728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Rubberized Coatings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

The Performix 11 oz. Black Rubber Coating Spray can be sprayed, brushed or dipped onto painted surfaces to provide a comfortable, controlled grip that resists moisture, acids, abrasion, corrosion, skidding and slipping. The flexible, stretchy formula will not crack or become brittle in extreme weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product17 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product17 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
Review 1 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will buy again - color very true to black

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Project: 2012 GMC Canyon
Mission: Chrome blackout and personal touch
While Plastidip and Flexidip are on par in price, they are by no means the same product. Having used both Plastidip and Flexidip on this project (store was out and so where all the auto parts stores in 25 miles of me).
Flexidip went on just as Plastidip, but Flexidip dried faster and left a smoother texture. It will be some time before I can determine which is better, but I'm putting my money on Plastidip. I just seems to have far better coverage, and after it dries seems to be more durable.
As you can see in my photos, the Front bumper, Grill, Rear bumper, and name plates are all Plastidip. The door handles, wheels, and my super awesome stencil are Flexidip. Flexidip left a much smoother texture than Plastidip. I got the effect I was after, but I will probably end up redoing my wheels, and door handles with Plastidip.
After using both for the first time ever, I probably would not recommend Flexidip over Plastidip. I recall seeing Plastidip on the shelves when I was in my teens, and Flexidip is a relatively new product. This leads me to believe that Rustoleum just seems to want to grab a piece of the pie. Bottom line, if your product isn't as good or better, you're going to go hungry. My 2 cents, peace and Semper Fi.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly, true to color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

Used on S10 Wheels...

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 cans from one of your local stores and this stuff works great for many thing. Seen a few videos on YouTube for using this to coat truck wheels and it worked out GREAT on my S10. 2 cans was just enough to do 4 - 15" wheels in 4 coats each. Just be sure to CLEAN whatever you are coating first! Best part besides price - NO SANDING REQUIRED!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+63points
63out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

Amazing.

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased 4 cans to spray my 98 civic hatchback aftermarket rims. Took longer than I wanted as I had to spray 6 coats per rim due to them being white. Overall I'm very satisfied with the product. Goes on even and dries quick. Will use the product to spray my entire car next!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+46points
49out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Matte Black Mustang

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love Plasti Dip, especially now that my Home Depot started expanding the color choices and I hope they continue to do so with the many products coming out! I applied this to my car, and it looks great! (It's been Dipped for 7 months and still holding strong). You can't go wrong with any product from Performix!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing stuff

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All out great product, I've gone through 6 cans just putting it on things!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

Love it

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it on my Crown Victoria. Easy to use and it looks like a factory job.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
28out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

Great for Automotive Use

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is great. I have used it on wheels and roof racks to refinish them and it works great, and if it comes out bad or you get sick of the look, you can peel it right off very easily. Works great for old faded trip, metal parts, etc.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
from boise, idaho

Plasti dip is a must try!

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To be honest i first found out about plasti dip while watching a video about a guy trying to paint his rims without ruining his old finish. I had some chrome accent peices on my car that i wanted black, but also wanted something i would be able to take off in time, and plasti dip is just that. It dries just like rubber and leaves the surface of what you paint over perfectly fine. Easy to spray and control and very easy to remove if at all ever needed to. Iv also used this product to spray non slip handles for my tools. For the price of the can you cant beat it! Will keep buying for sure!
+114points
157out of 200found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

Amazing stuff.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I painted some obnoxious chrome trim on my car yesterday and it came out great! If you don't like it, just peel it off!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
from Oklahoma City
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply amazing

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to blacken all 4 door trims on my vehicle and I am very pleased with the end result.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray

Love this stuff!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Goes on textured, dries smooth! 4-6 coats optimum. Amazing results! Comes off easily if you want it to yet is very durable and secure on every proper application. Prep surface clean w 50/50 distilled water/alcohol mixture for best results. Once you try it...you'll be hooked!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

greatttt!!!!!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have an 04 go and didnt like the silver rims so i wanted to black them out got it put it on lookings great dired fast didnt have to take the tires or the rims peels right off awsome!!!!!!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
from Worcester, MA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plastidip is the way to go!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plastdip is the way to go if you are looking to change your color of your car bike or even other things. I use it on my car all the time. It lasts for a long time until you wish to peal it away and start fresh.
Depending on the area of coverage with Spray Cans i would use about 4 cans to get even coverage. Make sure to hold the can at least 12 inches away from the surface. Also make sure to be in a well vented area or location. Make sure your are not in direct sunlight.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, lasts until you want to peal
Cons: more colors
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
from Florence, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Job

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it to spray over a chrome piece on my Cycle gas tank that was reflecting the sunlight on to the inside of my windshield. Went on nice. I sprayed on 5 coats and it looks good and eliminated the unwanted reflection.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
from Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tried it to dress old tires. Looks good, but...

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well, it looks great as a tire sidewall dressing, but it wasn't very dependable as far as adhering to the tire for long. While it has stayed on a couple of my car's tires it didn't last on others. The good thing is, when it starts to peel you can go ahead and just peel it all off. I'm going to try it again after cleaning the tires well with Dawn and hot water, and we'll see if it will take a firm hold then. I still have to give the product a high mark for looking so good and being very easy to use. The severe duty and environment a tire has to live in may just be asking too much of any type of rubber coating. Nobody said it could be used as a tire dressing, but I wanted to put it to the test. The results are still out.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily, may not adhere to some surfaces that have to flex, peels too easily
-12points
0out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive and Quick fix for a variety of things...

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the matte black Plastidip spray for 2 projects. 1st: The cheap chrome center caps of my 4x4 truck wheels would rust badly within a few weeks of cleaning and polishing. So I sanded all the rust off and sprayed 3 coats of Plastidip. It has been nearly a year and they still look great. 2nd: The front edge of my Z3's convertible top is a substantial piece of cast aluminum. Originally finished with a low gloss vinyl coating. About 5 sq. inches of the coating had been damaged on each end and whitish corrosion had grown for a few years. Plastidip to the rescue! People don't even see where the original vinyl stops and the Plastidip begins. I love it. You can watch some Youtube videos to learn some limitations of the product and common mistakes. Home Depot has the best price I've seen!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
from Gresham, OR, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best bang four your buck

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
plasti dipped wheels, trim pannels and made my own two tone truck. friends and coworkers say i got plastidip happy, and to be honest i did. working with glosifier, metalizer and white dip next...OH BOY!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 11-oz. Plasti Dip Black Rubber Coating Spray
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product