728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-oz. Stripper

18-oz. Stripper

The Klean-Strip 18-oz. Stripper quickly strips multiple layers of paint, polyurethane, epoxy, varnish and shellac from wood, metal and masonry surfaces. The stripper's aerosol spray is excellent for small projects.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-oz. Stripper
Review 1 for 18-oz. Stripper
from KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelievable Stuff!!!!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was out of ideas stripping my motorcycle tank down to bare metal. After sanding for hours and getting NO WHERE I decided to take it to a sand blaster at the cost of a minimum of 50 up to 100.00. On a whim I Googled and found this product, after the great reviews I thought i'd take a chance for 7 bucks. I sprayed this on, and literally right before my eyes it just ate through everything and the paint just fell off like warm butter off a corn cob! This product is amazing, I'm so glad a found it, be careful, I got some on my arm and it burned like crazy until I washed it off, but it is simply amazing at removing paint! I wish I could give it 1000 stars!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, works amazingly fast!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18-oz. Stripper
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Real Deal!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is the real deal, good old fashion hard chemicals! Don't waste your time with that Eco Nonsense!
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18-oz. Stripper
from San Antonio, TX

GREAT FOR ALMOST ANY STRIPPING JOB!

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used Kleen-Strip Aerosol on several of my projects from stripping guitar bodies to years of paint on staircases and cabinetry. Especially with guitar bodies (if you're familiar), many are finished in polyurethane and typically you need to rely on heat to strip these; just spray it on...let it set for a good 20 minutes and use a scraper...works great for me!
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18-oz. Stripper
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing product!

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to strip a dresser: the base layer was a 50-year-old factory-baked finish that came with the dresser and the top layer was spray paint. I was unsure if anything could take off both, but this product did! The first application took off most of it and I saw the bare wood and the second application took off the rest. I was expecting to be suffocated by fumes, but the product has NO SMELL. It is so easy to use, I would recommend it to everyone!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18-oz. Stripper
from Huntsville, AL

Easy to use

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff has got to be the easiest stripper to use. All you do is spray it on and wait ten minutes. Grab your scraper or brush and strip the old stain away. Couldn't be easier or faster.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18-oz. Stripper

Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The spray nozzle clogged up every time I sprayed the product. More trouble than its worth. I would recommend buying the kind you apply with a paint brush instead. The stripper works well once you get it applied.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18-oz. Stripper
from Santa Rosa, CA.

Works as advertised

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stripper works very well. I used it to strip paint off of a metal box, it took about 15 minutes to work, and only needed one coat. A very good product at a very good price.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18-oz. Stripper
from Walker, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

A-Mazing.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am repainting my exterior trim and I stumbled upon this stuff on the website. All the reviews are correct! I sprayed it on and as I was spray the rest of the area it was already bubbling up..I waited 15 minutes and it was totally easy to take off and it was down to the wood and caulk. My only advice is to make sure to spray it on thick. There are a couple areas I didn't do as thick and it didn't come off well. I will use this again for my next project!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18-oz. Stripper
from South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW! Really works like it says.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had previously tried one of the strippers that is more "environmentally friendly" and was disappointed in it. We bought this and it worked like a champ. We waited 10 minutes after spraying it on and then used a plastic putty knife to scrape off the old varnish and stain. We did go back in a couple of areas a second time, but this product was far superior to the other one I tried. Highly recommend - with neoprene gloves to protect your hands.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.