728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump

1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump

The Flotec 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump has a heavy-duty 115-volt motor and fiberglass-reinforced thermoplastic pump housing that helps resist corrosion. This jet pump features a pre-wired pressure switch, and itself primes after the housing is initially filled with water. The pump comes ready to install and is designed for wells with pumping levels of 25 ft. or less.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product11 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product11 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Sumner Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Never Again!!

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed in my detached garage workshop 1 1/2 years ago, no lawn watering, no car washing, no showers, no dishwasher or dishes, no toilet, just a slop sink to wash hands, 18 months, FAILED!!!
JUNK!!! Spend the money and get a quality one.
Cons: failed in 18 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement Pump - Less than one year

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thankfully, the pump was still under warranty and we were able to exchange it at no cost.
Cons: broke in less than a year
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Old Forge NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good buy

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pump and associated 19 gal tank replaced a 20 year old Gould system with worn impeller. I search Gould vs others and found that the heart of the Flotec pump (motor) was the same highly respected AO Smith motor assembled in USA as in the Gould unit. Fiberglass pump housing immediately improved water taste by removing very rusty and somewhat clogged cast iron unit and associated fittings. If impeller wears it is an easy replace, where the cast iron Gould was totally frozen and could not be disassembled without damage. Pump adequately marked not to over tighten fittings as you do with cast iron, so switch to PVC connections to avoid any risk here. I don't have much sympathy for people who ignore this warning. Delivers water at volume and pressure just as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Western New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says on the box

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this pump when previous one failed. A few things to remember:
1. The ports sizes might not be the same as your previous pump so you will need an appropriately sized adapter for your system
2. You may want to replace your existing check valve.
3. It's unlikely that your existing plumbing will fit exactly so don't forget any other fittings you might need.
4. Note there is no gauge, so you will need some other method for verifying the output pressure for setting your cut-off pressures with your pressure tank....or install a tee at the output and install a gauge <---Good idea!
5. While it's listed as self-priming, it really does require priming to get it running. Priming the pump requires that you fill the inlet side of the pump as well as filling the out port. You may want to put a tee between the check valve and the inlet of the pump with a plug in it so you can fill the inlet end easily, should you ever need to (i.e. after winterizing etc.) <--- Another good idea.
6. When you are installing anything directly to this pump, ensure that you use a good quality pipe sealant paste, not teflon tape....it just makes life easier and prevents leaks.
7. The threads are all cut into the plastic, so do not over tighten the fittings otherwise you will strip out the threads. <--- Not a good idea.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Sagle, Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

GARBAGE! 2 pumps in 9 mos dead

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In 9 mos we have went through 2 of these pumps. One we were able to return it was less then 90 days. Now the next one failed about 6 months later. Do not buy this pump you will only regret it. If I could rate it lower then 1 I would.
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to work fine, pressure is good. I don't quite understand why this model doesn't have a 220v option but 110 works fine.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk junk junk

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a contractor replace our old well pump with this one and I got 7 months out of it before the motor seized. Replaced that pump with a new one and after 6 weeks the pump would turn on and then shut right off. The well pump is located under my house in the crawl space. It's dry and not that cold under there. I'm an electrician and I ran a fresh 20 amp line over just for the pump. Anyways I returned that pump to HD and the girl I had was great. She returned the pump no questions asked. She had told me that they get a lot of a Flotec returns especially on sump pumps. I got another 4012 pump installed it January 25 2014 and yesterday February 04 2014 I have no water and the pump constantly runs. 3 pumps in less than a year. I will never buy this brand again.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: very poor quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump

great product for the price

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have had this pump for three years now and have not had any problems. i replaced the old 3/4 horse pump and was surprised how strong the water pressure is with this flotec. its very quiet and comes ready to install right out of the box.
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from nashua nh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

life less than a year

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Second Flotec 1/2 hp shallow well pump in two years. this one failed in 11 months. I had a Goulds that lasted 18 years with a family of 6. A star that lasted 10, and now with only two in the house, the flotecs last less than a year. worse part is I have a colonoscopy on Wednesday and need to flush my system out tomorrow and no water......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what it says it is

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
While it is labeled a model FP4012 it is not the model FP4012 that came on the pump/tank combo I bought a few years ago. I went with this model because I wanted something that would go in quick and easy, instead of opting for a compatible model for $71 less. When I got it home I found out that the specs on this one were not the same as on the FP4012 that I took off my pump/tank combo that I purchased at this store a few years earlier. I was even assured by an associate that this would fit with no additional fittings, just thread tape. When I got the pump attached to the tank I realized that the output was 1/4" larger on the new one than on the original and that the new one sits up about 2" higher. This means my pipes do not fit.
Cons: specs changed, hard to install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from DE
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

cheap/not good

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been through two of these, they seem to burn out/stop working after a year and a half. I figured I would give them the benifit of the doubt after the first pump burned out, then like clockwork the second one stopped pumping two years and one month after installing it. They are easy to install just like any other pump, cheap junk doesnt last. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME and MONEY. spend a little more and buy something that will last!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump

Junk

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
6 months from purchase and the new pump quit working. Opened the back cover to find bits of shattered plastic that would normally hold the electrical connections. Very poor quality product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Michigan, USA

This product is easy to install

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pump is very easy to install and has great pressure. Being plastic makes it lighter too.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump

Great customer service

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to install the pump in a non-standard way so I contacted Flotec customer service for advice. I got a prompt and very helpful reply. The pump has been working without problems so far.
I also adjusted the pressure switch from 30/50 to 40/60 psi, the instructions were easy to follow.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Replaced a pump in Kind - this one had more power.

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The delivery was quick. The pump was a "like kind" purchase but the dimensions had changed due to the polymer pump housing. (Longer and taller) This made installation a little tricky. Made you need to buy the tank with the pump. None the less a few elbows and couplings later all was good. The pump is quieter and delivers more volume than expected.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Yucca Valley ca

Good pump for price

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did not have a how to on the pressure switch. it comes preset to 30/50. I figured it out and have it set to 40/60psi. works great!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Folkston, Ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
have plenty of water pressure and volumn for use in home
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Sudlersville, MD 21668, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

PumpProblems

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this pump in july and its now Jan. and the motor keeps triping out on thermal protection. The pump is not used much just 2 of us and not home all that much. I cant return it to the store because its more than 90 days and they cant find record of it. Could send it to flow tech and pay all shipping for them to tell me its not covered and be with out water for a few days or weeks by that time i could buy a new pump. They get you one way I guess. You get what you pay for thats why its cheaper than others
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great economy pump

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this pump for a well I drilled with my own home-made rig. The 1-1/4" well screen starts at about 29 feet down and is about 4 feet long. The water level is at about 19 feet below the ground so I went with this shallow well pump.
It works great! It has no problem pressurizing the system I have set up with a pressurized diaphragm tank. Output volume is about 4 gpm with the water level at 19 feet. I expect it would improve if the water level were higher. And I'm not sure if the screen being almost 30 feet down effects it as well, but I'm happy with it. It runs about 6 hours per day (3 in the AM and 3 in the evening) to feed a large storage tank to irrigate my lawn and landscaping. It is a bit loud. Louder than the 1-1/2 hp sprinkler pump I have set up to feed the sprinklers. But for the money it is just what I needed.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Shallow-Well Jet Pump
from Lakeville, Pa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Pump

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This pump is used for irrigation, lifting approx 15 feet. It works great. Not designed for repeated on/off operation, but I use it that way any how. I'm very happy with it, and would buy another.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>