728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Care & Maintenance or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Polyblend 8 fl. oz. Grout Renew in sandstone color is a water-based, acrylic, urethane stain and sealer for renewing or changing the color of cement grout joints. It seals against stains while it colors and has patented technology to inhibit mold and mildew.
Overall rating:
4.492 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(183 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product159 of 177reviews
Rating Breakdown 183 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(133)
4
(32)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product159 of 177reviews
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Review 1 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Prestonsburg, Ky.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

FANTASTIC BEYOND WORDS

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Foor years I have tried everything to clean white grout in bathroom. Some made a little difference, but still dull and yellow looking. OMG, this stuff is like a miracle. It is a paint grout applied with a small brush that makes my floor look like it was installed yesterday. Even my husband, who notices nothing commented on the huge difference. I am now onto the down half bath and again it is incredable the difference. It makes no difference if you get in on the tile, wait a little while and it wipes right off or wipe as you go along. I will then go on to the tile shower with a tan color. I just wish I had found this years ago...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

GREATTTTTTTTTTTTTT product

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I intially bought the bright white and did a small section....HATED IT. It looked like chalky whiteout. Distressed but not defeated I returned to Home depot and exchanged the product for the linen and I'm in love. Parts of the grout in my kitchen is black and this worked wonders. Would recommend. Also, the bright white was difficult to wipe off the tile when in contact, the linen wiped right off.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Looked great until I cleaned the shower

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took a lot of work to put on, impossible to apply without getting it on the tile and then when I'd wipe it off the tile it would come off the grout as well. After 3 hours I got the entire shower finished and it looked amazing until the first time I cleaned it. Then it came off with Scrubbing Bubbles like I was using paint stripper. So if you have a house showing and want things to look really good for a day, I would highly recommend it. If you're planning to stay in your home for a while and want your grout to look nice, this is not a long term solution.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Philadelphia PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You're taking a chance

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't get the positive reviews of this product - I can't say anything positive about it. First, it's paint - it's not a magic product and it does not 'renew grout'. It's just very thick, gloppy paint for which they charge a great deal and you paint your grout with it.
It's difficult to paint grout without getting some on the tile as well but the good news is it's water based so you can scrub it off the tile but if you get water on the grout lines the 'grout renew' thins too because - it's just extra thick water based paint.
If you ever wash your floor again, the 'grout renew' washes away.
This is not worth your money or your time. If you want to try to paint your grout with water based paint, there are many water based paints out there, less gloppy, and likely easier to work with and definitively less expensive.
Cons: Difficult to Install, doesnt last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Awesome product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got tired of cleaning and scrubbing the grout of the high traffic area of my house. Read about this product on a blog and decided to give it a try. To my amazement, home depot had a variety of colors so it was easy to find one that matches my floors. I am very satisfied with the result. My floors look cleaner and renewed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's an improvement, but tedious work

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is how I found to be the easiest way to apply that kept the lines looking sharp. The bottle doesn't have a good applicator top, so get a foam paper plate to use as your palette, buy a taklon (a golden nylon) bristle brush from you local hobby store- cheap is fine - and make sure the brush is a little narrower than your grout line. Keep a cup of water handy for occasional thinning/wetting the brush (always wipe excess moisture on the rag), and a clean, damp rag. Basically, pour a bit of the paint on the plate, then dip your brush in, swipe the excess on the plate, and paint a grout line down the middle, scrubbing a bit as you go to work the paint in. Then wipe the line and tile lightly with the damp cloth to clean up the line. The paint dries very quickly (78 degrees when I painted) so I would do just one or two lines, then wipe with the cloth. Since I didn't press down on the cloth into the grout line, it just picked up the excess paint on the tile on each side. The damp cloth and quick clean up are the two key points. Have fun!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Valdosta, Ga.

Best product found for grout renew.

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have tried for years to clean grout in kitchen and breakfast area but found nothing that really worked. A friend used Polyblend with great success so I tried it. Looks great. I used painter's tape to get the lines straight. Takes time but is worth it. Also used it in two bathrooms. Made the tile look new. If any flaws in application just redo it. You can touch up any scratches that occur.
Great product.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

This stuff works!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff works!!! My dirty brown which once was white grout is now looking brand new! Skeptical the next morning I sprayed bleach cleaner on it and scrubbed to see if it would come off and it did not. Wait till your wife leaves and apply then tell her you regrouted haha, Thats how nice it looks!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product For the Renewal of Your Tile Grout

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I previously spent hundreds of dollars having my tile grout "renewed." The renewal was only fair and did not last a long time. Then I found this product. it is fabulous. Pick the right color and you are all set. You will love the finished product and your grout will be restored to new. I strongly recommend using painters' tape to help keep the excess solution off of the tile. It takes a bit longer this way, but you will save time in the end because if you don't use painters' tape, you will have to spend a lot of time cleaning the excess product off of the tile. The best thing to use for the application is a tooth brush. Some recommend a child's tooth brush, but I find that an adult tooth brush works better. This is a great find at a great price!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: time consuming to apply but certainaly doable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Bloomingdale, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Even the children were able to help with this one, the product did over 400 sq ft, and still some left over. Cannot stop believing how great it worked and it did clean really nice when the kids left a icee on it in purple.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
Gender:Female

Not for perfectionists, but perfect for temporary projects

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to change the look of the tile in our Master Ensuite, but we're waiting a year or so before we do a upgrade and didn't want to spend a lot of money. We had a "tan" color, and I used "Snow White" to brighten the floors.
I read the reviews, prepped the floor (basic sweeping and mopping with a wet rag, didn't buy any other product) and used a travel tooth brush and MOIST rag to clean up during the process.
I started off 1 line at a time, but found that if I didn't wait more than a minute, I could easily apply product to 2sq ft at a time and wipe clean with the rag after, all over the grout line and tile. My tiles are ceramic, which could be why it was easy to clean.
I washed the rag numerous times to get the product off of it.
It probably took me a total of 2 hours with cleaning, organizing, applying and cleaning up after for a 4x10 ft area. I was not trying to be a perfectionist, however, my husband saw the finished grout tile (he had no idea I was even "re-grouting") and thinks the floor looks great.
Bottom line: great product for quick jobs, without worrying about perfection, and people who see it think the floor looks great!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Effective
Cons: applicator pours easily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Illinois, USA

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just finished using this product on my bathroom floor's grout. Looks so clean, fresh and new again! Took me 3 hours, but well worth the time. Yesterday I cleaned it real good with a scrub brush using vinegar and baking soda. That alone does a great job, it just never stays looking nice. Thanks to Grout Renew that's about to change! Not difficult to do, just takes time. Impressed that it has NO bad odor what so ever! Wish I knew about this stuff a long time ago! FANTASTIC
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Bakersfield, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Recommendation

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Like most of us, I had terrible grout staining within 8" square white subway style tiles on bathroom floor. Several smaller 2" black tiles within the tile layout. Cleaned floor with Simple Green followed by a very diluted (1:5) pool acid/water cleaning. The Bright White was a perfect match. Using a small toothbrush I would quickly scrub on to about 20 inches of grout and then carefully wipe off any slop over with wet rag. It comes off the smooth tile easlily. Clean the tile within about 1 min. Watch some of the UTube videos under this product for some great install ideas. Wetting cleanup rag with alcohol works great but not necessary. Like anything for the 1st. time, after a little bit you can really move along with this. Did a 50 sq ft. floor and used about a quarter of the bottle. Result is what looks like a brand new floor. Terrific!!
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solved my problem

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I discovered this product when looking for something to clean the grout surrounding floor tile. I tried everything including bleach. It takes time to get the job done as I applied it line by line with a toothbrush. Doing just a few squares at a time to allow me to remove the excess from the tile before it dried, the results were great!
I am hopeful that the sealing feature will help keep the grout the pure white we want.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

best product ever.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
so easy to use. I used a child size toothbrush to apply the color. I mixed both colors together to achieve just the right color.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Austin, TX
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would never buy/use this product again

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Consistency of a thick latex paint, dries very fast. Instructions read "apply to small area, wipe off as you work". Well, it dries very fast, I ended up wiping off the "paint/grout sealer" I applied, complete waste of time, the new grout I applied looked better before using this product, for me, my personal suggestion, I would never again use this based on my experience. Complete waste of time and money for me.
Cons: Difficult to Install, same as latex paint in my opinion, dries very quickly hard to clean tiles
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant

Looks like new!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #10 Antique White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
I bought this to renew the grout in my kitchen. It really makes it look like the floor is brand new. I used #10 Antique White. As others have stated, this is NOT an easy or quick solution. It took me about 10 hours to do a 300 sq foot area, and my knees and back were about to break. Two days later I'm still hurting! But the result was amazing and I still have about a quarter bottle left after all that work. A few tips: do not waste your money on the grout applicator (a squeeze bottle with a brush on top. It is too wide for normal grout lines and ended up making more of a mess. I abandoned that and went to a toothbrush which was faster. I would suggest using a baby toothbrush to minimize the wiping you have to. The wiping was the worst and most frustrating part. One reviewer said that you can wait and wipe afterwards but I was too nervous that that the product would not come off.
Overall, this product has amazing results, goes a long way and is a great price. If you don't mind a little hard work I highly recommend it.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, looks great

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #60 Charcoal 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
I used the charcoal color. It's not jet black, but is close to it, so it's surely black enough, if that's what you're hoping to find. It's quite thick in the bottle, which helps in application.
Application is a slow process and it took a fair amount of time longer than I expected. I used a small paint brush (artist's brush) to apply the product to the joints, and wiped off the excess with a smooth cloth.
The most important thing I learned is not to wipe off the excess too soon. Don't be afraied to let sections dry for 20-30 minutes before wiping off the excess. Otherwise, you'll be removing too much and having to reapply to some areas. After application, the directions say to keep it from getting wet for 72 hours.
Best I can tell, this appears to really be nothing more than acrylic paint, with a mold preventive added. The price is good, great return on time investment, and if it holds up a long time, this will be a grand slam.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from McLean VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent cover-up for ugly grout!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #122 Linen 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
We had travertine tiles installed in our bathroom several years ago. I selected a grout that closely matched the color of the tiles (beige) because I don't like grout lines. The contractor didn't tell the tile sub about this & we ended up with white grout. I thought I could live with it but I have always hated the way it looked. Plus it was an ongoing mess with mold only on the grout. I only give it "average" for ease of installation because it needs to be applied precisely. But that is not a flaw in the product. You will be more successful with application if you have experience applying nail polish and eyeliner! I used a thin brush and wiped off the excess as I went along with a paper towel wrapped around my fingernail. I love the way it looks and it is antimicrobial - so far no problem with mold. In the photo, I have painted the top half and you can see the grout is still white in the bottom half. I like the softer look of the matching grout.
Pros: Looks Great, Effective
Cons: time consuming but not difficult to apply
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polyblend #11 Snow White 8 oz. Grout Renew Colorant
from Paris,TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, made my floors look new again!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #95 Sable Brown 8 fl. oz. Grout Renew Colorant
I modified the bottle with a pointed tip top from craft store bottle, just switched the lids. That way you can squeeze a very small line on each grout line and not near as much clean up as painting on with brush which we tried first. Its so simple my 10 and 15 year old kiddo's helped. See picture for before and after.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Effective, looks new
Cons: timely project
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>