728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Insect Fogger

Propane Insect Fogger

The Black Flag Propane Insect Fogger is designed to provide quick treatment for mosquitoes and other insects in your yard. The handheld unit is powered with propane so that you can take it wherever it is needed on your property. This easy-to-use fogger offers insect control that lasts for hours.
Overall rating:
2.56 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product11 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product11 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for Propane Insect Fogger
Review 1 for Propane Insect Fogger
Anonymous
from Plymouth, MN, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does its job

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fogger as a replacement for an old Burgess electric--I have only used it twice so far but it works well. The ignitor does not work, so I use a butane lighter instead which works just fine. Once the coil is red-hot (about three minutes after lighting), the fogger spews out consistent, thick white smoke. It doesn't really use as much propane as I expected, which is nice.
The only problem thus far is the ignitor not working. Almost all people who purchase these have that same problem, so if you don't mind lighting it with a butane lighter instead, it should work just fine.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, lightweight
Cons: ignitor does not work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Insect Fogger
jlm1234

Works great no problems lighting

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Has tremendous output and is highly reliable. I leave it in the garage all winter and at the height of the summer take it out and works on the first try no maintenance.
People who have trouble lighting: set it on the ground. If you can't light it, you're standing up holding it in mid air, stop. Set it on the ground and it lights first time every time.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Insect Fogger
happ
from Ontario Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the old ones were a FAR SUPERIOR product

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i am on my 3rd one of these this summer......i replaced my old one with 3 new ones....the ignitors qwit working...one fo them spewed flames which would be catostrophic up north on a camping trip....and now the cap has broke on it...i have recomended them to many people as the GOOD ones do a perfect job of getting rid of bugs.....but SOMETHING TERRIBLE has obviously happened to quality control and i can no longer recomend spending this amount of money on a very poorly MADE product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Insect Fogger
Countrygal247
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product needs work

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Live in country, lots and lots of skeeters. Had it for a month, use a lot. Mostly just chases them away for a short period, except for the big ones. The can sprays like yard guard work better at keeping them at bay than the liquid for this product. After a few uses the knob is very hard to turn and the ignitor button is iffy, it won't light 98% of time unless I use a lighter. Knob design needs changing for sure; have to use pliers to turn it. I'm not going to recommend this product only because of the insecticide...it doesn't work well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: knob and ignitor design bad, insecticide needs work
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Insect Fogger
ALittleBitOfEverything
from Murfreesboro

Totally awesome

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little leary from reading the reviews last year, but this is one of the best items I have ever bought. It has worked great for 2 years now, just make sure when you put it up for the winter that it is cleaned out good. Last year I read that people were having problems with this. Just use some common sense as you would any other piece of yard equipment. I wish there were other fogging materials that you could use with it, but so far I have found none.All in all I give this 5 stars! basicly.....buy it....of get bitten up! lol
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Insect Fogger
dcmike
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Here's Johnny!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Famous scene from The Shining where Jack Nicholson pops through the door and goes ballistic - that's how you'll feel with this "weapon" ,-]
I have a bamboo jungle in my (Florida) back yard surrounding my hot tub. Tiny mosquitoes wait outside my back door and swarm around my ankles as soon as I walk outside. While in the tub, they whiz around my face.
When I saw the fogger on the this web site I couldn't wait - I ran to an HD retail store and bought one....It REALLY fogs. Stay upwind.
Don't connect the propane till ready to use (forget the off switch). Click the spark lighter but don't expect to see some big confirmation of ignition - it takes a few minutes to reach critical mass. When you see it start to drip a bit from the nozzle, then press the trigger and watch it blow. I stepped out on my porch an hour later and the "no-see-ums" and skeeters were gone!!
FREE AT LAST!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, looks wicked -]
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Insect Fogger

junk

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the first one and all but 1/4 of the liquid leaked out. Took it back and got another one. All but about half the liquid leaked out. I had to use a propane torch to light it because the igniter wouldn't work. Finally got it lit and it worked ok for the first few pumps but no matter how long I let it heat up, it would only shoot a stream of liquid and no fog. The only reason I gave it one star is because It wont let me give it zero stars.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Insect Fogger
Lotatin
from Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a piece of JUNK!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used once. Had to use match to light as ignition switch didn't work. Next day went to use and switch fell off. It was then impossible to get propane to flow. Phoned the toll free number provided. Was asked to leave message and phone number. It has been 2 weeks and have heard nothing.
I definitely would not recommend this product!
Cons: Not Durable, junk, lack of customer service
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Insect Fogger
InTheWoods
from Tarpon Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have owned several foggers & this one is great.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live on 5 treed acres and the mosquitos are everywhere. This fogger works like a dream. I placed my order on line and picked up the fogger at my local store. It was fast and easy.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Insect Fogger
BUGZ
from Mandeville, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

VERY DISAPPOINTED

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
VERY, VERY POOR THOUGHT WENT INTO THIS DESIG, PLASTIC MELTS , TRIGGER RUST OUT, PUMP WON'T PUMP! CAN'T FIND REPLACEMENT PARTS
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Insect Fogger
Ifxit123
from Chicago,Il

Small Areas Fogger OK Large NG

PostedJuly 7, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tank on this fogger is so small it needs to be refilled constantly and the fill cap sticks and needs pliers to open every time. But other than those inconvienences the fogger works well.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Insect Fogger
Gorilla
from Ponder
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works when it wants to

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
You have to use lighter every time , the unit I purchased just starts spraying raw fluid out nozzle without touching trigger. It seems like a waste of fluid while warning up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Insect Fogger
Missymisquitokiller
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Amazing fogger Really Works

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After the recent Flooding in Michigan, the Mosquito population has been 3 times the normal amount. We tried several products, but this one was the best. I know most people don't read the instructions so I suggest that you do. 3 days before applying, I got 5 bites in 10 mins. Yesterday I was out from 5p-midnight and I got 1 bite.
Thank you Black Flag
Pros: Great Quality
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Insect Fogger
Mike
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Performance

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Igniter button broke after 7 push attempts. Heating coil does not heat evenly and frequently goes out. Heat fails to adequately atomize liquid fogging material. Poor quality overall.
Original unit lasted 2 years. This unit needs replacement right out of the box.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Insect Fogger
HWRB
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't last

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The igniter failed or simply didn't work. Pretty common problem.
The tank and pump were the main issue. The tank cracked around the top causing leaks. Then the pump gave out. I was able to fix both problems for a short time with epoxy before the tank plastic just melted away. I was using a petroleum based insecticide not the very expensive Black Flag.
Functioned less than a year.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Insect Fogger
chris

doesn't really kill any mosquitoes

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used this product multiple times, and still get bitten, at the same rate as without fogging, I live in Miami, FL, and on our mosquitoes here it does not work,
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Insect Fogger
Britt

A good product that could have been

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our second item in 2013 and both of them quit on us within 5-10 times of use. The system does help to control mosquitoes but the "gun" is just not up for the job.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Insect Fogger
jimmy
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Due Diligence

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very low Quality. leaking Propane at seal. Exchange it for another brand. Now Im happy.
Pros: refund
Cons: very low quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Insect Fogger
kboy39470

PostedAugust 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this fogger works great.Even gets ticks
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Insect Fogger
trgo
from Parrish, FL 34219, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

INEFFECTIVE PLASTIC PIECE OF JUNK

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fogging for mosquitos is a reasonable concept, and the Black Flag fogging liquid does seem to work on mosquitos.
The Black Flag propane applicator is just plain JUNK , however!
Do not buy this thing!
Mine worked for one week, and I returned it.
The "Burgess" propane fogger looks to be better built, and it does have mostly good owner reviews.
FORGET about this Black Flag thingy!!!
NEVER AGAIN FOR ME !!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 >>