728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Parts & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Radon Gas Test Kit

Radon Gas Test Kit

Radon Gas is the #1 cause of Lung Cancer to Non-Smokers. The PRO-LAB Professional Laboratories Radon Gas Test Kit makes it easy to test for odorless, colorless radon gas in your home, school or office. Comes with 2 detectors that meet EPA and state requirements for Real Estate testing.
Overall rating:
2.156 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product10 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(21)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product10 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for Radon Gas Test Kit
Review 1 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Lancaster PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Zero results, No communication

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We followed the instructions included in the package & sent the canisters to Pro Lab. It arrived because our check for $30 was promptly cashed. Left numerous phone messages and sent an e-mail. We never received a return call or e-mail. Nor did we receive any results. In a second attempt my wife sent the canisters into Pro Lab. We received results with a notice that the test was invalid because the instructions were not followed. We checked the instructions which we had kept. Indeed we did follow the instructions on the package. Again we could not get a response from the company.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Radon Gas Test Kit

Never received test results

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's been 6 weeks since I sent my test samples and I still have not received the analysis or results. I decided to pay a local inspector instead and it was well worth the higher price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Parker, Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

$30 fee without lab results - stay away from this product

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have you ever had one of those experiences when you read the review and based on the aged date of the review you think it surely must be better now? Well, I did that and now I'm here writing my first review. What seemed too good to be true was.
I purchased the product fully aware that I would have to pay a $30 processing fee. As instructed I sent the test kit to the address on the package on April 10. I spent the next two weeks eagerly awaiting the test results.
Similar to other complaints on the website, I received an email from the lab on April 24. The email says "The test vials were received too long after exposure and cannot be analyzed. The vials must be received by us within 10 days after exposure. Replacement vials will be mailed to you so you can repeat the test."
I realize the post office has some issues but let's be honest here, two weeks to get to Weston, FL? I truly suspect their receiving department is understaffed or overwhelmed and did not process the kit in a timely manner. I'm just speculating but it really is suspicious to me.
The kicker is that even after they say they could not analyze the result, they cashed the $30 check anyway. It's frustrating because it is obvious from the card you fill out that the ten day time frame had passed but they still cashed the check!
Pros: none
Cons: the company
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Whitby, Ontario

Victim of Fraud

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like so many of the other reviewers, I purchased this kit and sent in the cannisters. That was over 6 months ago.
They most certainly cashed my cheque... but lab results? Nope. Can't get a hold of anyone and emails have not been responded to.
Like many others, I figured this product would AT LEAST respond with some kind of lab results... but they didn't even bother with that. How does this company have a branch in Canada at all...? how do they get away with what is essentially fraud?
Cons: company cashes cheque no results
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still no test results

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the test back in December 2013 for $10, followed all the directions, sent it in with a $30 check that was cashed on December 31, 2013. I have called twice and been on hold for more than 15 minutes each time, then it goes to a voice mail where they ask for your name and number and do not call you back.
It has been over two months and I am worried I will not get the results from the test.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from PA

do not buy this produc

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
send to the lab, after two more weeks still no word. Don't buy it. Save your time and money.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from denver, co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worthless

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
twice found 4 day periods (we'd be out of house, so no disturbances) during which to do test-- sent in test vials in pre-paid, first class envelopes provided by pro-lab. both times, they claimed they didn't receive envelope within 10 days, so vials not usable. two first-class envelopes didn't make it from Colorado to Florida in 10 days or less? nonsense
no wonder web is full of customer complaints about pro-lab
Cons: waste of time and money
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Bay City, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pro-Lab took my money, but did not deliver results.

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pro-Lab took my money and failed to provide evidence of results. I will never do business with Pro-Lab again.
Cons: service failure
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Radon Gas Test Kit

No Results Yet & It's Been A Month

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Extremely disappointing. Test kit was mailed over 4 weeks ago, they deposited my $30 Lab analysis check and still no results. Customer service doesn't return your calls either. Radon Central Inc is a much better alternative. Received my results a few days after they were mailed.
Cons: bad service
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another "Don't buy this kit".

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I see the review below and the exact same thing happened to me around the same time. However, they actually charged me for the analysis, even though they stated that the samples were too old. Same thing regarding post office. 21 days about. They sent me a pre-paid kit which did arrive with the package damaged and no test containers. I emailed customer service again and requested a refund of the analysis fee. It was ignored until I called in person. We will see if I get a refund. It has already been a two month process that now I have to work to get my money back for a test that was never analyzed. Plus, let's not forget the original cost of the test.
I assume that something is a miss if the review below is the exact same as mine.
Customer service didn't care and now I will no longer use ANY of their tests.
HD, consider not using this product. Maybe you would like to refund me the test kit cost!!!??
Cons: total fail, bad customer service
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Morrison, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy This

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product over two months ago and have had many issues with getting the radon concentration results. For instance, after purchasing the kit, I intentionally waited to start the test so it would end on a Monday and not Saturday. Once the test was over, I packaged up the bottles and drove to the post office Monday morning. I received a response from PRO-LABS promptly 21 days later saying that the samples could not be analyzed because it was past the max time after closing the sample bottles. I do not believe that the post office takes 21 days to deliver an envelope. I contacted the company for the $30 dollar lab fee refund and received an email stating that replacement that replacement bottles and a voucher for a free lab analysis would come in the mail. In the initial email, I stated that I only wanted a refund.
Another two week later, the package from PRO-LABS arrived. When I opened the package, the replacement form and envelope where inside BUT NOT THE REPLACEMENT BOTTLES! I have called the company every four days for the last month and they have given me the run around. I am out the thirty dollars for the lab fee, the 10 dollars for the initial cost of the kit, and still do not know what the radon level in in my basement.
I strongly recommend buying the radon safety siren pro series 3 online for $130. This arrived the next day and takes two days to get a reading. I have it in my basement right now; I will know the radon concentration in a few hours.
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, you will not get your money back
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Hillsborough, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't understand all the problems people had.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this test kit for a retest. My first test came back in a timely manner, within a week of sending it in, both by email and snail mail. Also the accuracy of the test result was acceptable. I had a professional test that cost me a couple of hundred dollars done at the same time. I believe his was placed way to close (within a few inches) of the basement ceiling. In spite of that, our results were quite close. Mine came back at 7.7, his at 9.7. We installed a radon remediation system and have used this kit again for my retest. I just sent it back today via Fedex so I'm expecting my results to be available by next Wednesday, and I'm hoping for even sooner. All in all, I'm satisfied. And I think having to have a costly system for the levels that have been set by the government is stupid. But we gotta do it.
Pros: Easy to Use
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Service

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very slow!!!
Passed the 12 days that they require for testing the samples and they asked for an additional 10$ for re-testing and this almost 2 months later. Meanwhile cashed the 30$ check without providing any service !!!!
Now I hope to get my money back.....
Very disappointed....
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Radon Gas Test Kit

Expensive, long testing period (4 days), long turn around time for results

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this product for a real estate transaction without realizing that the company is closed on the weekends. The radon test takes a full 4 days (96 hours), other similarly priced tests only take 2 days (48 hours). The lab fee is not included, which is an additional $30 on top of the kit price. Other kits include the lab fee with the purchase of the kit. We mailed our test in on a Thursday, but since the company shuts down on the weekends, we didn't receive the results until the following Thursday, or 11 days later. Unfortunately for us, this was several days past the deadline for our real estate transaction.
+19points
25out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Forest Hill, MD

Fast results when you pay for them

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are in the process of purchasing a home and didn't want to pay the $150+ it would cost for our home inspector to do this test. We needed the results quickly, so we did pay the $15 rush fee on top of the $30 lab fee and had it sent by 2 day shipping. We dropped the test on a Thursday, picked it up on Sunday, sent it on Monday, and had the results through email by Thursday. The results were quick and easy to understand, and they included a link with information about radon. The additional lab fees and shipping costs are a bit of a hassle, but we still come in at well under $150, so I can't complain too much. And if you don't need the results quickly, the standard method with the fee of only $30 and prepaid mailing materials included gets you the results cheaper and within a week of being received.
+29points
34out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Radon Gas Test Kit

Expensive $30 Test Fee

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately I purchased this with help at the check out without fully reading the package. The lab fee is very expensive at $30. This kit cost $10, for $3 more you can buy a First Alert Radon Test Kit with no fee - that's what I am going to do.
+42points
49out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Massachus
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Bad Experience

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same experience as another reviewer. I mailed the test in the provided envelope as soon as it was completed. After my check was cashed, I received a letter saying it was received too late and asking for another $10. I will also request my $30 back as well as the original cost from Home Depot.
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Radon Gas Test Kit

Inaccurate results

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this test in July because I'm selling my house. The test results came back as 3.1 pCi/L so I thought I was under the 4.0 threshold. Now in September I have a buyer for my house and their home inspector did a test and he got 5.3 pCi/L on the EPA approved test he used. So basically, I wasted my time and money with this test.
Pros: inaccurate results
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Radon Gas Test Kit
from Denver, CO

Do not wast your money

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a similar experience as other reviewers. I ran the test as instructed, drove the package to the post office and received a letter stating it was received too late to test and a new kit would be sent. The envelope arrived some time later, torn open, tubes missing. I spent the next 3 months trying to get a refund of the $30 test fee. After asking to speak to a manager, I managed to get a refund. Even with this, it took a month to get a check. Don't waste your time or money on this product. The company clearly has issues. Use a local radon testing company.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Radon Gas Test Kit

All Went Fine

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Lots of negative experiences noted here but ours went just fine. Mailed the vials off on a Thursday afternoon, got an email on Monday confirming they'd arrived, then an email with the test results the next day.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>