728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

The Thermwell Products Co. Inc. Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket fits up to a 60-gal. tank. It is compatible with both gas and electric water heaters. This blanket helps you save energy by reducing your water heater's recovery time.
Overall rating:
3.359 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product36 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(17)
3
(17)
2
(10)
1
(6)
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product36 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
Review 1 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Alabama

Barely Fits around 50 gal water heater

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Package says fits up to most 60 gal water heaters. It barely fit around my 50 gal. I have an electronic Whirlpool water heater and it kept messing up due to the cold so that is why I bought this. It does serve the purpose of covering up the digital display and keeping it warm. It actually did not completely fit around my water heater. There is probably a 2-3 inch gap where I had to tape it to the water heater all the way down for it to stay. If I would have stretched it probably would have fit, but if you compress insulation it decreases its R-value which defeats the purpose.
I also must say that the tape that comes with it works extremely well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, comes with good tape
Cons: makes you itchy. exposed insulation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nasty, Nasty Fiberglass

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the nastiest fiberglass I have ever seen or used. If you buy it, here are things I would highly recommend for the installation.
1. a full Tyvex suit with booties and hood
2. high quality respirator
3. goggles
4. a very good shop vac
The fiberglass is very brittle and my clothes, body and hair were covered with short yellow fibers. The floor around the water heater (yes it fit my 40 gal just fine hence a weak 2 stars) had a ring of yellow fibers just like the pine needles around an old Christmas tree. The fiberglass was "matted" in spots. A highlight, the tape seems to work well but it's only been a day. I hope it insulates but it is scary to work with.
Cons: bad insulation
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is ok but could be better.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed the insulating blanket around a new 40 gal. electric GE water heater and just had enough to reach around the tank. I had no extra material to finish covering the top of the tank.
For the price of the Kit they should include more material.
Tip: For additional insulating value add an 1" block of high density foam under the tank, if an electric water heater.
Pros: looks good, increased insulation of tank
Cons: not enough material included
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Madison, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It is almost a year since I bought the blanket! Hwr, I only recently installed it bcos of the position of my water heater.
I measured around my heater w/a piece of cord, and then placed that length of cord on the open blanket. It seemed as if there the blanket was more than large enough and that there would be an overlap. However, on installing it, I found that it did not go all the way around and if I pulled too hard, the outer plastic covering was tearing.
Anyway, overall, it was easy to install, and I am pleased w/the final outcome. I have used duck tape to 'extend' the blanket so that both sides can be brought together. I did not have any excess to cover the top of the heater.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from York, Pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It did the job

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The water heater insulation blanket was sized bigger than my water heater tank. It just barely fit my tank. I had had to use a lot of tape to keep it together. The tape they gave me was not enough.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Portland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Needed Two

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
It took two of these blankets to adequately cover my 60 gal tank, so I'd recommend that you check the dimensions of your heater rather than depend upon just the capacity to determine if only one blanket will do the job. Otherwise I was able to install the two blankets in just a few minutes without a hitch. I added a bit more metal ducting tape at a couple of key locations, however there was enough tape supplied to do an acceptable job. The tank is warm and cozy, and with the savings on reduced electrical costs, it will probably only take 6 years to recoup the cost of the blankets. Just in time to install a new heater.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: required 2 blankets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Elko, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than the aluminized bubble wrap versions!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Blanket was ample in size and the tape for securing it easy to work with. The instructions could have been a little more explicit. Mine was installed in an area that didn't have much working room on a new water heater. There could have been a suggestion that the blanket be secured to the back of the water heater prior to "stuffing" it into the required area.
Pros: Easy to Install, sturdy vinyl
Cons: insufficient instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

barely fits

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's not tall enough to cover the full height of my standard 40 gal. water tank. However, it's one of the better R-values.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Not Atlanta Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

water heater blanket

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Install was uncomplicated I found the exposed fiberglass part a bit much but easy to deal with. Works ok.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from peterborough,nh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
easy to install however tape that comes with it does not work
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: tape doesn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Green Bay, WI

Does not fit stated sizes and messy

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Horrendous amount of fiberglass "dust". Much more so than any fiberglass insulation I've installed. After installing this my hands and clothing sparkled like they had been sprinkled with glitter. "Tools" needed should include a respirator. Had measured my water heater so I knew what size I was looking for but this certainly won't fit the advertised size...unless "fit" no longer means completely covers. Too soon to tell how much this will save on the heating bills but adding insulation is never a waste in the long run. Might be better off using left over home insulation (with backing) if you have any.
Pros: it's added insulation
Cons: ton of fiberglass dust, could use more tape, advertising is misleading on size of heater it fit
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Fayetteville, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

To small around for 52 Gal Elec water heaters other wise OK

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
To small around for 52 gal electric water heaters.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: to small around
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Dacula GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality product, could not cut with shears, just tore apart
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

Skimpy

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This product, while useful in containing some heat loss, is not as advertised or pictured.
1. There were no tabs to affix top as indicated
2. 48" depth isn't enough- barely the length to thermo box, leaving a good 12-18" to the bottom of unit
3. 75" width is just enough for my 40 gallon heater. A 400 lb. gorilla may be required to wrap a 60 gallon heater.
4. As a previous reviewer suggested, a mask and gloves should be worn when handling fiberglass
5. It should be noted that the blanket must be wrapped UNDER the copper relief tube for best fit
6. The print on the directions is too small and difficult to read.
7. Directions are printed on the shrink wrap bag containing the blanket. Use care in cutting the bag to avoid obscuring the directions.
8. The tape included is cheap and difficult to manage. Suggest use of white duck tape.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Roanoke, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Frost King R10 Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all, anyone with a 22" diameter tank will need 69" circumference (aka length around your water heater) - so check the dimensions of your tank (height and circumference) to ensure you will have enough material to wrap aound and cover the height. Most of these blankets are designed only for a skinny 40 gallon or less tank standing 4 feet tall or less. Otherwise you will be cutting and pasting two blankets. Secondly, you will need heavy duty tape or bungy cords to secure the blanket. I used bungy cords so I could remove it without ripping it up if I need to replace or repair water heater. Last of all, if your water heater is in an unheated garage, attic, or basement that gets below 60 degrees air temperature - you will need an RVALUE of at least 11 (ok) to 15 (ideal) to make a difference in compensating between the 120 water temperature to the 55 or so surrounding air temperature. Another tip - if your water heater is warm to the touch - it does not have enough built-in insulation and should be wrapped to be more efficient. Last of all, pay attention to your water heater's instructions on wrapping. Some water heaters do not recommend being wrapped. And you must be careful not to wrap the elements/controls on either gas or electric water heaters.
Side note: Home Depot offers the denim blanket but it only has an RValue of 6. And it is more expensive per unit measure. They are calling it a green product because it is recycled, but you have to "consume" 2 get the Rvalue you need. The denim one is easier to work with as there are no itchy, dangerous fiberglass fibers when you are working with it.
Cons: poor design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Milton, DE 19968, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doe not fit my 50gal tank. It's way too short in height and wrapping around. It's a mess to even bother removing it to return to the store. The outer side of this insulation has a very thin plastic covering which tears easily. The tape is useless. There is no backing on the inner side, it is just bare Fiberglas itchy mess. Don't waste your money.
Cons: cheaply made, poor construction, too short, too small around, tape useless
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

too small!

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this blanket thinking I would have plenty of wrap for my 40 gallon tank, since it was supposed to wrap a 60 gallon tank. Wrong!! Missed completely encircling my tank by at least 12". What good is partially covering the tank? Word to the wise...be sure and measure your tank before purchase. Completely disgusted with this product because it was a total waste of money and time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

It'll do

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Width & length is barely enough for my 40 gal heater. If you're going to cover even part of the top, you won't be able to cover the entire length as well. Directions say there are tabs on one end to attach the top portion. There were none. Also, should tell the installer to wear gloves and eyewear (fiberglass). MAKE SURE YOU USE THE TAPE INCLUDED IN THE PACKAGE! Duck tape does not hold very well.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Cedar City, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not great

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is exactly as stated in terms of materials and dimensions; however it does not fit as advertised. First off, do not size the jacket by water heater capacity as the instructions suggest. They say this fits up to 60 gallons, but mine is 50 gallons and this thing didn't even come close to fitting. The height is perfect at 72 inches, but the width (length that wraps around) is way too small. It says to wrap it around and mark where it overlaps - it was over a foot short of even coming together. To know if it will fit your heater, measure the height and circumference of your heater, then compare that to the jacket's actual dimensions. I ended up turning mine the wrong way so that the two ends did overlap a bit when wrapped around. This then left about a foot exposed at the bottom. Better than nothing and I can always get an extra strip to wrap around the bottom later. Make sure you cover every bit of skin when installing these. Definitely where a mask and eye protection (preferably goggles) as the adjustment of this will shed a lot of fibers. If I had to do it again I honestly believe it would be easier to buy a couple rolls of insulation and wrap 3-4 around the heater covering it in sections. That may sound like more work but I believe wrapping one small/manageable sheet around at a time and taping it would be easier than dealing with one huge, awkward-to-handle sheet in a very confined space.
Cons: hard to install properly, poor fit
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits perfectly

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 40 gallon tank and had no problem getting it to fit around my tank. I've read that you don't have to have the entire tank covered vertically so I actually trimmed away the bottom and can use the excess for other insulation projects. It was very easy to cut. I installed it myself which was a little tricky trying to hold it in place to get it snug but I managed.
I recommend using eye protection, a mask, gloves and long sleeves. It's hard to use gloves when it comes to taping it down so I took them off and ended up itchy for a bit. I also wish they gave you more tape. I like to tape around the top edges to hold it in place and ended up getting my own to do that part of it.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>