728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns

1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns

Lilly Miller Moss Out for Lawns kills moss in lawns so grass can grow into a thick lush turf. Moss grows on the soil surface in lawns where it competes with the turf, causing the grass to thin out and creating an excessive build-up of thatch. Shaded or poorly drained acidic areas encourage moss growth. Apply Moss Out for Lawns to these areas when the moss is actively growing. Moss Out for Lawns gallons covers 2,000 sq. ft. After applying you will see the moss turning black within hours.
Overall rating:
4.656 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product31 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(23)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product31 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
Review 1 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very quick work!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our yard is very large and very wet and, therefore, very very mossy. Lilly Miller Moss Out and Fertilizer product killed the moss very quickly. Once we raked out the moss and reseeded, the lawn looks 100% better. I've used other products that took almost a week to kill the moss and then had to second coat it to finish the job. With this Lilly Miller Moss Out and Fertilizer, I was able to reseed almost right away.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: unfortunately it doesn't rake itself!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from North Olmsted, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Moss Killer

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One cup for three gallons of water. Use when Grass is dry, turns Moss from Green to Deep Umber Color. Easy to see if you missed any spots. Moss was beginning to infest my entire backyard.
Pros: Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Durham, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Moss Out Works

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is great. Best when applied when the moss is starting to grow and the ground is just a bit damp. Only drawback is the available sprayers can not be adjusted to specifically deliver the recommended application amount. I wish Lilly Miller would reformulate the product so you can use the available sprayers. I got around the problem by purchasing one of Lilly Millers hose attached spray bottles and reusing it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Wasilla AK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The moss killer killed the moss quickly and thoroughly. I used a sprayer to apply.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Alabama

Works as advertised -- moss turns black in MINUTES

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Moss Out works as advertised -- the moss turned black within 10 MINUTES of spraying. I could see it change as I was spraying a nearby area. A week later the treated moss was still black. I have some very thick moss in a shaded area, and thus some of the underlying was a bit green in spots; however, ever there most of it was black, brown, or yellow, and pulled up easily with a hand-held garden fork tool. The instructions encourage one to pull up thick moss ahead of time, but definitely afterwards. I still have plenty of Moss Out left (I bought 5 gallons), so plan to retreat that shady area once I finish pulling out most of the dead thick moss. The only con is the Moss Out bottle with the attached sprayer is not really designed for multiple uses, and started to pop out at the neck after going through several gallons.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
Cons: sprayer bottle a bit fragile
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Warrenton Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The right product for the wrong plants

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is so easy to use, it is like fun to rid yourself of this pesky plants
Pros: Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

professional use..

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a professional licensed applicator here in WA state.. my company services over 100,000 square feet of residential lawns every week.. we choose Lilly Miller Moss-out to kill moss.. it is an exceptional value, and will kill moss on contact with just one application...
While you are at 'the Depot' .. pickup an Ortho 'dial' hose end applicator (..it's red top..clear plastic jar)
and apply your Lilly Miller Moss-out thru this apparatus.. dial in "2 and 1/2 ounces" .. running the 32 oz applicator jar (1qt) you will apply aprox 11 gallons of mixed moss-out material over 1000 sq feet.. the 1 gallon Moss-out will stretch to 4000 sq feet, and your moss will be dead'er than a door nail !! 4000 sq ft of moss killing for under $25 !! that's what I call value !!
Pros: Great Quality, exceptional value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns

Does what it says: KILLS MOSS

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've used Moss Out for lawns (and it's sister, for roofs and pavement) a few times now. It works very well. You can see brown/blackened moss within minutes, BUT let it do it's thing for 5-8 hours. It this point you really have two options...well three. Number three is have your moss grow back. The other two are:
1: RAKE YOUR LAWN with a metal-tined rake. Get a beer or two and sweat it out. You have to do this. if you don't it will grow back because you haven't actually killed all of the moss; only the top layer.
2: RE-APPLY once to twice a year (with a beer or two). Hey...raking out moss is tough, so if you don't have thick spots, you can retreat every spring and fall...
Healthy, thick lawns inhibit competitors, including moss and weeds, but we're not all Hank Hill, so, as far as moss goes, Moss Out does the job!
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Cleveland, OH

Great product

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This year I had moss on lava rocks in my garden due to wet weather and this product killed it in hours.
Pros: Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Chicago, IL

Moss killer that works

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works, it killed the moss. I had to do two applications.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Steele, Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advertised

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product worked as advertised. Started killing the moss on contact, completely killing it in two days. Of course it will come back, but for now it is dead. It's the only thing I have found that will kill it, short of pouring acid on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works as well as any for killing Moss

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I followed the label directions for hose end spraying, and treated my entire yard with my Ortho sprayer. Upon initial contact, the moss turned a blackened color. Withing 2-3 days, most of the moss was black. Unfortunately, some of the "killed" moss is returning, and I will need to make a 2nd application. I did not scrap the moss as directed, so that may have aided the resurgence. I have used this product before, and it is the best you can buy, but there aren't too many products that kill moss. I purchased the gallon size because the hose end quart size only treats about 900 square feet for about 12 bucks...VERY expensive.
Pros: does kill the moss
Cons: repeated applications are necessary, expensive, not always available.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Woodbridge, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost Out, Moss Out

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I applied the product as directed, and it did cause some visible improvement in killing about 60% of the existing moss. I applied a second treatment as directed, and about 90% of the moss is killed. The product works, but it will take multiple treatments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Raleigh, nc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply put Moss Out works well.

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased 10 gallons of it. My yard had bits of moss throughout, and a few places of heavy growth. When moss is found in lawns, it’s an indication that conditions are not favorable for growing grass and the moss is simply filling in the spaces where the grass is not growing well. To get rid of moss, there are several conditions that may be encouraging the moss to grow including: too much shade, acidic soil, poor drainage/wet soils, compacted soil, and low soil fertility. My main problem is acidic soil, so last fall I applied lime to reduce it. I plan on a spring application also. In January, I used my Orthro hose end sprayer at a rate of 3oz per gallon. I spayed every inch of my lawn; 5 gallons worth. After spraying, I saw little black spots (dead moss) throughout my entire yard. As stated by others, the moss is coming back. This past week, I resprayed my entire yard, and still saw little black spots throughout, but not nearly as bad as after the first application. I'm thinking I will need to continue an annual application to insure it stays away.
Pros: works, contains nitrogin so it also greens your lawn
Cons: expensive, will stain cement
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns

Woked well and fast.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used it a little stronger than the prescribed mix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Hanover, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the best moss killer bar none.

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You will be amazed at how well this product works. If you are into instant gratification, use this product. Spray it on moss and in a couple of minutes the moss is BLACK and dead. NO JOKE, dead and black in minutes. I recommend using a pressure sprayer and spot spray. The hose end sprayer works ok, but wastes the product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
MossOut works great! It really does turn the moss black within minutes. Just apply, wait for it to dry out, and rake it out. Using a power rake for an area of any substantial size is a must. I applied lime and overseeded my lawn to fill in the previously moss covered areas, and the grass is filling in nicely.
Pros: works fast
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns

It worked!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I tried the natural way. I tried some other stuff. But only this did the trick. I can finally regrow the grass. I applied it via a regular sprayer I already owned ... guessed a little on the concentration ... applied it to affected areas and could see results the next day. Use a metal rake / hoe to turn the soil. Apply again to ensure you get all the moss.
Pros: Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Otter Valley, VT

Kills moss quickly

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I sprayed this product on my lawn in the early evening and by the next morning the moss was turning black and dying out. Incredibly quick results.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 Gal. Moss Out for Lawns
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than granules

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've previously attempted to use granule based products to remove moss from my lawn in the spring. I applied it and watered the lawn and waited a few days as per the instructions but it never appeared to have any affect on the moss. So I always ended up spending hours and hours raking it out in the end. This year I switched to this liquid based product and found it to work much better. I could see the moss turning brown as I applied it. After that it was really easy to scrape out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>