728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Plant Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns

Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns

Lilly Miller Moss Out for Lawns kills moss in lawns so grass can grow into a thick lush turf. Moss grows on the soil surface in lawns where it competes with the turf, causing the grass to thin out and creating an excessive build-up of thatch. Shaded or poorly drained acidic areas encourage moss growth. Apply Moss Out for Lawns to these areas when the moss is actively growing. Moss Out for Lawns gal. covers 2,000 square feet. After applying you will see the moss turning black within hours.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Review 1 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Lardog
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than granules

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've previously attempted to use granule based products to remove moss from my lawn in the spring. I applied it and watered the lawn and waited a few days as per the instructions but it never appeared to have any affect on the moss. So I always ended up spending hours and hours raking it out in the end. This year I switched to this liquid based product and found it to work much better. I could see the moss turning brown as I applied it. After that it was really easy to scrape out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
WhiteEagle
from Durham, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Moss Out Works

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is great. Best when applied when the moss is starting to grow and the ground is just a bit damp. Only drawback is the available sprayers can not be adjusted to specifically deliver the recommended application amount. I wish Lilly Miller would reformulate the product so you can use the available sprayers. I got around the problem by purchasing one of Lilly Millers hose attached spray bottles and reusing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Gable

Does what it says: KILLS MOSS

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used Moss Out for lawns (and it's sister, for roofs and pavement) a few times now. It works very well. You can see brown/blackened moss within minutes, BUT let it do it's thing for 5-8 hours. It this point you really have two options...well three. Number three is have your moss grow back. The other two are:
1: RAKE YOUR LAWN with a metal-tined rake. Get a beer or two and sweat it out. You have to do this. if you don't it will grow back because you haven't actually killed all of the moss; only the top layer.
2: RE-APPLY once to twice a year (with a beer or two). Hey...raking out moss is tough, so if you don't have thick spots, you can retreat every spring and fall...
Healthy, thick lawns inhibit competitors, including moss and weeds, but we're not all Hank Hill, so, as far as moss goes, Moss Out does the job!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
ojjell
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, easy to use and really works.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used this product before and really love the ease of use using only a garden hose sprayer
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Dave
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works as well as any for killing Moss

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I followed the label directions for hose end spraying, and treated my entire yard with my Ortho sprayer. Upon initial contact, the moss turned a blackened color. Withing 2-3 days, most of the moss was black. Unfortunately, some of the "killed" moss is returning, and I will need to make a 2nd application. I did not scrap the moss as directed, so that may have aided the resurgence. I have used this product before, and it is the best you can buy, but there aren't too many products that kill moss. I purchased the gallon size because the hose end quart size only treats about 900 square feet for about 12 bucks...VERY expensive.
Pros: does kill the moss
Cons: repeated applications are necessary, expensive, not always available.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Dave
from Raleigh, nc
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply put Moss Out works well.

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased 10 gallons of it. My yard had bits of moss throughout, and a few places of heavy growth. When moss is found in lawns, it’s an indication that conditions are not favorable for growing grass and the moss is simply filling in the spaces where the grass is not growing well. To get rid of moss, there are several conditions that may be encouraging the moss to grow including: too much shade, acidic soil, poor drainage/wet soils, compacted soil, and low soil fertility. My main problem is acidic soil, so last fall I applied lime to reduce it. I plan on a spring application also. In January, I used my Orthro hose end sprayer at a rate of 3oz per gallon. I spayed every inch of my lawn; 5 gallons worth. After spraying, I saw little black spots (dead moss) throughout my entire yard. As stated by others, the moss is coming back. This past week, I resprayed my entire yard, and still saw little black spots throughout, but not nearly as bad as after the first application. I'm thinking I will need to continue an annual application to insure it stays away.
Pros: works, contains nitrogin so it also greens your lawn
Cons: expensive, will stain cement
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
gouldhilldog
from Hanover, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the best moss killer bar none.

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You will be amazed at how well this product works. If you are into instant gratification, use this product. Spray it on moss and in a couple of minutes the moss is BLACK and dead. NO JOKE, dead and black in minutes. I recommend using a pressure sprayer and spot spray. The hose end sprayer works ok, but wastes the product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Pastoguy

Great product

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to kill moss that was developing between our brick pavers. Turned it black within 5 hours and did not stain our pavers. Great product for our use.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Fastkars52
from Otter Valley, VT

Kills moss quickly

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I sprayed this product on my lawn in the early evening and by the next morning the moss was turning black and dying out. Incredibly quick results.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Johnofseattle
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've tried all the moss control products out there. This liquid works quickly and effectively. That said you will need to continue application from time to time because, at least in the Northwest moss only slow down, it doesn't die. A hose end sprayer works well and because of the rapid discoloration of the moss you can tell if you missed areas quickly.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Thebird
from Ludington, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Application is as easy as expected, especially for spot application,much prefered over the dry product.

PostedJune 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to mix and apply.
Much prefered to dry prouuct.
Easier to apply for spot applications then dry product.
Results about average, not great.
Will not mix with weed killer for a two for one application. ( clean up is messy)
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Norm
from Sanbornton, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This works

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only product that i have found that really attacks chronic lawn moss
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Shortie
from Silvrdale,Wa. USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used where needed in my lawn maintenance business with excellent results. Product show signs of working within minutes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Bill
from Brentwood, Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. In some lawn areas a reapplication was necessary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Moss Out Fertilizer for Lawns
Angela
from Santa Rosa, CA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Killed Moss on Lawn Fast

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very happy with the results of this product. I used other products that were supposed to kill moss on lawns and they did not work as well as Moss Out for Lawns.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.