728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track

Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track

The Hampton Bay Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track features a white finish and an expandable, linear design. There are two end caps included in this track section. All mounting hardware is included.
Overall rating:
4.033 / 5
4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product22 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(3)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product22 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
Review 1 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Allen, TX

Having Installation Issues? Read This!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I purchased four of the 4-foot Hampton Bay track lighting kits (4-foot track with three lights), along with three 8-foot pieces of linear track and one 4-foot piece of linear track. To connect all of this, I purchased 5 straight connectors and 2 90-degree connectors. This allowed me to create a large U-shaped track in a media room.
At the end of the day, the system looks good, and eventually, I was able to get it working properly. I will also say that you get pretty good bang-for-the-buck out of this system, even considering the manufacturing flaws I'm detailing in this review. However, the build quality of the internal track components is very poor, which can make installation a real problem if you're connecting multiple pieces of track to build your system.
My brother and I are extremely "handy" - we were able to properly install and anchor all of the track in one short evening. However, we were disappointed to find that when we hit the switch to power the system for the first time, only the first leg of our U-shape lit up. No power was flowing to the bottom of the U or its second leg. Subsequent fiddling revealed that each piece of the track worked individually, and the whole second leg worked by itself, but the bottom leg of the U was a no-go, and the system wasn't working together all at the same time.
We double-checked all connections, etc... and spent almost as much time fiddling with everything as we had spent installing it to try to determine the source of the problem. It turned out that the copper conductors inside each track (2 on one side and 1 on the other) are not long enough to go all the way to each end of the track, and most of them are not centered up inside the track pieces. Additionally, the plastic sleeves in which they are housed inside each side of the track can loosen and shift once you push a connecting piece into one end or the other. This sometimes results in some of the copper conductors failing to contact with the connectors you're trying to use to build your system.
I went back to the store and bought replacement track, only to find the same design flaw. Also, if you read some of the other reviews (which I didn't before my purchase), you'll notice the same flaw being mentioned. This really should be addressed by the manufacturer - it wouldn't be hard to fix.
In any case we (finally) found a solution. We reluctantly took each problematic piece of track down and carefully centered each copper piece inside its plastic sleeve. We did this by GENTLY tapping the copper pieces into place with a small screwdriver and hammer. Then we centered each plastic sleeve inside the track and locked these in place by installing a light at each end of the track. The pressure exerted by twisting the lights into position holds the plastic sleeves in place, assuring that the copper is still centered up inside. Next, we gently installed everything again. We did still find that there is an issue getting some of the pieces to properly connect with the 90 degree connectors in particular. Solution: jiggle them. a lot. LOL...but seriously, we were able to jiggle things a bit to get them to work. We also gently tapped the connectors fully in place with a small hammer to ensure the tightest connection possible. Eventually, it worked.
Hope this helps!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Linear Track for Track Lighting

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy installation. Love the ability to add pretty much as many lights as I want.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Saukville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to install and provides quality lighting at a reasonable price
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track

Everyone should have track lighting

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought 2 8" tracks and eight light fixtures for the living room of our apartment, and are extremely happy with the new illumination that now targets the areas that really need it: work stations, dining room table and reading couch. We're happy !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Kansas City Metro Area
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good product, great price!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Exactly what I expected. Decent quality at a great price. Shipping was pretty quick. Arrived exactly as expected and described.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look Great easy to install

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to replace one old track lighting with this product. Looks Great much more light.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great custom lighting solution

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought to expand existing track light installation. No problems whatsoever.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from San Diego, CA

track lighting

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy, fast and economical
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Palo Alto, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Oil rubbed bronze track works and is cuttable, but you get what you pay for

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:8 ft. Oil-Rubbed Bronze Linear Track Section
Just installed 4 of the oil rubbed bronze version tracks.
Installation: straightforward -- not sure why some other reviewers had so much difficulty. For power I used EC707, the "Linear Track Live-end Power Feed". One of the tracks was coupled to a 4 ft track using EC702, the "Linear Track Lighting Mini Straight Connector". Everything fit together without problems. It would have nice to have two more mounting holes (the track only has 3 mounting holes) since I lost one of the holes when cutting one of the tracks.
Cutting the track: The oil rubbed bronze track only comes in 8 ft and 4 ft versions. If you need 6 ft of track (as I did), you're out of luck, unless you're willing to cut the 8 ft track. The instructions say not to do this, but if you look at the description of the black version of this product on the Home Depot web site (same model number, EC751), it says that the track can be cut to fit. So I went ahead and cut one of the tracks with a hacksaw, then trimmed back the copper conductors (but not the insulation) at the cut end to minimize risk of shorting. It was tricky to do this -- first I had to dislodge the insulation (which is lightly glued to the metal track frame), then I had to push on the copper conductors with a screwdriver (requires a bit of force) to slide them out enough so I could grab them with pliers, pull them out a little further, and then clip them with the pliers. Then I had to slide back the conductors (more force), then reassemble everything, including the endcap. But it was doable and resulted in a successful installation. (Highly recommend wearing canvas gloves to protect your hands from sharp metal edges and screwdrivers that slip.)
Track quality: for the price, you get what you pay for. The oil rubbed bronze track is just the white version of the track, but spray painted. The paint scratches off easily; if they had spray painted the black version instead, at least the scratches wouldn't be so visible. If the color isn't exactly what you want, you're probably better off buying the black track (EC751BK), disassembling it and spray painting it yourself.
The coloring of the power feed connector I used, (EC707OBR) was even worse. To save you searching for my review of this item, I'll summarize here: not only was the connector simply spray painted like the tracks, but even the power switch and the power cord were spray painted. (As if brown power cords aren't available off the shelf.)
Overall, the track does the job and the right price, but if I had to do it all again, it would have been worth paying a little more for a higher quality paint job, and for a track system that includes a 2 ft option so you don't have to cut the track.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: Appearance, cheaply painted
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Installation is a nightmare

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:8 ft. Oil-Rubbed Bronze Linear Track Section
The copper power strips do not run the entire length of the track, so even if you do everything correct the lights may not work because the electricity won't make contact (in our case) from a tee connector to a 8 foot strip unless you take back down (and that's frustrating) and manually push the strips into the tee to make contact and hack saw the other end of the track shorter to match the strip length! Last year I used the same tracks and a 90 degree on the kitchen ceiling and the electricity was intermittent, but I did not figure out why until we did the LVRM. The stuff looks good when its finished but this is a major design/manufacture flaw!!!!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track

Looks great, but does not work right

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:8 ft. Oil-Rubbed Bronze Linear Track Section
Just putting up about three track sections and it is next to impossible to get the track energized by the power supply and track connectors. Very tempermental and inconsistent. A few times I was rready to pack it up and send it back.
Pros: Functional, Unique
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, track connectivity issues
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from A do it yourselfer in Lakeville, MN

Linear Tracks

PostedJanuary 31, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Black Linear Track Section
Very happy with my purchase. It was also very easy to do online . These tracks are easy to install as well as easy to install track lights on them. I will be purchasing more of these in the near future. Thanx
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from syracuse ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
nice once we received all the necessary parts to assemble
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was a a real disappointment

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
Can't review the track separately from the power feed connectors and the lights because they are all supposed to work together. The brushed steel color on this part does not match the brushed steel color of the live end power feed and lights, even though they are all Hampton Bay products and promoted as being compatible. Also purchased on line two brushed steel live end power feeds, the color of which does not match the track sections or the lights themselves. Additionally, one of the power feeds had connector screws missing and caused additional expense because electrician had to spend more time improvising. Were not advised that tracks did not come with power feeds and lost time having to order separately. The lights, tracks, and power feeds cannot be used separately--why not promote and sell them as a set? Everything is working, however and is attractive.
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, color of the parts don't match
+8points
14out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Rhode Island

Just Fine

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
Bought this track as extension to a track-and-3-lights kit bought at the store. We think this finish is very attractive and nicer than black or white. It does not include the track-to-track connector but the kit from the store did so alll was well and the installation was easy.
I was surprised that the instructions said "do not cut" because I was planning to cut these down to 6 feet. That is probably just overly protective because some people might short out or bend the electrical lines if not careful. But I made the 8-foot length work so I could follow the instructions.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Oil-Rubbed Bronze Linear Track Section
Well, it works pretty well. It's brown, 8' long, and it screws into a wall or ceiling. There probably ought to be more screw holes to anchor it a little more firmly. In our case, the track is mounted on its side, on a wall, and there is some vibration due to the flexing of the metal at the screw points. This causes the lights to flicker occasionally when someone walks heavily on the floor above.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: hard to tighten down adequately
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice long single connector

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
Had to replace an old 8ft track light and first bought two 4 foot 'packages' (track and lights) with a connector. But the connector did not work right and sometimes half of the lights would not work. After taking them back and getting a single 8ft track, it has worked perfectly. I have 8 of the brushed metal modern-looking lights on it with a dimmer. They work and look great. If you need more than a 4 ft section, buy this longer one.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Anacortes, WA

Worked well

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Oil-Rubbed Bronze Linear Track Section
We purchased a kit at the HD that included a 36" long track and 3 light fixtures. We needed about 6' track, so I purchased this 8' track. Even though the instructions state NOT to cut the track short, I did this on my motorized miter box with a carbide blade. Cut well and clean.
Instructions are excellent and the light worked the first time on the new track.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does its job well

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
It looks good and was relatively easy to install. The instructions weren't the easiest I've seen. I finally put them aside and just figured it out on my own (Afterwards, I re-read them and they made perfect sense).
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: out of stock for how long?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track
from Appleton, WI

8' Brushed Steel Track

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
Product looks great and works great. It also arrived quickly after ordering. It is only available online, but I'm glad it is because it is just what we were looking for.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>