728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

The Englander 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove has simple 1-touch ignition and a generous 40-lb. hopper. It features a user-friendly control panel that allows individual adjustment of the feed rate and blower speed. A unique, double-auger system offers long life and smooth pellet feed into the firebox. This stove comes with the components needed for a required outside air-exhaust system. It is adaptable for mobile-home use.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Review 1 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from SOUTHEAST, OHIO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO FAR, SO GOOD. GREAT SUPPORT FROM MFR.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'VE HAD IT RUNNING FOR 2 WEEKS. THE FIRST DAY IT RAN MY TEMPATURE UP TOO HIGH ON IT'S LOWEST SETTING. MY CABIN IS SMALL. I CALLED TECH SUPPORT AND THE GENTLEMAN TOLD ME HOW TO SLOW DOWN THE PELLET FEED RATE. I HAD AN ISSUE OF SLOW STARTING AND HE TOLD ME HOW TO REMOVE A PLASTIC CAP FROM THE IGNITER. IT STARTS UP EVERY TIME, FIRST TIME. lights much faster now. I DECIDED ON THIS UNIT OVER THE U.S. STOVE MODEL 5500M ONLY BECAUSE I HAD 2 STORM DOORS AND 2 TONS OF PELLETS BEING DELIVERED FROM HOME DEPOT AND MY STOVE WAS DELIVERED AT NO EXTRA COST. I HAD 9 TILES LEFT OVER FROM MY BATHROOM TILE JOB AND BUILT MY HEARTH WITH 3- 2X6'S AND A PIECE OF 1" PLYWOOD. CHEAPER THAN A FIREPROOF MAT. p.s. it comes with afresh air vent, you must purchase the 3" exhaust kit($200.00) it's an easy install for a beginner.wish it held at least 2 bags instead of just1.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase we made last year..........

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking to defray some of our home heating (oil) costs for this year so we decided to look into pellet stoves. We shopped all spring and early summer and after reading hundreds of reviews on multiple makes of stoves, we decided on the 25-pdvc. There are many pros about this little powerhouse. We have an 1800 sq/ft open-style ranch with a cathedral ceiling in the living room and 9 foot ceilings throughout. With our living room fan going in reverse on low speed, it helps to disperse the heat around very nicely. We have been lucky with a mild winter here in MA, but on nights like tonight when it is 15 degrees out, it is a comfortable 72 in the main living area with a 4 degree differential in the bedrooms. Although Englander advises against adjusting the factory settings of the stove, we did. Once you figure out what will work best in your home, these settings are pivotal for performance. We are burning Greene Team pellets (Lowe's - $199/ton) and are getting an average of 18 hours per bag. Now that we have gotten our settings dialed in, it throws some serious heat. Its an added bonus that they make them very consumer friendly which makes cleaning and maintenance idiot-proof. The DVD that they provide is concise and to the point. We just bought another one for our basement which is of equal size as our main floor. You cannot go wrong with this stove! If you burn premium quality pellets and keep the stove clean, you will limit the chance of problems. The last pro that I would like to highlight is Englander's OUTSTANDING customer service. They will chat with you about your stove and are really passionate about their product. The other morning I woke up to a "metal on metal" sound coming from the stove. I called Englander's customer service number and before I could tell the gentleman my name, he heard the noise and said, "hey, you need a new exhaust motor". It was that quick and painless. The new blower was received 3 days later. Replacement took 10 minutes total. It was that easy. For those who scoff at these stoves simply because they are from Home Depot or Lowe's, I say too bad for you. This is getting the most proverbial bang for your buck. Bottom line..........great stove!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from NH

Good stove for the money

PostedNovember 24, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the price of oil getting more and more ridiculous we bought a pellet stove. It was very easy to install and so far it works like a champ. My house is 1400 sq ft and this stove running on a low setting keeps my house VERY warm. We'll see how the stove holds up in the long run, but for the money I don't know if you can beat it. So far I would definately recommend it. What I'll save on oil should pay for the stove.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Westerly, RI

Fantastic Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Rhode Island. After a couple rough electric bills, I knew it was time to work on a new heating source for my home. My home was all electric. I looked at wood stoves and thought of all of the work getting wood, chopping, stacking, and starting the fires with paper and small bits as required. After a quick change of heart, I figured a pellet stove would be easier to manage and keep clean. I purchased this stove after I built a simple hearth with tile and concrete board(check your building codes). My hearth is 4 foot by 4 foot. The stove was installed by a buddy of mine and I in less than two hours. The smoke stack was easy to install as well. The heat from this stove keeps my house very warm. My house is two stories, 750 sqft each level. The heat naturally rises and keeps my house warm. I burn 1 bag of pellets every day and a half. I actually turn the stove off at night because it heats the house so quickly. What works for me is to start the stove in the morning on a medium setting for about an hour and then let it run on the lowest setting for the whole day. At bedtime, It is turned off. My electric bill dropped by 1/3rd. 1 ton of pellets has 50 bags. The ton lasts me about 70 to 80 days. I bought my pellets for $190 per ton.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from NH New Hampshire

Poor output of Heat Bad Website information

PostedDecember 5, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This website states that this unit has an output of 42,000 Btu's. Unfortunately, I noticed a sticker at Home Depot days later on the inside of the front glass of the same model stating that the output is 22,416 Btu's. That is a far cry from 42,000. This unit was purchased to replace a Toyostove (kerosene) Monitor sytle unit with a rating of 44,000 Btu's. This unit has settings from 1 to 9. This morning I leave for work at 6 AM arrived home at 3:30 PM and the unit is out (Out of pellets). This was with a setting of 6. Unit with a medium to high setting lasts only a 8 hour shift due to small hopper. I have new construction, 2x6 walls, R19, 6 mil poly, tight..... Now I have a new pellet stove lined up next to my Monitor style heater. I can't retire the kerosene unit. I do like the type of heat and the possible savings over fossil fuels. This is a great unit to supplement your heating system at home.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Madison, Wisconsin

Warm Winter

PostedApril 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to wait and write this review so I could potentially answer all the questions I had prior to purchasing a stove. The installation I did my self and was not complicated. The folks at Englander are very helpful answering questions. I would warn everyone that the units are VERY heavy and will require a dolly or truck of some kind and be careful of your flooring. Prices are really good at HD and the door to door delivery you can't beat. Also be fore warned that the fresh air vent and handle come inside the hopper for shipping (avoid an embarrassing phone call). The dual wall chimney that is required is very expensive. I would recommend that you price out the length you will need prior to purchasing. (HD has not carried them in the past) Also, the unit will give off a slight smoke smell when first ignited but once seated it goes away. The unit will make some noises and squeaks when carbon builds up but they are very easy to clean. My idea was to put this unit in our basement and ultimately in addition to heating the basement also heat the floors to the upstairs. It worked according to plan and our heat/electric bill was literally cut in half. One hopper full of pellets will burn for 14 hours on low. The hopper is not big enough to hold a full bag of pellets. Our basement would stay a constant 53 degrees before the stove. With the stove burning, it stayed at 78 degrees. Our house is 1,700 sq ft with hardwood floors and the lowest temp outside this winter went down to - 32 degrees actual temp. (why do I live here again?) Obviously, individual results will very... Pellets will run $5.00 a bag but you can get deals through HD if you order them by the ton. (of course then you have to have a place to store a ton of pellets) Different brands of pellets burn differently. Some burn slower than others but all seem to run about $5.00 a bag. I hope this helps… Good Luck!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Susanville, Calif

Online Purchase

PostedFebruary 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this as a first time purchase online without seeing it work in person, i finally had it installed and i must say it's a neat little stove, i like the auto ignite and the easy to understand manual, the free air intake kit, however it claims it has a 40lb hopper, i couldn't fit a 40 bag in it, you would have to leave the door open until it fed down some,(which they don't recommend) but it's more than a 30, either way it still holds alot of pellets and is doing a fine job of keeping me warm. This stove sits upfront and hanging off the edge of my floor for it as i use to have a wood stove and the alignment is all off, consider this as you might have to move you stack entirely. Im sure i will like it for years to come.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Martinsville, IN

The Stove

PostedJanuary 8, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After spending 1300 dollars last year on propane and still being cold inside. WE LOVE this stove. We can heat our downstairs to a toasty 75 degrees and be very comfortable and use approx 60 lbs of pellets. The stove runs all day and it keeps us warm!!! We feel it is a very good investment. The only thing that would make it better is if the hopper held 50 lbs. The bags are 40 lbs but we don't let it run out before we refill it and there is always some left in bag so a larger hopper would be helpful for this minor inconvience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Burns, WY

Very good, but could be better

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this to supplement our propane heat. We quickly found that without 1600 sq ft house, the propane was not needed, even when it is single digits outside. It is easy to maintain and easy to light.
There are two things to know:
1) When doing the weekly cleaning, scrape the bottom front inside of the feed tube. Carbon builds up here.
2) It won't quite hold a bag of pellets, and it leaves a bit of pellet behind when it runs out. It probably only will burn 30 lbs unaided. You will need to add more or scoop them toward the middle.
We run ours on a thermostat, and it works great. We often do have to turn it off in the afternoon, though because even on the lowest setting, it can be a little much. I scoop the center burn pot daily, then weekly scrape and vacuum. The weekly takes about 10 minutes, the daily about 2.
All in all, very good, just wish it held more pellets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from new hampshire

bigger hopper

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
good stove
but not all pellets slide down hopper around 10 to 15 lbs stay in hopper they dont slide down . have called tech support 5 times
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Windham, Maine

Best Deal

PostedOctober 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this stove last spring and fired it up for the first time this weekend. Excellent! We live in a 1500 sq. ft. cape and it heated the entire home. Due to the temp being in the 50's outside, I ran it on #1 setting and got the inside temp up to 76 degrees. Can't wait to see how it heats in the dead of winter. We installed the entire thing ourselves.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Great unit for the price

PostedJune 13, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great unit for the price, bought to heat our 600 sq foot sunroom and it heats the the whole house 2100 sq ft.
the plus is the price, the downside is there is no ash tray
you must vacuum the ashes everyday and chip carbon
buildup off the auger with a screwdriver and hammer
everyday or every other day or auger motor gets very loud.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Greenfield, MA

Okay but too loud

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit seems to heat decently, though I would call it supplemental as it does not heat the whole space very quickly. The main problem is that it is REALLY loud. It sounds like a quiet dishwasher or maybe a large basement dehumidifier, but that is not what you want right in the middle of your living space and going all the time. I would recommend that you shop around and find a stove that advertises being quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Old Town, ME

Excellent

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit last summer. I live in northern Maine, and yes it is very cold hear. I heat a century old 1700 sq ft home. It does the job great. It had one failure with the combustion blower. The people at Englander were great to deal with and covered the part. Great product I would recommend to any one. I burned 3 tons of pellets from Sept to May and a mere 50 gallons of heating oil.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Middle River , MD

Good Stove

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My house is all electric, so I have a heat pump. With the BG&E price hikes I was looking at 300$+ bills in winter 2008. Got the stove in late december and my BGE bill for Jan 09 the coldest in years they claim was only $130. Stove is easy to use does require some daily cleaning to keep it working great, but it take 5mins to do. I wish it had a bigger hopper. I have a 1500sqft. house and with the outside temp in the 30-40s on a heat setting of 2 and blower set at 2 I can keep the whole house at 73-76 degrees. I think this is a great stove for the price , and worth the savins on the electric bill.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Norton Ma

25 PDV pellet soves

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This item does heat well but it burns sootey. requiring many cleanings. The remote thermostat option is not what I expected and is not worth the added expense. over all the stoves does what it claims HEAT although hard to control.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Portland, Maine

Englander 25PDVC

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I figured we're into December, it's starting to get a little cooler at night, and I've had my Englander 25PDVC stove since September of 2008 and I've burned it plenty:
Listen, if you're thinking about buying a $4000 Harmon: DON'T. I was going to last year, found this Englander 25PVC at Home Depot on sale during the flurry of the oil crisis for MUCH less money than one of those "premium" stoves. This thing is great. I told the salesman at the local "premium" dealer that I had changed my mind and was going to buy an Englander stove....I asked him, being a novice in this arena, if I was sacrificing quality for price...his reply, quietly, "listen, if you take care of it, it will run as well as a Harmon." He was right.
Listen, buy this stove. It's nice looking, we have gotten tons of compliments on it. It heats my 1400 square foot Cape on the lowest setting (1) most nights, and when its 10 below I set it at 4, maybe 5 if there is a stiff wind chill (it can be set as high as 9). The hopper is only 40 pounds, so on those really cold nights just make sure to get up first thing in the morn and throw another bag in. You can then lower the setting to 1 or 2 to run it all day when the temp rises to 20-30 degrees outside.
Just CLEAN the stove like you're SUPPOSED to, to keep it running smooth: vacuum it out at least every other day (buy a $30 mini shop vac from the Depot, no need for these $200 "stove" vacuums---these ashes can be vacuumed after he stove has only been shut off for an hour...take out the back plate and give her a good suck with the shop vac. Take a flat head and small hammer and chisel away any build up near the bottom feed auger to avoid any "howling" when she turns. That's it. You can do yourself another favor and buy a GOOD premium pellet with low ash content to help reduce the cleanup. A good quality pellet is half the battle: there is a big difference in ash outlay and believe it or not in how hot the stove burns. I bought 3 tons of LG Granules from a dealer in NH (the pellets are from Quebec) for $244/ton last Spring when the deals are sweet. Load them up in the basement, get a good dehumidifier to keep them dry over the summer, and you're ready to rock come october when there's a chill in the air.
We couldn't be happier that we bought this stove. I paid a guy $150 after last heating season to come and clean it professionally and was actually embarassed at how easy it is to give it a good annual cleaning, something I am definately going to do myself next spring. I have dealt with the England Stove Works guys on the phone to make sure my warranty was kosher and recieved by them OK when i bought the stove, and they're great. There's a DVD that comes with the stove that tells you EVERYTHING you need to know, and the owner's manual is easy to read. If anything does go wrong with the stove you can call them readily (no long waits on the phone, they're in Virginia and speak really nice, good english) and you can get the parts right from them if you need them, and can find a guy nearby, most likely an england stove works certified repair guy. you have to look to find them (i was uneasy buying stove from the Depot with no repair service) but found the guy who cleaned my stove and can call to install any of those parts down the road if I need him at a fair labor rate.
This Englander is not nearly as loud as the "premium" stove guys first said it would be, and it CRANKS if I need it to.
Generators for power back up are a funny thing, these stoves' electric make-up seem to have a hard time firing up the blower if it's not a pure sine wave like your regular house electricity, so you can buy a battery back up for $600 bucks, but I am still looking for a generator to run mine off when the power goes out--I know they're out there, and when I find it, I will be able not only to run my stove but my fridge, TV and some lights too. A worthwhile investment anyway.
BUY this stove, it is not only worth the savings over those "really good" stoves, it's just as good: if you take care of it like it's supposed to be taken care of. Ash is your enemy, as with any pellet stove.
Two big thumbs up for this pellet stove. And I'm nice and warm right now....first 3-6 inches of snow forcasted for tomorrow night and I feel fine...plus the only time I hear my furnace kick on is to heat my water....I don't hear it kick on often, but oddly enough it puts a smile on my face knowing that it's not oil to heat my home when I know the stove is cooking. And the kids love to stand in front of it when they get out of the bath to warm their butts and watch the flames (scrape the interior of the glass with a puddy knife and windex off for a nice, bright fire every night.....)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Vermont

Too many cons

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pros on this stove was the price, that is about it. The product did heat my entire home, it does put out the heat. As for the cons, there are too many. For starters, it requires very frequent maintenance as others have also written. The auger tube gets coated with carbon buildup in the first inch or so, have to scrape it every 2 to 3 days otherwise the auger motor strains. The burnpot requires that you remove the clumps of ash at least twice a day otherwise the pellets do not burn properly as air flow is impeded. The burnpot cannot self empty, must be manually done. My neighbor has a Harman, requires maintenance every 2 to 3 weeks. Another thing is the sound level, very loud compared to a harman.
The product appears to be an engineering R&D project, just does not look like all the details and bugs have been worked out. For starters, the compartment containing the works, motors, controls is just too hot. Electric motors are typically rated for ambient temp of 40C or 104F. The temperature inside ranges from about 160F to 205F, I don't even dare running the stove past the 5 setting on the thermostat. This is the 3rd season and both blower motors are basically finished, the bearings are shot, probably due to the internal temps. I put a fan on the exterior pumping fresh air over the combustion blower and it immedietly quieted down the motor. Also had to remove the back cover to allow excess heat to escape. The internal wiring was not well supported and touched the internal hot components, had to rig up the wiring to prevent the insulation from getting damaged. The combustion blower motor is of poor quality, the motor housing is crimped to the mounting flange and was loose, just a poor arrangement. The motor wiggled on the flange and required a bit of rigging to hold it steady.
The product manual was outdated for the components and the video had contradicting statements as to the operation of the unit. Basically the product requires frequent attention and long term tinkering. This will be the last winter for this one, time to retire it and get a real pellet stove.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from East Stroudsburg PA

AWESOME

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
now is second season with this unit and have had no problems at all. Heating 1500sf basement and has reduced electrical bill by 30%. Highy reccommend!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from ohio

stove 1500 sq ft

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this stove now for three years.My home is 1800 hundred sq ft.If it is 30 deg out the main furnace will not run at all.If it gets colder than that the furnace will come on at times.The heat it puts out is unbelievable.I used a thermostat and it is better with that application.There are a few downfalls however,the stove pipe is expensive,and the pellets seem to get more expensive year after year.But at the same time if you get pellets early in the season there less expensive.I use two ton a season,which amounts to 400.00 dollars.I am satisfied with this stove,and its easy to clean.I would recommend it to anyone,It is a very good and satisfying investment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>