728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 200-Degree Door Viewer

200-Degree Door Viewer

This Prime-Line Products door viewer is constructed from solid brass and comes plated in satin nickel. It features solid brass end caps with plastic and UL listed glass lenses. It provides 200-degrees of viewing and fits on 1-3/8 to 2-1/8 in. thick wood or metal doors.
Overall rating:
4.707 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product39 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product39 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Review 1 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Alaska
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly Satisfied

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The item was easily installed. The instructions are easy.....use them. A 9/16" bore is required for the hole and this is well marked on the front of the container describing the item. I used a $4 spade bit (a lot of 9/16" drill bits were priced near $20). When completed, I set my shoes 12" from the bottom of the door outside, and I was able to see them through the viewer. I was also able to see the ceiling of the porch roof outside. The field of view is great. I can see the garage door which is 20' to the left, and the view extends about 35' down the driveway on the right.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Richmond,Va.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and works great. Make sure to read the package you pick up. I had already borrowed a 9/16 bit after reading online what size to drill. Noticed on some of the packages at the store (with the same item and sku number) they were marked as needing a 5/8 bore to fit. I searched through the peg and found about half and half having different sizes. Other than that I had no problem at all. With all the things going on these days it's good to know who is on the other side of the door before opening it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Simple, and works

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good range of vision. Pretty easy to install. The only suggestions I would give to the manufacturer are:
1) Print install requirements on outside of the packaging (to save a trip back to if one doesn't have the right size drill bit (it's a larger one).
2) include a metal strip to help tighten this on to a door. It's wider than most flathead screwdriver tips. I used the back of a butter knife.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Takes longer to set up the drill than to install!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this product! We'd had a few neighbors have some issues, so I have been worried about opening the door to strangers. Since there were no 'peep holes' installed in either of our doors, I was worried about opening the door to strangers.
I literally bought this tonight, and installed it in two doors in a matter of minutes. It really took longer to get the drill out and set, and to get the vacuum cleaner to clean up the wood shavings.
The piece itself feels substantial, and is not cheap at all. It is a great value for the piece of mind of knowing who is on the other side of the door when you open it!
Make sure you get the 9/16th drill bit or spade if you don't have one. I didn't, and I wasn't able to find a bit, so I bought the spade. I was a bit nervous using it for the first time, thinking it might not go straight in if I wasn't careful. However, it was super easy to use. The instructions are also perfect, drill a 1/8 pilot straight through, then drill the 9/16th from each side so you don't chip the finish of the door.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
 
Products related to my review
 
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Irving, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Covers large area that gives perfect view outside..
Pros: Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

great product

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy installation. Good field of view. Would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy peasy!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing was a piece of cake! for a woman who has never put in a peep hole I was pretty nervous about putting a hold thru my front door. I couldn't find anyone with the drill bit this thing required and buying a new one was out of the question due to the price so I ended up using a hole saw and it worked perfectly, actually probably better than a drill bit would of , the hole was perfect. I was done in less than five minutes! thats how easy it was! Fits great, works great, easy to install and perfect view :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clearly visible as stated!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is something I've needed to do for the wife and kid's for sometime...it doesn't disappoint! It's ease to install and like the other reviews, if you have the correct size bit, 9/16", it's seamless!! Very durable, looks & feels higher grade than it's price. I bought two so that the kiddos could see as well!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Great! No problems with installation.

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I takes my repair guy roughly 10 minutes to install these peep holes. They look nice and were priced right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Oxon Hill, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Item

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The viewer was easy to purchase and install. I know feel more comfortable being able to use the viewer when people knock or ring the door bell.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Seattle, WA

good product, good directions

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not sure what the other reviewer bought, but the 9/16th drill bit worked perfectly though my steel door. Appreciate the info about using caulk on the exterior though!
Drilling a 1/8th pilot hole followed by the 9/16th on each side took less than five minutes. Both pieces slid in without any trouble whatsoever. Any wider and it might have fallen through.
But just in case, you might want to eyeball your bit against the peephole to make sure it is the right diameter.
Took off a star because 9/16ths drill bit was not in my 80 piece drill set and required a second trip to HD.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from wichita falls texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to install . just drill hole and screw together

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
DEGREE DOOR VIEWER . Easy to install works very well for what its intended use is , easy to see out of
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worx great

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was very easy to install and was a great price. Delivery was very fast. And the view is larger than I expected. I would recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product but watch the drill bits

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product itself is excellent, however, watch out for the drill bits that are required to install this. You'll need a to drill a 1/8th pilot hole followed by the 9/16th. My drill only had a 1/2 chuck, so be aware of that, a spade bit works fine. :-)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great view

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got this to to keep from opening my door to the garage to see if the light was on/off and or if the doors were closed/open ... Not lazy, just Smart ;-)
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, Great Detail
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Great

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product and an easy install. The only complaint is that 9/16 drill bit seems to be a somewhat obscure size.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: obscure size drill bit required
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Hugo, OK 74743, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We're really happy with our door viewer..Thanks so much..

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is really great looking, was easy to install and we use it a lot..
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from Goodyear,az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best buy ever

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The item was easy to install with the instruction from the Home Depot sales team and the right tools for the job
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 200-Degree Door Viewer
from South Florida

Perfect

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This viewer was priced right, delivered quickly and easy to install. I installed it in a steel entry door and it adds even more security to our home.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 200-Degree Door Viewer

Good Product, East to Install

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good product, easy to install. You will have to buy a 9/16" drill bit though, and good luck because they are not that easy to find!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>