728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 200-Degree Door Viewer

200-Degree Door Viewer

This Prime-Line Products door viewer is constructed from solid brass and comes plated in satin nickel. It features solid brass end caps with plastic and UL listed glass lenses. It provides 200-degrees of viewing and fits on 1-3/8 to 2-1/8 in. thick wood or metal doors.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product30 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product30 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Review 1 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Alaska
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly Satisfied

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The item was easily installed. The instructions are easy.....use them. A 9/16" bore is required for the hole and this is well marked on the front of the container describing the item. I used a $4 spade bit (a lot of 9/16" drill bits were priced near $20). When completed, I set my shoes 12" from the bottom of the door outside, and I was able to see them through the viewer. I was also able to see the ceiling of the porch roof outside. The field of view is great. I can see the garage door which is 20' to the left, and the view extends about 35' down the driveway on the right.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy peasy!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing was a piece of cake! for a woman who has never put in a peep hole I was pretty nervous about putting a hold thru my front door. I couldn't find anyone with the drill bit this thing required and buying a new one was out of the question due to the price so I ended up using a hole saw and it worked perfectly, actually probably better than a drill bit would of , the hole was perfect. I was done in less than five minutes! thats how easy it was! Fits great, works great, easy to install and perfect view :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Simple, and works

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good range of vision. Pretty easy to install. The only suggestions I would give to the manufacturer are:
1) Print install requirements on outside of the packaging (to save a trip back to if one doesn't have the right size drill bit (it's a larger one).
2) include a metal strip to help tighten this on to a door. It's wider than most flathead screwdriver tips. I used the back of a butter knife.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes longer to set up the drill than to install!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product! We'd had a few neighbors have some issues, so I have been worried about opening the door to strangers. Since there were no 'peep holes' installed in either of our doors, I was worried about opening the door to strangers.
I literally bought this tonight, and installed it in two doors in a matter of minutes. It really took longer to get the drill out and set, and to get the vacuum cleaner to clean up the wood shavings.
The piece itself feels substantial, and is not cheap at all. It is a great value for the piece of mind of knowing who is on the other side of the door when you open it!
Make sure you get the 9/16th drill bit or spade if you don't have one. I didn't, and I wasn't able to find a bit, so I bought the spade. I was a bit nervous using it for the first time, thinking it might not go straight in if I wasn't careful. However, it was super easy to use. The instructions are also perfect, drill a 1/8 pilot straight through, then drill the 9/16th from each side so you don't chip the finish of the door.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
 
Products related to my review
 
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Seattle, WA

good product, good directions

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not sure what the other reviewer bought, but the 9/16th drill bit worked perfectly though my steel door. Appreciate the info about using caulk on the exterior though!
Drilling a 1/8th pilot hole followed by the 9/16th on each side took less than five minutes. Both pieces slid in without any trouble whatsoever. Any wider and it might have fallen through.
But just in case, you might want to eyeball your bit against the peephole to make sure it is the right diameter.
Took off a star because 9/16ths drill bit was not in my 80 piece drill set and required a second trip to HD.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worx great

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was very easy to install and was a great price. Delivery was very fast. And the view is larger than I expected. I would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great view

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this to to keep from opening my door to the garage to see if the light was on/off and or if the doors were closed/open ... Not lazy, just Smart ;-)
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, Great Detail
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product but watch the drill bits

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product itself is excellent, however, watch out for the drill bits that are required to install this. You'll need a to drill a 1/8th pilot hole followed by the 9/16th. My drill only had a 1/2 chuck, so be aware of that, a spade bit works fine. :-)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Hollywood, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a very good product

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the viewer works great,has a wide angle to see who is at the door
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Peep hole

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was bought as a replacement. It was Easy to install and has a greater viewing range than the old one. Gives me peace of mind knowing that (now) I can actually see who's at my door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Sorry I waited so long

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't know why I waited so long to have this installed in my front door, but I'm glad I have it now. My brother actually installed it for me but it looked pretty simple. I don't know a lot about door viewers other than what I can tell when I look through them. I get such a good, clear picture of what's on the other side of the door and the 200 degree range makes it even better. I'm not sure why anyone would want a door viewer of lesser quality when you can get this one at such a great price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Excellent device, easy to install

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Definitely worth the extra couple of bucks over the 120 degree version. Easy to install. Well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Hugo, OK 74743, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We're really happy with our door viewer..Thanks so much..

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is really great looking, was easy to install and we use it a lot..
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Peep hole for door

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm glad I decided to get the peep hole for my new door. Now I can see who is at the door and they can not see me! Great choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from New Haven County, CT

SOLD...I can see clearly now!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always had to look through a window to see who rang the doorbell, even though I have a "No Solicitors" sign on my door. The problem was if someone was close to the storm door, I was not able to see who rang the doorbell. Hence, I did a day's worth of research and then went to the store to see this product. I tried one in the store and saw it has a wide angle both "top to bottom" and "side to side." Sold! I know have greater peace of mind since installing this product!
Pros: Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from St Augustine, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed it in a fiberglass door in 10 minutes. No problems at all.
Directions were easy to follow. Looks good too.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Russell County, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Haven't used it yet

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were going to use it on our new front door and decided to use it on the back when we buy the new door.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from South Florida

Perfect

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This viewer was priced right, delivered quickly and easy to install. I installed it in a steel entry door and it adds even more security to our home.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Montana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this door viewer is great. had one before but it had a lot of distortion, this one is clear and you can see side to side.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Good Product, East to Install

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product, easy to install. You will have to buy a 9/16" drill bit though, and good luck because they are not that easy to find!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>