728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk

Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk

DAP Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk is ideal for seasonal weather-stripping of window and door frames, vents, fans and air conditioners. It forms a temporary watertight and weatherproof seal yet peels away easily at the time of removal.
Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
Review 1 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Michigan

New Formula for 2014?

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this product last year (2013), and it saved the day. Hardly a breeze came in my windows where I used it. In Michigan, with all the Polar Vortexes, this was beyond beneficial. I saved quit a bit on my gas bill too.
I just bought more to reseal the windows for this winter/keep bugs out who want to get warm, and noticed two things different, both of which are good.
1) It runs thinner than it did last year, and takes longer to dry, which is good, because it spreads better and fills the gaps better. Last year when I applied it, I had to move quick, or it dried too fast and didn't fill the window gaps right. So, I can work with it better this year.
2) The fumes are noticeably better. Last year I about died breathing this stuff. While it still has some fume issues, it doesn't seem as bad to me - maybe about 50% better.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection
Cons: a little expensive for me
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have been using this product for years and have recommended it to everyone

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this product during the winter months for years with my 27 year old drafty windows. I use it to seal the gap where the sashes lock together and all around the windows where they loosely contact the slide tracks. I then use heat shrink window film over the entire window and frame on the inside. You won't believe the difference between just using the window film alone verses using the film with the caulking! Before I could see the plastic move with the wind. Now, that draft is gone and I barely see the plastic move evenly on those blustery days. Product does smell during cure, but the smell will dissipate after 24 hours. The product fills gaps well - even large ones- with multiple passes with a minute or so cure in between. (You may have to cut the tip back for a thicker bead) also, If you let it set for around 30 seconds you can work it with your fingers without it being too sticky. Product is very thick and flows better thru tips cut to the larger size and flows better in warmer temps. Sticks to anything but Peels off easily in one piece in the spring. Definitely not cheap but worth it in heating oil savings and draft- less comfort.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly, great temporary caulk
Cons: strongly smells until cured
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Milwaukee WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Old Standby for a/c installation

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for both winterizing and a/c installation for years. It is fully removable once fully dried(just peel it) and leaves no residue. A bit solventy early but sets quickly and lives odorlessly in your home. This is truly a temporary caulk and will shrivel and fall off in about a year. I use a tube per year and I love it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Worcester, ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Old product?

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Normally I would give this product five stars. The product came out of the tube like it was all ready half way to dry. Not sure if it's a new formula or maybe my tube was past it's sell by date. The product itself has worked great in years past. I use it to seal all the gaps around my air conditioner. Why HD doesn't put tubes of the product next to the air conditioners is beyond me. I'm sure other people would find the product helpful when installing a window air conditioner. At the end of the season the product just peels off. The stores only carry the product during the winter. Why?
Pros: Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blocks drafts, easy to remove

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised, blocks drafts well, and lasted all winter. Easy to pull out when we wanted to open the windows in spring.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Albany, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST PURCHASE EVER!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I HAVE BEEN USING THE PRODUCT IN MY HOME FOR THE LAST 10-15 YEARS. AND WITH THAT SAID, MY ONE FAMILY HOME IS OVER 100 YEARS OLD, AND IS A THREE-STORY HOME, DRY BASEMENT, ALL BRICK. EVERY YEAR I PEEL IT OFF THE WINDOWS, BESIDES THE BASEMENT WINDOWS. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO A FRIEND!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, seals the drafts

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's a good product. I've used for years. It's easy to apply around the windows. Comes off clean and doesn't harm the woodwork. I've even left on some windows longer than a year and it comes off fine. It will not keep for another season, even if unoponed, so only buy what you will use up. I get about 6 standard size windows out of a tube of caulk. Only 4 stars on value because I would not say it is cheap.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product and great invention. This caulk is very easy to apply, is not messy, and dries clear. It is 100 times better than conventional weatherstrip. The only negative is the strong odor which lingered for a few days.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Sparta,NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of DAP's best products

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seal those leaking windows in the fall and peel it out in the spring. Also works for a temporary adhesive, stick and peel it off later.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Stanford, KY 40484

Works perfectly!

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this and removed it. It works as advertised! Will be buying more soon! I wish it was available online as I am not near a Home Depot anymore.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Upstate NY

Very good

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A little hard to apply, but draft stop is excellent, capable of filling large openings and easy to remove in the spring.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk

Love this stuff

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this stuff when installing my window air conditioners. This stuff is PERFECT for completely sealing around the unit and then peels right off in the fall when it's time to take them out. Stops drafts, rain, and insects from getting inside. LOVE IT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from albert lea mn
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DAP Seal n Peel

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I am very experienced handy man, and this is worse than sliced limburger. If i wanted to weather proof my house with this junk, i would have bouth Elmer's rubber cement glue. This is exactly what this junk is and at least Elme's has a brush for you to apply it with and not your finger. This is my first review ever and i have never been dissapointed with DAP, i use caulk and cement caulk all the time and this is just junk. The funnel tube to apply it with is more flexible than paper and trying to coerce it into a groove around a window is like feeling i owe it $50 bucks and still feel guilty about it....lol.
I would not recommend and suggest all weather/all season caulk from all manufacturers. White/clear caulk will removed wilth a little elbow grease and the right tool. Its alot better than trying this junk.
Cons: mess, childish, wish i woulda
-12points
0out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Seal 'N Peel 10.1-oz. Removable Weatherstrip Caulk
from Wichita, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

aweful

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to apply, and too sticky to adjust. Had to apply mutiple lines to fill cracks. The products has low viscosity to apply in cracks.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Cons: sticky, too think to apply in cracks.
-9points
0out of 9found this review helpful.