728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

The Englander 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove has simple 1-touch ignition and a generous 40-lb. hopper. It features a user-friendly control panel that allows individual adjustment of the feed rate and blower speed. A unique, double-auger system offers long life and smooth pellet feed into the firebox. This stove comes with the components needed for a required outside air-exhaust system. It is adaptable for mobile-home use.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Review 21 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from NH

Good stove for the money

PostedNovember 24, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the price of oil getting more and more ridiculous we bought a pellet stove. It was very easy to install and so far it works like a champ. My house is 1400 sq ft and this stove running on a low setting keeps my house VERY warm. We'll see how the stove holds up in the long run, but for the money I don't know if you can beat it. So far I would definately recommend it. What I'll save on oil should pay for the stove.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great price if you shop around HD stores

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product arrived in great shape and installed easy. Is louad on startup and shout down. Needs the fire boxe cleaned before each lighting as the ash blocks the ignighter, so don't bother with a therastat other wise a great buy. Date is wrong it's 12/12/2011 install date
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

very good stove

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
stove is great but you should remind people to run for 48 hours to remove the smell and smoke from the burn off
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Middle River , MD

Good Stove

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My house is all electric, so I have a heat pump. With the BG&E price hikes I was looking at 300$+ bills in winter 2008. Got the stove in late december and my BGE bill for Jan 09 the coldest in years they claim was only $130. Stove is easy to use does require some daily cleaning to keep it working great, but it take 5mins to do. I wish it had a bigger hopper. I have a 1500sqft. house and with the outside temp in the 30-40s on a heat setting of 2 and blower set at 2 I can keep the whole house at 73-76 degrees. I think this is a great stove for the price , and worth the savins on the electric bill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Susanville, Calif

Online Purchase

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this as a first time purchase online without seeing it work in person, i finally had it installed and i must say it's a neat little stove, i like the auto ignite and the easy to understand manual, the free air intake kit, however it claims it has a 40lb hopper, i couldn't fit a 40 bag in it, you would have to leave the door open until it fed down some,(which they don't recommend) but it's more than a 30, either way it still holds alot of pellets and is doing a fine job of keeping me warm. This stove sits upfront and hanging off the edge of my floor for it as i use to have a wood stove and the alignment is all off, consider this as you might have to move you stack entirely. Im sure i will like it for years to come.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great, start up could be better

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stove is my primary source of heat for my 1040 sq ft home. I have used it about two weeks now. The hopper is a little small, it often goes out if I leave it over 8 hours. Also, the start up is a little frustrating. Sometimes it will ignite and then give you an error that it didn't start, and sometimes it won't start at all causing you to have to remove all the pellets in the burn pot and start again. I will be contacting them about this, it's possibly a simple fix. All in all though, I am loving it. Really fast, even heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

went through two stoves in less than a month

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased an Englander Stove from Home Depot. Twelve burns later the combustion blower went. Home Depot was very good about it and brought us another stove. After 4 burns the ignighter went. They came and took back the stove and credited our account. The Englander helpo line is only operational 8-5 Mon-Fri. NOt much use if you work. Home was very good about this problem but the Englander Stoves are awful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Farmington, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Stove!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stove heats living room where the stove is around 74, the rest of the house 68 on the lowest setting. So easy to clean. Only suggestion would be to buy online. I ordered my at the store took 2.5 hours for them to get the order right. But in the end it all worked out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Burns, WY

Very good, but could be better

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this to supplement our propane heat. We quickly found that without 1600 sq ft house, the propane was not needed, even when it is single digits outside. It is easy to maintain and easy to light.
There are two things to know:
1) When doing the weekly cleaning, scrape the bottom front inside of the feed tube. Carbon builds up here.
2) It won't quite hold a bag of pellets, and it leaves a bit of pellet behind when it runs out. It probably only will burn 30 lbs unaided. You will need to add more or scoop them toward the middle.
We run ours on a thermostat, and it works great. We often do have to turn it off in the afternoon, though because even on the lowest setting, it can be a little much. I scoop the center burn pot daily, then weekly scrape and vacuum. The weekly takes about 10 minutes, the daily about 2.
All in all, very good, just wish it held more pellets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Old Town, ME

Excellent

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit last summer. I live in northern Maine, and yes it is very cold hear. I heat a century old 1700 sq ft home. It does the job great. It had one failure with the combustion blower. The people at Englander were great to deal with and covered the part. Great product I would recommend to any one. I burned 3 tons of pellets from Sept to May and a mere 50 gallons of heating oil.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Lansdale, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Now we are saving 40% on heating costs!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased for a 1,300 s.q ft. home to save on current oil heating costs. It turns out we don't even need to turn on the oil heat anymore which is saving us a about 40% from what our oil heating costs were.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Windham, Maine

Best Deal

PostedOctober 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this stove last spring and fired it up for the first time this weekend. Excellent! We live in a 1500 sq. ft. cape and it heated the entire home. Due to the temp being in the 50's outside, I ran it on #1 setting and got the inside temp up to 76 degrees. Can't wait to see how it heats in the dead of winter. We installed the entire thing ourselves.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Caribou, ME, USA 04736
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

All safety features are great-and simple to use.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Still new but all seems ok.I am trying differen;t types
of pellets.The stove is working great, and gives a
lot of Heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Norton Ma

25 PDV pellet soves

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This item does heat well but it burns sootey. requiring many cleanings. The remote thermostat option is not what I expected and is not worth the added expense. over all the stoves does what it claims HEAT although hard to control.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Walden, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I learned a lot from this Stove....

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, I bought this stove on sale for $1099 plus 2 ton of presto-log pellets. 1st night top auger seized. Home depot was great, came right out and replaced the stove. 2nd stove same issue next night.... Turns out after tearing the stove down and using the DVD to figure out how. The pellets were too long ( 1 7/8" long, they should only be about an inch) and was causing a "Bridge" between the top and bottom augers, stopping the pellets from dropping down and getting to the burn pot. After clearing the blockage the stove has been running great.
So i got on the phone with Home Depot again... Whom by the way... Seriously, have been great. They gave me 10 bags of Stove Chow Pellets and are picking up the rest of the Presto Logs (75 bags of 100 were left) and replacing them with 2 ton, 100 bags of stove Chow for my problems..
I've seen a lot of complaints about the augers and I was pretty upset myself, but it turned out to be the pellets were too long... I'm glad the DVD showed me how to remove the augers and put them back in. Before you replace a stove like this, switch the motors to be sure it's bad and check your pellets length... It may save you a ton of trouble just like I had..... And By the way, the stoves been heating my 1900sq ft house very very well... It's 80 degrees down by the stove and 70 upstairs across the house from the stove.. I'm very happy with this stove compared to the $3500 harmons..... Can't beat it...
Murph
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Madison, Wisconsin

Warm Winter

PostedApril 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to wait and write this review so I could potentially answer all the questions I had prior to purchasing a stove. The installation I did my self and was not complicated. The folks at Englander are very helpful answering questions. I would warn everyone that the units are VERY heavy and will require a dolly or truck of some kind and be careful of your flooring. Prices are really good at HD and the door to door delivery you can't beat. Also be fore warned that the fresh air vent and handle come inside the hopper for shipping (avoid an embarrassing phone call). The dual wall chimney that is required is very expensive. I would recommend that you price out the length you will need prior to purchasing. (HD has not carried them in the past) Also, the unit will give off a slight smoke smell when first ignited but once seated it goes away. The unit will make some noises and squeaks when carbon builds up but they are very easy to clean. My idea was to put this unit in our basement and ultimately in addition to heating the basement also heat the floors to the upstairs. It worked according to plan and our heat/electric bill was literally cut in half. One hopper full of pellets will burn for 14 hours on low. The hopper is not big enough to hold a full bag of pellets. Our basement would stay a constant 53 degrees before the stove. With the stove burning, it stayed at 78 degrees. Our house is 1,700 sq ft with hardwood floors and the lowest temp outside this winter went down to - 32 degrees actual temp. (why do I live here again?) Obviously, individual results will very... Pellets will run $5.00 a bag but you can get deals through HD if you order them by the ton. (of course then you have to have a place to store a ton of pellets) Different brands of pellets burn differently. Some burn slower than others but all seem to run about $5.00 a bag. I hope this helps… Good Luck!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Great unit for the price

PostedJune 13, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great unit for the price, bought to heat our 600 sq foot sunroom and it heats the the whole house 2100 sq ft.
the plus is the price, the downside is there is no ash tray
you must vacuum the ashes everyday and chip carbon
buildup off the auger with a screwdriver and hammer
everyday or every other day or auger motor gets very loud.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Hudson, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

englander 1500 pellet stove

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very pleased....would highly recommend...would purchase again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from NH New Hampshire

Poor output of Heat Bad Website information

PostedDecember 5, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This website states that this unit has an output of 42,000 Btu's. Unfortunately, I noticed a sticker at Home Depot days later on the inside of the front glass of the same model stating that the output is 22,416 Btu's. That is a far cry from 42,000. This unit was purchased to replace a Toyostove (kerosene) Monitor sytle unit with a rating of 44,000 Btu's. This unit has settings from 1 to 9. This morning I leave for work at 6 AM arrived home at 3:30 PM and the unit is out (Out of pellets). This was with a setting of 6. Unit with a medium to high setting lasts only a 8 hour shift due to small hopper. I have new construction, 2x6 walls, R19, 6 mil poly, tight..... Now I have a new pellet stove lined up next to my Monitor style heater. I can't retire the kerosene unit. I do like the type of heat and the possible savings over fossil fuels. This is a great unit to supplement your heating system at home.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Mount Wolf , PA

Awsome little stove from Mount Wolf Pa

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this pellet stove I LOVE IT!!! it heats very well easy to use looks good and it comes with a dvd walks you though ever step the only downside to a pellet stove is buying the pipe to install it very expensive!!! but I think it may be worth it because I have it set on 2 and it warms my whole house !!! I had a wood stove before I install this.... this is so much cleaner and you pretty much but your pellets in and set it and forget it!!! I would recommend this stove to anyone. thanks hope this helps anyone that is looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>