728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

The NuTone 70 CFM Exhaust Fan with Light helps manage ventilation in rooms up to 60 sq. ft. The fan uses one 100-watt bulb for bright illumination. The white polymeric grille provides a subtle appearance, and mounting ears offer easy installation. The fan is UL listed for safe use over bathtubs or showers when installed with GFI branch circuit wiring.
Overall rating:
3.648 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product53 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(31)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product53 of 68reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
Review 1 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from New Boston, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace existing Nutone. It fit right in! Didn't have to make any modifications. Update version looks great. Works so much better. Bought the model up for a long run with the vent pipe. It is really taking care of the moisture from showers. I plan to buy another one to replace another. Seems to be a bit more quiet than our old one as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Federal Way, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Little Louder than expected

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just did a bathroom remodel and took out a very old fan that had no light. The sound meter on this fan said "quite", but was louder than what I expected. Also if you are doing a bathroom remodel keep in mind this fan uses a flourescent bulb (not included) which can change the look of your paint. We had selected a color for our bathroom pre florescent light and then when we installed the fan light the colors on our walls looked completely different so we had to repaint with a new color. I just took my first hot shower in the new bathroom and my glass mirrors didnt even fog up. Overall besides the loudness of the fan it's a really great deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice fan & light combo. Works good.

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The combo bath fan and light works good, was easy to install. Also looks nice in bath.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation was very easy. The fan and light work great!!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Birmingham, Al
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

First online purchase

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fit very well. Was a little louder than expected but also was in a very small bathroom. Glad that light can be a 100 watts. Great lighting also..
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: a bit louder than expected. but in small area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Bethel Park, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bad instructions. center post is too long for bulb fit.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Wiring illustrations are very poor. So are directions to power this unit. HB4 hanger bars (needed for ceiling positioning) allow the unit to move after installation to the joists, making noise. Had to fabricate hold downs with metal screws. After that, OK. Had to replace center post with shorter machine screw to allow bulb to fit. Not a bad unit if you don't mind some extra work.
Pros: Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit right into old NuTone housing

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this baby because its specs matched right up with the 25 year old NuTone fan that had died. Twenty-five years slaving away in the bathroom where everyone showers! All I had to do was swap out the old fan assembly platform for the new one, plug it in, and I was done in five minutes. Yeah, this new baby's noisier than the old one, but it's more powerful. Wedging some plastic wall anchors between the fan assembly platform and the casing eliminated noise due to vibrations.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so totally pleased with my new Fan/Light combo. It is quiet, runs smoothly and gives me the option to run the two together or separately. What a great product! It looks very nice installed, not obtrusive in any way. Would highly recommend to any DOI-er!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from St Louis, Mo.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product for the price

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose this item because for the price it was the best looking of the items I was choosing from. I am very pleased with this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from West Lafayette, IN

Good enough for the price

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this to replace a similar exhaust fan that had failed and the best I can say about it is that it's decent for what you pay for. There's no way its 2.5 sones; it's probably closer to 4. Every now and then for a few minutes it gets REALLY loud, but that might just be something vibrating in the housing. The plastic shield is already showing dark spots from the lightbulb. I would have put a fluorescent one in but they don't fit. I think a bathroom exhaust fan is one of those things you don't think much about and therefore don't spend a lot of time researching it before you buy it. I am probably going to end up buying a nicer one fairly soon.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Sturgeon Bay
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good fan for bathroom

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Put fan/light in a basement bathroom. Does a good job
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Altoona, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the money

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to install and wire into the existing harness, lens went on after a little refiguring the directions, they were a bit obscure on how to assemble
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions a bit confusing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from US

Not a fan of this fan

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model about two years ago, and it is already burned out. At the same tiime I bought a different fan for the other bathroom and it is still going strong. The only reason I bought this fan again was to make the installation easy. I like crawling around in the attic/crawlspace even less than I like this fan. Go ahead and get it, but it's going to be noisy and probably won't last long.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have now purchased 2 of these ($69 in the store when we bought) and both have quit working properly within a few months of installing. The first lasted about 4 months and the second only 2. The fan gets noisy and doesn't pull any air and vibrates the ceiling. Home Depot would not cover the cost of the first one outside of 90 days. On another note it does not come with a light bulb and it is very difficult to find and cost over $10. Save the hassle and buy something better because this product will surely disappoint you.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, very noisy, doesnt last, doesnt work properly
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease to install

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks very good, works well good suction, light has a great ilumination.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Plano texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Missing instructions

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The main issue is that the box indicates there are installation instructions enclosed but when I opened the box there were no instructions nor warranty information. By chance I was able to find them on the Home depot website for this product. If I did not have a computer I would not had instructions to complete the job and would have had to return to the store for the information,
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from California, USA
Age Range:17 or under
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is inferior

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
there is one problem with the fan...... it is extremely noisy and loud.......... given the current technology, this should not be an issue however, it appears that the manufacturer is not concerned with alleviating such annoying disturbance - a rather inferior approach to a fixable problem if you want an honest opinion.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb

Solid and simple

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nothing fancy, but light is good as is the pull from the fan.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
from Pittsburgh, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well after:

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit was very loud and had a vibration issue and loud rattle after using for about a month. Turned out the round metal air flow director was loose and touching the fan. I secured it and now it's running very smoothly. Not real quiet but not real loud either. Does a excellent job of clearing the air. Unit is now $10 less than when I bought it.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 70 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan with Light, White Grille and Bulb
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The center mounting post screw is too long too allow a light bulb.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
House isn't finished yet so can't comment on performance/noise. The center post screw is too long to allow a light bulb and there is no reason for it being this long - a definite design flaw. The two nuts for adjusting don't work well. I cussed and sweated quite a bit installing two of these and would recommend the more expensive model with a night light - we installed 3 of these in the main bathrooms and used these two smaller ones for powder rooms.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>