728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Parts & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Radon Gas Test Kit

Radon Gas Test Kit

Radon Gas is the #1 cause of Lung Cancer to Non-Smokers. The PRO-LAB Professional Laboratories Radon Gas Test Kit makes it easy to test for odorless, colorless radon gas in your home, school or office. Comes with 2 detectors that meet EPA and state requirements for Real Estate testing.
Overall rating:
2.348 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
35%of customersrecommend this product8 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
35%of customersrecommend this product8 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for Radon Gas Test Kit
Review 1 for Radon Gas Test Kit
FrontierPhotos

No Results Yet & It's Been A Month

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Extremely disappointing. Test kit was mailed over 4 weeks ago, they deposited my $30 Lab analysis check and still no results. Customer service doesn't return your calls either. Radon Central Inc is a much better alternative. Received my results a few days after they were mailed.
Cons: bad service
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Radon Gas Test Kit
wtmcastlerock
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another "Don't buy this kit".

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I see the review below and the exact same thing happened to me around the same time. However, they actually charged me for the analysis, even though they stated that the samples were too old. Same thing regarding post office. 21 days about. They sent me a pre-paid kit which did arrive with the package damaged and no test containers. I emailed customer service again and requested a refund of the analysis fee. It was ignored until I called in person. We will see if I get a refund. It has already been a two month process that now I have to work to get my money back for a test that was never analyzed. Plus, let's not forget the original cost of the test.
I assume that something is a miss if the review below is the exact same as mine.
Customer service didn't care and now I will no longer use ANY of their tests.
HD, consider not using this product. Maybe you would like to refund me the test kit cost!!!??
Cons: total fail, bad customer service
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Radon Gas Test Kit
NYGuy

Inaccurate results

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this test in July because I'm selling my house. The test results came back as 3.1 pCi/L so I thought I was under the 4.0 threshold. Now in September I have a buyer for my house and their home inspector did a test and he got 5.3 pCi/L on the EPA approved test he used. So basically, I wasted my time and money with this test.
Pros: inaccurate results
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Drew
from Morrison, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy This

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product over two months ago and have had many issues with getting the radon concentration results. For instance, after purchasing the kit, I intentionally waited to start the test so it would end on a Monday and not Saturday. Once the test was over, I packaged up the bottles and drove to the post office Monday morning. I received a response from PRO-LABS promptly 21 days later saying that the samples could not be analyzed because it was past the max time after closing the sample bottles. I do not believe that the post office takes 21 days to deliver an envelope. I contacted the company for the $30 dollar lab fee refund and received an email stating that replacement that replacement bottles and a voucher for a free lab analysis would come in the mail. In the initial email, I stated that I only wanted a refund.
Another two week later, the package from PRO-LABS arrived. When I opened the package, the replacement form and envelope where inside BUT NOT THE REPLACEMENT BOTTLES! I have called the company every four days for the last month and they have given me the run around. I am out the thirty dollars for the lab fee, the 10 dollars for the initial cost of the kit, and still do not know what the radon level in in my basement.
I strongly recommend buying the radon safety siren pro series 3 online for $130. This arrived the next day and takes two days to get a reading. I have it in my basement right now; I will know the radon concentration in a few hours.
Pros: none
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, you will not get your money back
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Radon Gas Test Kit
HandyGrammy
from Pittsfield, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Purchase price is just the beginning

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Sure the test cost is reasonable at Home Depot, but to get the test results you must mail the vials out and pay an additional cost. This info should be on outside of the packaging and not on the inside with the instructions. In my area, this is the only option other than hiring a professional at 10 times the cost.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no alternative
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Kboryer
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Still no test results

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the test back in December 2013 for $10, followed all the directions, sent it in with a $30 check that was cashed on December 31, 2013. I have called twice and been on hold for more than 15 minutes each time, then it goes to a voice mail where they ask for your name and number and do not call you back.
It has been over two months and I am worried I will not get the results from the test.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Algebrina
from Forest Hill, MD

Fast results when you pay for them

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are in the process of purchasing a home and didn't want to pay the $150+ it would cost for our home inspector to do this test. We needed the results quickly, so we did pay the $15 rush fee on top of the $30 lab fee and had it sent by 2 day shipping. We dropped the test on a Thursday, picked it up on Sunday, sent it on Monday, and had the results through email by Thursday. The results were quick and easy to understand, and they included a link with information about radon. The additional lab fees and shipping costs are a bit of a hassle, but we still come in at well under $150, so I can't complain too much. And if you don't need the results quickly, the standard method with the fee of only $30 and prepaid mailing materials included gets you the results cheaper and within a week of being received.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Radon Gas Test Kit
cgpa
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Service

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very slow!!!
Passed the 12 days that they require for testing the samples and they asked for an additional 10$ for re-testing and this almost 2 months later. Meanwhile cashed the 30$ check without providing any service !!!!
Now I hope to get my money back.....
Very disappointed....
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Charles

Expensive $30 Test Fee

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately I purchased this with help at the check out without fully reading the package. The lab fee is very expensive at $30. This kit cost $10, for $3 more you can buy a First Alert Radon Test Kit with no fee - that's what I am going to do.
+43points
49out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Laura

Expensive, long testing period (4 days), long turn around time for results

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this product for a real estate transaction without realizing that the company is closed on the weekends. The radon test takes a full 4 days (96 hours), other similarly priced tests only take 2 days (48 hours). The lab fee is not included, which is an additional $30 on top of the kit price. Other kits include the lab fee with the purchase of the kit. We mailed our test in on a Thursday, but since the company shuts down on the weekends, we didn't receive the results until the following Thursday, or 11 days later. Unfortunately for us, this was several days past the deadline for our real estate transaction.
+19points
25out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Chuck
from denver, co
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worthless

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
twice found 4 day periods (we'd be out of house, so no disturbances) during which to do test-- sent in test vials in pre-paid, first class envelopes provided by pro-lab. both times, they claimed they didn't receive envelope within 10 days, so vials not usable. two first-class envelopes didn't make it from Colorado to Florida in 10 days or less? nonsense
no wonder web is full of customer complaints about pro-lab
Cons: waste of time and money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Radon Gas Test Kit
ALW23
from Massachus
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Bad Experience

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the same experience as another reviewer. I mailed the test in the provided envelope as soon as it was completed. After my check was cashed, I received a letter saying it was received too late and asking for another $10. I will also request my $30 back as well as the original cost from Home Depot.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Radon Gas Test Kit
MRLCO
from Denver, CO

Do not wast your money

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a similar experience as other reviewers. I ran the test as instructed, drove the package to the post office and received a letter stating it was received too late to test and a new kit would be sent. The envelope arrived some time later, torn open, tubes missing. I spent the next 3 months trying to get a refund of the $30 test fee. After asking to speak to a manager, I managed to get a refund. Even with this, it took a month to get a check. Don't waste your time or money on this product. The company clearly has issues. Use a local radon testing company.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Stevedave
from madison, wi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to Use. Read directions

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Simple product, with good directions. The directions are very specific, so as long as you follow them, you will have a successful test. The company you send it in to was very quick in getting us our results too. Overall, a good experience.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Radon Gas Test Kit
10101010ddddd

Misleading dual sets of instructions.

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the front flap it gives a placement location as "on a flat surface"...... 4 Days......I placed mine on the basement floor for 4 days and capped bottles to send in. Inside with shipping instructions is a second, more detailed set, on placement instructions designating "on flat surface 2 feet above floor, 3 feet from wall" etc. Too late for that information. I called their customer service to explain the misleading directions and was told "It also says "(Detailed instructions inside)"! She was right. On closer inspection, it does say that. Customer service does not give customer service. They take no ownership of dual sets of instructions as setting people up for mistakes.Don't buy It!
-6points
24out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Tami

Fast results!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the express service and received my results within 24 hrs. Don't wait for the email, follow the instructions on package.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Radon Gas Test Kit
jerh
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy to use

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the first alert kit before this product because the price difference and because the lab fee was included. That was a huge mistake. First alerts kit is only a 24 hour test which does not give you a very good average to look at since radon fluctuates from day to day. After being dissapointed I went out and purchased the PRO-KIT, as suggested by my relator.
The $30 lab fee is hard to swallow at first but when you get better results and better testing techniques it is well worth the price. The test includes two vials and you test for four days. Anyone who has done any type of environmental testing knows that this test is set up better to give you a better reading and average
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Josette
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product, Great Service

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started seeing public service announcements regarding Radon Gas. Went to Home Depot and Bought the pro-lab kit. Really easy to use. i left it out for 96 hours and sent it back to pro-lab. received my results in 6 days. really easy to understand results with alot of interesting facts and websites to learn even more. I recommened it to all my family and friends. Its great to see that good companies and products still exist in this social media world
Pros: Easy to Use
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Radon Gas Test Kit
Nick
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Service Great Value

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my home last year. i had a radon test done by the home inspector and it cost $200. Having three children and living in a radon area i wanted to retest this year. Went to Home Depot and found the PRO-LAB test. It was so easy to use and the total cost was only $50 WOW a $150 savings. the easy to interpret report came in less then 10 days. I will use this every year. Thanks Home depot and thanks PRO-LAB
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Radon Gas Test Kit
darkchoc4
from Framingham, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the package

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't overlook the $30 filing fee. Easy registration online. Got results within two days by email after they received it.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>