728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Insect Fogger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Propane Insect Fogger

The Black Flag Propane Insect Fogger is designed to provide quick treatment for mosquitoes and other insects in your yard. The handheld unit is powered with propane so that you can take it wherever it is needed on your property. This easy-to-use fogger offers insect control that lasts for hours.
Overall rating:
2.351 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product14 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
2.4 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(18)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product14 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for Propane Insect Fogger
Review 1 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Plymouth, MN, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does its job

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this fogger as a replacement for an old Burgess electric--I have only used it twice so far but it works well. The ignitor does not work, so I use a butane lighter instead which works just fine. Once the coil is red-hot (about three minutes after lighting), the fogger spews out consistent, thick white smoke. It doesn't really use as much propane as I expected, which is nice.
The only problem thus far is the ignitor not working. Almost all people who purchase these have that same problem, so if you don't mind lighting it with a butane lighter instead, it should work just fine.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, lightweight
Cons: ignitor does not work
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Ontario Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the old ones were a FAR SUPERIOR product

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i am on my 3rd one of these this summer......i replaced my old one with 3 new ones....the ignitors qwit working...one fo them spewed flames which would be catostrophic up north on a camping trip....and now the cap has broke on it...i have recomended them to many people as the GOOD ones do a perfect job of getting rid of bugs.....but SOMETHING TERRIBLE has obviously happened to quality control and i can no longer recomend spending this amount of money on a very poorly MADE product
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Murfreesboro

Totally awesome

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little leary from reading the reviews last year, but this is one of the best items I have ever bought. It has worked great for 2 years now, just make sure when you put it up for the winter that it is cleaned out good. Last year I read that people were having problems with this. Just use some common sense as you would any other piece of yard equipment. I wish there were other fogging materials that you could use with it, but so far I have found none.All in all I give this 5 stars! basicly.....buy it....of get bitten up! lol
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Insect Fogger

Works great no problems lighting

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Has tremendous output and is highly reliable. I leave it in the garage all winter and at the height of the summer take it out and works on the first try no maintenance.
People who have trouble lighting: set it on the ground. If you can't light it, you're standing up holding it in mid air, stop. Set it on the ground and it lights first time every time.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product needs work

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Live in country, lots and lots of skeeters. Had it for a month, use a lot. Mostly just chases them away for a short period, except for the big ones. The can sprays like yard guard work better at keeping them at bay than the liquid for this product. After a few uses the knob is very hard to turn and the ignitor button is iffy, it won't light 98% of time unless I use a lighter. Knob design needs changing for sure; have to use pliers to turn it. I'm not going to recommend this product only because of the insecticide...it doesn't work well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: knob and ignitor design bad, insecticide needs work
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Tarpon Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have owned several foggers & this one is great.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live on 5 treed acres and the mosquitos are everywhere. This fogger works like a dream. I placed my order on line and picked up the fogger at my local store. It was fast and easy.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Hingham, ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stopped working after 20 minutes

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brought this home and read the directions. After after 15 minutes of use it shut off and I could not re-light.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Chicago,Il

Small Areas Fogger OK Large NG

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tank on this fogger is so small it needs to be refilled constantly and the fill cap sticks and needs pliers to open every time. But other than those inconvienences the fogger works well.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a piece of JUNK!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used once. Had to use match to light as ignition switch didn't work. Next day went to use and switch fell off. It was then impossible to get propane to flow. Phoned the toll free number provided. Was asked to leave message and phone number. It has been 2 weeks and have heard nothing.
I definitely would not recommend this product!
Cons: Not Durable, junk, lack of customer service
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Zephyrhills, Fl
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HORRIBLE!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product and used it one time, worked fine. Next morning it wouldn't light no matter what I tried. Tried lighting it with al ighter, nothing, tried a torch, still nothing. Put it in the sunlight for 30 minutes and it finally lit, but then it started leaking the insecticide out everywhere. This is teh 2nd one I've had do this, but at least the 1st one made it a year before it leaked. Took it back and will be buying a different brand next time.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Mandeville, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

VERY DISAPPOINTED

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
VERY, VERY POOR THOUGHT WENT INTO THIS DESIG, PLASTIC MELTS , TRIGGER RUST OUT, PUMP WON'T PUMP! CAN'T FIND REPLACEMENT PARTS
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Insect Fogger
from DFW
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could be a very good product...

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been through three of these foggers and will be buying another brand. Each one has developed a leak or started to leak, to the point where ther insecticide simply runs out the bottom of the sprayer.
I will saw that new out of the box, they work really well. Good volume and very effective. I just think that for $60 - $65 dollars you should get something more than a disposable unit.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Insect Fogger

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this fogger works great.Even gets ticks
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Insect Fogger
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Here's Johnny!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Famous scene from The Shining where Jack Nicholson pops through the door and goes ballistic - that's how you'll feel with this "weapon" ,-]
I have a bamboo jungle in my (Florida) back yard surrounding my hot tub. Tiny mosquitoes wait outside my back door and swarm around my ankles as soon as I walk outside. While in the tub, they whiz around my face.
When I saw the fogger on the this web site I couldn't wait - I ran to an HD retail store and bought one....It REALLY fogs. Stay upwind.
Don't connect the propane till ready to use (forget the off switch). Click the spark lighter but don't expect to see some big confirmation of ignition - it takes a few minutes to reach critical mass. When you see it start to drip a bit from the nozzle, then press the trigger and watch it blow. I stepped out on my porch an hour later and the "no-see-ums" and skeeters were gone!!
FREE AT LAST!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, looks wicked -]
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Mid-Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought and returned three of these. Paperwork that comes with product asks that you not return it, rather call the factory. It's as if they knew.....HD took them in return each time. Went to Ace, bought a Burgess, this one has worked well.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Prudenville, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to Return

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to return the product. It wouldn't stay lit. Replaced it with a Cutter. That is working fine
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't last

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The igniter failed or simply didn't work. Pretty common problem.
The tank and pump were the main issue. The tank cracked around the top causing leaks. Then the pump gave out. I was able to fix both problems for a short time with epoxy before the tank plastic just melted away. I was using a petroleum based insecticide not the very expensive Black Flag.
Functioned less than a year.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Due Diligence

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very low Quality. leaking Propane at seal. Exchange it for another brand. Now Im happy.
Pros: refund
Cons: very low quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Performance

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Igniter button broke after 7 push attempts. Heating coil does not heat evenly and frequently goes out. Heat fails to adequately atomize liquid fogging material. Poor quality overall.
Original unit lasted 2 years. This unit needs replacement right out of the box.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Southern NEw JErsey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works BUT...

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me begin, I own a Pest Control/Termite Company in NJ for the past 22 years, I know insecticides well.
Purchased June 21, 2014 at Home Depot on the recommendation of one of my customers and friends. This is for a knockdown of flying insects, especially mosquitoes and some flies, not a cure all. After trying it with my friend then going to purchase one for myself I brought it home, put in a propane tank and solution and it lit up (coil heats up) and off and running.
I saw them fly and drop, especially under my large deck it was a great addition to my sprayers and it could get where only my very expensive, electric sprayers could and the smell was not offensive at all. Overall it worked.
So why one star, Well I let the nozzle cool down on the back of the truck and later set it on my truck seat. Now directions say 'keep on flat surface' and that's a no brainier. Now if you look at a truck seat it down toward the back so the unit was sitting level with the seat cushion..
Got up today, went to church, returned home, that would be less that one day later after using it, opened the door and the smell was there, the solution had leaked out of the unit, soaking my cushion and my seat is ruined.
Would you be upset with a new piece of equipment that leaked?
So back to Home Depot Monday to file a claim and return this 'piece of equipment' and wonder, did anyone else have this problem?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>