728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

The Englander 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove has simple 1-touch ignition and a generous 40-lb. hopper. It features a user-friendly control panel that allows individual adjustment of the feed rate and blower speed. A unique, double-auger system offers long life and smooth pellet feed into the firebox. This stove comes with the components needed for a required outside air-exhaust system. It is adaptable for mobile-home use.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Review 1 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from SOUTHEAST, OHIO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO FAR, SO GOOD. GREAT SUPPORT FROM MFR.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'VE HAD IT RUNNING FOR 2 WEEKS. THE FIRST DAY IT RAN MY TEMPATURE UP TOO HIGH ON IT'S LOWEST SETTING. MY CABIN IS SMALL. I CALLED TECH SUPPORT AND THE GENTLEMAN TOLD ME HOW TO SLOW DOWN THE PELLET FEED RATE. I HAD AN ISSUE OF SLOW STARTING AND HE TOLD ME HOW TO REMOVE A PLASTIC CAP FROM THE IGNITER. IT STARTS UP EVERY TIME, FIRST TIME. lights much faster now. I DECIDED ON THIS UNIT OVER THE U.S. STOVE MODEL 5500M ONLY BECAUSE I HAD 2 STORM DOORS AND 2 TONS OF PELLETS BEING DELIVERED FROM HOME DEPOT AND MY STOVE WAS DELIVERED AT NO EXTRA COST. I HAD 9 TILES LEFT OVER FROM MY BATHROOM TILE JOB AND BUILT MY HEARTH WITH 3- 2X6'S AND A PIECE OF 1" PLYWOOD. CHEAPER THAN A FIREPROOF MAT. p.s. it comes with afresh air vent, you must purchase the 3" exhaust kit($200.00) it's an easy install for a beginner.wish it held at least 2 bags instead of just1.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase we made last year..........

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking to defray some of our home heating (oil) costs for this year so we decided to look into pellet stoves. We shopped all spring and early summer and after reading hundreds of reviews on multiple makes of stoves, we decided on the 25-pdvc. There are many pros about this little powerhouse. We have an 1800 sq/ft open-style ranch with a cathedral ceiling in the living room and 9 foot ceilings throughout. With our living room fan going in reverse on low speed, it helps to disperse the heat around very nicely. We have been lucky with a mild winter here in MA, but on nights like tonight when it is 15 degrees out, it is a comfortable 72 in the main living area with a 4 degree differential in the bedrooms. Although Englander advises against adjusting the factory settings of the stove, we did. Once you figure out what will work best in your home, these settings are pivotal for performance. We are burning Greene Team pellets (Lowe's - $199/ton) and are getting an average of 18 hours per bag. Now that we have gotten our settings dialed in, it throws some serious heat. Its an added bonus that they make them very consumer friendly which makes cleaning and maintenance idiot-proof. The DVD that they provide is concise and to the point. We just bought another one for our basement which is of equal size as our main floor. You cannot go wrong with this stove! If you burn premium quality pellets and keep the stove clean, you will limit the chance of problems. The last pro that I would like to highlight is Englander's OUTSTANDING customer service. They will chat with you about your stove and are really passionate about their product. The other morning I woke up to a "metal on metal" sound coming from the stove. I called Englander's customer service number and before I could tell the gentleman my name, he heard the noise and said, "hey, you need a new exhaust motor". It was that quick and painless. The new blower was received 3 days later. Replacement took 10 minutes total. It was that easy. For those who scoff at these stoves simply because they are from Home Depot or Lowe's, I say too bad for you. This is getting the most proverbial bang for your buck. Bottom line..........great stove!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Old Town, ME

Excellent

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit last summer. I live in northern Maine, and yes it is very cold hear. I heat a century old 1700 sq ft home. It does the job great. It had one failure with the combustion blower. The people at Englander were great to deal with and covered the part. Great product I would recommend to any one. I burned 3 tons of pellets from Sept to May and a mere 50 gallons of heating oil.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Portland, Maine

Englander 25PDVC

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I figured we're into December, it's starting to get a little cooler at night, and I've had my Englander 25PDVC stove since September of 2008 and I've burned it plenty:
Listen, if you're thinking about buying a $4000 Harmon: DON'T. I was going to last year, found this Englander 25PVC at Home Depot on sale during the flurry of the oil crisis for MUCH less money than one of those "premium" stoves. This thing is great. I told the salesman at the local "premium" dealer that I had changed my mind and was going to buy an Englander stove....I asked him, being a novice in this arena, if I was sacrificing quality for price...his reply, quietly, "listen, if you take care of it, it will run as well as a Harmon." He was right.
Listen, buy this stove. It's nice looking, we have gotten tons of compliments on it. It heats my 1400 square foot Cape on the lowest setting (1) most nights, and when its 10 below I set it at 4, maybe 5 if there is a stiff wind chill (it can be set as high as 9). The hopper is only 40 pounds, so on those really cold nights just make sure to get up first thing in the morn and throw another bag in. You can then lower the setting to 1 or 2 to run it all day when the temp rises to 20-30 degrees outside.
Just CLEAN the stove like you're SUPPOSED to, to keep it running smooth: vacuum it out at least every other day (buy a $30 mini shop vac from the Depot, no need for these $200 "stove" vacuums---these ashes can be vacuumed after he stove has only been shut off for an hour...take out the back plate and give her a good suck with the shop vac. Take a flat head and small hammer and chisel away any build up near the bottom feed auger to avoid any "howling" when she turns. That's it. You can do yourself another favor and buy a GOOD premium pellet with low ash content to help reduce the cleanup. A good quality pellet is half the battle: there is a big difference in ash outlay and believe it or not in how hot the stove burns. I bought 3 tons of LG Granules from a dealer in NH (the pellets are from Quebec) for $244/ton last Spring when the deals are sweet. Load them up in the basement, get a good dehumidifier to keep them dry over the summer, and you're ready to rock come october when there's a chill in the air.
We couldn't be happier that we bought this stove. I paid a guy $150 after last heating season to come and clean it professionally and was actually embarassed at how easy it is to give it a good annual cleaning, something I am definately going to do myself next spring. I have dealt with the England Stove Works guys on the phone to make sure my warranty was kosher and recieved by them OK when i bought the stove, and they're great. There's a DVD that comes with the stove that tells you EVERYTHING you need to know, and the owner's manual is easy to read. If anything does go wrong with the stove you can call them readily (no long waits on the phone, they're in Virginia and speak really nice, good english) and you can get the parts right from them if you need them, and can find a guy nearby, most likely an england stove works certified repair guy. you have to look to find them (i was uneasy buying stove from the Depot with no repair service) but found the guy who cleaned my stove and can call to install any of those parts down the road if I need him at a fair labor rate.
This Englander is not nearly as loud as the "premium" stove guys first said it would be, and it CRANKS if I need it to.
Generators for power back up are a funny thing, these stoves' electric make-up seem to have a hard time firing up the blower if it's not a pure sine wave like your regular house electricity, so you can buy a battery back up for $600 bucks, but I am still looking for a generator to run mine off when the power goes out--I know they're out there, and when I find it, I will be able not only to run my stove but my fridge, TV and some lights too. A worthwhile investment anyway.
BUY this stove, it is not only worth the savings over those "really good" stoves, it's just as good: if you take care of it like it's supposed to be taken care of. Ash is your enemy, as with any pellet stove.
Two big thumbs up for this pellet stove. And I'm nice and warm right now....first 3-6 inches of snow forcasted for tomorrow night and I feel fine...plus the only time I hear my furnace kick on is to heat my water....I don't hear it kick on often, but oddly enough it puts a smile on my face knowing that it's not oil to heat my home when I know the stove is cooking. And the kids love to stand in front of it when they get out of the bath to warm their butts and watch the flames (scrape the interior of the glass with a puddy knife and windex off for a nice, bright fire every night.....)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Terrebonne, Or

Hopper

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the controls and ease of operation. The bad part is I can not get a full bag of pellets in the hopper (40lbs) and then if you let it burn and the stove runs out and shuts it self down everything is ok till you open the hopper up and you have maybe a 3rd of bag that didn't get to the auger because the sides of the hopper does not have enought slope there fore. If It wasn't such a job I would of returned it.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Wenham, MA, USA
Gender:Male

nice heat

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only run my pellet stove for 2 days now but I am very happy with it. The only problem I had with it was someone left an inspected sticker in the ash compartment which melted and let of some nasty smoke - oops. BUT once I got rid of that it works good. One thing I stress is that you CLEAN it every day and make sure the igniter is clear because it wont start up correctly if you dont. then you have to remove all the pellets it just dumped into the burn pot - not fun. Keep it clean and maintain it and I think it should pay itself off in no time! the heat that it puts off is immense lowest setting is still HOT - I like that though.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

great product

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stove for the price. Search different zip codes and can get it for half price Plus $50 shipping. Keeps 1500 sq ft house toasty warm
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great, start up could be better

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stove is my primary source of heat for my 1040 sq ft home. I have used it about two weeks now. The hopper is a little small, it often goes out if I leave it over 8 hours. Also, the start up is a little frustrating. Sometimes it will ignite and then give you an error that it didn't start, and sometimes it won't start at all causing you to have to remove all the pellets in the burn pot and start again. I will be contacting them about this, it's possibly a simple fix. All in all though, I am loving it. Really fast, even heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Walden, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I learned a lot from this Stove....

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, I bought this stove on sale for $1099 plus 2 ton of presto-log pellets. 1st night top auger seized. Home depot was great, came right out and replaced the stove. 2nd stove same issue next night.... Turns out after tearing the stove down and using the DVD to figure out how. The pellets were too long ( 1 7/8" long, they should only be about an inch) and was causing a "Bridge" between the top and bottom augers, stopping the pellets from dropping down and getting to the burn pot. After clearing the blockage the stove has been running great.
So i got on the phone with Home Depot again... Whom by the way... Seriously, have been great. They gave me 10 bags of Stove Chow Pellets and are picking up the rest of the Presto Logs (75 bags of 100 were left) and replacing them with 2 ton, 100 bags of stove Chow for my problems..
I've seen a lot of complaints about the augers and I was pretty upset myself, but it turned out to be the pellets were too long... I'm glad the DVD showed me how to remove the augers and put them back in. Before you replace a stove like this, switch the motors to be sure it's bad and check your pellets length... It may save you a ton of trouble just like I had..... And By the way, the stoves been heating my 1900sq ft house very very well... It's 80 degrees down by the stove and 70 upstairs across the house from the stove.. I'm very happy with this stove compared to the $3500 harmons..... Can't beat it...
Murph
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

very good stove

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
stove is great but you should remind people to run for 48 hours to remove the smell and smoke from the burn off
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from new hampshire

bigger hopper

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
good stove
but not all pellets slide down hopper around 10 to 15 lbs stay in hopper they dont slide down . have called tech support 5 times
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

Great unit for the price

PostedJune 13, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great unit for the price, bought to heat our 600 sq foot sunroom and it heats the the whole house 2100 sq ft.
the plus is the price, the downside is there is no ash tray
you must vacuum the ashes everyday and chip carbon
buildup off the auger with a screwdriver and hammer
everyday or every other day or auger motor gets very loud.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Windham, Maine

Best Deal

PostedOctober 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this stove last spring and fired it up for the first time this weekend. Excellent! We live in a 1500 sq. ft. cape and it heated the entire home. Due to the temp being in the 50's outside, I ran it on #1 setting and got the inside temp up to 76 degrees. Can't wait to see how it heats in the dead of winter. We installed the entire thing ourselves.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Burns, WY

Very good, but could be better

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this to supplement our propane heat. We quickly found that without 1600 sq ft house, the propane was not needed, even when it is single digits outside. It is easy to maintain and easy to light.
There are two things to know:
1) When doing the weekly cleaning, scrape the bottom front inside of the feed tube. Carbon builds up here.
2) It won't quite hold a bag of pellets, and it leaves a bit of pellet behind when it runs out. It probably only will burn 30 lbs unaided. You will need to add more or scoop them toward the middle.
We run ours on a thermostat, and it works great. We often do have to turn it off in the afternoon, though because even on the lowest setting, it can be a little much. I scoop the center burn pot daily, then weekly scrape and vacuum. The weekly takes about 10 minutes, the daily about 2.
All in all, very good, just wish it held more pellets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Vermont

Too many cons

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pros on this stove was the price, that is about it. The product did heat my entire home, it does put out the heat. As for the cons, there are too many. For starters, it requires very frequent maintenance as others have also written. The auger tube gets coated with carbon buildup in the first inch or so, have to scrape it every 2 to 3 days otherwise the auger motor strains. The burnpot requires that you remove the clumps of ash at least twice a day otherwise the pellets do not burn properly as air flow is impeded. The burnpot cannot self empty, must be manually done. My neighbor has a Harman, requires maintenance every 2 to 3 weeks. Another thing is the sound level, very loud compared to a harman.
The product appears to be an engineering R&D project, just does not look like all the details and bugs have been worked out. For starters, the compartment containing the works, motors, controls is just too hot. Electric motors are typically rated for ambient temp of 40C or 104F. The temperature inside ranges from about 160F to 205F, I don't even dare running the stove past the 5 setting on the thermostat. This is the 3rd season and both blower motors are basically finished, the bearings are shot, probably due to the internal temps. I put a fan on the exterior pumping fresh air over the combustion blower and it immedietly quieted down the motor. Also had to remove the back cover to allow excess heat to escape. The internal wiring was not well supported and touched the internal hot components, had to rig up the wiring to prevent the insulation from getting damaged. The combustion blower motor is of poor quality, the motor housing is crimped to the mounting flange and was loose, just a poor arrangement. The motor wiggled on the flange and required a bit of rigging to hold it steady.
The product manual was outdated for the components and the video had contradicting statements as to the operation of the unit. Basically the product requires frequent attention and long term tinkering. This will be the last winter for this one, time to retire it and get a real pellet stove.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from MA

1,500 sq ft pellet stove summers heat

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stove Great price!!!! This model requires more maintenance then the higher end models but for a fraction of the price you can't go wrong. I have 2 of these bad boys heating my 1700sq ft house and the heat is intense to say the least. I use 6ton pellets a year and do 4 hours of maintenance on each. Please use premium pellets either hard wood only or a mix seems that pine leaves too much resin in burn pot. Englander has a great support team just remember you have 30 days to register stove or no warranty. Good luck on you purchase it is a good investment.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Caribou, ME, USA 04736
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

All safety features are great-and simple to use.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Still new but all seems ok.I am trying differen;t types
of pellets.The stove is working great, and gives a
lot of Heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Lansdale, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Now we are saving 40% on heating costs!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased for a 1,300 s.q ft. home to save on current oil heating costs. It turns out we don't even need to turn on the oil heat anymore which is saving us a about 40% from what our oil heating costs were.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Southern NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

absolutely reliable

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought mine over one year ago, for my basement apartment which I rent out. I installed the stove myself in the place where I ripped out a propane area heater.
Needless to say, a renter does only the minimal maintenance and rather complains when the heating doesn't work. I'm very happy with this stove, it needs little cleaning, is reliable, easy to use and maintain.
The basement apartment has some 500 sqft, is in New Hampshire and the stove heats it easily on level 2 (out of 9).
I will buy one or two more for my other properties.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
from Westerly, RI

Fantastic Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Rhode Island. After a couple rough electric bills, I knew it was time to work on a new heating source for my home. My home was all electric. I looked at wood stoves and thought of all of the work getting wood, chopping, stacking, and starting the fires with paper and small bits as required. After a quick change of heart, I figured a pellet stove would be easier to manage and keep clean. I purchased this stove after I built a simple hearth with tile and concrete board(check your building codes). My hearth is 4 foot by 4 foot. The stove was installed by a buddy of mine and I in less than two hours. The smoke stack was easy to install as well. The heat from this stove keeps my house very warm. My house is two stories, 750 sqft each level. The heat naturally rises and keeps my house warm. I burn 1 bag of pellets every day and a half. I actually turn the stove off at night because it heats the house so quickly. What works for me is to start the stove in the morning on a medium setting for about an hour and then let it run on the lowest setting for the whole day. At bedtime, It is turned off. My electric bill dropped by 1/3rd. 1 ton of pellets has 50 bags. The ton lasts me about 70 to 80 days. I bought my pellets for $190 per ton.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>