728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 200-Degree Door Viewer

200-Degree Door Viewer

This Prime-Line Products door viewer is constructed from solid brass and comes plated in satin nickel. It features solid brass end caps with plastic and UL listed glass lenses. It provides 200-degrees of viewing and fits on 1-3/8 to 2-1/8 in. thick wood or metal doors.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product20 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product20 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Review 1 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
keligrl36
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy peasy!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing was a piece of cake! for a woman who has never put in a peep hole I was pretty nervous about putting a hold thru my front door. I couldn't find anyone with the drill bit this thing required and buying a new one was out of the question due to the price so I ended up using a hole saw and it worked perfectly, actually probably better than a drill bit would of , the hole was perfect. I was done in less than five minutes! thats how easy it was! Fits great, works great, easy to install and perfect view :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
JayB

Simple, and works

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good range of vision. Pretty easy to install. The only suggestions I would give to the manufacturer are:
1) Print install requirements on outside of the packaging (to save a trip back to if one doesn't have the right size drill bit (it's a larger one).
2) include a metal strip to help tighten this on to a door. It's wider than most flathead screwdriver tips. I used the back of a butter knife.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Achilles
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worx great

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was very easy to install and was a great price. Delivery was very fast. And the view is larger than I expected. I would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
vincenco
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes longer to set up the drill than to install!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product! We'd had a few neighbors have some issues, so I have been worried about opening the door to strangers. Since there were no 'peep holes' installed in either of our doors, I was worried about opening the door to strangers.
I literally bought this tonight, and installed it in two doors in a matter of minutes. It really took longer to get the drill out and set, and to get the vacuum cleaner to clean up the wood shavings.
The piece itself feels substantial, and is not cheap at all. It is a great value for the piece of mind of knowing who is on the other side of the door when you open it!
Make sure you get the 9/16th drill bit or spade if you don't have one. I didn't, and I wasn't able to find a bit, so I bought the spade. I was a bit nervous using it for the first time, thinking it might not go straight in if I wasn't careful. However, it was super easy to use. The instructions are also perfect, drill a 1/8 pilot straight through, then drill the 9/16th from each side so you don't chip the finish of the door.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
 
Products related to my review
 
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Drea
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Feather River Exterior doors

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These are gorgeous and make my house pop. I recommend them. Most importantly, Home Depot contractors were excellent and nice.
Pros: Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Recon1
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great view

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this to to keep from opening my door to the garage to see if the light was on/off and or if the doors were closed/open ... Not lazy, just Smart ;-)
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, Great Detail
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
nana
from Hugo, OK 74743, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We're really happy with our door viewer..Thanks so much..

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is really great looking, was easy to install and we use it a lot..
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
SleepyInSeattle
from Seattle, WA

good product, good directions

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not sure what the other reviewer bought, but the 9/16th drill bit worked perfectly though my steel door. Appreciate the info about using caulk on the exterior though!
Drilling a 1/8th pilot hole followed by the 9/16th on each side took less than five minutes. Both pieces slid in without any trouble whatsoever. Any wider and it might have fallen through.
But just in case, you might want to eyeball your bit against the peephole to make sure it is the right diameter.
Took off a star because 9/16ths drill bit was not in my 80 piece drill set and required a second trip to HD.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
James1375
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product but watch the drill bits

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product itself is excellent, however, watch out for the drill bits that are required to install this. You'll need a to drill a 1/8th pilot hole followed by the 9/16th. My drill only had a 1/2 chuck, so be aware of that, a spade bit works fine. :-)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Mary
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is great...

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This peep hole is very good. We liked it so much that we bought a second one for my mother's door.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
12244homedepot
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

must be design without using drill

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good product for safety of the house and cheap to use
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Harry
from Hollywood, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great feature

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When the door is the saftey between your self and the outside world this little 200-DEGREE DOOR VIEWER is the best viewer, it give me the view I need to project me and my family.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Gary1023
from South Florida

Perfect

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This viewer was priced right, delivered quickly and easy to install. I installed it in a steel entry door and it adds even more security to our home.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
chulamama7

Good Product, East to Install

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product, easy to install. You will have to buy a 9/16" drill bit though, and good luck because they are not that easy to find!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
BobdaFish
from Columbus, OH

Good product, bad directions

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Purchased this to install in a new steel front entry door. The construction of the item is very good (no blemishes on the lens, etc.) and seems it will last. It's pretty straightforward with two pieces that are inserted in the door and screwed together.
I had big problems with the incomplete/wrong directions though. The directions say all you will need is a 1/8 and a 9/16 drill bits. You drill a pilot hole on each side with the 1/8 and then drill the main hole with the 9/16.
While 9/16 is a very close fit for the interior piece (had to wiggle the hole a little larger), it is way too small for the exterior piece to recess appropriately. Perhaps a 11/16 or even a 3/4 would be correct.
Instead of a 15 minute job, this turned into 2 hours as I tried to find a bit that would work and then finally just wiggled the hole larger using snips to deal with the shards of metal this left. Very poor.
Also missing from the directions are any kind of caulking/sealant guidance around the exterior piece of the unit. Left alone, water will get between it and the door. A small dab of clear caulk/sealant should definitely be used to keep your door from rotting/rusting around the peephole.
Overall, good product, but frustrating, wrong instructions.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Hecker001
from Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Viewer At Good Price

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The viewer gives us an excellent look at whoever is outside our front door.
I followed the clear instructions and it only took a few minutes to install.
The finish matches the brushed nickel hardware on the door perfectly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
steve
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good product would buy again easy too install like
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
ccfoo242

Does the job

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Followed the instructions, easy to install, looks nice.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
atticus1983
from Midland, TX, USA

Be forewarned!

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I gave this 3 stars only because I could not find a 9/16" steel drill bit at Home Depot to use on my steel door. I ended up purchasing a 110 degree viewer only because it used a more common 1/2" shank. I'm sure this is a great product, but just make sure you are able to find the tools you need before hand!!
Cons: uncommon bit size needed
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Anna
from Andover
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great features

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great features and it works great. this is a pain in the but. your restrictions on these question are rediculas
-12points
0out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 >>