728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Tools & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Ditra is a polyethylene uncoupling underlayment with a grid structure of square cutback cavities and an anchoring fleece laminated to the underside. Ditra provides uncoupling through the open rib structure which allows for in-plane movement that effectively neutralizes the differential movement stresses between the substrate and the tile, thus eliminating the major cause of cracking and delaminating of the tiled surface. Ditra provides waterproofing and vapor management. Underlayment for tile.
Overall rating:
4.559 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product28 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product28 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
Review 1 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Quakrtown, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ditra details

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Before installing this product do your home work as there are some inportant diffferences than using backer board: type of mortar, make sure you push out any accumulated mortar under the ditra tht would cause bumps in the ditra as the bumps may not be apparent, be sure to trowel mortar in all directions with staight edge of trowel to push motar under edges of the little squares before trowling on additional mortar to set the tile, its the dove tail design of the ditra that mechanically holds the motar and tille to the ditra
Pros: low profile
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent, if expensive product

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Extremely easy to install, when you follow the makers instructions. Bonding to the SUBSTRATE, use a latex modified thin set, bonding the TILE to the membrane use an UN-MODIFIED mortar.
Also, be careful filling the pockets in the top surface. The design traps air, and it takes a few strokes to establish a good fill.
Great stuff.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product !

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Great product if used correctly. Highly recommend if setting large format tile over a plywood floor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

awesome product if you do it right

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've installed in bathrooms, utility rooms, kitchens and on counter tops. Works excellent.
The Versabond Home Depot sells will work between wood substrate and Ditra, but Home Depot does not sell a good unmodified. Custom Blend just doesn't cut it. You must use a premium unmodified mortar between tile and Ditra (no polymer!! it's not supposed to stick to the Ditra!). Mastic is not recommended. All premixes contain polymer.
11/64 trowel is not required, Schluter themselves even say so. I used a 1/4 x 3/16 v-notch trowel that they say is ok to use. Home Depot sells this.
You don't need a roller to embed it, i use a grout float and it works just fine, pull up a corner to check for proper coverage. Back butter your ceramics.
No one says you can't use it with concrete backer board. The more insurance the better.
This is a lifetime floor if you follow Schluters instructions. Their FAQ can help you sort through who is giving you the right information.
+67points
67out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Great product but do your homework

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I think this is a great way to waterproof and do underlayment in one pass.
I don't think you need the roller, a grout float does a good job. Even those funky thick soled flip flops, the wife just skated around. But it does take some work.
You need UN modified thinset between the Ditra and the tile AND it uses a lot more than normal, I'd figure almost 50% more thinset than normal.
Agree with prior reviews, HD should carry the seaming product and a better UN modifed thinset, Ditra has a branded product now.
Time will tell, I've just used exterior plywood in the pas, but this is the first bathroom I've tiled.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Worked as expected

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product worked as expected as long as you READ the instructions. Using the correct thin set under and above this product is essential to having the product work correctly. This product is substantially more money than cement board but it is much easier to use and very much faster to put down
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Instructions, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Placerville, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and installer loves it.

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A little pricey but the labor savings makes up for it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Wadsworth Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used it in my basement bathroom/utility room project. Easy to work with and provide a great sub floor for the tile. Using again in my entrance way into the basement.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Great stuff

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used it on my first tile project, and I will use it again. It was extremely easy to work. Would recommend it to anyone to use.
On a side not, there is a thicker version (Ditra XL) that can be used if trying to match height with something like hardwood flooring. Not sure why HD doesn't offer that as well.
Only bit of advice would be to use a little bit more water when mixing the thin-set that goes between the flooring and underside of the Ditra.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from eastern oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time using...

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Super easy to cut to shape and roll out, only complaint is that setting it in tight corners with just thin set may not be enough, it may require tacking (though I luckily avoided that). I used it as the underlayment in my kitchen and bathroom, and the reduction in noise cannot be understated (arts & crafts, 1915, plank flooring). Avoiding screwing down cement or fiberboard and avoiding snapping/cutting problems associated with them was completely worth the extra money, especially given the time saved.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Costs more but easier to install and works great for DIY

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I saw this on a youtube video several years ago and I was initially upset because it was not available locally. I was at HomeDepot a couple months later and saw that they had stocked a couple rolls. I installed the ditra as recommended in an upstairs bathroom. My wife was shocked at how good the tile looked and has held up very well. The ditra costs more than cement board but installs much faster and easier. You only need a sharp razor knife to cut it. You don't need an expensive saw and special blade that will create tons of dangerous cement dust. BTW, this was my first ever tile job and it came out great.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Cons: expensive
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 Thumbs Up

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First tiling job ive ever done. Nothing huge, just a 6x6 bathroom floor. But I figured I better do it right the first time. Very easy to cut and work with. Like the directions say you need Modified mortar to lay the Ditra down, but then you need Un-Modified mortar to stick the tile to the Ditra. When I purchased the Ditra, home Depot did not offer Un-Modified mortar. Schluter, the company that makes Ditra, said that if you use Modified mortar on top of the Ditra, it could take anywhere from 15-60 days to fully dry. Again great product, just make sure you get the propper thinset mortar.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Marion,Il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for a DIY project

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Should be a factory trained installer to use. Not a pro, but not my first time tiling a floor; never had problems like this before. Could not get smooth on a plywood floor, could not get out all bubbles. Ditra did not bond well to thin set. Ended up removing Ditra and all thin set (what a pain) and starting over with cement board which worked perfectly without any problems. Tile is now complete and looks great.
Cons: Difficult to Install
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Madison, WI

Schluter Ditra & mastic

PostedApril 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product. Be sure to use modified mastic below the Schluter product on substrate and unmodified below the ceramic tile onto Schluter-Ditra
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from huntsville, al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very easy to use, installation was fast, value priced product
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Charlotte, NC

Great Product

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've tiled several floors in the past homes I've owned and this product is the greatest thing since sliced bread. It's a little more expensive than using a concrete backer board but it's much easier to cut...especially for those rooms that have angles or will require lots of cuts. Great application for concrete slabs as it will prevent future cracks in your slab from transfering up to the nice tile you just layed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from fort edward ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

schluter

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy installation. very happy with the results. would use it again.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Does the job

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, just the product for an old house renovation. I would highly recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Southern Indiana

Installation key

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
home depot does sell the ditra - but nothing else that works for it. Dry Set mortar is a MUST. Additionally a 75 lb - 100 lb roller will be needed to embed in the thinset mortar. do not recommend the custom blend dry set - ditra that the home depot has -- it will not stick to it. - Nor do they sell the banding or the correct 11/64 v notched trowel. - the product is fantastic only if you find the other materials elsewhere. Do your hoomework and research this product before buying for your needs.
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Port Monmouth, NJ

Great stuff!

PostedJuly 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this for my upstairs bathroom in a 100 year old home. had to pull up the hardwood sub floor due to plumbing needs and put down plywood. This product made a smooth transition between old and new sub floors and made it real easy to set the tile as well. I am currently remodeling my kitchen and will be using it again. It's just more expensive than backer boards, but worth it.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>