutes and then the it stared to drain .. Back as new . My sink was completely clogged , could not run the dishwasher or even attempt to wash a plate . Thx Home Depot .. Sabrina
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>