728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

The RustAid 128 oz. Rust and Iron Stain Remover begins to remove rust and iron stains on contact. Use it on rust-stained concrete, on bathtub and tools. RustAid will also remove calcium and lime deposits from bathtubs and coffee pots. When used as directed RustAid is safe for you, your pets, and your plants.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product16 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
Review 1 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Peoples' Republic of CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A product that actually works

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am on a well system which produces water containing clear water iron. While I was gone, one of my impact sprinklers broke and sprayed my house (for about an month.). My house is T-111 with low- sheen paint. I was going to repaint, as I have had very poor results with other rust remover products, but I decided to try this instead. I cleaned a 5' by 30' area in about 45 minutes with this. I applied it with a chip brush and roller, and waited about 5-10 minutes, and with no scrubbing, the stains were gone. Awesome! Paint looks like new, with no damage. I flushed the siding good with water to ensure all of the Remover was gone.
Next, I applied it to my pump house with about 4 yr old rust stains. It took 3 apps of Remover and some work with a nylon scrub brush to get the stains, but I got them. Took about 30 minutes.
I used about 1/2 gallon total of this product for my cleaning job, for both the house and pump house. You get a lot a bang for your buck with this product.
Bottom line, the fresher the stains are, the better this product works. If you have old/ stubborn/ heavy stains, a little patience and elbow grease will be required.
I give this product 5 stars. It saved me a good amount of time and money on not having to repaint. It's cheap and it works. I recommend you try it, especially on painted surfaces you are considering repainting. You may be as pleasantly surprised as I was. At a cost of around $10, you really don't have anything to lose. Goof-Off also has a money back guarantee on the product.. Just follow the directions.
Check out the pix- the first two are closeups of my house, before and after (after pic was taken before final water rinse). The second 2 pix are of my pump house, before and after.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of Money- Didn't work at all!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was soo disappointed with this product. It did not remove any of the rust stains on our concrete at all! The stains were from an old rusty barrel and fertilizer. I applied it generously to both stains with a garden sprayer, waited 15-20 min and rinsed. It did nothing! So I tried it again now that the concrete was wet and scrubbed my butt off with a nylon brush. Waited 30 min and rinsed. The concrete was so much cleaner it looked white compared to the rest of the patio. All of the rust stains however were still there! Maybe they changed the product as the older reviews were so good?
Cons: ineffective, Aroma, doesn't work!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Chuluota, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Rust Remover EVER!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is easy to use. Directions for use on the package are written in simple terms for novices like me. :)
Pros: Easy to Remove, Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Packaging, Effective, works!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is great!

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm always skeptical about products that all you have to do is spray it on and it works like magic. Typically, the stuff never works as advertised or there is some caveat about needing repeated applications or scrubbing and whatnot. I recently purchased a house with a well feed lawn sprinkler system. Most of the concrete had been turned orange from the rust in the water. I used a high pressure power washer (the before pic is after the pressure wash) to try cleaning the concrete. It took the heavy contamination off but was still quite orange. I purchased this product from HD figuring it wouldn't really work but hoped it would reduce the rust stains at least a little bit. Boy was I pleasantly surprised, this stuff works amazing well! No kidding, spray it onto concrete with rust stains and that's it, no scrubbing no power washing, nothing! I used a spare spray bottle I had, put the Goof Off in it and sprayed it on. It begins to work instantly and took a total of about 15 minutes. Finally a product that does exactly what it say it will, frankly, I'm impressed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, works as advertised
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

Amazing

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an amazing product. I have been trying to remove a rust stain about 15 feet long on the side of my house from a drain pipe. I have tried CLR, pressure washing, and never could get the stain off the vinyl siding, and had been trying for about 2 years.. I used this product and it worked exactly as specified, it almost seemed like magic. I basically applied it with a sponge which made the rust stain disappear almost immediately, then rinsed it well with water. There is now no trace whatsoever of the former rust stain. Just a simple chemical reaction (this product is basically diluted hydrochloric acid), but it worked beautifully and was safe on my vinyl siding.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Lantana, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Finally a product that does what it says it will do!

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The rust stains from South Florida's reclaimed water irrigation were no match for this stuff! I was skeptical, but lo and behold, this stuff removed the rust stains from painted stucco like nobody's business. Saved my shoulders too as there was no scrubbing at all. Spray it on and it goes to work in minutes.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

This product works!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use it to get rust off of my bricks. I spray it on at full strength, wait about 10 minutes, then hose it off. Works great and doesn't kill my shrubbery.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Southern Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff works really well and fast. Use full strength from gallon jug to your sprayer and spray. The rust stain disappears right before your eyes, then rinse.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: none found
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic product

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last year my A/C malfunctioned and leaked a rusty stain on my grey siding from the second to ground floor making it quite visible from the street. I was recently told by my HOA to clean it or get a fine. I sought the help of several services who provided pressure washing and was told the stain would not come out. By chance I did a google search and came across this product. I simply poured the solution into a hand held sprayer which I also picked up from Home Depot for under $4 and sprayed the siding, waited a few minutes and rinsed with a regular garden hose with a spray attachment. The stain quickly disappeared. Now my grey siding is once again grey. No more unsightly rusty stain. Be sure to wear protective eye wear and rubber gloves also available at Home Depot. My only regret is not taking pictures.
I highly recommend this product. Thank you Home Depot for carrying this product.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective, definitely work on siding., worked on concrete too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING STUFF!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I stained my cement sidewalk when I had to divert my sump pump discharge across my driveway. The stain was DEEP red and it was driving me crazy. I power washed the sidewalk and it got maybe one shade lighter. Still RED. I bought this stuff based on the reviews and you just pour it on the sidewalk, wait a couple of minutes and hose it off with a garden hose. STAIN COMPLETELY GONE!! AMAZING!
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: availability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Wilmington, NC

Great Product

PostedApril 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the Rustaid on my siding. It took ALL of the rust off.
Very easy to use. This is the only product I have ever used for rust removal that actually works. Other stores have a similar product that costs twice the price and do not work any better. I also soak rusty parts/etc. in a cup for about 30 minutes or so, and the rust is GONE.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Miami

I can't believe it worked.

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a foreclosure house with a pool. The pool was boarded up with the cheapest materials to keep some one from falling in. So when I removed the boards I had rusted nail stains all over my pool coping (white concrete). After 4 years of trying everything, I saw this product and some great reviews. It took 5mins to take the stains out. I just can't believe it . From the faded stains to the deep orange ones, all gone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

It really works

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend putting it in a spray bottle. I used it on a pvc fence and stucco this weekend. Literally just spray it on and a few minutes later the stain disappears. Then rinse it off. The directions say to spray the surface first but I found it works better if you don't. It also recommends not diluting it but you can and it will still work just as well. Make sure you use rubber gloves too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Sebastian, Fl.

Irrigation stains

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hey it works. Don't let it dry up, hose it down. If any spots are left , do it again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Palm Bay Florida

Works very well

PostedNovember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job for which it was intended, Have tried other chemicals but this works the best
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from palm harbor, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
just sprayed it on rust stains and hosed off. Took it all away. Haven't tried it anything else yet
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover
from Jax
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It does not get any better than this

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried everything to get the rust stains from my shallow well lawn sprinklers off my house and Lawn sprinklers, including straight muratic acid. I happened to spot this at Home Depot and bought two containers. This stuff works so well that you have to be careful about applying it evenly. The walls and concrete look white and new after just one application. You really need to use a pump up sprayer like the directions suggest. It is hard to believe how well it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 128 oz. Rust and Stain Remover

Totally did NOT Work

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought to remove rust stain from well water on drive way and patio and it did nothing to remove any of the stains total waste of money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.