728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove

The Englander 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove has simple 1-touch ignition and a generous 40-lb. hopper. It features a user-friendly control panel that allows individual adjustment of the feed rate and blower speed. A unique, double-auger system offers long life and smooth pellet feed into the firebox. This stove comes with the components needed for a required outside air-exhaust system. It is adaptable for mobile-home use.
Overall rating:
3.978 / 5
4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(11)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product35 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Review 1 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
ToastynBoasty
from MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase we made last year..........

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking to defray some of our home heating (oil) costs for this year so we decided to look into pellet stoves. We shopped all spring and early summer and after reading hundreds of reviews on multiple makes of stoves, we decided on the 25-pdvc. There are many pros about this little powerhouse. We have an 1800 sq/ft open-style ranch with a cathedral ceiling in the living room and 9 foot ceilings throughout. With our living room fan going in reverse on low speed, it helps to disperse the heat around very nicely. We have been lucky with a mild winter here in MA, but on nights like tonight when it is 15 degrees out, it is a comfortable 72 in the main living area with a 4 degree differential in the bedrooms. Although Englander advises against adjusting the factory settings of the stove, we did. Once you figure out what will work best in your home, these settings are pivotal for performance. We are burning Greene Team pellets (Lowe's - $199/ton) and are getting an average of 18 hours per bag. Now that we have gotten our settings dialed in, it throws some serious heat. Its an added bonus that they make them very consumer friendly which makes cleaning and maintenance idiot-proof. The DVD that they provide is concise and to the point. We just bought another one for our basement which is of equal size as our main floor. You cannot go wrong with this stove! If you burn premium quality pellets and keep the stove clean, you will limit the chance of problems. The last pro that I would like to highlight is Englander's OUTSTANDING customer service. They will chat with you about your stove and are really passionate about their product. The other morning I woke up to a "metal on metal" sound coming from the stove. I called Englander's customer service number and before I could tell the gentleman my name, he heard the noise and said, "hey, you need a new exhaust motor". It was that quick and painless. The new blower was received 3 days later. Replacement took 10 minutes total. It was that easy. For those who scoff at these stoves simply because they are from Home Depot or Lowe's, I say too bad for you. This is getting the most proverbial bang for your buck. Bottom line..........great stove!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
donny
from SOUTHEAST, OHIO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO FAR, SO GOOD. GREAT SUPPORT FROM MFR.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'VE HAD IT RUNNING FOR 2 WEEKS. THE FIRST DAY IT RAN MY TEMPATURE UP TOO HIGH ON IT'S LOWEST SETTING. MY CABIN IS SMALL. I CALLED TECH SUPPORT AND THE GENTLEMAN TOLD ME HOW TO SLOW DOWN THE PELLET FEED RATE. I HAD AN ISSUE OF SLOW STARTING AND HE TOLD ME HOW TO REMOVE A PLASTIC CAP FROM THE IGNITER. IT STARTS UP EVERY TIME, FIRST TIME. lights much faster now. I DECIDED ON THIS UNIT OVER THE U.S. STOVE MODEL 5500M ONLY BECAUSE I HAD 2 STORM DOORS AND 2 TONS OF PELLETS BEING DELIVERED FROM HOME DEPOT AND MY STOVE WAS DELIVERED AT NO EXTRA COST. I HAD 9 TILES LEFT OVER FROM MY BATHROOM TILE JOB AND BUILT MY HEARTH WITH 3- 2X6'S AND A PIECE OF 1" PLYWOOD. CHEAPER THAN A FIREPROOF MAT. p.s. it comes with afresh air vent, you must purchase the 3" exhaust kit($200.00) it's an easy install for a beginner.wish it held at least 2 bags instead of just1.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
JoeNavy
from Westerly, RI

Fantastic Product

PostedJanuary 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Rhode Island. After a couple rough electric bills, I knew it was time to work on a new heating source for my home. My home was all electric. I looked at wood stoves and thought of all of the work getting wood, chopping, stacking, and starting the fires with paper and small bits as required. After a quick change of heart, I figured a pellet stove would be easier to manage and keep clean. I purchased this stove after I built a simple hearth with tile and concrete board(check your building codes). My hearth is 4 foot by 4 foot. The stove was installed by a buddy of mine and I in less than two hours. The smoke stack was easy to install as well. The heat from this stove keeps my house very warm. My house is two stories, 750 sqft each level. The heat naturally rises and keeps my house warm. I burn 1 bag of pellets every day and a half. I actually turn the stove off at night because it heats the house so quickly. What works for me is to start the stove in the morning on a medium setting for about an hour and then let it run on the lowest setting for the whole day. At bedtime, It is turned off. My electric bill dropped by 1/3rd. 1 ton of pellets has 50 bags. The ton lasts me about 70 to 80 days. I bought my pellets for $190 per ton.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
amadensor
from Burns, WY

Very good, but could be better

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this to supplement our propane heat. We quickly found that without 1600 sq ft house, the propane was not needed, even when it is single digits outside. It is easy to maintain and easy to light.
There are two things to know:
1) When doing the weekly cleaning, scrape the bottom front inside of the feed tube. Carbon builds up here.
2) It won't quite hold a bag of pellets, and it leaves a bit of pellet behind when it runs out. It probably only will burn 30 lbs unaided. You will need to add more or scoop them toward the middle.
We run ours on a thermostat, and it works great. We often do have to turn it off in the afternoon, though because even on the lowest setting, it can be a little much. I scoop the center burn pot daily, then weekly scrape and vacuum. The weekly takes about 10 minutes, the daily about 2.
All in all, very good, just wish it held more pellets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
BMarkel
from Mount Wolf , PA

Awsome little stove from Mount Wolf Pa

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this pellet stove I LOVE IT!!! it heats very well easy to use looks good and it comes with a dvd walks you though ever step the only downside to a pellet stove is buying the pipe to install it very expensive!!! but I think it may be worth it because I have it set on 2 and it warms my whole house !!! I had a wood stove before I install this.... this is so much cleaner and you pretty much but your pellets in and set it and forget it!!! I would recommend this stove to anyone. thanks hope this helps anyone that is looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
nomorehammermarks
from Maine

Finishing second season,wonderful stove

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finishing my second season of heating with this stove. I gave it 5 stars, it is an outstanding value. I priced the well known brands first. They were all at least twice the price and I doubt they are twice the quality. This stove has performed well both seasons, burning three tons each season. I clean it out once a week, but other than that, and a cleaning of the glass, no other maintenance. There was a noise in one of the blowers for the first couple of months. A whining noise that came and went. To me it sounded like the fan was contacting the housing, a clearance issue that appeared when hot. It went away, figure the fan/housing fixed themselves due to wear. Second season went without a hitch. Have never had issue with carbon build up on augers.Never a problem with jams, longs or sawdust. Have always burned LG pellets, and am pleased with them also. I do wish the stove was automatic on the thermostat. It only controls the auger speed. You must still start and stop the stove manually, and if its a warm day it will continue to build heat in your house until you shut it off for a while. Works great when its really cold out. Love this stove, much less money going for oil!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
9fan4evr
from East Stroudsburg PA

AWESOME

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
now is second season with this unit and have had no problems at all. Heating 1500sf basement and has reduced electrical bill by 30%. Highy reccommend!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
rcmgolf
from Terrebonne, Or

Hopper

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really like the controls and ease of operation. The bad part is I can not get a full bag of pellets in the hopper (40lbs) and then if you let it burn and the stove runs out and shuts it self down everything is ok till you open the hopper up and you have maybe a 3rd of bag that didn't get to the auger because the sides of the hopper does not have enought slope there fore. If It wasn't such a job I would of returned it.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
nathan

great product

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stove for the price. Search different zip codes and can get it for half price Plus $50 shipping. Keeps 1500 sq ft house toasty warm
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Tommy
from Caribou, ME, USA 04736
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

All safety features are great-and simple to use.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Still new but all seems ok.I am trying differen;t types
of pellets.The stove is working great, and gives a
lot of Heat.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
mamadukes
from On the Coast

great price: works well: great support

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time ever writing a review so this means that I really like this pellet stove. I did my homework. This stove was easy to install, started right up and warms my home. We haven't used the furnace yet!!! Oil is to expensive these days. Did have a couple of concerns so I called technical help at Englander. Wait time was a bit long but the service was impressive. He took his time and walked me through the entire product.
The reason for me to call was because the unit seemed to shut down every 8 hours. Comes to find out that the hopper sometimes has a bit of paint residue from the factory which caused the pellets not to feed the auger properly. A little scotchbrite and elbow grease and the hopper is very smooth. I had to call the company to get the warranty for the year so it was well worth the call. Easy to keep clean with a shopvac.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Frustrating
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

high maintenance, chiseling off the build up on the auger tube

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately, my only real complaint is a big one. The tube that pellets come out of for burning gets caked with creosite/ash and I was spending 45 minutes or more taking this off with a chisel and hammer every day. I became tired of doing this every day and eventually stopped using it as it would either sound like a car wreck, or I would have to go thru this ritual after work everyday. Will pay the price for oil as I became tired of this.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Josh
from Farmington, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Stove!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great stove heats living room where the stove is around 74, the rest of the house 68 on the lowest setting. So easy to clean. Only suggestion would be to buy online. I ordered my at the store took 2.5 hours for them to get the order right. But in the end it all worked out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
Anonymous
from new hampshire

bigger hopper

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
good stove
but not all pellets slide down hopper around 10 to 15 lbs stay in hopper they dont slide down . have called tech support 5 times
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
dandcshipley
from Madison, Wisconsin

Warm Winter

PostedApril 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to wait and write this review so I could potentially answer all the questions I had prior to purchasing a stove. The installation I did my self and was not complicated. The folks at Englander are very helpful answering questions. I would warn everyone that the units are VERY heavy and will require a dolly or truck of some kind and be careful of your flooring. Prices are really good at HD and the door to door delivery you can't beat. Also be fore warned that the fresh air vent and handle come inside the hopper for shipping (avoid an embarrassing phone call). The dual wall chimney that is required is very expensive. I would recommend that you price out the length you will need prior to purchasing. (HD has not carried them in the past) Also, the unit will give off a slight smoke smell when first ignited but once seated it goes away. The unit will make some noises and squeaks when carbon builds up but they are very easy to clean. My idea was to put this unit in our basement and ultimately in addition to heating the basement also heat the floors to the upstairs. It worked according to plan and our heat/electric bill was literally cut in half. One hopper full of pellets will burn for 14 hours on low. The hopper is not big enough to hold a full bag of pellets. Our basement would stay a constant 53 degrees before the stove. With the stove burning, it stayed at 78 degrees. Our house is 1,700 sq ft with hardwood floors and the lowest temp outside this winter went down to - 32 degrees actual temp. (why do I live here again?) Obviously, individual results will very... Pellets will run $5.00 a bag but you can get deals through HD if you order them by the ton. (of course then you have to have a place to store a ton of pellets) Different brands of pellets burn differently. Some burn slower than others but all seem to run about $5.00 a bag. I hope this helps… Good Luck!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
reelmainah1
from Portland, Maine

Englander 25PDVC

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I figured we're into December, it's starting to get a little cooler at night, and I've had my Englander 25PDVC stove since September of 2008 and I've burned it plenty:
Listen, if you're thinking about buying a $4000 Harmon: DON'T. I was going to last year, found this Englander 25PVC at Home Depot on sale during the flurry of the oil crisis for MUCH less money than one of those "premium" stoves. This thing is great. I told the salesman at the local "premium" dealer that I had changed my mind and was going to buy an Englander stove....I asked him, being a novice in this arena, if I was sacrificing quality for price...his reply, quietly, "listen, if you take care of it, it will run as well as a Harmon." He was right.
Listen, buy this stove. It's nice looking, we have gotten tons of compliments on it. It heats my 1400 square foot Cape on the lowest setting (1) most nights, and when its 10 below I set it at 4, maybe 5 if there is a stiff wind chill (it can be set as high as 9). The hopper is only 40 pounds, so on those really cold nights just make sure to get up first thing in the morn and throw another bag in. You can then lower the setting to 1 or 2 to run it all day when the temp rises to 20-30 degrees outside.
Just CLEAN the stove like you're SUPPOSED to, to keep it running smooth: vacuum it out at least every other day (buy a $30 mini shop vac from the Depot, no need for these $200 "stove" vacuums---these ashes can be vacuumed after he stove has only been shut off for an hour...take out the back plate and give her a good suck with the shop vac. Take a flat head and small hammer and chisel away any build up near the bottom feed auger to avoid any "howling" when she turns. That's it. You can do yourself another favor and buy a GOOD premium pellet with low ash content to help reduce the cleanup. A good quality pellet is half the battle: there is a big difference in ash outlay and believe it or not in how hot the stove burns. I bought 3 tons of LG Granules from a dealer in NH (the pellets are from Quebec) for $244/ton last Spring when the deals are sweet. Load them up in the basement, get a good dehumidifier to keep them dry over the summer, and you're ready to rock come october when there's a chill in the air.
We couldn't be happier that we bought this stove. I paid a guy $150 after last heating season to come and clean it professionally and was actually embarassed at how easy it is to give it a good annual cleaning, something I am definately going to do myself next spring. I have dealt with the England Stove Works guys on the phone to make sure my warranty was kosher and recieved by them OK when i bought the stove, and they're great. There's a DVD that comes with the stove that tells you EVERYTHING you need to know, and the owner's manual is easy to read. If anything does go wrong with the stove you can call them readily (no long waits on the phone, they're in Virginia and speak really nice, good english) and you can get the parts right from them if you need them, and can find a guy nearby, most likely an england stove works certified repair guy. you have to look to find them (i was uneasy buying stove from the Depot with no repair service) but found the guy who cleaned my stove and can call to install any of those parts down the road if I need him at a fair labor rate.
This Englander is not nearly as loud as the "premium" stove guys first said it would be, and it CRANKS if I need it to.
Generators for power back up are a funny thing, these stoves' electric make-up seem to have a hard time firing up the blower if it's not a pure sine wave like your regular house electricity, so you can buy a battery back up for $600 bucks, but I am still looking for a generator to run mine off when the power goes out--I know they're out there, and when I find it, I will be able not only to run my stove but my fridge, TV and some lights too. A worthwhile investment anyway.
BUY this stove, it is not only worth the savings over those "really good" stoves, it's just as good: if you take care of it like it's supposed to be taken care of. Ash is your enemy, as with any pellet stove.
Two big thumbs up for this pellet stove. And I'm nice and warm right now....first 3-6 inches of snow forcasted for tomorrow night and I feel fine...plus the only time I hear my furnace kick on is to heat my water....I don't hear it kick on often, but oddly enough it puts a smile on my face knowing that it's not oil to heat my home when I know the stove is cooking. And the kids love to stand in front of it when they get out of the bath to warm their butts and watch the flames (scrape the interior of the glass with a puddy knife and windex off for a nice, bright fire every night.....)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
vemex
from Vermont

Too many cons

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pros on this stove was the price, that is about it. The product did heat my entire home, it does put out the heat. As for the cons, there are too many. For starters, it requires very frequent maintenance as others have also written. The auger tube gets coated with carbon buildup in the first inch or so, have to scrape it every 2 to 3 days otherwise the auger motor strains. The burnpot requires that you remove the clumps of ash at least twice a day otherwise the pellets do not burn properly as air flow is impeded. The burnpot cannot self empty, must be manually done. My neighbor has a Harman, requires maintenance every 2 to 3 weeks. Another thing is the sound level, very loud compared to a harman.
The product appears to be an engineering R&D project, just does not look like all the details and bugs have been worked out. For starters, the compartment containing the works, motors, controls is just too hot. Electric motors are typically rated for ambient temp of 40C or 104F. The temperature inside ranges from about 160F to 205F, I don't even dare running the stove past the 5 setting on the thermostat. This is the 3rd season and both blower motors are basically finished, the bearings are shot, probably due to the internal temps. I put a fan on the exterior pumping fresh air over the combustion blower and it immedietly quieted down the motor. Also had to remove the back cover to allow excess heat to escape. The internal wiring was not well supported and touched the internal hot components, had to rig up the wiring to prevent the insulation from getting damaged. The combustion blower motor is of poor quality, the motor housing is crimped to the mounting flange and was loose, just a poor arrangement. The motor wiggled on the flange and required a bit of rigging to hold it steady.
The product manual was outdated for the components and the video had contradicting statements as to the operation of the unit. Basically the product requires frequent attention and long term tinkering. This will be the last winter for this one, time to retire it and get a real pellet stove.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
PelletsStove
from North East

Great stove for the money

PostedNovember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been a very good stove. I bought it several years ago. It has been reliable and is a good stove for the money. It takes a little more maintenance than a high end expensive stove yet beyond that it is comparable in quality and costs much less.
Most purchasers of pellet stoves like me have very little knowledge of how they work, are installed and what maintenance needs to be done. This isn't a heating device that you set the thermostat and let it run. No matter what type of stove it requires some work.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
ssculp
from Lansdale, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Now we are saving 40% on heating costs!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased for a 1,300 s.q ft. home to save on current oil heating costs. It turns out we don't even need to turn on the oil heat anymore which is saving us a about 40% from what our oil heating costs were.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500 sq. ft. Pellet Stove
sparky
from Hudson, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

englander 1500 pellet stove

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very pleased....would highly recommend...would purchase again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>