728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

This 8 qt. re-sealable bag of Better-Gro Special Orchid Mix is a rich, organic mixture of western fir bark, hardwood charcoal, and sponge rock to ensure healthy and long-lasting plants. It provides your orchids with the drainage, air flow, and root ventilation they find and thrive on in nature.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Review 1 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Tampa Bay, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Special Mix for Happy Orchids!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had not repotted my orchid plants living in our lanai for several years and I have to say that they are looking much healthier in their new medium!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Arlington Heights, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a Difference This Makes!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is uniform, has an attractive appearance and is easy to work with. Good instructions provided for planting on the package.
Pros: Great Quality, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Miami
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

plants

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So far I am pleased with everything I had bought in Home depot expect with the plants
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong
Cons: plants
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Naples, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome results in the orchid growth and blooms.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The orchid mix's effectiveness can only be judged by the results: our orchids are spectacular and growing well.
Pros: Great Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Fort Myers Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product in past to repot my orchids and bromilliads and they have grown and bloomed
beautifully. For me this product is tried and true and will be a keeper for my plants.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good quality. I use this product for all the orchids in my greenhouse

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past I repotted orchids at shows for IOS (Club fundraising). I've seen a lot of potting media and this product has worked very well for me. All the orchids in my greenhouse do well with this mix.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Not just for one type.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My orchids continue to grow. I'm happy I found a mix for all types of orchids . It's lighter than the soil and makes it easy to move the pots around when I have to. Thanks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best thing available when transplanting orchids. Had my order in two days.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Hoschton, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent results when administered to an orchid in distress

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an orchid that had wrinkled leaves, and yellow/dying leaves. Usually this condition leads to death of the plant no matter what I've tried. I administered this product in each of the last three waterings and the orchid leaves reinflated. Yellow/dying leaves fell off, leaving the remaining plant, including brand new, healthy leaf growth in tact.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

Good product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this product & I mix it with other potting soil
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice product so far

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am at novice at growing orchids but I looked over the reviews of several grow mixes and picked this one. It does seem to have quality ingredients and is loose and seemingly supportive of epiphytic growth. I repotted all three of my phalenopsis. Time will tell of my skill.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Orchid mix

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not worth the price. Use other substitute material.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from orlando fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great value always have at least 2 bags on hand for transplanting my orchids.
Just be careful you get the correct mulch for the correct orchid.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Great Quality
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from MI
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Project Re:Pot the Orchid

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I honestly didn't know what to expect and planned for the worst, when repotting my orchid, however, my it has been blooming like never before! Paired with an acidic soil, this products ensures great water retention and perfect conditions for your orchid. And it looks quite stylish too!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Stylish, Great Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Alhambra, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this mix to plant keiki and they are so happy and thriving! Thanks Home Depot for making it easy for me!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed to re-pot my 5 orchids.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use on re-potting my orchids. They look very comfortable now!!!!
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.