728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit

Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit

The Prime-Line Products Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit is for use with Kwikset 5-pin door lock sets. It includes pre-cut keys, pin tumblers, special tools and instructions that will allow a novice to re-key up to 6 locks.
Overall rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product15 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product15 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
Review 1 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Plainsboro, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Control

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
As another reviewer commented, this particular kit had a "remover" tool which was too big for the lockset. I had used this kit (ordered one last year) and used it no problem. This time I could not get the tool in at all! I couldn't find my kit from last year until today, and I proved to myself that the tool in this year's kit is bigger (see photos). It is hard to tell, but that 1 mm or less makes all the difference. The kit that has the tool with the half circle shape at the large end is bigger. The "V" shaped end is smaller (last year's kit) and works. It is easy to see the difference when you put them end-to-end. If you get the wrong (defective) kit, it won't work. Hope this helps!
Pros: ship-to-store eligible, made in usa
Cons: poor quality control
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Rescue, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy tool modification needed

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these within the past few years. The older one, the metal tool, on the fork side had a square cut (as shown). The more recent purchase had a round cut. On the square cut version, I filed the inside notch (for a straight sharper outside edge) to make it work. The round cut version was too wide to fit in the hole (I'm sure it can be filed down to fit (per another review(I used my old tool))). :)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit

Easy to do

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought a house with a total of 10 locks and 4 different keys. I wanted to re-key all of them to a single key. The least expensive locksmith wanted $195 so I thought I would give this a try. The first lock took me about 10 minutes, the second less than 5. I re-keyed all 10 in less than 3 hours and most of that was spent removing and reinstalling the locks in the doors. The knob locks were easy and the dead bolts even easier. If you can use a screw driver you can do this. One word of advice. If you need to do more than 6 locks you will need more than one kit. Be aware that the keys provided from kit to kit are different. However, the pins are all the same from kit to kit. Just pick one set of keys to use and use the pins from all the kits.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needs some modification to work properly

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rekeying function of this product works fine and is very easy. The problem is with the removal of the cylinder housing of a Kwikset Entrance Lock. The "remover tool" is too wide to use as instructed and will not fit into the lock housing. It needs to be filed down slightly allowing it to fit inside per the instructions. And as others have pointed out, the disassembly instructions are very pooly written.
Pros: rekeying works
Cons: Difficult to Install, tool poorly designed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved a bundle over the years.

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these over probably the last twenty years or so and have saved tons of money on lock smiths. There's a learning curve on your first, might take you up to a half hour or a little more, but after that you should be cranking them out in 5-10 min's each. Not for the extremely faint hearted but if you're in the least bit handy you should have no problems. For the people who say these kits are useless, flimsy metal tool for instance, they are not spending the time to read and understand the instructions. That metal tool is not a pry bar and it doesn't need to be. My only regret is they don't stock them in my local stores in Indiana where I now live.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: are not stocked where i live in indiana.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Apopka, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!!

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
VERY user friendly if you watch the you tube video. I changed 5 of my house locks all by myself in a few hours the same day for $14.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty easy to do

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to rekey several knobs and deadbolts that we had no key for. Was pretty easy do do, but the instructions could use a little more detail on disassembly of a knob-set. Once I did one and saw how it went back together, the rest were easy. Downside is the tweezers they provided are total junk so make sure you have your own.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: tweezers are junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Portland, Oregon

Great way to rekey the locks on your house

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching what it would take to rekey my new house, I bought this kit. Took about two hours to slowly work my way through 5 locks. This is for the mechanically inclined and patient. The instructions are good, but I recommend downloading the installation instructions for your exact lockset - this will make getting the lock cylinders out a much faster process.
This kits gives you 3 new keys and enough pins for 6 locks. A bargain compared to hiring a locksmith, or even bringings all your cylinders to a shop for rekeying.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Cape Coral, FL

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This worked exactly as I needed. My house had builder installed kwikset locks and I added a Kwikset deadbolt to the garage door and wanted all the doors to open with one key. This kit had enough parts for 6 locks (I only needed 5). Also supplied were 3 keys that would open any of the new lock pins. Some skill was required to remove and replace parts, so it would help if one knew how simple locks are designed. Also the kit worked on 5-pin locks only, so you must know how many pins your Kwikset locks have.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit

Did what I needed it to do

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a new house and had to re-key 5 dual deadbolts and 5 door handle locks and 1 single deadbolt. Worked like a charm.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit

Quick, easy, and complete!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a landlord, I have to do a lot of re-keying. I've found the Prime-Line kit to be inexpensive and easy to use (once you've done it a couple of times.) The instructions are good, and once you've done a couple you'll get the hang of it and it will be a piece of cake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit

Excellent to disassemble the lock. Average to repin to an existing key.

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to re-pin the lock to an extra key that I have since I lost the original key. Since I couldn't turn the lock with the extra key I had and not even with the keys with the kit; I had to remove the springs and pins so I could take out the lock--it wasn't mentioned in the instructions what to do without an original key. Luckily, I figured it out and got the lock out. Now, the pins in the kit were of only 5 lengths, apparently there are more lengths and the existing key wouldn't have turned the lock with the pins in the kit. So I had to reuse some of the original pins in the lock. I was able to combine the pins and make the lock work. Good kit. Not great.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Elk Grove, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Found out I can use the Smart locks and avoid these now too. . .
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit

Incorrect pins. D

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The kit I bought did not contain the smallest size pins. The gold pins which are supposed to be the smallest were the same size as the silver pins. or perhaps they were just silver pins as it was difficult to distinguish them. The purple and red pins are also hard to distinguish.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Peoria, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very helpfull

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i was afroid it will be dificult but use to do my self
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Lexington, KY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affordable way to replace locks

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had to replace all of our locks on our new home and this was much cheaper than hiring a locksmith. My husband replaced 6 locks in less than 2.5 hours.....he was sitting on the couch when I got back home so I guess it couldn't have been too hard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Newnan, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

Does not work

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews for the little metal tool that comes with the kit is flimsy but my husband is a wiz at making things work. Well not this thing! we ended up going to buy all new locks because of this useless tool. I ended up sending it back for a refund. Save time, dont buy this unless you have a good 4 hours to fool with it.
Cons: Not Durable, Cheap Material
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
from Manteca, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well for the 6 locks as advertised.

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My only complaint is that the cut keys and pins provided are not standard Kwikset size. I had 11 locks to re-key and thought I would be able to use my exisiting supply of Kwikset pins to complete the job. I found my choices were to buy 2 sets or shorten enough pins to finish. I elected to grind down my pins but extra time was wasted. Probably not more than it would have taken to go back to the store though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel 5-Pin Door Lock Set Re-Keying Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
almost impossible to do lock change yourself unless you know what you are doing. Store associate warned me and he was right.
I ended up changing the locks with Defiant lock.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.