728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grout or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

Polyblend is America's number 1 grout. The non-sanded grout is polymer-modified to produce hard, dense joints that are resistant to shrinking, cracking and wear. It is formulated with proprietary technology to ensure durability, color consistency and quick setting.
Overall rating:
3.792 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product87 of 118reviews
Rating Breakdown 125 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(28)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(23)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product87 of 118reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Review 1 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
margo1
from suburb o chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice grout

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #115 Plantinum 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I used unsanded Polyblend platinum grout when installing a slate back splash with marble accents. I have used unsanded Polyblend previously in my bathroom so I am comfortable with the product. i used 1/8 inch spacers so I could have used either sanded or unsanded. Unfortunately I chose the unsanded. I went with it because I was afraid of scratching the natural stone tiles with the sanded. Big mistake on my part because natural stone varies in size and depth from tile to tile. Therefore, sometimes leaving spaces larger than 1/8 of an inch no matter how much you try to force tiles closer. This is why in the picture with the marble accents you see differences in the appearance of the grout. It was necessary to go back and refill some spaces that the grout had shrunk between tiles. I know, my fault completely. Not enough experience with natural tile. I don't think the sanded grout would have scratched noticeably and now some of my grouting looks wonky. Live and learn. I am happy with the color. It was consistent between the 2 batches I made from following directions on the box and reducing mathematically the ratio of water to grout poundage. I hope this helps.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
JeffersonKitty
from Chardon, OH

Worst grout ever

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #145 Light Smoke 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
First of all I am not a novice. I've grouted before. This product is the worst ever and has caused hours and hours of heartache and has turned a bathroom we spent $15,000 to remodel to a bathroom worh 10 cents.
The grout colors have all turned an ugly gray color. The package said that we might experience efflouresence and to use a grout cleaner/acid to fix the problem. Well, that didn't work. So now we have to use a grout "paint" to get the color we want. Before we did that we decided to dig the grout out and try a darker color. It still turned an ugly whitish gray. We're going to call tech services and find out what the heck is wrong with their grout, but I have a feeling they'll just read from the package to us.
I wish we hadn't been stupid enough to go back and buy more of the same brand when we decided to dig it out and regrout. We have never ever had this problem.
Don't buy this grout. It's a waste of time, money and agony and it will ruin your bathroom.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Meryl
from NJ
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why is the Color Sample Purple? This grout is dark brown

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #95 Sable Brown 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
After reading all the negative grout reviews, I did some research as to how NOT to have my dark grout turn out significantly lighter than anticipated and end up with white surface effervescence. I followed strict instructions on the water measurements and made sure my sponge was only damp. Also, i learned that grout has problem drying in humid or cold temperatures so I took a blow dryer to it to expedite the drying process and it did not effect the color. The Sable color is great with the tile I chose. I only got a bit of spotty grout toward the edges where you can't tell. And for people who are confused on what the color is. When you see the grout mix dry in the bag, that is the color the applied grout should dry to. My Sable brown looked like a melted chocolate bar when wet and dried lighter. I have posted a zoomed in photo for color comparison. On my computer screen the grout color sample looks purple lol
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
AmishGuy
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Color wasnt even close

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #60 Charcoal 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I bought the Charcoal grout thinking it would be a nice color to completement my wood look tile I bought. I had a professional lay this grout a first time and the result was a light grey color with patches of white. I had the guy lay the grout again thinking that would fix the issue but again the grout was light grey. I tried cleaning with vinegar water as the manufacturer suggested which did nothing.
I attempted to find a way to fix this issue online and found out that multiple people had this same issue with this grout.
Take a look at the attached picture and see what Polyblend calls "charcoal". Will not be buying any Polyblend products again. If there was an option to give 0 out of 5 stars, I would have done it.
Pros: nothing
Cons: color is no where near what was described
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout

Don't trust the color on the box!!!!! Quartz is beige.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #122 Linen 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I spent a lot of time, effort and money in tiling my bathroom backsplash, only to be seriously disappointed by the color of the grout. I brought the actual tile (Architectural Grey) into the store to find the perfect color of grout. The Quartz (101) matched almost perfectly. It was grey, like my tile. Maybe it was the fault of the fluorescent lighting in the store, but once applied, the grout does not match my tile. It just looks beige. I hate it. The company ought to fix this obvious color depiction problem AND the sales people at Home Depot need to warn everybody of the problem and help them find the true color they are looking for. I also had to buy a huge 10 box for my 4 foot backsplash project. Not happy!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not true to color on box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-6points
3out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
CC49

Color chart is way off!!

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #382 Bone 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I used this grout for my bathroom renovation tiles which are a creamy beige. Judging from the Polyblend color chart the "bone" was a perfect match. When the contractor finished grouting it was the perfect bone color UNTIL IT DRIED!!! Now it is a chalky white color. So disappointing! Now I have to have him re-grout the whole bathroom, which is time and $$. Is it really that hard to put out an accurate color chart?? Or maybe they could just indicate on the box that "the pictured color is when the grout is wet, but dries a few shades lighter". Either that or Polyblend should just revise their color chart accurately! What a headache, waste of time & money in the middle of a renovation project!! :(
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
Cons: inaccurate color specified
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
CoolCatDaddio
from Mars, PA 16046, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This grout goes nicely with brown-ish tiles

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #95 Sable Brown 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
It is hard to tell online what color this product will actually look like when installed. Online it looks to be very purple, but when you see it installed in person there is only a slight hint of purple. I had installed a brown iridescent glass mosiac tile (small brown/copper squares...which I also bought at home depot...tile was manufactured by MS International) and this grout works fantastic with the brown tile. I think this grout is the perfect choice to use with brown tiles because it is the ideal shade of brown. I had seen this grout installed on a jobsite and I jotted down the product info. I am very happy with the finished results.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
handygirl
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for the purpose...

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #92 Admiral Blue 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
It is key in mixing your product to have the right consistency (thick)and let it set (dry) several hours, if you use a sponge to smooth/wipe you will keep pulling the color out. Many complaints about the lack of color. It is key to let set and use something like cheese cloth to "clean tiles". and not pull the color out with a sponge. Normally grout does not stick to ceramic tile, it is not like epoxy grout which will stick to your tiles. Might take a bit of "elbow grease" to remove, but will retain your color.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: color won't be true if you sponge too much
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
PATRIOT76A
from Glen Burnie, MD

Great Product for Patches

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #50 Nutmeg 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Best patch product for brick I've ever used. Very easy to use, no extra addatives to buy, and the handy 10# box (perfect for small touch ups at home) means you don't have to buy 25# or 50# bags that are subject to leaking and waste by getting wet while in storage. What's left over has unlimited shelf life, I just used the rest of a box I purchased over 7 years ago with excellent results. Variety of shading and tones with color matching on the box assures a perfect match. Would highly recommend this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
widget
from PA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PBG5010 Nutmeg, don't believe the advertised color

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #50 Nutmeg 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
The good news is that I had checked reviews before I did my whole floor. So I only did a couple seams to make sure this grout was going to be acceptable. The bad news is that the color differentiation was just too much. I was looking for a darker brown with a red tint, this was more of a pink with a brown tint.
So, if you are going to try this color, be sure to try some out in an inconspicuous spot before going all out and regretting it. Thanks to the other reviewers for alerting me to this possibility.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
DoItMYselfGal
from Central East Coast Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent, easy-to-use product

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #381 Bright White 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Because I detest big, fat grout joints in tile that I've spent a lot of money on, I decided to lay my beautiful 12 x 24" marble-looking (special order, of course) tile with 1/8" (or less) grout joints. The man at Home Depot recommended this unsanded grout for the skinny joints. I had never used unsanded grout, and was amazed at how easily it spread with a float. Cleanup with quick and easy, too, and the final product is gorgeous! I used this product in my new (larger) closet and in my bath/shower area.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective, easy to mix less than a whole bag
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
MissProject

Color of Grout Does Not Match Sample

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #145 Light Smoke 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I had the same experience as some of the other reviewers of this product. The color of the grout when cured was nothing like the color chart sample. I wish I had read the reviews before I installed the grout. I learned a valuable lesson. I will make a "test run" of cured grout before grouting the whole job next time. Now I face the task of recoloring the grout in an effort to get the shade represented by the packaging. The sanded grout in light smoke was somewhat closer to the sample color.
Cons: grout color too light
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
DSquared
from Westcliffe, CO 81252, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hard to find product exceeded our expectations.

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #90 Ocean Blue 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
We purchased and remodeled a small cabin in southern Colorado. We wanted a rustic and southwestern look, and decided to use some talavera tiles. However, we needed a blue grout to complete the look. We finally found it at Home Depot (along with the hickory cabinets) and just completed the installation. The grout was easy to mix and install, and was true to the color advertised. We couldn't be more pleased with the quality and price, not to mention the service at our local store!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, perfect color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Mike
from USA

Grout is grout

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #19 Pewter 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
As grout goes, this is pretty standard. A word of warning, though for the unsanded variety. Don't grout too large of an area or wait too long before you go back and sponge it off. I waited a little long and ended up scrubbing, essentially chiseling off the dried grout. Note also that using excess water to clean off the grout will significantly lighten the grout color. The only place the color matched the 'true' grout color was where I left the grout pretty much undisturbed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Mary

Color disaster

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #122 Linen 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I really wished I had read the reviews on this grout before my floors were grouted. Purchased the Montagna White Wash tile from Home Depot and chose bone grout. Work was done by a professional who complained about the difficultly of using this non sanded grout as it kept bubbling up. My entire condo is a disaster. Color is no white, no where close to what the color on the box shows or the grout sample at Home Depot. As a single woman I cannot afford to have them redone.
Cons: color discrepancies, problems with bubbling
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
thecakelady
from Largo, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Custom Building Products #333 Alabaster non sanded grout

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #333 Alabaster Non-Sanded Grout 10 lb.
I would like all Home Depot customers know that a Technical Dept Representative contacted me regarding my negative review of this product. She offered a more than fair & equitable resolution to the situation and I will try the product again in the future. This company truly does take Customer Service to another level - I was very appreciative that they are dedicated in seeing that their customers are satisfied with their products. Thank You Custom Building Products!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Almosttheend
from Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Think twice before you buy.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #386 Oyster Gray 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Unfortunately the color did not match the color sample that we picked up at our local Home Depot.
I did not think this would be a problem seeing I have used this grout manufactures product many time before without a difference in color that was so drastic as this, so I grouted the entire kitchen back splash, wife was not happy with the results. Should have known something was up when this was the only color that was a special order . Think twice before you buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
Porch1

Poor match to expected color

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #50 Nutmeg 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I worked matching colors for over 20 years and must say, the folks who put the color cards representing the grout color together did a really poor job. Main problem: the color is much too washed out and gray compared to the expected color. I ended up using an epoxy colorant/sealer over top. All said & done, I could have used a cheap gray grout and finished with the same colored epoxy sealer and been just as happy with the outcome.
Pros: Very Adhesive
Cons: Poor Color
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
spacecadetlms
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Uneven & Not Accurate Color

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Polyblend #384 Camel 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
The grout turned out to be a pink color! The color was very uneven and went from a beige to pinkish hue with a light red/brown in spots. I had it put in by a professional and they could not explain the uneven color. I got this grout because the color on the Home Depot sample matched beautifully with the Exodus groutable vinyl. The vinyl turned out great but with the grout, I have to find a way to fix it now! Very disappointing!
Cons: color does not match what it is supposed to be., color is uneven.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Polyblend #101 Quartz 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
renovation
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Color, easy to mix

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Polyblend #165 Delorean Gray 10 lb. Non-Sanded Grout
I recently installed over 500 square feet of beautiful slate flooring. I didn't want to get a product that would be low quality so I choose this based on a friend's recommendation. He is a contractor so I trust his opinion. It was easy to mix abd turned out great! The color is much darker than the final product, so don't freak out of the color doesn't match the shade shown on the packaging, it dries to match perfectly.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>