728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smoke Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Battery Operated Smoke Detector

Battery Operated Smoke Detector

The ionization technology utilized by the Kidde Battery-Operated Premium Ionization Smoke Detector is designed to alert you and your family to the dangers of smoke or fire. This detector is a single-station smoke alarm powered by a 9 Volt battery, which is included. A chirp alert sounds when the detector's battery runs low and the twist-off mounting plate allows for easy battery replacement and a no-wire installation. The alarm's tamper-resistant locking pin helps prevent unauthorized entry and theft.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
Review 1 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
atalanta

Not bad but doesn't understand "HUSH"

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this for downstairs because it has the "hush" function, figured it would be easier when cooking. That's not the way it works. It does "hush" when I hit the button, but then about a minute or two later it goes off again. Once again relegating me to taking out the battery until the oven cools.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
DaRvDrUmS
from Riverside, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not sure why'd you'd pay more for another unit...

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good size (for my garage ceiling), easy installation, tamper proof function, loud when activated, chirps when battery is low (9 volt battery included), light beeps red to confirm that unit is receiving power. Can't ask for much more!
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
poms2
from pennsylvania

homeowner

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
kiddie has been a well trusted name in fire detection. I have a fire extinguisher in my home made by kiddie. I like the ease of installation that I can do it myself as a woman.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
Richfield

Excellent

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This smoke detector is an excellent product for the price. The installation is very simple and has all the features required.
Pros: Compact, Easy Installation
Cons: eco-friendly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
VPMark
from Oneonta, NY 13820, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You can't beat a smoke detector with a mute button

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for commercial apartment buildings. Tenants can mute instead of removing or taking battery out.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
Snicklefritz
from California

Dead battery

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The battery had to be replaced immediately with Duracell 9-volt. Tested it and it worked fine. Easy to attach to the wall. Just need a flat head screwdriver, hammer, and measuring device to ensure it is placed 4 - 12 inches from corner of ceiling. READ THE INSERT. Valuable information there.
Pros: Loud, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: battery was dead
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
eao0641
from Molalla, OR 97038, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good detectors

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
they are exactly what they say they are battery operated smoke detectors and even come with the battery
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
James
from Kauai, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sweet, Simple, & Easy

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This smoke detector is easy to install, quickly delivered, and very cost conscious. I certainly do recommend it and Home Depot made it easy for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
pw72436

bad cover

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
battery is close to life and beeps every 20 seconds. this would be fine if the cover would come off so I could change it!
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Battery Operated Smoke Detector
bill
from jasper fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as intended

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great and very happy with product-- this unit does both fire and smoke--replaces units that were smoke only
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.