728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Freestanding Stoves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

The Englander 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove has simple 1-touch ignition and a generous 40-lb. hopper. It features a user-friendly control panel that allows individual adjustment of the feed rate and blower speed. A unique, double-auger system offers long life and smooth pellet feed into the firebox. This stove comes with the components needed for a required outside air-exhaust system. It is adaptable for mobile-home use.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Review 1 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from SOUTHEAST, OHIO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO FAR, SO GOOD. GREAT SUPPORT FROM MFR.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'VE HAD IT RUNNING FOR 2 WEEKS. THE FIRST DAY IT RAN MY TEMPATURE UP TOO HIGH ON IT'S LOWEST SETTING. MY CABIN IS SMALL. I CALLED TECH SUPPORT AND THE GENTLEMAN TOLD ME HOW TO SLOW DOWN THE PELLET FEED RATE. I HAD AN ISSUE OF SLOW STARTING AND HE TOLD ME HOW TO REMOVE A PLASTIC CAP FROM THE IGNITER. IT STARTS UP EVERY TIME, FIRST TIME. lights much faster now. I DECIDED ON THIS UNIT OVER THE U.S. STOVE MODEL 5500M ONLY BECAUSE I HAD 2 STORM DOORS AND 2 TONS OF PELLETS BEING DELIVERED FROM HOME DEPOT AND MY STOVE WAS DELIVERED AT NO EXTRA COST. I HAD 9 TILES LEFT OVER FROM MY BATHROOM TILE JOB AND BUILT MY HEARTH WITH 3- 2X6'S AND A PIECE OF 1" PLYWOOD. CHEAPER THAN A FIREPROOF MAT. p.s. it comes with afresh air vent, you must purchase the 3" exhaust kit($200.00) it's an easy install for a beginner.wish it held at least 2 bags instead of just1.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase we made last year..........

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I were looking to defray some of our home heating (oil) costs for this year so we decided to look into pellet stoves. We shopped all spring and early summer and after reading hundreds of reviews on multiple makes of stoves, we decided on the 25-pdvc. There are many pros about this little powerhouse. We have an 1800 sq/ft open-style ranch with a cathedral ceiling in the living room and 9 foot ceilings throughout. With our living room fan going in reverse on low speed, it helps to disperse the heat around very nicely. We have been lucky with a mild winter here in MA, but on nights like tonight when it is 15 degrees out, it is a comfortable 72 in the main living area with a 4 degree differential in the bedrooms. Although Englander advises against adjusting the factory settings of the stove, we did. Once you figure out what will work best in your home, these settings are pivotal for performance. We are burning Greene Team pellets (Lowe's - $199/ton) and are getting an average of 18 hours per bag. Now that we have gotten our settings dialed in, it throws some serious heat. Its an added bonus that they make them very consumer friendly which makes cleaning and maintenance idiot-proof. The DVD that they provide is concise and to the point. We just bought another one for our basement which is of equal size as our main floor. You cannot go wrong with this stove! If you burn premium quality pellets and keep the stove clean, you will limit the chance of problems. The last pro that I would like to highlight is Englander's OUTSTANDING customer service. They will chat with you about your stove and are really passionate about their product. The other morning I woke up to a "metal on metal" sound coming from the stove. I called Englander's customer service number and before I could tell the gentleman my name, he heard the noise and said, "hey, you need a new exhaust motor". It was that quick and painless. The new blower was received 3 days later. Replacement took 10 minutes total. It was that easy. For those who scoff at these stoves simply because they are from Home Depot or Lowe's, I say too bad for you. This is getting the most proverbial bang for your buck. Bottom line..........great stove!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from NH

Good stove for the money

PostedNovember 24, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
With the price of oil getting more and more ridiculous we bought a pellet stove. It was very easy to install and so far it works like a champ. My house is 1400 sq ft and this stove running on a low setting keeps my house VERY warm. We'll see how the stove holds up in the long run, but for the money I don't know if you can beat it. So far I would definately recommend it. What I'll save on oil should pay for the stove.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Martinsville, IN

The Stove

PostedJanuary 8, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After spending 1300 dollars last year on propane and still being cold inside. WE LOVE this stove. We can heat our downstairs to a toasty 75 degrees and be very comfortable and use approx 60 lbs of pellets. The stove runs all day and it keeps us warm!!! We feel it is a very good investment. The only thing that would make it better is if the hopper held 50 lbs. The bags are 40 lbs but we don't let it run out before we refill it and there is always some left in bag so a larger hopper would be helpful for this minor inconvience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Westerly, RI

Fantastic Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in Rhode Island. After a couple rough electric bills, I knew it was time to work on a new heating source for my home. My home was all electric. I looked at wood stoves and thought of all of the work getting wood, chopping, stacking, and starting the fires with paper and small bits as required. After a quick change of heart, I figured a pellet stove would be easier to manage and keep clean. I purchased this stove after I built a simple hearth with tile and concrete board(check your building codes). My hearth is 4 foot by 4 foot. The stove was installed by a buddy of mine and I in less than two hours. The smoke stack was easy to install as well. The heat from this stove keeps my house very warm. My house is two stories, 750 sqft each level. The heat naturally rises and keeps my house warm. I burn 1 bag of pellets every day and a half. I actually turn the stove off at night because it heats the house so quickly. What works for me is to start the stove in the morning on a medium setting for about an hour and then let it run on the lowest setting for the whole day. At bedtime, It is turned off. My electric bill dropped by 1/3rd. 1 ton of pellets has 50 bags. The ton lasts me about 70 to 80 days. I bought my pellets for $190 per ton.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Greenfield, MA

Okay but too loud

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit seems to heat decently, though I would call it supplemental as it does not heat the whole space very quickly. The main problem is that it is REALLY loud. It sounds like a quiet dishwasher or maybe a large basement dehumidifier, but that is not what you want right in the middle of your living space and going all the time. I would recommend that you shop around and find a stove that advertises being quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Madison, Wisconsin

Warm Winter

PostedApril 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to wait and write this review so I could potentially answer all the questions I had prior to purchasing a stove. The installation I did my self and was not complicated. The folks at Englander are very helpful answering questions. I would warn everyone that the units are VERY heavy and will require a dolly or truck of some kind and be careful of your flooring. Prices are really good at HD and the door to door delivery you can't beat. Also be fore warned that the fresh air vent and handle come inside the hopper for shipping (avoid an embarrassing phone call). The dual wall chimney that is required is very expensive. I would recommend that you price out the length you will need prior to purchasing. (HD has not carried them in the past) Also, the unit will give off a slight smoke smell when first ignited but once seated it goes away. The unit will make some noises and squeaks when carbon builds up but they are very easy to clean. My idea was to put this unit in our basement and ultimately in addition to heating the basement also heat the floors to the upstairs. It worked according to plan and our heat/electric bill was literally cut in half. One hopper full of pellets will burn for 14 hours on low. The hopper is not big enough to hold a full bag of pellets. Our basement would stay a constant 53 degrees before the stove. With the stove burning, it stayed at 78 degrees. Our house is 1,700 sq ft with hardwood floors and the lowest temp outside this winter went down to - 32 degrees actual temp. (why do I live here again?) Obviously, individual results will very... Pellets will run $5.00 a bag but you can get deals through HD if you order them by the ton. (of course then you have to have a place to store a ton of pellets) Different brands of pellets burn differently. Some burn slower than others but all seem to run about $5.00 a bag. I hope this helps… Good Luck!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Old Town, ME

Excellent

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit last summer. I live in northern Maine, and yes it is very cold hear. I heat a century old 1700 sq ft home. It does the job great. It had one failure with the combustion blower. The people at Englander were great to deal with and covered the part. Great product I would recommend to any one. I burned 3 tons of pellets from Sept to May and a mere 50 gallons of heating oil.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Portland, Maine

Englander 25PDVC

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I figured we're into December, it's starting to get a little cooler at night, and I've had my Englander 25PDVC stove since September of 2008 and I've burned it plenty:
Listen, if you're thinking about buying a $4000 Harmon: DON'T. I was going to last year, found this Englander 25PVC at Home Depot on sale during the flurry of the oil crisis for MUCH less money than one of those "premium" stoves. This thing is great. I told the salesman at the local "premium" dealer that I had changed my mind and was going to buy an Englander stove....I asked him, being a novice in this arena, if I was sacrificing quality for price...his reply, quietly, "listen, if you take care of it, it will run as well as a Harmon." He was right.
Listen, buy this stove. It's nice looking, we have gotten tons of compliments on it. It heats my 1400 square foot Cape on the lowest setting (1) most nights, and when its 10 below I set it at 4, maybe 5 if there is a stiff wind chill (it can be set as high as 9). The hopper is only 40 pounds, so on those really cold nights just make sure to get up first thing in the morn and throw another bag in. You can then lower the setting to 1 or 2 to run it all day when the temp rises to 20-30 degrees outside.
Just CLEAN the stove like you're SUPPOSED to, to keep it running smooth: vacuum it out at least every other day (buy a $30 mini shop vac from the Depot, no need for these $200 "stove" vacuums---these ashes can be vacuumed after he stove has only been shut off for an hour...take out the back plate and give her a good suck with the shop vac. Take a flat head and small hammer and chisel away any build up near the bottom feed auger to avoid any "howling" when she turns. That's it. You can do yourself another favor and buy a GOOD premium pellet with low ash content to help reduce the cleanup. A good quality pellet is half the battle: there is a big difference in ash outlay and believe it or not in how hot the stove burns. I bought 3 tons of LG Granules from a dealer in NH (the pellets are from Quebec) for $244/ton last Spring when the deals are sweet. Load them up in the basement, get a good dehumidifier to keep them dry over the summer, and you're ready to rock come october when there's a chill in the air.
We couldn't be happier that we bought this stove. I paid a guy $150 after last heating season to come and clean it professionally and was actually embarassed at how easy it is to give it a good annual cleaning, something I am definately going to do myself next spring. I have dealt with the England Stove Works guys on the phone to make sure my warranty was kosher and recieved by them OK when i bought the stove, and they're great. There's a DVD that comes with the stove that tells you EVERYTHING you need to know, and the owner's manual is easy to read. If anything does go wrong with the stove you can call them readily (no long waits on the phone, they're in Virginia and speak really nice, good english) and you can get the parts right from them if you need them, and can find a guy nearby, most likely an england stove works certified repair guy. you have to look to find them (i was uneasy buying stove from the Depot with no repair service) but found the guy who cleaned my stove and can call to install any of those parts down the road if I need him at a fair labor rate.
This Englander is not nearly as loud as the "premium" stove guys first said it would be, and it CRANKS if I need it to.
Generators for power back up are a funny thing, these stoves' electric make-up seem to have a hard time firing up the blower if it's not a pure sine wave like your regular house electricity, so you can buy a battery back up for $600 bucks, but I am still looking for a generator to run mine off when the power goes out--I know they're out there, and when I find it, I will be able not only to run my stove but my fridge, TV and some lights too. A worthwhile investment anyway.
BUY this stove, it is not only worth the savings over those "really good" stoves, it's just as good: if you take care of it like it's supposed to be taken care of. Ash is your enemy, as with any pellet stove.
Two big thumbs up for this pellet stove. And I'm nice and warm right now....first 3-6 inches of snow forcasted for tomorrow night and I feel fine...plus the only time I hear my furnace kick on is to heat my water....I don't hear it kick on often, but oddly enough it puts a smile on my face knowing that it's not oil to heat my home when I know the stove is cooking. And the kids love to stand in front of it when they get out of the bath to warm their butts and watch the flames (scrape the interior of the glass with a puddy knife and windex off for a nice, bright fire every night.....)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Mount Wolf , PA

Awsome little stove from Mount Wolf Pa

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought this pellet stove I LOVE IT!!! it heats very well easy to use looks good and it comes with a dvd walks you though ever step the only downside to a pellet stove is buying the pipe to install it very expensive!!! but I think it may be worth it because I have it set on 2 and it warms my whole house !!! I had a wood stove before I install this.... this is so much cleaner and you pretty much but your pellets in and set it and forget it!!! I would recommend this stove to anyone. thanks hope this helps anyone that is looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Maine

Finishing second season,wonderful stove

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finishing my second season of heating with this stove. I gave it 5 stars, it is an outstanding value. I priced the well known brands first. They were all at least twice the price and I doubt they are twice the quality. This stove has performed well both seasons, burning three tons each season. I clean it out once a week, but other than that, and a cleaning of the glass, no other maintenance. There was a noise in one of the blowers for the first couple of months. A whining noise that came and went. To me it sounded like the fan was contacting the housing, a clearance issue that appeared when hot. It went away, figure the fan/housing fixed themselves due to wear. Second season went without a hitch. Have never had issue with carbon build up on augers.Never a problem with jams, longs or sawdust. Have always burned LG pellets, and am pleased with them also. I do wish the stove was automatic on the thermostat. It only controls the auger speed. You must still start and stop the stove manually, and if its a warm day it will continue to build heat in your house until you shut it off for a while. Works great when its really cold out. Love this stove, much less money going for oil!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Maine

Dissatisfied customer

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very dissatisfied with this stove.
Purchased stove to heat basement on 12/18/10. Ran fine for 2 days went away for few days over holiday. Started stove up again 12/28/10 top auger quit working 12/31/10. Unable to get working and unable to reach tech support. Tore stove apart and cleaned out everything put it back together and got it to work again. Stove ran ok for 10 days then quit again. Called tech support and went through the steps he gave me, got auger running. 2 hrs later quit again. Returned product to Home Depot for refund. I'm not new to pellet stove operation, have had another brand for 3 winters and runs excellent.
I definitely would not recommend this stove.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Terrebonne, Or

Hopper

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the controls and ease of operation. The bad part is I can not get a full bag of pellets in the hopper (40lbs) and then if you let it burn and the stove runs out and shuts it self down everything is ok till you open the hopper up and you have maybe a 3rd of bag that didn't get to the auger because the sides of the hopper does not have enought slope there fore. If It wasn't such a job I would of returned it.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Wenham, MA, USA
Gender:Male

nice heat

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have only run my pellet stove for 2 days now but I am very happy with it. The only problem I had with it was someone left an inspected sticker in the ash compartment which melted and let of some nasty smoke - oops. BUT once I got rid of that it works good. One thing I stress is that you CLEAN it every day and make sure the igniter is clear because it wont start up correctly if you dont. then you have to remove all the pellets it just dumped into the burn pot - not fun. Keep it clean and maintain it and I think it should pay itself off in no time! the heat that it puts off is immense lowest setting is still HOT - I like that though.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

great product

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great stove for the price. Search different zip codes and can get it for half price Plus $50 shipping. Keeps 1500 sq ft house toasty warm
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great, start up could be better

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stove is my primary source of heat for my 1040 sq ft home. I have used it about two weeks now. The hopper is a little small, it often goes out if I leave it over 8 hours. Also, the start up is a little frustrating. Sometimes it will ignite and then give you an error that it didn't start, and sometimes it won't start at all causing you to have to remove all the pellets in the burn pot and start again. I will be contacting them about this, it's possibly a simple fix. All in all though, I am loving it. Really fast, even heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from On the Coast

great price: works well: great support

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First time ever writing a review so this means that I really like this pellet stove. I did my homework. This stove was easy to install, started right up and warms my home. We haven't used the furnace yet!!! Oil is to expensive these days. Did have a couple of concerns so I called technical help at Englander. Wait time was a bit long but the service was impressive. He took his time and walked me through the entire product.
The reason for me to call was because the unit seemed to shut down every 8 hours. Comes to find out that the hopper sometimes has a bit of paint residue from the factory which caused the pellets not to feed the auger properly. A little scotchbrite and elbow grease and the hopper is very smooth. I had to call the company to get the warranty for the year so it was well worth the call. Easy to keep clean with a shopvac.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great price if you shop around HD stores

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product arrived in great shape and installed easy. Is louad on startup and shout down. Needs the fire boxe cleaned before each lighting as the ash blocks the ignighter, so don't bother with a therastat other wise a great buy. Date is wrong it's 12/12/2011 install date
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Hudson, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

englander 1500 pellet stove

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very pleased....would highly recommend...would purchase again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

if you buy, better be good at repairs

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am now in my 2nd heating season with this stove. Before the 1st season ended, one motor seized. The maufacture said the warrenty had past. ( It had, by 6 days). I ordered a new motor from Amazon for 1/2 the price Englander wanted.
Now I am in to the second heating season by 2 months and the other motor and gear box don't feed properly, so it goes out.NOT acceptable in Maine. Englander stoves look great and start out great, but having to replace both motors in less than 2 years on a stove that I paid a good amount for, next time i will buy from one of the better makers
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>