728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

Use the BrassCraft Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit to quickly and easily remove a seized faucet handle from a valve stem or a compression sleeve or nut from a piece of tubing.
Overall rating:
2.435 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product10 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(12)
Ease of installation 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product10 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
Review 1 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

For removing Ferrule's

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this tool to remove ferrule from 1/2" copper pipe. Like many others have experienced, the jaws of this tool just slip off the ferrule. However, I placed a 1/2" open end wrench behind the ferrule, and placed the jaws of this tool behind the jaws of the wrench. It worked like a champ. For ten bucks, I would recommend this tool.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

Don't waste your time

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to remove some compression valve sleeves. After about 45 minutes of trying, the only thing I had removed was some skin from my knuckles. The design is such that the arms are precariously perched inside of the nubs, and the slightest movement causes them to slip, requiring you to unscrew the handle and start again. As another reviewer pointed out, as soon as pressure is applied, one or both of the arms slips off the nut. Every time. Please do yourself a favor and don't waste your time or money on this item, buy another design that actually works.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from Oregon City, OR

Nice Product

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried in vane to get some handles pulled of of a old tub/shower combo to no avail. I wanted to try the "wood" trick, but did not want to damage the tile or the copper pipe behind the wall as the diverter valvle moved. I went and picked one of these handy things up today with some skepticism. Once back in the apartment that I was turning over, I placed the device on the handles, snugged everything up, and gave a couple of twists, and the handles slid off easily. I'd definitely recommend this product to any DIY or apartment manager/maintenance person.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from Sun City, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed to remove some copper compression sleeves.
It was clumsy to use as the pulling arms kept releasing from around the nut and sleeve.
Had to squeeze arms together and turn pulling screw.
Kept slipping off.
I got 5 off before the threads on the pulling screw blew out.
Good idea, but components need to be made of better material.
Good luck!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

Not for severe corrosion

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The handles on my bathtub were well fused with the valves due to years of corrosion. I bought this tool thinking it would help, but it didn't. The design is awful. There's nothing for the arms to use for grip, so it slides off when it meets some resistance. I don't care if the price is $10 or $100, it should do what it claims to do on the package. This might work well for faucets with less corrosion, but you can save the $10 and your sanity if you use any number of the methods I tried before finally getting the handles off. There's the wood lever trick, using something to dissolve the corrosion, beating it with a hammer, and using the heat gun. It took several tries of the all of the above approach to finally get them off.
Cons: poor design, cheap materials
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from Georgia
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The clamp metal bends under pressure.

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The compression ring sleeve puller was both poorly engineered and made of cheap/weak metal. The clamp part (arms) that goes behind the compression nut bent rather easily under modest pressure. The tool did remove one compression nut without bending but it was the second nut that was on tighter. We purchased a different tool that screwed into the nut that workrd very well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from 41042
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller-save your money

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are desperate to remove a compression sleeve from a copper pipe I wouldn't get my hopes up if you think this tool is going to help. It might work if the compression fitting was not tightened too tight, but it is my experience that if the compression sleeve won't come off with a pair of pliers, then it is time to use a dremel (very carefully so you don't damage the copper pipe).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

Good, but not great

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm in the process of using this product now. Although the nut has moved some thanks to this, it still isn't coming off. The main issue for this is that one of the arms keeps slipping when there is force applied. I am having to squeeze the end to keep the arms together. So, if they stayed together, this product would work quiet well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

Didn't work for me

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to remove a stuck compression ring on a 1/2 inch copper pipe, under my kitchen sink. The problem with this tool is there is nothing to hold it onto the nut behind the compression ring. When you start tightening it up, it just slips right off. To be useful it would require a side clamp to hold it together while you're pulling. Also, if you're operating in a tight space, you may need to remove a drain pipe to allow it adequate clearance to operate the twist bar. Tomorrow it's going back to Home Depot. I really don't see how this thing works except for a compression ring that isn't stuck very bad. But, if the compression ring wasn't stuck very bad, then I wouldn't need a special too to remove it, right? I ended up getting the compression ring off with a pair of vice grips, gently twisting and pulling. Then I cleaned up the pipe with some emery cloth, installed the new valve, and it works fine. They say to only tighten up those things with half a turn past snug, but I had to tighten it at least 3/4 of a turn, or maybe a little more, to stop it from leaking. (The new valve did leak when I first turned it on, but only a slight drip.)
It's possible that this thing doesn't work very good for compression rings because it is also designed to remove valve stems from faucets, and no one tool does both well??? I can only guess. I almost had to call a plumber to get that old compression ring off, and I never called a plumber in my entire life. (I've been a do it yourselfer for decades, and consider myself a very experienced general purpose repair guy.)
As a side note, I was replacing a multi-turn valve on the hot water outlet under my sink, in an 11 year old house. The rubber seal on the hot water side started to decay, adding small pepper like substance to any water that came out of that faucet, or entered the dishwasher, fed by the same valve. I've been reading not to use those multi-turn valves, and to instead spend a little extra to buy a ball valve, because they last a whole lot longer. Trust me, you don't want to replace a multi turn compression valve unless absolutely necessary. (I do however hear that they do wear out, and need to be replaced every decade for safety reasons, or something like that. They are easy and cheap to install in new construction, so I guess the builders like them, but a lot of experienced plumbers don't trust them for longevity. It's probably safer to solder on a regular twist on fitting, and match it with the appropriate screw on ball valve. (But doing that can be a nightmare in a tight space.)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from TX

Does not work well on copper pipes

PostedApril 10, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Compression rings apparently compress into copper pipes. This tool would not remove a compression ring/nut on a toilet supply for love or money.
Sorry - I really wanted it to work well, but alas.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from Twin Falls, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I think it's a great tool.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I had a very bad stuck water shower faucet and I saw this item on a Home Depot small home repair class in my neighborhood and laugh at what the gentleman said at that and when it happened to me I remembered the class and wow it saved me time and money. It's now a tool in my tool box.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

works well.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This worked very well at pulling handles that were stuck on.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

doesn't work

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It just slips off. I tried for 4 hours to remove a compression sleeve / nut. Maybe the one I got was defective because the legs were bent at greater than 90 degrees. To be effective, I think they have to be 90 or less than 90 degrees so that it will bite into the back of the nut and transfer the force to push the nut off rather that pushing the legs off of the nut and slipping off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from Indianapolis, IN

BrassCraft Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
"GENERAL TOOLS" FAUCET HANDLE PULLER Carded Removes large and small faucet handles with ease Two adjustable fingers 4" long for a more secure grip One-piece forged drive bracket for strength and durability, Weight: 4.5 lbs., Manufacturer: General Tools
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for me!!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I know this product has gotten a lot of bad reviews but give it a chance. I was replacing the stop valve and supply line for a toilet and needed the compression sleeve off to replace the nut and flange. Although I was skeptical that it would work after reading these reviews, I bought it, and within 5 minutes had the sleeve and nut and flange all removed. My supply line is copper, 1/2". So, for $10 it's worth a try, and I'm a 108lb female - I didn't even need my husband's help to get this to work!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from Arcadia, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to find toool.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is one of those tools you won't find everywhere. If you want to remove faucet handles with some ease, this is the tool for the job. Application of this tool requires some fussiness - you have to kind of "make" the tool work. It doesn't fit perfectly so you gotta use your imagination. But, it does work and makes faucet repairs easier
Pros: hard-to-find tool.
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked on First try.

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed this tool and,while the other stores showed it available online, Home Depot was the only one with it in stock. I was apprehensive since it was given a low rating but decided to try it anyway. It worked on the first try with the first handle and while the 2nd took a little more work it did the job. If I needed to, I would buy this product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

Get's the job done!

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was reluctant to buy it based on previous reviews, but at 10$ decided to give it a try anyways. It does require some finesse to get the hooks just right, but this tool got the job done first try. Just insert the nut, align the hooks and screw it. The stubborn compression sleeve that resisted pliers and brute force attempts easily came out using the tool.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: hooks do not stay in place by itself
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for me

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is not the best quality tool but at ten dollars what would you expect. I struggled for over an hour trying to remove a stuck tub faucet handle. I got this tool as a last resort. Got it home and in a matter of minutes had the faucet handle removed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Steel Faucet Handle and Compression Sleeve Puller Kit

It is a waste of money for pulling brass compression ferrules

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It kept popping off like so many other have complained about.
Cons: didnt due the job hd told i would need it to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>