728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

Polyblend is America's # 1 grout. The non-sanded grout is polymer-modified to produce hard, dense joints that are resistant to shrinking, cracking and wear. It is formulated with proprietary technology to ensure durability, color consistency and quick setting.
Overall rating:
3.811 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(222 reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product158 of 212reviews
Rating Breakdown 222 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(112)
4
(49)
3
(11)
2
(7)
1
(43)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product158 of 212reviews
Customer questions and answers:
50 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Review 1 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Austin, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It DOES dry lighter, but no complaints!!

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #382 Bone 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
As others have said, the color lightens fairly dramatically between the time it's applied and when it's completely dry!
If at all possible, I highly recommend making a trip to your local Home Depot before you buy AND take a sample of your tile with you!! My local store's kitchen design consultant had samples that were MUCH closer to the actual color than what is shown on the package (and you should never base your final decision solely on the color of online photos).
Aside from that, I have nothing negative to say about this grout. I didn't install the tile myself (I used HD's Installation Services) but the results are exactly what I expected... AFTER it dried! When it first went on it was a bit darker than the color on the package, but the next day it was a perfect match to the store sample.
But most importantly, if your design includes anything with glass tiles (mine had one row of tile with glass inserts), be sure to use the Polyblend NON-sanded grout. It worked perfectly... not a single scratch and no visible haze on the glass (and/or the rest of the tile)!!
I also opted to have the installer add HD's Stain Blocker product, which is added directly to the grout when it is mixed and supposedly eliminates the need to apply a grout sealer after it has cured. That seems to be working well so far and is well worth an extra $10. It works with both sanded and non-sanded grout!!
In closing, the Polyblend non-sanded grout worked perfectly for me... and apparently my installer too!!
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

WARNING: Inconsistent color - lighter and darker than color sample

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #386 Oyster Gray 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Before purchasing I did my research on this brand and understood that for just about everyone the color came out a couple shades lighter than the color sample. This was fine as I wanted something just a tad lighter than Oyster Gray to complement my slightly off-white subway tile. Unfortunately, I got both ends of the spectrum: a couple shades mostly lighter which I wanted, but some areas that were a couple shades darker than the color sample (i did not want this). All told there's close to 1/3 of my shower (small basement shower) that has darker than advertised grout. . It's been over a week now and the darker parts haven't lightened up. Being too light or too dark is fine since I'd be able to compensate with color selection, but getting both ends (lighter and darker) is not good. I'm a bit disappointed with the result. Not really sure what can be done at this point. Not sure if the other colors of this non-sanded brand do the same in terms of getting lighter and darker colors, but you've been warned.
I've included a couple pictures. The wider shot shows as the darker color on the left part of the picture, though in the close-up you can see that color difference.
NOTE: 1. I used the Oyster Gray sanded version on the floor and that lightened up evenly. 2.Also, my contractor is the one who installed the grout so I'm going to assume they have some level of professional know-how as everything else they've done in my basement looks awesome.
Cons: inconsistent color, both lighter and darker in the same batch
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Oyster Gray is a great color!!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #386 Oyster Gray 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
My back splash was my first tiling experience- so I was fanatical about choosing the grout color. Since the tile is a mosaic with tans & gray stones, glass and stainless tiles the color of grout should have been easy. But many were too yellow, pinkish, or just too much of a contrast. for the mixtures of colors and textures.
Oyster Gray is really a lighter taupe that compliments the color variations of the tiles and the nickel accents I've used. The grout mixed well and was smooth to work with. It seemed to dry in the bucket faster than I expected, although it could be because I was slower applying. Coverage went further than advertised. Initially, it dried a little lighter but after sealing the color matched the box swatch. A couple of days later I resealed with Dupont's Stone Sealer & Color Enhancer, ($30) which did give the grout & stone a depth of the colors as if they were damp. (Not sure it was worth $30 though)
This grout also has a matching caulk, too. ($12) which did match- but was a pain to work with since it's NOT water washable.
This is a beautiful grout that should be offered in the stores. I believe it would blend with soooo many different tile colors. I'll definitely be using again!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks High End, color matches package
Cons: must work fast-dries quickly, had to order not available in stores
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from suburb o chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice grout

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #115 Platinum 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I used unsanded Polyblend platinum grout when installing a slate back splash with marble accents. I have used unsanded Polyblend previously in my bathroom so I am comfortable with the product. i used 1/8 inch spacers so I could have used either sanded or unsanded. Unfortunately I chose the unsanded. I went with it because I was afraid of scratching the natural stone tiles with the sanded. Big mistake on my part because natural stone varies in size and depth from tile to tile. Therefore, sometimes leaving spaces larger than 1/8 of an inch no matter how much you try to force tiles closer. This is why in the picture with the marble accents you see differences in the appearance of the grout. It was necessary to go back and refill some spaces that the grout had shrunk between tiles. I know, my fault completely. Not enough experience with natural tile. I don't think the sanded grout would have scratched noticeably and now some of my grouting looks wonky. Live and learn. I am happy with the color. It was consistent between the 2 batches I made from following directions on the box and reducing mathematically the ratio of water to grout poundage. I hope this helps.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Chardon, OH

Worst grout ever

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #145 Light Smoke 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
First of all I am not a novice. I've grouted before. This product is the worst ever and has caused hours and hours of heartache and has turned a bathroom we spent $15,000 to remodel to a bathroom worh 10 cents.
The grout colors have all turned an ugly gray color. The package said that we might experience efflouresence and to use a grout cleaner/acid to fix the problem. Well, that didn't work. So now we have to use a grout "paint" to get the color we want. Before we did that we decided to dig the grout out and try a darker color. It still turned an ugly whitish gray. We're going to call tech services and find out what the heck is wrong with their grout, but I have a feeling they'll just read from the package to us.
I wish we hadn't been stupid enough to go back and buy more of the same brand when we decided to dig it out and regrout. We have never ever had this problem.
Don't buy this grout. It's a waste of time, money and agony and it will ruin your bathroom.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from NJ
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why is the Color Sample Purple? This grout is dark brown

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #95 Sable Brown 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
After reading all the negative grout reviews, I did some research as to how NOT to have my dark grout turn out significantly lighter than anticipated and end up with white surface effervescence. I followed strict instructions on the water measurements and made sure my sponge was only damp. Also, i learned that grout has problem drying in humid or cold temperatures so I took a blow dryer to it to expedite the drying process and it did not effect the color. The Sable color is great with the tile I chose. I only got a bit of spotty grout toward the edges where you can't tell. And for people who are confused on what the color is. When you see the grout mix dry in the bag, that is the color the applied grout should dry to. My Sable brown looked like a melted chocolate bar when wet and dried lighter. I have posted a zoomed in photo for color comparison. On my computer screen the grout color sample looks purple lol
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Practice first!

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #381 Bright White 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Our first use of this non-sanded grout product so there was a learning curve. The first project we tried to follow the mixing directions, but it was too wet and our grout lines were not filled in enough. It was on a vertical surface so it was to easy to wipe out. It was also a mess to wipe off without being able to run outside to a hose for rinsing. Rinsing the sponge in a bucket of water didn't work well since the water was dirty and full of grout residue really quick. We were snowed in so I was running buckets of water through the house and dumping them out the back door. Now I have a mess to clean up outside. We didn't want to put this stuff down our drains. We did a tub surround and a kitchen countertop. We did the countertop grout twice to make sure we had nice full grout lines. We kind of figured out what the best mix was of grout and water. It looks very nice and is holding up well so far.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Color NOT what I thought it would be!!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #50 Nutmeg 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I had chosen this for my contractor to install and for it to match my color scheme. Once the contractor was done and job completed and once the grout dried, it appeared WAY lighter than what was pictured when I ordered this for store pick-up. The purpose of choosing this color grout was supposed to not only grout my bathroom wall tiles but I wanted to apply it to my penny floor. My contractor used a caulk that was a deep chocolate brown which I loved. If only I can find grout between the shades of deep chocolate brown and the nutmeg that was originally pictured. In the meantime, it seems as if I will have to go find a brown colored Sharpe and color in the grout and seal it and try to find a deeper color grout for my penny floor (Thank goodness I didn't apply this color to my penny floor).
Speaking of picture, this new picture looks like it's red or burgundy but the original picture looked brown.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: color is off
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Cleveland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it worked fine!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #382 Bone 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
After a problem with a Polyblend sanded grout not being anywhere near the color advertized for our floors, we took a chance on this for our backsplash. When mixing the color looked a little darker but i had a much better feeling this would turn out better for the bone color and it did. My only note is it is a bit whiter than we wanted but looked similar to grout applied on tile board sample from tile store. It applied smooth into the joints and cleaned up easily. We sealed the natural stone twice and that made it much easier to clean off the face of stone wiping the stone down about 7-10 times each. One note it tends to set up a little faster than their sanded grouts. Within 45 minutes it was stiffer to work with so make sure you have two people doing the job, one to apply grout and one to wipe done with sponge after the 10 minute setup.
Pros: Great Accent, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Rancho Cucamonga
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly as pictured

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #115 Platinum 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I was looking for a grout that wasn't white but also didn't look dirty for my shower. This was perfect. I have a glass panel (greens, tans, whites) and pale green/pale greenish gray 12" X 12" marble tiles. I wanted a grout that stayed in the background and this fit the bill beautifully. It doesn't overwhelm the glass tiles and allows them to be the focus. It was also used on the shower floor between river stones. As with the glass and marble, it allows the colors and individuality of the rocks to shine through and even though it's a pale gray, it doesn't look dirty. If you even notice it between the marble tiles, you'd call it gray. If you had to name the color between the glass tiles, you'd call it off-white. If you named the color as it appears on the floor, you'd call it white but it's all the same grout. I am delighted with it.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dries to a different color

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #60 Charcoal 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I had the same issue as other reviewers - once the grout dries the color lightens to a medium grey, not a charcoal as is pictured on the box. It seems like this is an issue with just about all black grout due to the amount of cement required.
HOWEVER I was able to salvage my project by using polyblend's grout renew colorant/sealant - it's good to seal your grout anyway and the charcoal grout renew does dry black!
I used the grout renew to brighten up dingy tile in the past so when I was disappointed in the color of this grout I was excited to see that they do make the grout renew in charcoal! I highly suggest that anyone planning on putting in tile with black grout uses the grout renew - I just used a toothbrush to scrub it on and wiped off the excess.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: dries to a different color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

dried almost white!

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #60 Charcoal 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Beware of using dark grout. I used this on tile that resembles dark wood floors with hopes the dark grout would help the real appearance of wood. However, it was a NIGHTMARE! It ended up drying almost white! I wanted to cry. I did some research and it seems this is a common problem while trying to obtain a dark grout line. Most people stated it may be from too much water or too much water in the clean up process. Anyway, I needed a solution fast and really didn't want to have to re grout or paint it so I choose to stain it with a staining marker made for wood with a color that best matched the tile. It was soooooooo Easy and real happy with the results. I recommend anyone who needs dark grout to do their homework first and maybe find a better brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Color wasnt even close

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #60 Charcoal 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I bought the Charcoal grout thinking it would be a nice color to completement my wood look tile I bought. I had a professional lay this grout a first time and the result was a light grey color with patches of white. I had the guy lay the grout again thinking that would fix the issue but again the grout was light grey. I tried cleaning with vinegar water as the manufacturer suggested which did nothing.
I attempted to find a way to fix this issue online and found out that multiple people had this same issue with this grout.
Take a look at the attached picture and see what Polyblend calls "charcoal". Will not be buying any Polyblend products again. If there was an option to give 0 out of 5 stars, I would have done it.
Pros: nothing
Cons: color is no where near what was described
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

Don't trust the color on the box!!!!! Quartz is beige.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #122 Linen 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I spent a lot of time, effort and money in tiling my bathroom backsplash, only to be seriously disappointed by the color of the grout. I brought the actual tile (Architectural Grey) into the store to find the perfect color of grout. The Quartz (101) matched almost perfectly. It was grey, like my tile. Maybe it was the fault of the fluorescent lighting in the store, but once applied, the grout does not match my tile. It just looks beige. I hate it. The company ought to fix this obvious color depiction problem AND the sales people at Home Depot need to warn everybody of the problem and help them find the true color they are looking for. I also had to buy a huge 10 box for my 4 foot backsplash project. Not happy!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not true to color on box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

Color chart is way off!!

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #382 Bone 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I used this grout for my bathroom renovation tiles which are a creamy beige. Judging from the Polyblend color chart the "bone" was a perfect match. When the contractor finished grouting it was the perfect bone color UNTIL IT DRIED!!! Now it is a chalky white color. So disappointing! Now I have to have him re-grout the whole bathroom, which is time and $$. Is it really that hard to put out an accurate color chart?? Or maybe they could just indicate on the box that "the pictured color is when the grout is wet, but dries a few shades lighter". Either that or Polyblend should just revise their color chart accurately! What a headache, waste of time & money in the middle of a renovation project!! :(
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
Cons: inaccurate color specified
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Fairmont, WV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Color doesn't match the box

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #380 Haystack 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
The product performed well for it's intended purpose, grout; however, the color that it dried to didn't match the box at all. We wanted a color that closely matched our tile, so we chose Haystack. It actually dried the color of "Bone" which was a completely separate color choice. We were actually ok with the lighter color but if you're looking for an exact match as to what is shown on the color swatch on the box, this product won't get you there. The "Haystack" caulk did seem to match the correct color so now we have the darker caulk and lighter grout. The inconsistent color wasn't because of mixing it incorrectly in batches either. We mixed the entire box at once.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Cons: color didn't match the box
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Mars, PA 16046, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This grout goes nicely with brown-ish tiles

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #95 Sable Brown 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
It is hard to tell online what color this product will actually look like when installed. Online it looks to be very purple, but when you see it installed in person there is only a slight hint of purple. I had installed a brown iridescent glass mosiac tile (small brown/copper squares...which I also bought at home depot...tile was manufactured by MS International) and this grout works fantastic with the brown tile. I think this grout is the perfect choice to use with brown tiles because it is the ideal shade of brown. I had seen this grout installed on a jobsite and I jotted down the product info. I am very happy with the finished results.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #52 Tobacco Brown 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
This product goes on beautifully. Then it dries. And it dries UGLY. Uneven color and spotty white crust. Called Polly blend, followed their directions... Buy their acid wash and scrub after 10 days drying time. Did that and it looked good wet then dried to the same UGLY. They did send "stain sealer " for me to basically paint all my grout lines. So several extra days labor and more money buying acid and brushes. Lots of negative reviews on other colors too. Surprised Home Depot continues to carry this product. Absolute Failure of a product.
Pros: none
Cons: dries to uneven color, leaves white residue, must use colored sealer for uniform color
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for the purpose...

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #92 Admiral Blue 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
It is key in mixing your product to have the right consistency (thick)and let it set (dry) several hours, if you use a sponge to smooth/wipe you will keep pulling the color out. Many complaints about the lack of color. It is key to let set and use something like cheese cloth to "clean tiles". and not pull the color out with a sponge. Normally grout does not stick to ceramic tile, it is not like epoxy grout which will stick to your tiles. Might take a bit of "elbow grease" to remove, but will retain your color.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: color won't be true if you sponge too much
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
from Glen Burnie, MD

Great Product for Patches

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #50 Nutmeg 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Best patch product for brick I've ever used. Very easy to use, no extra addatives to buy, and the handy 10# box (perfect for small touch ups at home) means you don't have to buy 25# or 50# bags that are subject to leaking and waste by getting wet while in storage. What's left over has unlimited shelf life, I just used the rest of a box I purchased over 7 years ago with excellent results. Variety of shading and tones with color matching on the box assures a perfect match. Would highly recommend this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>