728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chemical Drain Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Instant Power Main Line Cleaner clears clogged main sewer lines and lateral/vertical lines. Powerful, non-acid formula dissolves hair, grease, paper and other gunk in drains. Safe for all pipes (including PVC) and septic systems.
Overall rating:
4.264 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product72 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(65)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(10)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product72 of 85reviews
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Review 1 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham,Al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a chemical cleaner that really works!!!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About every year or two we would have a backup in our main line and had tried various chemical treatments, but none of them had worked. My brother is a plumber and would have to snake the almost 100 ft. main line which usually took 2 hours each time to free the blockage. He suspected there was a belly in the line somewhere that would accumulate grease, debris, toilet paper, and other things that would normally break down quickly. My wife read about this product and I bought 2 gallons to try. I poured both gallons in at night and in the morning poured about 4 gallons of boiling water followed by hot water. After a couple minutes it backed up again. I waited 10 more minutes and checked, to my amazement the water had receded. Followed by 10 minutes of hot water and the line is clear. Now I don't have to call little brother the plumber except to tell him this product works!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Lenexa Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It worked for me!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm really not one to write reviews especially a
favorable one but this product cleared my very
very slow main drain and saved me a lot of $$!
My drain is a bit irregular and hard to auger out.
But used 3 gallons let it set 8 hours followed by l
ots of hot water
Drain is running great.
Its great to find something that really works!
Be careful and wear at least goggles and gloves.
Best of luck.
Mike
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Stuff!!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a 40+ year old house and have pets so the plumbing gets clogged or sluggish regularly - usually from pet hair in the laundry.
The first time I called those Rooter people and they charged $125 to snake out the line.
The second time I called them, they wanted $250 to do the same thing so I sent them away and went to Home Depot.
I saw this stuff and bought 2 gallons.
Poured it down the laundry drain and it worked like a charm.
$22 vs. $250. I call that a bargain.
Now I use it about once every 3 years and haven't had a problem since.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from North Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 gallons of this stuff and used it as directed. It would not clear the blockage which was about 40 ft down the 4" main line under the crawl space of my home. It was not possible to drain the water in that line prior to pouring cleaner into the sink. So the 2 gallons were diluted with all that water that was already in the line making it ineffective. I ended up buying a 50 ft snake to fix the problem. I would have given them a lower rating but they sent me a refund about 2 weeks after I sent my receipt in.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: did not work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Menifee, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I remember the day it happened. A Sunday. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, breakfast was ready, football was about to come on and then things got real dark real fast.
The washing machine entered its drain cycle followed quickly by an horrible gurgling, bubbling sound coming from the bathtubs and showers. All kinds pestilence, debris and things I will not even try to describe were flowing in the absolute most opposite way one could imagine.
And then nothing.
I stood there in shock. I was adding up what it would cost to bring out a plumber on a Sunday to make that soup of death go away. That frightened me even more.
I frantically went to work with a plunger. Nothing! It was the mother of all stoppages.
I knew there had to be a easy solution. A quick search online for "Main Line Cleaner" led me to this product at Home Depot.
I was skeptical. I read the reviews and hoped that everything I read was true.
I poured it into the bathroom sink at 2 PM. Hoping I didn't just buy into a bunch of hype. The hours ticked by. Nothing. No movement whatsoever. The pool of disgust just sat there in my tubs mocking me.
I decided to retire for the day at 9 PM. It was not going to be a peaceful sleep knowing what was lying in my bathrooms.
And then it happened.....
It was 9:30 PM.
A death groan of the monster that had plagued me all day, followed by a rushing sound of of all that horrible mess going away.
I jumped out of bed and prepared a giant pot of boiling water to rinse out all that was left behind. I filled the tubs with hot water and drained them both at the same time to finish the purge.
It was done.
I won.
I couldn't believe it. It really works. Finally something that does what it promises.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+59points
59out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow up to my January 21, 2014 post that it did not work for me. I applied for my refund online, very simple and already got my refund (less than 3 weeks). and got it for both bottles. so it's certainly worth trying.
Pros: 100% guarantee
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Kentucky
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for me!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My washing machine drain was backing up. It would still drain, but couldn't keep up with the rate the washing machine pumps water out. I ran a snake down and was unable to find any blockage. I guess it was just too far down the pipe. I was just about to call a plumber when I saw this in the Home Depot site with all the good reviews. I poured it in this morning before I left for work and did the rinse with hot water when I came home. Things are much better! I'm sure I could run the washer as is, but I'm going to go ahead and treat it with the second container I bought. Well worth the price!
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the MONEY!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had clogs in the front & master bathroom bathtubs and commodes, when I would used the washer everything would back up into the bathtubs with this ugly gurgling noise. It was a that point I just knew I had an expensive plumbing problem on my hands until I was told about this product by a relative that works for Home Depot. I purchased this product about 5pm immediately went home and poured into the clogged areas. Awoke the next morning and did as instructed...I was able to shower, use washer, toilet flushed without any problems. I will be purchasing another gallon just to keep on hand.
Plumber in a bottle!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from CROWN POINT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

getting drains to work

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
now this is the mac daddy to put in drain . install when family is in bed and let it do its thing. it worked so well I got more to just keep on hand . system working better then ever . this is a very good drain cleaner . this is the won to use if having slow drains .
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Philadelphia PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I really works just have to be patience

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok! I live Phila Pa In a row house and my trap was clog real good. I went online and saw instant power main line cleaner. I read all the review and I said to myself " why not I give it Shot". So i bought a bottle of instant power and I pour it down in the trap and let set over night. I got up the next morning turn on the hot water for 5 min and I looking in the trap the water was filling up again! I was just about to turn off the water when heard a wear sound and I looked back at the trap the water was gone! All i can say this stuff really works you have to be really patience.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Gibsonton Fl
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cleared my Drain Lines

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My problem has been a slow draining line that was evident when the washer was draining. It would back up & overflow onto the garage floor. Several years ago, we rented a power drain auger from Home Depot which bored thru the build-up (which looks & feels like soft rubber) & alleviated the problem. This time we used this product overnight. Our drain line is linear thru the house.
One half gallon was put in the shower drain at one end of the line. The other half was put in the washer drain at the other end of the line. The next morning we flushed from both ends with hot water for 15 minutes. The problem no longer exists. We saved the extra gallon for maintenance cleaning as needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from nj

Believe the hype.

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bathroom sink was totally clogged, nothing moving. Took apart the trap cleaned it out, snaked as far as I could. No joy. Took off the trap again and snaked into the wall as far as I could. When we ran the water it drained slowly and took about an hour to drain a full sink. So read these reviews, spoke to the company, they said as the clog seemed to be further down and not in the trap to try their mainline product. So with the money back if it didnt work why not. I let the water drain out. Then before bed, using safety glasses and gloves poured 1 gallon down the bathroom sink drain very carefully! This is harmful stuff pls read the bottle a few times. Woke up after 10 hrs and ran a few gallons of almost boiling water through the drain followed by 5 minutes of hot faucet water. Bam. Everything seems better than when we moved in 5 years ago. Saved us $205 in plumber fees. I would pay double the price for this stuff. Im going to get another gallon to run in our basement drains tonight. Also got a bottle of hair clog remover to run through the shower drain. Im obsessed with this stuff and the company is fantastic at answering questions in my experience! Give it a try. (First HD review but its a real review from someone who doesnt know anything about plumbing.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Cancelled the call to the plumber!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had slow flushing toilets, then realized one of the bathtubs was backing up. Inspected septic and since its only been 2 years since it was pumped we figured it had to be a clogged main line. When the water slowly drained, that confirmed our suspicions. Followed directions & in the AM it was fixed. Keeping a bottle on hand!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Chicago IL

Not for me

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading good amount of positive reviews, I bought two bottles as recommended per instruction in case one is not enough. But no success story for me. Before pouring this into my kitchen sink, at least I had some minimal drain function although it took about 7-8 hours for complete drainage. But it got worse and no water movement for 4 days. I gave up and I ended calling a plumber. Costed me $290, including some parts replacement which were melted due to the chemical reaction from this product. I was hoping to avoid high plumber cost billing with this product but not my case. Wish others good luck.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have about 100 feet of teracotta pipe as a main sewer line running from my house to the city sewer line at the street. I've had to snake out this main line several times a year to keep it open. Because it's old, it's subject to roots entering at the terracotta joints and grease build up from the kitchen. I have an outside cleanout right where the mainline exits the house. I used this product exactly as directed....at night, following all the safety precautions. The next morning I ran hot water down the disposal for five minutes followed by pouring 2 gallons of boiling water in the cleanout where I put in the Main Liine Cleaner the night before.
I have an additional cleanout halfway between the house and the street where i can look straight down and see the speed of the water flowing form the house to the street. I was delighted to see after one treatment the water was moving about three times as fast as I've ever seen it. I've lived with these lines for over 40 years so I know them pretty well. To say the least I'm happy with this product and will retreat as needed.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Bristol, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Joe the Plumber, start packin'

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is liquid gold. I had a back up in the sewer line. Water from the washing machine was draining up into the bathtub. This happened about 10 years ago and the cause was tree roots and the result was a $400 bill from the plumber who had to snake the line. Last night before going to bed, I applied the product as directed and then flushed with hot water this morning, 8 hours later as directed. The line is totally clear! I have washed a load of clothes, taken a shower, and flushed the toilet, with no back up! It is amazing that I have dodged the bullet for just a few dollars. Instant Power will become part of my sewer line maintenance program.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, does what it says it will do
Cons: none
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Gardena, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the easiest and best product we have used to clear these slow to no moving drains. After having the line snaked twice in less than a week, I decided to try something to clear the gunk out of the line. I poured half of the bottle in the back shower and the other half in the front shower. After letting it sit overnight, I poured boiling water down the drains to flush it. It started to back up but less than a minute later everything went down the drain. I let the hot water run in the shower for about 10 minutes and the drain was clear. Will use this once a year from now on to keep the line clear.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sewer back up with slow draining

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tried this product because of the reviews it received and the fact it was the cheaper way to go. We had sewer back up with slow draining. Six months earlier we had the some problem. We rented a snake for the main line but found nothing blocking it. We used a sink snake in the floor drain and heard a pop and it was draining again.
When it happened this time, I looked online and found this product. Since it promised it would work or your money back, we decided to try this first. I bought 2 gallons used one as directed and waited the 8 hours. Starting running water and some came up again but it did drain faster. So we thought we would use the last gallon and wait another 8 hours. We are so glad we did. The drain is running like it is suppose to. We have come to the conclusion that our problem is soap scrum build up. We are planning to use this product every couple of months to keep the drains running clear. I am so glad we decided to try this way first. Less money, less work just needs some time to remove what it took months to build up. With the money back promise if it does not work, you have nothing to lose but some time trying it.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner

Excellent product did what others couldn't

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a main line in the floor of my basement that has caused me troubles time and again. I have tried Roebic main line cleaner and had the drain snaked before. I bought this, somewhat skeptically might I add, and poured 2 gallons of boiling water into the drain the following morning. Voila! Clear as can be.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Main Line Cleaner
from Dallas, tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sewage backing up in the shower - It worked for me!

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical with all the positive five-star reviews at first. However it worked for me! I had a clogged line that lead to sewage backing up into the shower stall next to the toilet. I poured one gallon into the shower drain waited the 8 hours as directed then poured three tea kettles worth of boiling water down the shower drain. At first the product didn't appear to work as I plunged the toilet a 3 - 4 times and flushed it. Waste did rise in the shower so I plunged 2 - 3 more times and then the line cleared. I am grateful that this product worked as a deep freeze is forecasted within the next 48 hours. It saved me money versus hiring a plumber to come out and snake the main line as I do not have clean outs. We had our main line snaked 10 years ago from vent on the roof. That cost us $500.
What I would suggest (What worked for me)
Don't use the line that is affected for 24-36 hours prior to using the product. This will (hopefully) allow the water to be at its lowest point.
Follow the instructions. Just pour the product down the shower drain then wait 8 hours. Do not use the affected line during this time. After 8 hours pour a gallon or two of boiling water down the drain. Try flushing the toilet at first. You might see sewage backing up like I did but don't give up. Plunge your toilet 4-5 times while watching the shower. It may seem like it doesn't work however, my line cleared and the sewage drained. I plunged a few extra times for good measure.
I suspect that my clogged line could have been caused by someone (me) flushing "disposable" wipes down the toilet... So far 5, or 6 flushes and the line is still clear!
It's worth the $10.00 versus 500.00 for plumber
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>