728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

The NuTone 70 CFM Exhaust Fan with Light helps manage ventilation in rooms up to 60 sq. ft. The fan uses one 100-watt bulb for bright illumination. The white polymeric grille provides a subtle appearance, and mounting ears offer easy installation. The fan is UL listed for safe use over bathtubs or showers when installed with GFI branch circuit wiring.
Overall rating:
3.694 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product65 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(23)
4
(39)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(10)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product65 of 82reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
Review 1 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from New Boston, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to replace existing Nutone. It fit right in! Didn't have to make any modifications. Update version looks great. Works so much better. Bought the model up for a long run with the vent pipe. It is really taking care of the moisture from showers. I plan to buy another one to replace another. Seems to be a bit more quiet than our old one as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Oakton, va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good item, worth it's price, looks good.

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install, looks good and appears to be working great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

But one

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for our small bathroom actually like the sound of fan and light is bright. Very appropriate for our need and attractive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

The Devil is in the Details

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main assembly has a central stud with a crown nut that reaches down into a hole in the separate reflector-with-bulb and grill/lens assembly. If the main 'box' is not installed at the right height relative to the plane of the ceiling material, that central stud may end up being too long or too short to properly hang the reflector/grill/lens snug with the ceiling. If it protrudes too much through the reflector hole, it will hit the bulb. If it protrudes too little or not at all, the reflector cannot be mounted. The instructions do not explain this critical relationship between the height of the main assembly and the surface of the ceiling. Although they do tell you that the unit must be installed from ABOVE the planned location, they do not explain why. The reason is that the unit must be installed flush with the BOTTOM plane of the ceiling's sheet rock after the cutout has been made. Basically, the installation instructions are too cursory and they neglect important detail. Also, it is disappointing that the package does not include joist hangers, which must be obtained separately if one desires that additional flexibility and security with the placement of the unit.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Dearborn Heights, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good exhaust fan

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this to replace an older model that was in the house when I purchased it. It is the same size as it's predecessor. I can't speak to the installation since I didn't personally install it. The fan itself works very well and is relatively loud, but not loud enough to be a nuisance. I would have liked it to be more quiet, but the models with a higher ratings were too big to fit in the tight space in my bathroom. the only complaint I have is that the light bulb housing area is very constrictive. The specs say that this fan can use a 100w light bulb, but I'm guessing they are talking about incandescent bulbs because neither a 60 watt or 75 watt CFL could fit in the housing. Luckily I was able to buy a 60 watt Cree 4FLOW LED light bulb that is the same size as a normal incandescent bulb. That bulb lights my bathroom like I never would've imagined and saved me from buying a regular bulb. Thanks Home Depot for stocking both the fan and the bulb!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Federal Way, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Little Louder than expected

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just did a bathroom remodel and took out a very old fan that had no light. The sound meter on this fan said "quite", but was louder than what I expected. Also if you are doing a bathroom remodel keep in mind this fan uses a flourescent bulb (not included) which can change the look of your paint. We had selected a color for our bathroom pre florescent light and then when we installed the fan light the colors on our walls looked completely different so we had to repaint with a new color. I just took my first hot shower in the new bathroom and my glass mirrors didnt even fog up. Overall besides the loudness of the fan it's a really great deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

Does what it's intended to do

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install . Works fine , a little loud. Does require maintainence yearly. Fan motor requires a drop of oil on the bearings once a year to avoid squealing. Fuzz build up inside should be cleaned when doing service. Have had mine now for 6 years, still going strong. Easy to pull apart and maintain and clean.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: requires maintainence. it's made in china!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from KS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great.

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I replaced a 25 year old Nutone product with this purchase. The new fan moves a lot more air than the old one and the appearance is nicer. It is a tight fit for the light bulb, but it can be done. Overall I'm very satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

Great

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fit perfectly in housing as replacement for old fan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit right into old NuTone housing

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this baby because its specs matched right up with the 25 year old NuTone fan that had died. Twenty-five years slaving away in the bathroom where everyone showers! All I had to do was swap out the old fan assembly platform for the new one, plug it in, and I was done in five minutes. Yeah, this new baby's noisier than the old one, but it's more powerful. Wedging some plastic wall anchors between the fan assembly platform and the casing eliminated noise due to vibrations.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bad instructions. center post is too long for bulb fit.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Wiring illustrations are very poor. So are directions to power this unit. HB4 hanger bars (needed for ceiling positioning) allow the unit to move after installation to the joists, making noise. Had to fabricate hold downs with metal screws. After that, OK. Had to replace center post with shorter machine screw to allow bulb to fit. Not a bad unit if you don't mind some extra work.
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

Ceiling Fan

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the product. Looks great. I love going to Home Depot, Never had a problem there.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from West Lafayette, IN

Good enough for the price

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this to replace a similar exhaust fan that had failed and the best I can say about it is that it's decent for what you pay for. There's no way its 2.5 sones; it's probably closer to 4. Every now and then for a few minutes it gets REALLY loud, but that might just be something vibrating in the housing. The plastic shield is already showing dark spots from the lightbulb. I would have put a fluorescent one in but they don't fit. I think a bathroom exhaust fan is one of those things you don't think much about and therefore don't spend a lot of time researching it before you buy it. I am probably going to end up buying a nicer one fairly soon.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product....

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item has easy direction for installation.....
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from US

Not a fan of this fan

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model about two years ago, and it is already burned out. At the same tiime I bought a different fan for the other bathroom and it is still going strong. The only reason I bought this fan again was to make the installation easy. I like crawling around in the attic/crawlspace even less than I like this fan. Go ahead and get it, but it's going to be noisy and probably won't last long.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice fan & light combo. Works good.

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The combo bath fan and light works good, was easy to install. Also looks nice in bath.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from California, USA
Age Range:17 or under
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is inferior

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
there is one problem with the fan...... it is extremely noisy and loud.......... given the current technology, this should not be an issue however, it appears that the manufacturer is not concerned with alleviating such annoying disturbance - a rather inferior approach to a fixable problem if you want an honest opinion.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was very easy. The fan and light work great!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Birmingham, Al
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First online purchase

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fit very well. Was a little louder than expected but also was in a very small bathroom. Glad that light can be a 100 watts. Great lighting also..
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: a bit louder than expected. but in small area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am so totally pleased with my new Fan/Light combo. It is quiet, runs smoothly and gives me the option to run the two together or separately. What a great product! It looks very nice installed, not obtrusive in any way. Would highly recommend to any DOI-er!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>