728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Point Of Use or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED

20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED

The GE 20-gal. Electricg Point-of-Use Water Heater has a space saving design that's ideal for installations in tight spaces and can supply a quick source of hot water for a single application. The heater includes a 2,000-watt element and a factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve. This point of use heater requires a 120-volt electrical source for installation and can be mounted on a wall. The tank and parts are backed by a 6-year limited warranty and a 1 year in-home service warranty for your convenience.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product12 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Saco
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says it would do.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Install was a breeze especially using steel braided hose for heater to supply and distribution pipes. Did wish the cold water inlet pipe was a little lower so unit could be drained better as it was installed in seasonal camp. Only washed dishes so far but supplied all we needed with a fast ramp up to temperature. Showers are next year!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work perfectly in our camper, believe it

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed a new water heater for our camper, we were glad when our old 6 gallon water heater went out. This gave us a chance to install a larger capacity one and that is what we did. It was easy to install and light enough one person to handle.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Dunedin, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this GE 20 gallon hot water heater in 2006 to make a change from propane gas to electric to rent out my home. Now six years later I never got a call from my tenant with a problem with the hot water heater. It now appears that the tank maybe leaking 6 years later and the tank warranty is for 6 years. I will purchase a second GE 20 gal wtr htr. I wish the tank lasted longer but oh well!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED

Small reliable water heater

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tank is 8 yrs old... just recently replaced the element & thermostat as it was popping the breaker occasionally. No signs of leaking or rusting on the exterior. I'd rank this as a solid 20 gal water heater with reliability. parts are cheap & at home depot!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, warms up quick
Cons: no built-in drain for servicing
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worse worse water heater

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Oh what a pain. I brought this water unit..it went out less than 3month I had to replace the thermostart .
It worked for 2 month.Now I need to replace the whole think. I believe this water heater was a defecttved on.I will never buy a GE again.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: shot live
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED

Electric Heater

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Professional installation required. It does not have a valve to empty tank if repair is needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Alexandria, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product for the price.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, heats up quickly and holds in the heat.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from olive branch, ms 38654

Best one I have bought for My deer Trailer

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Warms quick, easy to install, have never had a problem. I have referred it to about three other hunters. All have bought once from Home Depot since then. I highly recomend this hot water heater to anyone looking to get a quick shower fast. I love this one. Home depot has always got what I need.
+13points
23out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from swetwater ,tx

works like a charm

PostedSeptember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
i have been using this water heater in my guest house
and have had no issues with it. it has not broken
or made any noise. also since its inside the cabinet
i love how it needs now vent stack and really doesnt
get hot which could otherwise damge my cabinets all over i would reccommend this water heater to anyone with limited space and small water needs
+10points
23out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from san gabriel ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

never buy this GE brand agian

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
do not buy this product, and the customer support are not knowledgeable on there own product. so DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from so cal
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worked great for a month only

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installation seemed easy enough but I had a pro do it. Worked great for about a month. After my handy man spent half a day trying to figure out why it stopped working (he thought it might have been an issue with my electrical), we came to the conclusion that the brand new water heater must be broken. Although the warranty says it covers parts and labor, they sent me an new heating element to install. Where's the labor? I had scalding hot water for one day and turned down the thermostat per the instructions. Now the thing is not working again. I'm getting tired of cold showers.
Cons: breaks
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Lady Lake, Florida

Ge mobile electric water heater

PostedJuly 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this item on July 11,09 it was recommended by a friend who also purchased one earlier this year.
The water heater was reasonably priced and has a good warranty, it was easy to install and I did it alone in about 2 hours with normal tools, the heater is in operation and works very well, looks good and was easy to hook up with the instructions, simple electrical connections anyone could do.
I am well pleased and satisfied with this unit, will recommend it to my neighbors.
+5points
46out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excelent customer service

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only complaint I have is that the box is not clearly labled that it requires 2000W service - 2000 is on the box-but not the "W".
Than being said - we got home, opened the box and read - and found this out, problem was the most we could put on the circuit we needed to use was 1700W.
There are signs in the water heater area that said water heaters could not be returned to the store. I called my local customer service and said they could, but i needed to call GE and get a "RA" number.
The first person I spoke with said she couldn't help me, so I asked to speak to a supervisor. After holding for a while i spoke with someone who listened, understood I hadn't attemped to install the water heater, and that to install it would be a electrical safety hazard. She gave me the magic number, and the return desk at my local store was glad to help me out.
The local floor staff in plumbing was also great in helping us get the fittings we needed to put the new tank in out 20 year old RV. Gotta love the "shark bite" fittings!!!
Pros: great help
Cons: make the wattage rating clear on the box
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED

works great

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product is quiet and works great. I am very happy with the tank.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent replacement

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed paying for it online then being able to pick it up in store.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Gal. Electric Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater-DISCONTINUED
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Under the counter was the size I needed

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The product was damaged. The out side shipping box didn't show any damage, but the water heater had two dents and the pressure relief value needed a different one. It appears that the product was packaged after it had been dropped and it should have not been sold. But lucky me, I was the one that got a defective unit! As far as I know, it works just fine, it was installed in a cottage, so haven't actually used it yet.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.