728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Care & Maintenance or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend 8 fl. oz. Grout Renew in sandstone color is a water-based, acrylic, urethane stain and sealer for renewing or changing the color of cement grout joints. It seals against stains while it colors and has patented technology to inhibit mold and mildew.
Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product139 of 155reviews
Rating Breakdown 161 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(120)
4
(25)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product139 of 155reviews
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 103 Answers
Customer reviews for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Review 1 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Prestonsburg, Ky.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

FANTASTIC BEYOND WORDS

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Foor years I have tried everything to clean white grout in bathroom. Some made a little difference, but still dull and yellow looking. OMG, this stuff is like a miracle. It is a paint grout applied with a small brush that makes my floor look like it was installed yesterday. Even my husband, who notices nothing commented on the huge difference. I am now onto the down half bath and again it is incredable the difference. It makes no difference if you get in on the tile, wait a little while and it wipes right off or wipe as you go along. I will then go on to the tile shower with a tan color. I just wish I had found this years ago...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

GREATTTTTTTTTTTTTT product

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I intially bought the bright white and did a small section....HATED IT. It looked like chalky whiteout. Distressed but not defeated I returned to Home depot and exchanged the product for the linen and I'm in love. Parts of the grout in my kitchen is black and this worked wonders. Would recommend. Also, the bright white was difficult to wipe off the tile when in contact, the linen wiped right off.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Looked great until I cleaned the shower

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took a lot of work to put on, impossible to apply without getting it on the tile and then when I'd wipe it off the tile it would come off the grout as well. After 3 hours I got the entire shower finished and it looked amazing until the first time I cleaned it. Then it came off with Scrubbing Bubbles like I was using paint stripper. So if you have a house showing and want things to look really good for a day, I would highly recommend it. If you're planning to stay in your home for a while and want your grout to look nice, this is not a long term solution.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's an improvement, but tedious work

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is how I found to be the easiest way to apply that kept the lines looking sharp. The bottle doesn't have a good applicator top, so get a foam paper plate to use as your palette, buy a taklon (a golden nylon) bristle brush from you local hobby store- cheap is fine - and make sure the brush is a little narrower than your grout line. Keep a cup of water handy for occasional thinning/wetting the brush (always wipe excess moisture on the rag), and a clean, damp rag. Basically, pour a bit of the paint on the plate, then dip your brush in, swipe the excess on the plate, and paint a grout line down the middle, scrubbing a bit as you go to work the paint in. Then wipe the line and tile lightly with the damp cloth to clean up the line. The paint dries very quickly (78 degrees when I painted) so I would do just one or two lines, then wipe with the cloth. Since I didn't press down on the cloth into the grout line, it just picked up the excess paint on the tile on each side. The damp cloth and quick clean up are the two key points. Have fun!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Valdosta, Ga.

Best product found for grout renew.

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried for years to clean grout in kitchen and breakfast area but found nothing that really worked. A friend used Polyblend with great success so I tried it. Looks great. I used painter's tape to get the lines straight. Takes time but is worth it. Also used it in two bathrooms. Made the tile look new. If any flaws in application just redo it. You can touch up any scratches that occur.
Great product.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

This stuff works!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff works!!! My dirty brown which once was white grout is now looking brand new! Skeptical the next morning I sprayed bleach cleaner on it and scrubbed to see if it would come off and it did not. Wait till your wife leaves and apply then tell her you regrouted haha, Thats how nice it looks!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Awesome product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got tired of cleaning and scrubbing the grout of the high traffic area of my house. Read about this product on a blog and decided to give it a try. To my amazement, home depot had a variety of colors so it was easy to find one that matches my floors. I am very satisfied with the result. My floors look cleaner and renewed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product For the Renewal of Your Tile Grout

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I previously spent hundreds of dollars having my tile grout "renewed." The renewal was only fair and did not last a long time. Then I found this product. it is fabulous. Pick the right color and you are all set. You will love the finished product and your grout will be restored to new. I strongly recommend using painters' tape to help keep the excess solution off of the tile. It takes a bit longer this way, but you will save time in the end because if you don't use painters' tape, you will have to spend a lot of time cleaning the excess product off of the tile. The best thing to use for the application is a tooth brush. Some recommend a child's tooth brush, but I find that an adult tooth brush works better. This is a great find at a great price!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: time consuming to apply but certainaly doable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Bloomingdale, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even the children were able to help with this one, the product did over 400 sq ft, and still some left over. Cannot stop believing how great it worked and it did clean really nice when the kids left a icee on it in purple.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Gender:Female

Not for perfectionists, but perfect for temporary projects

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to change the look of the tile in our Master Ensuite, but we're waiting a year or so before we do a upgrade and didn't want to spend a lot of money. We had a "tan" color, and I used "Snow White" to brighten the floors.
I read the reviews, prepped the floor (basic sweeping and mopping with a wet rag, didn't buy any other product) and used a travel tooth brush and MOIST rag to clean up during the process.
I started off 1 line at a time, but found that if I didn't wait more than a minute, I could easily apply product to 2sq ft at a time and wipe clean with the rag after, all over the grout line and tile. My tiles are ceramic, which could be why it was easy to clean.
I washed the rag numerous times to get the product off of it.
It probably took me a total of 2 hours with cleaning, organizing, applying and cleaning up after for a 4x10 ft area. I was not trying to be a perfectionist, however, my husband saw the finished grout tile (he had no idea I was even "re-grouting") and thinks the floor looks great.
Bottom line: great product for quick jobs, without worrying about perfection, and people who see it think the floor looks great!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
Cons: applicator pours easily
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Illinois, USA

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just finished using this product on my bathroom floor's grout. Looks so clean, fresh and new again! Took me 3 hours, but well worth the time. Yesterday I cleaned it real good with a scrub brush using vinegar and baking soda. That alone does a great job, it just never stays looking nice. Thanks to Grout Renew that's about to change! Not difficult to do, just takes time. Impressed that it has NO bad odor what so ever! Wish I knew about this stuff a long time ago! FANTASTIC
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Bakersfield, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Recommendation

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like most of us, I had terrible grout staining within 8" square white subway style tiles on bathroom floor. Several smaller 2" black tiles within the tile layout. Cleaned floor with Simple Green followed by a very diluted (1:5) pool acid/water cleaning. The Bright White was a perfect match. Using a small toothbrush I would quickly scrub on to about 20 inches of grout and then carefully wipe off any slop over with wet rag. It comes off the smooth tile easlily. Clean the tile within about 1 min. Watch some of the UTube videos under this product for some great install ideas. Wetting cleanup rag with alcohol works great but not necessary. Like anything for the 1st. time, after a little bit you can really move along with this. Did a 50 sq ft. floor and used about a quarter of the bottle. Result is what looks like a brand new floor. Terrific!!
Pros: Looks Great
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solved my problem

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered this product when looking for something to clean the grout surrounding floor tile. I tried everything including bleach. It takes time to get the job done as I applied it line by line with a toothbrush. Doing just a few squares at a time to allow me to remove the excess from the tile before it dried, the results were great!
I am hopeful that the sealing feature will help keep the grout the pure white we want.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Austin, TX
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would never buy/use this product again

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Consistency of a thick latex paint, dries very fast. Instructions read "apply to small area, wipe off as you work". Well, it dries very fast, I ended up wiping off the "paint/grout sealer" I applied, complete waste of time, the new grout I applied looked better before using this product, for me, my personal suggestion, I would never again use this based on my experience. Complete waste of time and money for me.
Cons: Difficult to Install, same as latex paint in my opinion, dries very quickly hard to clean tiles
-3points
7out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

best product ever.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so easy to use. I used a child size toothbrush to apply the color. I mixed both colors together to achieve just the right color.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Woodinville, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Polyblend Grout color review - for tile and grout floors

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
We used Polyblend Antique white grout color to recolor black grout on 13,000 feet of historic tile in Seattle. The grout colorant worked great and covered the black almost perfectly. The client was very pleased.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Memphis TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE this product!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
I bought a house in 1999 that has brick floors in the guest bath, laundry room, back hall, and kitchen. The grout is gray and looks dirty all the time. I have scrubbed and cleaned this grout with everything all the way up to acid and it still looks dirty. I finally decided to just paint the grout and hunted to find this product. I have painted two rooms so far and just love it! It is NOT the easiest thing to stay on your knees for days on end using a craft brush to paint grout (especially with over 500 square feet to do). But it is well worth it. LOVE the final results. Here is the laundry room prior to me adding the sealant (sealing the brick with wet look sealant).
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a difference!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
I bought 2 bottles but didn't even use 1/2 of one. I redid the grout in both of my bathroom floors and they look so good! I went from a dark orangey brown grout to antique white. It's been about a month and it looks the same as the day I finished! Time will tell how well it holds up, but I have plenty left over to do touch ups if needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Port Huron, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle Product!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #60 Charcoal 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
I recently installed a new "wood look" ceramic tile floor, and used charcoal grout, thinking it would dry dark like the color on the package. I specifically chose charcoal after reading reviews online that many grouts dry much lighter than how they appear when wet. However, even though I did my research, my grout dried way too light for the look I wanted. I was elated with the new tile, but heartbroken with the bright grout lines. I found this product online, and after reading the positive reviews thought I would give it a try. I was still apprehensive though, after spending hard earned money on a new floor, would this product work as I thought? Or would it look like I obviously tried to adjust the grout color? Let me just say, this product is simply wonderful, just the fix I needed! I am so happy I decided to give it a try! My bathroom floor now has the exact look I was going for. An added bonus is that this grout colorant also contains a sealer. My new floor is now gorgeous, and exactly what I wanted! Bye-bye early 70's harvest gold bathroom, hello fresh and new update! I felt compelled to write a review to help others who may be in a similar situation, it's disheartening to not get the look you were hoping for, but no need to fret another minute my friends, this is your solution!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+96points
96out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from McLean VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent cover-up for ugly grout!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #122 Linen 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
We had travertine tiles installed in our bathroom several years ago. I selected a grout that closely matched the color of the tiles (beige) because I don't like grout lines. The contractor didn't tell the tile sub about this & we ended up with white grout. I thought I could live with it but I have always hated the way it looked. Plus it was an ongoing mess with mold only on the grout. I only give it "average" for ease of installation because it needs to be applied precisely. But that is not a flaw in the product. You will be more successful with application if you have experience applying nail polish and eyeliner! I used a thin brush and wiped off the excess as I went along with a paper towel wrapped around my fingernail. I love the way it looks and it is antimicrobial - so far no problem with mold. In the photo, I have painted the top half and you can see the grout is still white in the bottom half. I like the softer look of the matching grout.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Cons: time consuming but not difficult to apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>