728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

Goof Off Rust Stain Remover is specially formulated to react with oxidized iron to neutralize and remove tough well water rust stains from most outdoor surfaces. No rubbing or scrubbing is needed. Stains simply dissolve away! It can also be used to remove lime scale and calcium deposits. The Goof Off Outdoor Rust and Iron Stain Remover dissolve rust stains on contact. Spray on and stains disappear. Use it on rust-stained concrete and tools also works on calcium and lime stains. When used as directed Rust Aid is safe around pets and plants.
Overall rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(30)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product32 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
Review 1 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Weston FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised how well it works

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Found 3/4 of a gallon of rust remover in my garage must have been 2 or more years old. Forgot if it was any good last time I used it so tried it again. Let me tell you, I have never written a review on any thing berore but this works great on painted surfaces. My house has ten year old paint on it's stucco and the sprinkler water rust stains washed right off, just don't get to close to the sprayer and inhale. Used it on my painted stamped concrete drive way and it worked just as well. Tried it on my unpainted side walk and it did not do much. So on painted surfaces it works fantastic. Good luck!
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: not good on bare concrete
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Fleming Island, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't do as advertised

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product may remove very light rust stains. It certainly did not work removing the rust stains on my driveway. It actually left bleach stains after using it according to the directions on the label. This was a disappointing waste of my $10 bucks and time. I definitely would not recommend this product.
Cons: ineffective
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from port st lucie
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this stuff is awesome

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this stuff worked great on my house. my sprinklers were spraying well water all over the front of my house. leaving rust stains everywhere. all i did was spray this stuff on and wash it off.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Orlando, FL

great for stucco

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product to quickly remove rust stains from my stucco house. I applied the product with a sprayer and within a few minutes the stains were gone. Simply spray on and rinse off, no scrubbing required. I had tried other more expensive products and they did not work as well even with some scrubbing. One container was enough to do the whole bottom of the house so money well spent!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, works as advertized
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Melbourne fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely best rust stain remover!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So glad to have found this product! No scrubbing needed- spray on, hose off and rust stains are gone!
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Burke, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

simply magic for iron/fertilizer stains on concrete walkway

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simply magic for its purpose. I needed a product for some iron/fertilizer stains on my concrete walkway. This product is perfect: just put on stains, a bit (less then 1 minute) of scrubbing with a brush, and wait 15 minutes .... the concrete is gray, almost as new, again.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

Amazing

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had 15 year old rust stains on my siding and it was becoming an issue with selling my home. I sprayed it on and the rust was gone in less then two minutes. We had already tried CLR and it didn't touch it. Just Amazing...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised!

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wow! I am speechless. I was very skeptical at first because anything that sounds to good to be true usually is. On my honor this product did exactly as advertised. I had several rust spots on my patio from an old fire pit. My wife hated them and wanted me to paint the patio to hide the rust spots. Instead I wanted to get rid of the rust spots. Simple math. Clean a few rust spots or paint the WHOLE patio? I went with the previous. At first I struggled mightily with a power washer and other products including CLR. Then I found Goof Off outdoor. Exactly as the directions stated..... Spray on and let the product do the rest. I wish I could have included before and after photos, but I assumed it would not work......big mistake on my part. This stuff works and is as easy to use as anything. Goof off outdoor is the bomb!
Sincerely,
Your new #1 fan!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Does Work

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't often write positive reviews, but this stuff is great for taking rust stains off of concrete. I tried some other products that did not touch the stuff, and after reading a lot of commentary online was skeptical that anything would work. This lived up to the hype
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Peoples' Republic of CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A product that actually works

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am on a well system which produces water containing clear water iron. While I was gone, one of my impact sprinklers broke and sprayed my house (for about an month.). My house is T-111 with low- sheen paint. I was going to repaint, as I have had very poor results with other rust remover products, but I decided to try this instead. I cleaned a 5' by 30' area in about 45 minutes with this. I applied it with a chip brush and roller, and waited about 5-10 minutes, and with no scrubbing, the stains were gone. Awesome! Paint looks like new, with no damage. I flushed the siding good with water to ensure all of the Remover was gone.
Next, I applied it to my pump house with about 4 yr old rust stains. It took 3 apps of Remover and some work with a nylon scrub brush to get the stains, but I got them. Took about 30 minutes.
I used about 1/2 gallon total of this product for my cleaning job, for both the house and pump house. You get a lot a bang for your buck with this product.
Bottom line, the fresher the stains are, the better this product works. If you have old/ stubborn/ heavy stains, a little patience and elbow grease will be required.
I give this product 5 stars. It saved me a good amount of time and money on not having to repaint. It's cheap and it works. I recommend you try it, especially on painted surfaces you are considering repainting. You may be as pleasantly surprised as I was. At a cost of around $10, you really don't have anything to lose. Goof-Off also has a money back guarantee on the product.. Just follow the directions.
Check out the pix- the first two are closeups of my house, before and after (after pic was taken before final water rinse). The second 2 pix are of my pump house, before and after.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is great!

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm always skeptical about products that all you have to do is spray it on and it works like magic. Typically, the stuff never works as advertised or there is some caveat about needing repeated applications or scrubbing and whatnot. I recently purchased a house with a well feed lawn sprinkler system. Most of the concrete had been turned orange from the rust in the water. I used a high pressure power washer (the before pic is after the pressure wash) to try cleaning the concrete. It took the heavy contamination off but was still quite orange. I purchased this product from HD figuring it wouldn't really work but hoped it would reduce the rust stains at least a little bit. Boy was I pleasantly surprised, this stuff works amazing well! No kidding, spray it onto concrete with rust stains and that's it, no scrubbing no power washing, nothing! I used a spare spray bottle I had, put the Goof Off in it and sprayed it on. It begins to work instantly and took a total of about 15 minutes. Finally a product that does exactly what it say it will, frankly, I'm impressed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, works as advertised
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

works like magic

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
house was heavily stained from sprinklers on well water. sprayed it on with a pump sprayer, stain just vanished. worked great on vinyl siding, painted wood and concrete.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Stuff for Rust!!!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff took the rust stain off of our metal siding and plastic trim! We had tried other products but nothing would take the stain off. It's completely gone now! Even off plastic!!! So easy to use, just brushed it on the siding and it disappeared.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Wilmington, NC

Great Product

PostedApril 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the Rustaid on my siding. It took ALL of the rust off.
Very easy to use. This is the only product I have ever used for rust removal that actually works. Other stores have a similar product that costs twice the price and do not work any better. I also soak rusty parts/etc. in a cup for about 30 minutes or so, and the rust is GONE.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Destin Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't work for me.

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It didn't work for me on a driveway or the bricks on the house.
Cons: ineffective
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

It really works

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I highly recommend putting it in a spray bottle. I used it on a pvc fence and stucco this weekend. Literally just spray it on and a few minutes later the stain disappears. Then rinse it off. The directions say to spray the surface first but I found it works better if you don't. It also recommends not diluting it but you can and it will still work just as well. Make sure you use rubber gloves too.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Palm Bay Florida

Works very well

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does the job for which it was intended, Have tried other chemicals but this works the best
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Sebastian, Fl.

Irrigation stains

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hey it works. Don't let it dry up, hose it down. If any spots are left , do it again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

This product works!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use it to get rust off of my bricks. I spray it on at full strength, wait about 10 minutes, then hose it off. Works great and doesn't kill my shrubbery.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Southern Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff works really well and fast. Use full strength from gallon jug to your sprayer and spray. The rust stain disappears right before your eyes, then rinse.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: none found
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>