728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

The Thermwell Products Co. Inc. Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket fits up to a 60-gal. tank. It is compatible with both gas and electric water heaters. This blanket helps you save energy by reducing your water heater's recovery time.
Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product29 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(15)
3
(11)
2
(7)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product29 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
Review 1 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Alabama

Barely Fits around 50 gal water heater

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Package says fits up to most 60 gal water heaters. It barely fit around my 50 gal. I have an electronic Whirlpool water heater and it kept messing up due to the cold so that is why I bought this. It does serve the purpose of covering up the digital display and keeping it warm. It actually did not completely fit around my water heater. There is probably a 2-3 inch gap where I had to tape it to the water heater all the way down for it to stay. If I would have stretched it probably would have fit, but if you compress insulation it decreases its R-value which defeats the purpose.
I also must say that the tape that comes with it works extremely well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, comes with good tape
Cons: makes you itchy. exposed insulation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is ok but could be better.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed the insulating blanket around a new 40 gal. electric GE water heater and just had enough to reach around the tank. I had no extra material to finish covering the top of the tank.
For the price of the Kit they should include more material.
Tip: For additional insulating value add an 1" block of high density foam under the tank, if an electric water heater.
Pros: looks good, increased insulation of tank
Cons: not enough material included
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Green Bay, WI

Does not fit stated sizes and messy

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Horrendous amount of fiberglass "dust". Much more so than any fiberglass insulation I've installed. After installing this my hands and clothing sparkled like they had been sprinkled with glitter. "Tools" needed should include a respirator. Had measured my water heater so I knew what size I was looking for but this certainly won't fit the advertised size...unless "fit" no longer means completely covers. Too soon to tell how much this will save on the heating bills but adding insulation is never a waste in the long run. Might be better off using left over home insulation (with backing) if you have any.
Pros: it's added insulation
Cons: ton of fiberglass dust, could use more tape, advertising is misleading on size of heater it fit
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Braselton, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy for one person to install and was done in minutes.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Milton, DE 19968, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This doe not fit my 50gal tank. It's way too short in height and wrapping around. It's a mess to even bother removing it to return to the store. The outer side of this insulation has a very thin plastic covering which tears easily. The tape is useless. There is no backing on the inner side, it is just bare Fiberglas itchy mess. Don't waste your money.
Cons: cheaply made, poor construction, too short, too small around, tape useless
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Cecilia, KY 42724, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for lowering electric bill

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put around water heater in unheated shed attached to the house. Now water stays hot much longer and does not use as much electricity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

Skimpy

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product, while useful in containing some heat loss, is not as advertised or pictured.
1. There were no tabs to affix top as indicated
2. 48" depth isn't enough- barely the length to thermo box, leaving a good 12-18" to the bottom of unit
3. 75" width is just enough for my 40 gallon heater. A 400 lb. gorilla may be required to wrap a 60 gallon heater.
4. As a previous reviewer suggested, a mask and gloves should be worn when handling fiberglass
5. It should be noted that the blanket must be wrapped UNDER the copper relief tube for best fit
6. The print on the directions is too small and difficult to read.
7. Directions are printed on the shrink wrap bag containing the blanket. Use care in cutting the bag to avoid obscuring the directions.
8. The tape included is cheap and difficult to manage. Suggest use of white duck tape.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Cedar City, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not great

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is exactly as stated in terms of materials and dimensions; however it does not fit as advertised. First off, do not size the jacket by water heater capacity as the instructions suggest. They say this fits up to 60 gallons, but mine is 50 gallons and this thing didn't even come close to fitting. The height is perfect at 72 inches, but the width (length that wraps around) is way too small. It says to wrap it around and mark where it overlaps - it was over a foot short of even coming together. To know if it will fit your heater, measure the height and circumference of your heater, then compare that to the jacket's actual dimensions. I ended up turning mine the wrong way so that the two ends did overlap a bit when wrapped around. This then left about a foot exposed at the bottom. Better than nothing and I can always get an extra strip to wrap around the bottom later. Make sure you cover every bit of skin when installing these. Definitely where a mask and eye protection (preferably goggles) as the adjustment of this will shed a lot of fibers. If I had to do it again I honestly believe it would be easier to buy a couple rolls of insulation and wrap 3-4 around the heater covering it in sections. That may sound like more work but I believe wrapping one small/manageable sheet around at a time and taping it would be easier than dealing with one huge, awkward-to-handle sheet in a very confined space.
Cons: hard to install properly, poor fit
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

It'll do

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Width & length is barely enough for my 40 gal heater. If you're going to cover even part of the top, you won't be able to cover the entire length as well. Directions say there are tabs on one end to attach the top portion. There were none. Also, should tell the installer to wear gloves and eyewear (fiberglass). MAKE SURE YOU USE THE TAPE INCLUDED IN THE PACKAGE! Duck tape does not hold very well.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from NJ

nice product

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it is a nice item, decently thick and you definitely get your money worth!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

Fulfills expectations

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product does what it says it will. I they gave you a little more tape it would e easier to keep in place, but outside of that it was simple to install and put together.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

Great Hot Water Blanket!!!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a SUPER blanket. I put it on immediately and what a difference. It keeps the hot water tank hotter for much longer than it did without this blanket. Shipping was free and when you find web sites that are charging $30.00- $90.00 dollars shipping for the same blanket, you can't go wrong. Thank you Home Depot
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Lakeland FL

Needed backing on both sides

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Upon opening the package only one side was covered in plastic. The side facing the heater was the fiberglass side. Maybe it is supposed to be that way, but I got fiberglass on me during installation, Probably needed to wear plastic gloves and a mask. Good idea, never having used or put up fiberglass. A caution should have been on the instructions(?). But good product!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from boston,ma

good insulation tool

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
after install, the boiler run less times, save bill, good tool
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from killeen, texas

money saver

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went to home depot for a hot water heater drain valve and the salesperson was nice enough to let me know how to save even more money by insulating my water heater and recommended this product. It was easy to install and I am so happy to save any kind of money these days. Thank you home depot for the product and caring employees
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Glendale, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water Heater Blanket

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great item Just remember Buy Good Duct Tape to help in the Installation of Blanket take your Time and It will last 10 years
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Well worth the money

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this based upon other reviews. I like long,hot showers and wasn't getting them. Now the water stays hot and I don't have the faucet turned to the hottest setting. The blanket just fit my 40 gallon, so I don't know how it would work for a larger water heater.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Product, pain to install with an oil heater.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If I was putting this thing on an electric heater, it would have received 5 stars, but it was a pain to cut an manipulate around a oil hot water heater. I am also 3/4 idiot so that might have had something o do with it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket

Inexpensive and did the job

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its not pretty, but it made a large difference in keeping the hot water hot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fiberglass Water Heater Insulation Blanket
from Athens, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used on well -- works great

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I actually purchased this for protecting my well and it works great. I am NOT a fan of messing around with insulation fibers but even I didn't worry with how smooth the blanket was and how well it stayed together. Highly recommended.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>