728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Clamps, Vices & Fastening Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun

X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun

Get versatility and convenience with the Arrow Fastener X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun. It handles 6 sizes of fasteners for installing bell wire or insulation, nailing decorative trim or upholstering furniture. This tool plugs into a standard 110-volt outlet and has a lightweight, compact design that's handy in confined spaces.
Overall rating:
2.296 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product14 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(10)
1
(19)
Quality 
1.5 out of 5
1.5 out of 5
Value 
1.3 out of 5
1.3 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product14 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
Review 1 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
from Ridgecrest, CA

Poor stapler

PostedMay 27, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing is worse then a hand pump one, tried to staple paper to wood and the staples would barely go though. I took it back after about an hour of using it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun

Don't bother

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"heavy duty" is a joke. I bought one of these a few years ago and used it sporadically. The brads never NEVER go deep enough. Staples will penetrate, but you need to really push the stapler into the material to prevent kickback. Stapler died WAY too soon for the light amount of use I got out of it, and considering it was about $50 new. I'm going pneumatic. You should too.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
from Houston, Texas

Total waste of money

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Will not even nail thru 1/4" plywood. The "brad nails" that it uses are no more than flimsy pieces of wire. I tested it on a roll of toilet paper and the nail only went in half way.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
from Central VA

paper stapler

PostedDecember 31, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one but I'm taking it back tomorrow. Barely enough power to staple paper much less into any wood
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun

Disappointing

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to use for installing insulation between studs. Jams easily, staples do not penetrate pine studs and sit flush with surface about half the time. Head broke off after grand total of two hours use. Wasn't worth my time to take back to store, just gave it to the recyclers.
Cons: Not Durable, not effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
from Port Huron, Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Jam-A-Matic

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too am adding my name to the list of people who have nothing but jamming problems. It started with the first stick of staples, and has continued ever since. It likes to wait until I am up on a scaffold for maximum inconvenience.
I bought it because of the crossbolt safety. I was using a friends that had the contact safety, which can be hard to activate in close quarters. I liked that I could fire it without having to push it so tight to the work.
As others have noted, the dis-assembly is awkward. I had to disassemble it so many times I ruined the slotted end of the bolt because it is pretty soft. I have finally figured out how to unjam it without taking it apart most of the time, but It is still a major problem.
With all the take downs and damage I am doing every time I unjam it, I can tell this won't last long. Fortunately I am near the end of the insulation hanging for a while and won't need it.
I have used Arrow brand T-50 staples from the start, so if it can't handle its own brand, then what good is it.
On another note, there are other brands that have much easier staple loading by sliding open the entire bottom of the gun and allowing you to drop the stick in teeth up. It can be opened during use to see how many are left, and easily "topped off" if you want.
This one uses the traditional end load with the spring loaded plunger as you see on so many manual staplers. You can't see how many are left or easily top up the magazine and if it jams it is down inside the mechanism.
I would seriously consider another brand or style.
Cons: Not Durable, constant jams, hard to clear jams
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was a life-saver at first... then...

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ok, so when I first purchased this product, it was a great tool to have handy. I had just bought a house that needed a little TLC. I replaced my old crumbling tile ceiling with lightweight Luaun. This was phenomenal at anchoring the sheets to the ceiling joists! For the price at the time, it was awesome! I didn't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a pneumatic nail gun for the few things I would use it for. I put it away for a few months as I didn't have any other major projects at the time.
I took it out to put down some quarter round in the living room. It wouldn't even drive half way in! I kept trying with various levels of pressure - no pressure, excessive pressure, etc. Then it started jamming! Once I finagled with the strike plates, I got it unjammed. Then, it started bending the brads! I give up! It won't even fire through a soft wood piece of quarter round into a baseboard! I'll keep it around in case I need to mount a few sheets of paper onto a corkboard, but I wouldn't recommend this piece of garbage to anyone! Break out your hammer and nails; you're gonna need them. Or better yet, save up your pennies and buy a pneumatic nail gun! SKIP THIS!
Pros: Light Weight, affordable
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
from East Tennessee

Works "good"

PostedMay 8, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought one of these to recover 18 restaurant booth seats. Best I can tell, you have to hold the staple gun straight and press it against the wood firmly to work. Out of about 1200 staples, I would say about 40 went only 3/4 of the way in. I like the gun, the way it feels, and how fast and easy it is to use. I'm convinced that there is some requirement of technique to using it. I do think I would buy it again. The last time I did this, I used a hand powered staple and got several blisters after 1000 staples. Certainly better than that.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very powerful

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is probably great for upholstery and other lighter weight jobs, but will not work for installing a carpet runner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, not very powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for X Machine 110-Volt Variable-Size Electric Staple- and Nail Gun
Based on the average of (35) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
13 out of 35 recommend this product