728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

The Englander 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove has simple 1-touch ignition and a generous 40-lb. hopper. It features a user-friendly control panel that allows individual adjustment of the feed rate and blower speed. A unique, double-auger system offers long life and smooth pellet feed into the firebox. This stove comes with the components needed for a required outside air-exhaust system. It is adaptable for mobile-home use.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Review 1 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from SOUTHEAST, OHIO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO FAR, SO GOOD. GREAT SUPPORT FROM MFR.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'VE HAD IT RUNNING FOR 2 WEEKS. THE FIRST DAY IT RAN MY TEMPATURE UP TOO HIGH ON IT'S LOWEST SETTING. MY CABIN IS SMALL. I CALLED TECH SUPPORT AND THE GENTLEMAN TOLD ME HOW TO SLOW DOWN THE PELLET FEED RATE. I HAD AN ISSUE OF SLOW STARTING AND HE TOLD ME HOW TO REMOVE A PLASTIC CAP FROM THE IGNITER. IT STARTS UP EVERY TIME, FIRST TIME. lights much faster now. I DECIDED ON THIS UNIT OVER THE U.S. STOVE MODEL 5500M ONLY BECAUSE I HAD 2 STORM DOORS AND 2 TONS OF PELLETS BEING DELIVERED FROM HOME DEPOT AND MY STOVE WAS DELIVERED AT NO EXTRA COST. I HAD 9 TILES LEFT OVER FROM MY BATHROOM TILE JOB AND BUILT MY HEARTH WITH 3- 2X6'S AND A PIECE OF 1" PLYWOOD. CHEAPER THAN A FIREPROOF MAT. p.s. it comes with afresh air vent, you must purchase the 3" exhaust kit($200.00) it's an easy install for a beginner.wish it held at least 2 bags instead of just1.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase we made last year..........

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking to defray some of our home heating (oil) costs for this year so we decided to look into pellet stoves. We shopped all spring and early summer and after reading hundreds of reviews on multiple makes of stoves, we decided on the 25-pdvc. There are many pros about this little powerhouse. We have an 1800 sq/ft open-style ranch with a cathedral ceiling in the living room and 9 foot ceilings throughout. With our living room fan going in reverse on low speed, it helps to disperse the heat around very nicely. We have been lucky with a mild winter here in MA, but on nights like tonight when it is 15 degrees out, it is a comfortable 72 in the main living area with a 4 degree differential in the bedrooms. Although Englander advises against adjusting the factory settings of the stove, we did. Once you figure out what will work best in your home, these settings are pivotal for performance. We are burning Greene Team pellets (Lowe's - $199/ton) and are getting an average of 18 hours per bag. Now that we have gotten our settings dialed in, it throws some serious heat. Its an added bonus that they make them very consumer friendly which makes cleaning and maintenance idiot-proof. The DVD that they provide is concise and to the point. We just bought another one for our basement which is of equal size as our main floor. You cannot go wrong with this stove! If you burn premium quality pellets and keep the stove clean, you will limit the chance of problems. The last pro that I would like to highlight is Englander's OUTSTANDING customer service. They will chat with you about your stove and are really passionate about their product. The other morning I woke up to a "metal on metal" sound coming from the stove. I called Englander's customer service number and before I could tell the gentleman my name, he heard the noise and said, "hey, you need a new exhaust motor". It was that quick and painless. The new blower was received 3 days later. Replacement took 10 minutes total. It was that easy. For those who scoff at these stoves simply because they are from Home Depot or Lowe's, I say too bad for you. This is getting the most proverbial bang for your buck. Bottom line..........great stove!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Westerly, RI

Fantastic Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Rhode Island. After a couple rough electric bills, I knew it was time to work on a new heating source for my home. My home was all electric. I looked at wood stoves and thought of all of the work getting wood, chopping, stacking, and starting the fires with paper and small bits as required. After a quick change of heart, I figured a pellet stove would be easier to manage and keep clean. I purchased this stove after I built a simple hearth with tile and concrete board(check your building codes). My hearth is 4 foot by 4 foot. The stove was installed by a buddy of mine and I in less than two hours. The smoke stack was easy to install as well. The heat from this stove keeps my house very warm. My house is two stories, 750 sqft each level. The heat naturally rises and keeps my house warm. I burn 1 bag of pellets every day and a half. I actually turn the stove off at night because it heats the house so quickly. What works for me is to start the stove in the morning on a medium setting for about an hour and then let it run on the lowest setting for the whole day. At bedtime, It is turned off. My electric bill dropped by 1/3rd. 1 ton of pellets has 50 bags. The ton lasts me about 70 to 80 days. I bought my pellets for $190 per ton.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Madison, Wisconsin

Warm Winter

PostedApril 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to wait and write this review so I could potentially answer all the questions I had prior to purchasing a stove. The installation I did my self and was not complicated. The folks at Englander are very helpful answering questions. I would warn everyone that the units are VERY heavy and will require a dolly or truck of some kind and be careful of your flooring. Prices are really good at HD and the door to door delivery you can't beat. Also be fore warned that the fresh air vent and handle come inside the hopper for shipping (avoid an embarrassing phone call). The dual wall chimney that is required is very expensive. I would recommend that you price out the length you will need prior to purchasing. (HD has not carried them in the past) Also, the unit will give off a slight smoke smell when first ignited but once seated it goes away. The unit will make some noises and squeaks when carbon builds up but they are very easy to clean. My idea was to put this unit in our basement and ultimately in addition to heating the basement also heat the floors to the upstairs. It worked according to plan and our heat/electric bill was literally cut in half. One hopper full of pellets will burn for 14 hours on low. The hopper is not big enough to hold a full bag of pellets. Our basement would stay a constant 53 degrees before the stove. With the stove burning, it stayed at 78 degrees. Our house is 1,700 sq ft with hardwood floors and the lowest temp outside this winter went down to - 32 degrees actual temp. (why do I live here again?) Obviously, individual results will very... Pellets will run $5.00 a bag but you can get deals through HD if you order them by the ton. (of course then you have to have a place to store a ton of pellets) Different brands of pellets burn differently. Some burn slower than others but all seem to run about $5.00 a bag. I hope this helps… Good Luck!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from NH

Good stove for the money

PostedNovember 24, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With the price of oil getting more and more ridiculous we bought a pellet stove. It was very easy to install and so far it works like a champ. My house is 1400 sq ft and this stove running on a low setting keeps my house VERY warm. We'll see how the stove holds up in the long run, but for the money I don't know if you can beat it. So far I would definately recommend it. What I'll save on oil should pay for the stove.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from NH New Hampshire

Poor output of Heat Bad Website information

PostedDecember 5, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This website states that this unit has an output of 42,000 Btu's. Unfortunately, I noticed a sticker at Home Depot days later on the inside of the front glass of the same model stating that the output is 22,416 Btu's. That is a far cry from 42,000. This unit was purchased to replace a Toyostove (kerosene) Monitor sytle unit with a rating of 44,000 Btu's. This unit has settings from 1 to 9. This morning I leave for work at 6 AM arrived home at 3:30 PM and the unit is out (Out of pellets). This was with a setting of 6. Unit with a medium to high setting lasts only a 8 hour shift due to small hopper. I have new construction, 2x6 walls, R19, 6 mil poly, tight..... Now I have a new pellet stove lined up next to my Monitor style heater. I can't retire the kerosene unit. I do like the type of heat and the possible savings over fossil fuels. This is a great unit to supplement your heating system at home.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Great unit for the price

PostedJune 13, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great unit for the price, bought to heat our 600 sq foot sunroom and it heats the the whole house 2100 sq ft.
the plus is the price, the downside is there is no ash tray
you must vacuum the ashes everyday and chip carbon
buildup off the auger with a screwdriver and hammer
everyday or every other day or auger motor gets very loud.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from East Stroudsburg PA

AWESOME

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
now is second season with this unit and have had no problems at all. Heating 1500sf basement and has reduced electrical bill by 30%. Highy reccommend!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Greenfield, MA

Okay but too loud

PostedMarch 11, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit seems to heat decently, though I would call it supplemental as it does not heat the whole space very quickly. The main problem is that it is REALLY loud. It sounds like a quiet dishwasher or maybe a large basement dehumidifier, but that is not what you want right in the middle of your living space and going all the time. I would recommend that you shop around and find a stove that advertises being quiet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Old Town, ME

Excellent

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit last summer. I live in northern Maine, and yes it is very cold hear. I heat a century old 1700 sq ft home. It does the job great. It had one failure with the combustion blower. The people at Englander were great to deal with and covered the part. Great product I would recommend to any one. I burned 3 tons of pellets from Sept to May and a mere 50 gallons of heating oil.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from ohio

stove 1500 sq ft

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this stove now for three years.My home is 1800 hundred sq ft.If it is 30 deg out the main furnace will not run at all.If it gets colder than that the furnace will come on at times.The heat it puts out is unbelievable.I used a thermostat and it is better with that application.There are a few downfalls however,the stove pipe is expensive,and the pellets seem to get more expensive year after year.But at the same time if you get pellets early in the season there less expensive.I use two ton a season,which amounts to 400.00 dollars.I am satisfied with this stove,and its easy to clean.I would recommend it to anyone,It is a very good and satisfying investment.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Burns, WY

Very good, but could be better

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this to supplement our propane heat. We quickly found that without 1600 sq ft house, the propane was not needed, even when it is single digits outside. It is easy to maintain and easy to light.
There are two things to know:
1) When doing the weekly cleaning, scrape the bottom front inside of the feed tube. Carbon builds up here.
2) It won't quite hold a bag of pellets, and it leaves a bit of pellet behind when it runs out. It probably only will burn 30 lbs unaided. You will need to add more or scoop them toward the middle.
We run ours on a thermostat, and it works great. We often do have to turn it off in the afternoon, though because even on the lowest setting, it can be a little much. I scoop the center burn pot daily, then weekly scrape and vacuum. The weekly takes about 10 minutes, the daily about 2.
All in all, very good, just wish it held more pellets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Maine

Dissatisfied customer

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very dissatisfied with this stove.
Purchased stove to heat basement on 12/18/10. Ran fine for 2 days went away for few days over holiday. Started stove up again 12/28/10 top auger quit working 12/31/10. Unable to get working and unable to reach tech support. Tore stove apart and cleaned out everything put it back together and got it to work again. Stove ran ok for 10 days then quit again. Called tech support and went through the steps he gave me, got auger running. 2 hrs later quit again. Returned product to Home Depot for refund. I'm not new to pellet stove operation, have had another brand for 3 winters and runs excellent.
I definitely would not recommend this stove.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

great product

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stove for the price. Search different zip codes and can get it for half price Plus $50 shipping. Keeps 1500 sq ft house toasty warm
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Caribou, ME, USA 04736
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

All safety features are great-and simple to use.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Still new but all seems ok.I am trying differen;t types
of pellets.The stove is working great, and gives a
lot of Heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Mount Wolf , PA

Awsome little stove from Mount Wolf Pa

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this pellet stove I LOVE IT!!! it heats very well easy to use looks good and it comes with a dvd walks you though ever step the only downside to a pellet stove is buying the pipe to install it very expensive!!! but I think it may be worth it because I have it set on 2 and it warms my whole house !!! I had a wood stove before I install this.... this is so much cleaner and you pretty much but your pellets in and set it and forget it!!! I would recommend this stove to anyone. thanks hope this helps anyone that is looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Norton Ma

25 PDV pellet soves

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This item does heat well but it burns sootey. requiring many cleanings. The remote thermostat option is not what I expected and is not worth the added expense. over all the stoves does what it claims HEAT although hard to control.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Farmington, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Stove!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stove heats living room where the stove is around 74, the rest of the house 68 on the lowest setting. So easy to clean. Only suggestion would be to buy online. I ordered my at the store took 2.5 hours for them to get the order right. But in the end it all worked out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Lansdale, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Now we are saving 40% on heating costs!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased for a 1,300 s.q ft. home to save on current oil heating costs. It turns out we don't even need to turn on the oil heat anymore which is saving us a about 40% from what our oil heating costs were.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Terrebonne, Or

Hopper

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the controls and ease of operation. The bad part is I can not get a full bag of pellets in the hopper (40lbs) and then if you let it burn and the stove runs out and shuts it self down everything is ok till you open the hopper up and you have maybe a 3rd of bag that didn't get to the auger because the sides of the hopper does not have enought slope there fore. If It wasn't such a job I would of returned it.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>