728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

This 8 qt. re-sealable bag of Better-Gro Special Orchid Mix is a rich, organic mixture of western fir bark, hardwood charcoal, and sponge rock to ensure healthy and long-lasting plants. It provides your orchids with the drainage, air flow, and root ventilation they find and thrive on in nature.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Review 1 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Marsh
from Naples, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome results in the orchid growth and blooms.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The orchid mix's effectiveness can only be judged by the results: our orchids are spectacular and growing well.
Pros: Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
JChristineB
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice product so far

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am at novice at growing orchids but I looked over the reviews of several grow mixes and picked this one. It does seem to have quality ingredients and is loose and seemingly supportive of epiphytic growth. I repotted all three of my phalenopsis. Time will tell of my skill.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
alfredjohn
from orlando fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great value always have at least 2 bags on hand for transplanting my orchids.
Just be careful you get the correct mulch for the correct orchid.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Great Quality
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Brian73
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good quality. I use this product for all the orchids in my greenhouse

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past I repotted orchids at shows for IOS (Club fundraising). I've seen a lot of potting media and this product has worked very well for me. All the orchids in my greenhouse do well with this mix.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
BarginShopper
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Not just for one type.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My orchids continue to grow. I'm happy I found a mix for all types of orchids . It's lighter than the soil and makes it easy to move the pots around when I have to. Thanks
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Injun
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best thing available when transplanting orchids. Had my order in two days.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Smoknjoeonthego
from MI
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Project Re:Pot the Orchid

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I honestly didn't know what to expect and planned for the worst, when repotting my orchid, however, my it has been blooming like never before! Paired with an acidic soil, this products ensures great water retention and perfect conditions for your orchid. And it looks quite stylish too!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Stylish, Great Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Rita
from Alhambra, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this mix to plant keiki and they are so happy and thriving! Thanks Home Depot for making it easy for me!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Peanuts
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed to re-pot my 5 orchids.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use on re-potting my orchids. They look very comfortable now!!!!
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.