728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Weather Stripping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

The Thermwell Products Co. Inc. Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3-Pack) provides shrink film to insulate 3 standard sized windows to help increase their R-Values up to 90% for energy-saving efficiency.
Overall rating:
3.579 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product26 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product26 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
Review 1 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from Medford,Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

NO MORE DRAFTS!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is NOT a labor intensive project. Actually its very easy if you allow yourself the time to do it right the fist time. In my case the windows took about 30 mins or less and the slider took about an hour. It goes pretty fast once you get the hang of it and you can keep the surfaces warm enough for the tape to stick.
Take your time and the process is easy.
* Remember to wash interior window prior to putting up film. You won't be able to until you take down the film. After reading all the reviews I recommend the following. Do whatever works for you.
1. Clean area where you are placing the tape with rubbing alcohol for best sticking of the tape.
2. Use the hairdryer to dry the area you just cleaned and this also warms the surface so the tape will stick better.
3. Apply tape (take your time)
4. Before removing cover on tape go over with the hairdryer and press it down again . (heat helps tape to stick) (It's cold outside and the windows are cold too.)
5. Apply film per instruction on box. (Take your time)
6. Follow instruction on box to shirk film. This process results in great clarity.
Use that hair dryer to keep the surfaces warm. I noticed the tape sticks better to the window casings and to the film when it is warm. It is really worth taking the extra steps when applying this film.
Then enjoy no more drafts from those windows for the winter. I might do it again to help with my cooling costs in the summer too.
I covered my single pane windows and the slider window where the draft would move the vertical blinds. I notice an immediate difference after doing each window.
I am very satisfied with this product.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

instant difference

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far so good. i just did my most drafty window and it worked great. easy to do also
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from Upstate NY Snow Belt.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A clean surface is the key

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Upstate NY where the winters can be brutal. I have been using this product for several years now with great results. I have found that the key to successful use is that you must make sure the areas around the windows you are planning to cover must be absolutely clean and free of any kind of dirt, dust, grease or grime, including any cleaner residue. I have found rubbing alcohol on paper toweling works the best to do this. You may have to clean around a window twice, depending on it's location (i.e. a kitchen window). Allow a few minutes for the alcohol residue to dry up and the tape sticks very well. The savings I see on my heating bill are way beyond the cost of the product. Well worth the money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: your cat can easily shred it! buy extra.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from charlotte NC

Simple

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not much to it. 3 Sheets of plastic and a roll of double sided tape. installs in a 10 minutes per window (Not including the 10 mins that you need to wait for the tape to set). Immediately noticed temperature improvement near the windows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

I just love this product. Cost saving, easy to install.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, did it myself. Love this product, used it on all of my windows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No problems

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I went with this brand because it was the only one available. I had never tried this type of product before so I did some research before using it. It's important to make sure the area you will be applying tape to is clean and dry! I think some reviewers who had trouble with the tape may have skipped this step. I followed directions online by mixing equal parts water and rubbing alcohol and wiped down my window frames with this and let it dry. The tape was sticky, but not so sticky that I couldn't lift it off to reposition it. I put tape around the entire window and let it set about 10 minutes to make sure it was stuck well. Then I took off the backing, pressed the plastic sheet on the tape - starting from the top middle of the window and stretching to fit. You can lift and adjust the plastic until you're happy with the placement. Then I took the hair dryer and began at the edges, working my way around the window and then inward to the middle to get out all the wrinkles. Don't keep the hair dryer on any one area for too long or you could melt a hole in the plastic, keep moving around until it's tight. That's it! I just recently purchased this product and I've only done 2 windows - a regular size window and a large picture window. The regular window was easier and the edges are much smoother. The picture window would have been easier with 2 people, but I made it work by myself. Overall, this product is pretty clear after it's applied. There are some crease lines in the plastic that just won't come out no matter how much heat I put on it, but it is not that noticeable. I'm hoping that I will notice some difference in our utility bills, but then I'll probably be kicking myself for not doing this much sooner since it was so simple!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from Keller, TX

Drafty windows - No Problem!

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment with old, drafty windows. It gets ridiculous during the winter. Cold air just pours in through these windows. After applying this film which was a snap, no more drafty windows! This kit makes it easy and Home Depot has kits in all sizes to cover all applications. Thanks Home Depot!
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from Los Angeles CA

Works GREAT!!!

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works fantastically!!! The double sided tape didn't stick that well at first then I wiped down the widow frame with ammonia and presto it stuck like... tape...
Keeps my bedroom warm no more plugging in the heater all I need now is a blanket and I am Good!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

Works fine, as long as you clean the window really well

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These work fine, as long as you make sure to clean the window frame very well. Even if it looks clean, you should still wipe it down with a household cleaner. Otherwise the tape doesn't stick well.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

good product

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
trying this out for the 1st time this winter season and so far it's stopped the draft I was getting from the window
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for a day

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and the patio door kit to help with some old windows/doors. The tape took significant time and multiple attempts to adhere properly to the trim surrounding the window. The plastic attached nicely at the start, and the plastic pulled tight when heated (as per the instructions). The next morning, however, the plastic pulled away from many taped areas leaving large gaps and permitting drafts to enter. In the end, this product did not function long. Additionally, repair of the gaps will require replacement of the entire plastic sheet as the plastic is now too short to reach the tape. As with the patio door kit, I feel this was a wasted effort.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

IT WORKS

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clean the window frame well, and install properly and you will notice a difference. I immediately noticed my furnace was running for shorter periods of time after installing just one on my great room window. If you have drafts on your windows, this is your remedy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

It is simple to install

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product works for what is intened to do, provided you have extra duct tape on hand, because the tape they give you doesnt stick to anyting. I also recently learned, after purchasing, that most energy companies will send you out similar products, for FREE
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

would not purchase again

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Double sided tape is not durable/strong enough to stick to even a clean surface. The plastic doesn't prevent the cold from coming in, not sure if it is because it is so thin. I will not purchase this kit again.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

works great!!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this kit to seal my bedroom windows and a short kitchen window-instantly helped to keep rooms warmer. Before sealing I had to turn my heat to 80 degrees to keep rooms warm...now heat can stay around 65 degrees and rooms are comfortable.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from westlake, oh

Worthless

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worthless piece of junk. The double sided tape doesn't stick at all. the plastic doesn't even stick to the tape. just not worth it. wasted the money, time & effort. do not buy...
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from upste,new york
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the adhesive is a piece of garbage.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i really should have listen to the reviews. it is so cold that i just honestly wanted to try just about anything. THE ADHESIVE TO SOOOOO THIN. it does not stick to the surface. And i cleaned my surface very well. TRY TO get a regular adhesive and so the plastic. i spent 25 dollars for a cab to buy this 5$ piece of garbage. AND I AM STILL COLD. the weather is below -25 i am so highly disappointed with this manufacture. LISTEN TO THE CONS OF THIS PRODUCT. (i am not a competitor , i am a college student)
Cons: Not Durable
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)

doesn't stick

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have never before seen plastic and tape that don't even stick to each other. Get the 3-m kit from somewhere else if you can. Duck is OK. Avoid Frost King. It's terrible.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this over some drafty windows I have in my kitchen. I have to agree with some reviewers about the tape that is in the kit not sticking well. I used some clear masking tape instead and it worked very well. I don't feel the drafts anymore so I'm happy. The price is very affordable and I've already noticed that my kitchen feels much warmer.
The masking tape may pull off some paint when I remove these but I'm planning on painting my kitchen this Spring anyway. This may be something to think about if you decide to try this.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for E/O Indoor Window Insulation Kit (3 per Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It saves me money

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Having this product installed on my windows kept the draft out and kept my sunroom about 20% warmer. It should be. National items inches it gets chilly in all parts of the country.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not easily available except on line
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>