728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track

Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track

The Hampton Bay Linear 8 ft. Track-Lighting Track features a white finish and an expandable, linear design. There are two end caps included in this track section. All mounting hardware is included.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product34 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(4)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product34 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
Review 1 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Allen, TX

Having Installation Issues? Read This!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I purchased four of the 4-foot Hampton Bay track lighting kits (4-foot track with three lights), along with three 8-foot pieces of linear track and one 4-foot piece of linear track. To connect all of this, I purchased 5 straight connectors and 2 90-degree connectors. This allowed me to create a large U-shaped track in a media room.
At the end of the day, the system looks good, and eventually, I was able to get it working properly. I will also say that you get pretty good bang-for-the-buck out of this system, even considering the manufacturing flaws I'm detailing in this review. However, the build quality of the internal track components is very poor, which can make installation a real problem if you're connecting multiple pieces of track to build your system.
My brother and I are extremely "handy" - we were able to properly install and anchor all of the track in one short evening. However, we were disappointed to find that when we hit the switch to power the system for the first time, only the first leg of our U-shape lit up. No power was flowing to the bottom of the U or its second leg. Subsequent fiddling revealed that each piece of the track worked individually, and the whole second leg worked by itself, but the bottom leg of the U was a no-go, and the system wasn't working together all at the same time.
We double-checked all connections, etc... and spent almost as much time fiddling with everything as we had spent installing it to try to determine the source of the problem. It turned out that the copper conductors inside each track (2 on one side and 1 on the other) are not long enough to go all the way to each end of the track, and most of them are not centered up inside the track pieces. Additionally, the plastic sleeves in which they are housed inside each side of the track can loosen and shift once you push a connecting piece into one end or the other. This sometimes results in some of the copper conductors failing to contact with the connectors you're trying to use to build your system.
I went back to the store and bought replacement track, only to find the same design flaw. Also, if you read some of the other reviews (which I didn't before my purchase), you'll notice the same flaw being mentioned. This really should be addressed by the manufacturer - it wouldn't be hard to fix.
In any case we (finally) found a solution. We reluctantly took each problematic piece of track down and carefully centered each copper piece inside its plastic sleeve. We did this by GENTLY tapping the copper pieces into place with a small screwdriver and hammer. Then we centered each plastic sleeve inside the track and locked these in place by installing a light at each end of the track. The pressure exerted by twisting the lights into position holds the plastic sleeves in place, assuring that the copper is still centered up inside. Next, we gently installed everything again. We did still find that there is an issue getting some of the pieces to properly connect with the 90 degree connectors in particular. Solution: jiggle them. a lot. LOL...but seriously, we were able to jiggle things a bit to get them to work. We also gently tapped the connectors fully in place with a small hammer to ensure the tightest connection possible. Eventually, it worked.
Hope this helps!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Rhode Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mounting is not the best

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Used this with lamps and power feed from a 3 light kit. Two issues: 1) The floating power feed is not set up to go on a box that has the screws aligned with the track direction, an adapter plate was needed to make it work. 2) the mounting is not all that sturdy. There are only 3 mounting holes in the track, and the center one fell right on the electrical box, so only two could be used the hold the track to the ceiling. The ceiling is sloped and the track tends to twist with the weight of the lights. Additional mounting screws and/or a heavier gauge track are needed. It comes with a set of 3 moly anchors and 3 toggle bolts. The moly anchors are not strong enough to support the track with lights on it. The toggle bolts will work, but lose the toggle if you have to take the track back off after putting the bolt up. I ended up using heavier screw type anchors.
Pros: low cost
Cons: mounting options poor
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Campton Hills, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for novices

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product would appear to be a simple plug together installation. However you really need to know what you are doing especially if you are going to connect multiple sections with straight connectors or elbow connectors.
I installed 4 pieces of track, an elbow connector, a "T" connector and a straight connector. It worked fine for a while and then some of the track sections lost power. I worked on the track for several hours before I figure out the problem.
Inside the tracks, the eletrical conductors are mounted in plastic runners that SLIDE inside the steel channel. When you attemp to plug a connetor or elbow in one end, the runners and conductors slide down the channel leaving you with no connection or and intermittent connection. The only way I could get the track to work reliably was to pull the plastic runner with the conductors out the end of the metal channel. Then I properly positioned the runners and conductors on each side of the connector or elbow and then slide the metal channel into place.
I would strongly suggest that the manufacture mount the plastic runners to the metal channel so that this problem would be avoided.
Pros: low cost
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Western Mass
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly designed

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
We spent at least two hours longer than we should have installing and troubleshooting the track. We got it all up in place and tested by putting in one of the track lights. No light. Tried a different bulb and a different light. No light. Tested all of the connections with volt meter, and everything seemed OK. Finally pulled it down from the ceiling, and noticed that when you push the power feed in to the track, the contact blade pushes the internal conducting wire instead of riding up on the wire, making a completed circuit.
After the track is installed and the feed attached, you must go to the opposite end of the track, and push the plastic that the wires are embedded in towards the power feed to complete the circuit.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track

replacement track for a smaller one

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble arrived sooner than expected at the store
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Douglas, Ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Track Lights

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is easy to install and comes with everything you need. The track is decent quality and the fixtures are adjustable (fixtures sold separately). It was what I expected.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from cincinnati, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Linear Track for Track Lighting

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy installation. Love the ability to add pretty much as many lights as I want.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Saukville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Install

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was easy to install and provides quality lighting at a reasonable price
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track

Everyone should have track lighting

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought 2 8" tracks and eight light fixtures for the living room of our apartment, and are extremely happy with the new illumination that now targets the areas that really need it: work stations, dining room table and reading couch. We're happy !
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Kansas City Metro Area
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good product, great price!

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Exactly what I expected. Decent quality at a great price. Shipping was pretty quick. Arrived exactly as expected and described.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look Great easy to install

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to replace one old track lighting with this product. Looks Great much more light.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great custom lighting solution

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought to expand existing track light installation. No problems whatsoever.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from San Diego, CA

track lighting

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy, fast and economical
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8ft Track Light -- Black

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Black Linear Lighting Track
Easy installation. Endcaps included. Pre-drilled for 3 fasteners (included). Color is gloss black. Expandable using other Hampton Bay track light accessories.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Elyria, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this stuff!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Black Linear Lighting Track
The best thing about these tracks is that you can use straight, elbow or "T" connectors to create any size or design you want. Easy to cut down to size and all it takes is 3 screws and its up!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from wa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great, cheap, good looking track. Yes, you can cut it.

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
I loved this track. Used 2 8ft segments. Tons of stores are selling overpriced tracks/rails, but this is simple, reliable and good looking. I got the brushed steel version, and it looks great. They say you can't cut it, but you totally can - just be careful to leave a space at either end so that the end-caps/connectors can be inserted properly. You can achieve this pushing the copper rails out a little bit and cutting them a quarter inch shorter than the housing.
I also love the accessories that you can buy for it (for instance, I powered mine through an outlet, and was really happy that a power cord - to - rail connector was for sale).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track

Looks great, but does not work right

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:8 ft. Oil-Rubbed Bronze Linear Track Section
Just putting up about three track sections and it is next to impossible to get the track energized by the power supply and track connectors. Very tempermental and inconsistent. A few times I was rready to pack it up and send it back.
Pros: Functional, Unique
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, track connectivity issues
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Installation is a nightmare

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:8 ft. Oil-Rubbed Bronze Linear Track Section
The copper power strips do not run the entire length of the track, so even if you do everything correct the lights may not work because the electricity won't make contact (in our case) from a tee connector to a 8 foot strip unless you take back down (and that's frustrating) and manually push the strips into the tee to make contact and hack saw the other end of the track shorter to match the strip length! Last year I used the same tracks and a 90 degree on the kitchen ceiling and the electricity was intermittent, but I did not figure out why until we did the LVRM. The stuff looks good when its finished but this is a major design/manufacture flaw!!!!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from Allen, TX

Having Installation Issues? Read This!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Black Linear Lighting Track
I purchased four of the 4-foot Hampton Bay track lighting kits (4-foot track with three lights), along with three 8-foot pieces of linear track and one 4-foot piece of linear track. To connect all of this, I purchased 5 straight connectors and 2 90-degree connectors. This allowed me to create a large U-shaped track in a media room.
At the end of the day, the system looks good, and eventually, I was able to get it working properly. I will also say that you get pretty good bang-for-the-buck out of this system, even considering the manufacturing flaws I'm detailing in this review. However, the build quality of the internal track components is very poor, which can make installation a real problem if you're connecting multiple pieces of track to build your system.
My brother and I are extremely "handy" - we were able to properly install and anchor all of the track in one short evening. However, we were disappointed to find that when we hit the switch to power the system for the first time, only the first leg of our U-shape lit up. No power was flowing to the bottom of the U or its second leg. Subsequent fiddling revealed that each piece of the track worked individually, and the whole second leg worked by itself, but the bottom leg of the U was a no-go, and the system wasn't working together all at the same time.
We double-checked all connections, etc... and spent almost as much time fiddling with everything as we had spent installing it to try to determine the source of the problem. It turned out that the copper conductors inside each track (2 on one side and 1 on the other) are not long enough to go all the way to each end of the track, and most of them are not centered up inside the track pieces. Additionally, the plastic sleeves in which they are housed inside each side of the track can loosen and shift once you push a connecting piece into one end or the other. This sometimes results in some of the copper conductors failing to contact with the connectors you're trying to use to build your system.
I went back to the store and bought replacement track, only to find the same design flaw. Also, if you read some of the other reviews (which I didn't before my purchase), you'll notice the same flaw being mentioned. This really should be addressed by the manufacturer - it wouldn't be hard to fix.
In any case we (finally) found a solution. We reluctantly took each problematic piece of track down and carefully centered each copper piece inside its plastic sleeve. We did this by GENTLY tapping the copper pieces into place with a small screwdriver and hammer. Then we centered each plastic sleeve inside the track and locked these in place by installing a light at each end of the track. The pressure exerted by twisting the lights into position holds the plastic sleeves in place, assuring that the copper is still centered up inside. Next, we gently installed everything again. We did still find that there is an issue getting some of the pieces to properly connect with the 90 degree connectors in particular. Solution: jiggle them. a lot. LOL...but seriously, we were able to jiggle things a bit to get them to work. We also gently tapped the connectors fully in place with a small hammer to ensure the tightest connection possible. Eventually, it worked.
Hope this helps!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Linear 8 ft. White Lighting Track
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:8 ft. Brushed Steel Linear Track Section
This worked very well in our new kitchen. We've purchased many things from Home Depot recently and we've been very pleased with all of it. They gladly take returns, if needed, but that is only because we purchased the wrong thing.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>