728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket

Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket

The Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket seals on uneven floors or over tile floors with a recessed flange without the use of wax. The gasket fits 3 in. and 4 in. drain pipes (not included). The product can also be reused again and is the perfect alternative to messy wax.
Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product31 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
Review 1 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Countryside IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Design and Engineering

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never had an issue installing this seal from the Toilet Base to the Floor Collar. 3" or 4" works on Cast Iron, copper, PVC.
During construction I could remove the toilet, do floor prep, re install toilet, and return days later to remove the toilet again for ceramic installation, even at a different elevation you can adjust the seal and reinstall the toilet. never having to replace this seal, if it was a wax ring which are only a one time installation. this is where engineering to todays living comes into play. wax ring was a great idea / engineering for its time in the early 1900's now we live in the 2014 and beyond.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, Great Quality
Cons: homedepot some times have none.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Arnold, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'll never use wax seals again!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, worked the FIRST time (I blew out two wax seals prior to this one). NO leaks. Allows for some give without breaking the seal.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from So California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do You Feel Lucky?

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you get lucky and everything works out right,this might work.Didn't work for me.I even phoned the company's help line,to figure out the instructions.Still didn't work for me.I suggest the extra thick wax ring,for half the price,that makes a tight seal,even if your fit isn't perfect.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 23, 2014By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 23, 2014
Hi jrj90620- Thank you for telling us about your experience. I would like to learn more about your experience with our help line and about the issues you had with our product. Please contact the Technical Service Department Supervisor. Fluidmaster’s operating hours are from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 4 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from San Diego

Great for low flange

PostedJanuary 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If your flange is too low for a regular wax ring, this fluidmaster gasket is a great choice. It's also reusable - I had to take a toilet out that I had this gasket on to change flooring and I just popped the gasket back on and set the toilet back in place after the old flooring was removed and new flooring installed. The o-ring ensures a tight fit in the waste pipe so nothing comes back up. Probably the best product on the market for flanges that are too low for a regular wax ring. BTW, I've tried the wax ring with the extension built in - not as good as this product.
One additional benefit to this product is that there is no doubt about whether the gasket if "seated" properly. With the wax ring, you have to press and rock the toilet to ensure it is seated and compressed for a good seal.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best purchase ever

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With the addition of a little silicone, this the best improvement in toilet seals in a 100 years.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Albany, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great item

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this toilet seal on multiple projects. Always provides tight seal and no leaks, no mess, and easy to install. I highly recommend any DIYer or PRO use this product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work in my application

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Concept is appealing but I ran into a couple of problems: 1) the gasket did not fit well onto the horn of my toilet (AS Champion4) - could not press it on all the way, 2) plastic used for the funnel is a bit thin and it cracked, and 3) there was not enough space between the top of the flange and the lower surface of the toilet for the funnel to fit. My flange sits on top of the finished floor so this seal may work better if your flange is lower (e.g., top of flange is flush with the finished floor surface). I ended up using a single unreinforced wax ring and so far it is working well.
Pros: good concept
Cons: may not fit high flange, could be sturdier
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 28, 2014By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 28, 2014
Thank you for writing the post MrJoe and for giving us an opportunity to learn from your experience – we greatly appreciate your feedback and apologize that the Wax Free Gasket did not fit your fit your specific toilet due to an enlarged toilet horn. Since we cannot reach out to you directly, please call our Technical Service Department at 800-631-2011 (hours of operation are from 5:30 AM thru 5:00 PM Monday thru Friday, Pacific) or if you prefer e-mail contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.com.FluidMaster
Response from By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 28, 2014By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 28, 2014
Thank you for writing the post MrJoe and for giving us an opportunity to learn from your experience – we greatly appreciate your feedback and apologize that the Wax Free Gasket did not fit your fit your specific toilet due to an enlarged toilet horn. Since we cannot reach out to you directly, please call our Technical Service Department at 800-631-2011 (hours of operation are from 5:30 AM thru 5:00 PM Monday thru Friday, Pacific) or if you prefer e-mail contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.com.FluidMaster
Review 8 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Albuquerque
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy, quick and clean install a great choose whether you have a 3 or 4 inch pipe. Great results
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, quick install, clean install, a clean replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket

Goodbye wax rings!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used on a toilet replacement and it worked like a charm. I attached it on the bowl outlet (the rubber gasket is snug enough to hold it in place) and then I set the bowl on the closet flange. I had to pull it off once to realign the flange bolts and it went back together without issue. You cannot do that with a wax ring. The closet flange was also slightly recessed due to a tile floor and the original installation used a double wax ring to compensate - resulting in a partial blockage. No issue with this wax free gasket as the neck reaches several inches inside the closet flange. I will definitely use this in any future toilet installation.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Cincinnati
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product, although it looked fairly cheap, worked really well. It was easy to install and I have not had any problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket

The reviews speak for themselves!

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw my toilet was leaking in my basement so I went to by a wax ring. This would be my second one in 6 months. I went to HD to try to find a waxless one and saw this and wasn't sold on it by the looks so I bought a heavy duty wax ring for about the same price. Went home and installed it and the toilet leaked worse than before. The problem I have is the flange is 1/2 inch or so below the tile and the toilet ring is a little high. So I got on here and saw all the good reviews and bought it. 15 minutes later I had a working toilet. If it doesn't work for you then you didn't install it right. I would buy again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Northeast PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great gasket

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A regular wax gasket would not work because the face plate is almost an inch below the floor and set in the concrete floor. I'm glad I discovered this product. It is so worth a few dollars more and I would use it for all toilets. There is no messy wax and easy to set securely in place. If you need you can remove the toilet and reset it with the same reusable gasket and without the mess of wax.
I highly recommend it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket

Excellent Solution for an old problem

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was quick, no mess and i was able to adjust the toilet very easy without the usually mess related to the wax (and the usually scary thinking about the wax loosing the sealing). Also, i was able to take the toilet out several times (impossible using the same wax cartridge).
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, toilet can be adjusted after installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket

Easier and cleaner than wax rings

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using gaskets for year. They are so easy to use, no mess and always get a seal on the first try. The last toilet I had to use it on was tough to get a seal as the plumber who installed the toilet prior did not get a solid seal with the tilted flange. This gasket got it the first try.
Look at instructions to see how to pull off. After they have been on a few years, they are connected to the pipe pretty good. It does come off pretty easy.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Memphis, TN

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great for the home owner! No fooling around with a wax ring and they last forever if left undisturbed!
I'll never try to use a wax ring again. I was sold when I had to replace a toilet and had to throw two wax rings away!
This was a godsend at the time!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reusable product, and easy to install.

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use WAX FREE Bowl gasket is perfect for the do it yourself-er. It seals perfectly every time and can even span gaps near 1/2" if the flange is not level with floor like in tile/backer board situations.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Omaha
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good investment

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tired of wax, I tried one since HD didn't have any of the rubber donuts in stock. Good choice, went on easy. I had to shim slightly as my flange is about 3/4" higher than the floor. Looking forward to replacing my other two toilet seals next time I pick them up after my 4 and 5 year old conspire to flush a flashlight or hotwheels car again. This kit is clean, quick and looks like it will last a long time. Even if I had to replace them every year, I'd still pay!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, clean (no wax of course)
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket

This is the cats pajamas

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Must admit I was a bit unsure until I had it in my hands.
Easy to install, will work on 3 or 4 inch waste lines with little difficulty.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Sylmar, CA

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this product for almost 15 years. I have installed it in my home, my mothers home and in my previous home. This is fool proof. It self aligns and lasts forever. I have only replaced one and that was because I changed toilets and could not adjust it to the new toilet height after being in place for ten years.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wax-Free Toilet Bowl Gasket
from Mesa, AZ

Worked great!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used on an uneven tile floor where I had trouble getting a wax ring to seal. Installation was a snap. Follow the instructions & you can't go wrong. No worries about messing up the seal during installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>