728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

This 8 qt. re-sealable bag of Better-Gro Special Orchid Mix is a rich, organic mixture of western fir bark, hardwood charcoal, and sponge rock to ensure healthy and long-lasting plants. It provides your orchids with the drainage, air flow, and root ventilation they find and thrive on in nature.
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product21 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Review 1 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Tampa Bay, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Special Mix for Happy Orchids!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had not repotted my orchid plants living in our lanai for several years and I have to say that they are looking much healthier in their new medium!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

Excellent product and best store

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product and excellent store. Everything for our orquids
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Orchid Mix

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found this product to very good for repoting both my Phalaenopsis and Cattleya orchids. It is not crumbly like some brands and can easily be broken down is a smaller size is desired. I am very happy with this product.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Richmond RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

disappointed

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This mix has bark, charcoal and perlite. Unfortunately it also has some wood . It is as much wood as perlite and charcoal together. I had to throw wood away. Bark pieces are mostly flat and thin, which is not good for orchids ( it is better when they are cubes) . I had to work on this mix before planting my orchids. Next time I will get a big bag of bark, some perlite and add some charcoal from my fire place, and it will be 10 times chipper.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Better-GroOrchidExpertMarch 23, 2015By Better-GroOrchidExpertMarch 23, 2015
Hello Lucy:
Thank you for your comment.
Our Special Orchid® Mix was formulated by our professional orchid growers and contains Western Fir Bark, Perlite and Hardwood Charcoal. We use our Special Orchid® Mix in our own greenhouses to grow orchids commercially.
However, if you wish to blend our own mix, The Home Depot does carry a bag of just fir bark. Better-Gro
Review 5 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

good quality

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good quality bark. Not a lot of dust or ground bits. Perfect size for water and air to circulate. big enough bag to repot a few orchids without having a huge bag left over taking up space in the shed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

Love it

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent brand, this is my favorite media for epiphytes orchids
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for my orchids

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works great with my catts and phals, great quality
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Not just for one type.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My orchids continue to grow. I'm happy I found a mix for all types of orchids . It's lighter than the soil and makes it easy to move the pots around when I have to. Thanks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, good quality. I use this product for all the orchids in my greenhouse

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In the past I repotted orchids at shows for IOS (Club fundraising). I've seen a lot of potting media and this product has worked very well for me. All the orchids in my greenhouse do well with this mix.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Naples, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome results in the orchid growth and blooms.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The orchid mix's effectiveness can only be judged by the results: our orchids are spectacular and growing well.
Pros: Great Quality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Arlington Heights, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a Difference This Makes!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product is uniform, has an attractive appearance and is easy to work with. Good instructions provided for planting on the package.
Pros: Great Quality, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Northern KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good purchase

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Online ordering and store pick up was super easy..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best thing available when transplanting orchids. Had my order in two days.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Fort Myers Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product in past to repot my orchids and bromilliads and they have grown and bloomed
beautifully. For me this product is tried and true and will be a keeper for my plants.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Miami
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

plants

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
So far I am pleased with everything I had bought in Home depot expect with the plants
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong
Cons: plants
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from orlando fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great value always have at least 2 bags on hand for transplanting my orchids.
Just be careful you get the correct mulch for the correct orchid.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Great Quality
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Hoschton, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent results when administered to an orchid in distress

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had an orchid that had wrinkled leaves, and yellow/dying leaves. Usually this condition leads to death of the plant no matter what I've tried. I administered this product in each of the last three waterings and the orchid leaves reinflated. Yellow/dying leaves fell off, leaving the remaining plant, including brand new, healthy leaf growth in tact.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice product so far

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am at novice at growing orchids but I looked over the reviews of several grow mixes and picked this one. It does seem to have quality ingredients and is loose and seemingly supportive of epiphytic growth. I repotted all three of my phalenopsis. Time will tell of my skill.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix
from MI
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Project Re:Pot the Orchid

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I honestly didn't know what to expect and planned for the worst, when repotting my orchid, however, my it has been blooming like never before! Paired with an acidic soil, this products ensures great water retention and perfect conditions for your orchid. And it looks quite stylish too!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Stylish, Great Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 qt. Special Orchid Mix

Good product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like this product & I mix it with other potting soil
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>