728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Ditra is a polyethylene uncoupling underlayment with a grid structure of square cutback cavities and an anchoring fleece laminated to the underside. Ditra provides uncoupling through the open rib structure which allows for in-plane movement that effectively neutralizes the differential movement stresses between the substrate and the tile, thus eliminating the major cause of cracking and delaminating of the tiled surface. Ditra provides waterproofing and vapor management. Underlayment for tile.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
Review 1 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product !

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great product if used correctly. Highly recommend if setting large format tile over a plywood floor.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Works well

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we used this as subfloor in our bathroom per a recommendation from a HD worker - they said it works well with wet areas. easy to cut, easy to install, held really well. nice product.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

awesome product if you do it right

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've installed in bathrooms, utility rooms, kitchens and on counter tops. Works excellent.
The Versabond Home Depot sells will work between wood substrate and Ditra, but Home Depot does not sell a good unmodified. Custom Blend just doesn't cut it. You must use a premium unmodified mortar between tile and Ditra (no polymer!! it's not supposed to stick to the Ditra!). Mastic is not recommended. All premixes contain polymer.
11/64 trowel is not required, Schluter themselves even say so. I used a 1/4 x 3/16 v-notch trowel that they say is ok to use. Home Depot sells this.
You don't need a roller to embed it, i use a grout float and it works just fine, pull up a corner to check for proper coverage. Back butter your ceramics.
No one says you can't use it with concrete backer board. The more insurance the better.
This is a lifetime floor if you follow Schluters instructions. Their FAQ can help you sort through who is giving you the right information.
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Great product but do your homework

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think this is a great way to waterproof and do underlayment in one pass.
I don't think you need the roller, a grout float does a good job. Even those funky thick soled flip flops, the wife just skated around. But it does take some work.
You need UN modified thinset between the Ditra and the tile AND it uses a lot more than normal, I'd figure almost 50% more thinset than normal.
Agree with prior reviews, HD should carry the seaming product and a better UN modifed thinset, Ditra has a branded product now.
Time will tell, I've just used exterior plywood in the pas, but this is the first bathroom I've tiled.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Great stuff

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it on my first tile project, and I will use it again. It was extremely easy to work. Would recommend it to anyone to use.
On a side not, there is a thicker version (Ditra XL) that can be used if trying to match height with something like hardwood flooring. Not sure why HD doesn't offer that as well.
Only bit of advice would be to use a little bit more water when mixing the thin-set that goes between the flooring and underside of the Ditra.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Clarksville, IN 47129, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best water-proof insurance out there!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. After the original ceramic tile tub surround let water pass through to the subsrate, this product gave me a lot of peace of mind that it won't happen again.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to work with

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to work with. Provides a good solid base for your tile. About twice as expensive than similar products however.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like it.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just need it enough for a small bathroom, comes plenty on the roll to do more than 1 thing.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Helena, MT, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Way better than cement board!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was much easier to install and cut and install than cement backer board!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Orem, UT, USA

So far so good

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
4/5 stars because I've only had tile on it for less than a year. Easier (but more expensive) than backer board. Makes tile flooring much less of a hassle. I put it in exactly as Schluter recommends, and if it holds up as advertised, I will be extremely happy with it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Madison, WI

Schluter Ditra & mastic

PostedApril 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product. Be sure to use modified mastic below the Schluter product on substrate and unmodified below the ceramic tile onto Schluter-Ditra
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 Thumbs Up

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First tiling job ive ever done. Nothing huge, just a 6x6 bathroom floor. But I figured I better do it right the first time. Very easy to cut and work with. Like the directions say you need Modified mortar to lay the Ditra down, but then you need Un-Modified mortar to stick the tile to the Ditra. When I purchased the Ditra, home Depot did not offer Un-Modified mortar. Schluter, the company that makes Ditra, said that if you use Modified mortar on top of the Ditra, it could take anywhere from 15-60 days to fully dry. Again great product, just make sure you get the propper thinset mortar.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not use on a mosaic tile floor!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After our neighbor raved about how great this was, we decided to use it in our rather large master bath. This was so easy to install in the bathroom and did not leave a height differential with the adjacent bedroom. HOWEVER, after applying the retro 2 inch hexagonal tiles after about 6 weeks the grout started coming out between the tiles. Thought it was bad grout, so we removed all the grout around the problem areas and regrouted. Same thing happened again. So then we thought the tiles did not have enough adhesive, so we removed them and reapplied and regrouted. Still had the same problem. This may work great with larger tiles, but for smaller mosaics, it is a huge waste of money. I do not think the geometry honeycomb pattern gives enough support to the smaller tiles. Ended up tearing up the entire floor and using board material as the underlayment. A very expensive mistake.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not for use with mosaic tiles
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Kirkland, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for scribing things for before cutting

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Empire Compass/Scriber is very easy to use, sometimes the simplest tool works the best. I had to scribe our flooring to fit tight to the tub. it worked so easy
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Fort Lauderdale
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great underlayment

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Use as a moisture barrier and underlayment over concrete to prevent tenting and movement of stone tile
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Southern Indiana

Installation key

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
home depot does sell the ditra - but nothing else that works for it. Dry Set mortar is a MUST. Additionally a 75 lb - 100 lb roller will be needed to embed in the thinset mortar. do not recommend the custom blend dry set - ditra that the home depot has -- it will not stick to it. - Nor do they sell the banding or the correct 11/64 v notched trowel. - the product is fantastic only if you find the other materials elsewhere. Do your hoomework and research this product before buying for your needs.
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Charlotte, NC

Great Product

PostedJune 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tiled several floors in the past homes I've owned and this product is the greatest thing since sliced bread. It's a little more expensive than using a concrete backer board but it's much easier to cut...especially for those rooms that have angles or will require lots of cuts. Great application for concrete slabs as it will prevent future cracks in your slab from transfering up to the nice tile you just layed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Port Monmouth, NJ

Great stuff!

PostedJuly 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this for my upstairs bathroom in a 100 year old home. had to pull up the hardwood sub floor due to plumbing needs and put down plywood. This product made a smooth transition between old and new sub floors and made it real easy to set the tile as well. I am currently remodeling my kitchen and will be using it again. It's just more expensive than backer boards, but worth it.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane

Very expensive and tricky to install

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product over a cement slab and definitely will not use it again, due to several difficulties. Because of the flexibility of the product, if you use a grout float to set the sheet(s), as the instructions suggest, it will cause the mortar underneath to move away from the pressure. This leaves waves which are very difficult to see on the orange waffle surface, and nearly impossible to fix. Also, plan on 2 1/2 to 3 times the mortar you would use for a normal job - a bed under the ditra, another layer to fill the holes, then a third layer to set the tiles. That combined with the exorbitant price of the membrane makes for a very expensive installation.
-7points
2out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ditra 54 sq. ft. 3 ft. 3 in. x 16 ft. 5 in. x 1/8 in. Thick Uncoupling Membrane
from Salem, AL

Great Product

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tiled a bathroom in an old house without it and had to pull it up and redo because the tile keep breaking loose from floor. I recommend this product to anyone. We are planning on retiling our kitchen soon, we are planning on using it again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>