728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Propane Insect Fogger

Propane Insect Fogger

The Black Flag Propane Insect Fogger is designed to provide quick treatment for mosquitoes and other insects in your yard. The handheld unit is powered with propane so that you can take it wherever it is needed on your property. This easy-to-use fogger offers insect control that lasts for hours.
Overall rating:
2.351 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product14 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(18)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product14 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Propane Insect Fogger
Review 1 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Plymouth, MN, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does its job

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fogger as a replacement for an old Burgess electric--I have only used it twice so far but it works well. The ignitor does not work, so I use a butane lighter instead which works just fine. Once the coil is red-hot (about three minutes after lighting), the fogger spews out consistent, thick white smoke. It doesn't really use as much propane as I expected, which is nice.
The only problem thus far is the ignitor not working. Almost all people who purchase these have that same problem, so if you don't mind lighting it with a butane lighter instead, it should work just fine.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, lightweight
Cons: ignitor does not work
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Ontario Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the old ones were a FAR SUPERIOR product

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i am on my 3rd one of these this summer......i replaced my old one with 3 new ones....the ignitors qwit working...one fo them spewed flames which would be catostrophic up north on a camping trip....and now the cap has broke on it...i have recomended them to many people as the GOOD ones do a perfect job of getting rid of bugs.....but SOMETHING TERRIBLE has obviously happened to quality control and i can no longer recomend spending this amount of money on a very poorly MADE product
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Hingham, ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stopped working after 20 minutes

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brought this home and read the directions. After after 15 minutes of use it shut off and I could not re-light.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Zephyrhills, Fl
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HORRIBLE!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product and used it one time, worked fine. Next morning it wouldn't light no matter what I tried. Tried lighting it with al ighter, nothing, tried a torch, still nothing. Put it in the sunlight for 30 minutes and it finally lit, but then it started leaking the insecticide out everywhere. This is teh 2nd one I've had do this, but at least the 1st one made it a year before it leaked. Took it back and will be buying a different brand next time.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Victoria, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New purchase

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought the Fogger from Home Depot this afternoon, and used it this evening when the wind finally died down. It helps to read and follow the instructions! I fogged around the house, bushes, and open back yard. I think it helps, the mosquitoes were not as bad. I think it will take several applications to know for sure. So far I am pleased.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Mid-Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought and returned three of these. Paperwork that comes with product asks that you not return it, rather call the factory. It's as if they knew.....HD took them in return each time. Went to Ace, bought a Burgess, this one has worked well.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Propane Insect Fogger
from DFW
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could be a very good product...

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been through three of these foggers and will be buying another brand. Each one has developed a leak or started to leak, to the point where ther insecticide simply runs out the bottom of the sprayer.
I will saw that new out of the box, they work really well. Good volume and very effective. I just think that for $60 - $65 dollars you should get something more than a disposable unit.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Prudenville, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to Return

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to return the product. It wouldn't stay lit. Replaced it with a Cutter. That is working fine
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Propane Insect Fogger

Works great no problems lighting

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Has tremendous output and is highly reliable. I leave it in the garage all winter and at the height of the summer take it out and works on the first try no maintenance.
People who have trouble lighting: set it on the ground. If you can't light it, you're standing up holding it in mid air, stop. Set it on the ground and it lights first time every time.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Fort Myers, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth the money or time.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used mine for one summer. About 10 times. It got the leak. Sent it in and it was replaced free of charge (guess I had to pay to ship broken one back). Received the second one in a timely manner. Used it 4 times and the leak happened again. I am not sure if too much pressure from the pump busts something or the heat from the product melts something but this product is not worth your money. Those who have a few years out of theirs are far and few between. There have to be better foggers on the market. I remember my grandfather having one at his camp that was all metal which he had for a few decades. Wish he was around to tell me the brand. For the price, this is junk. Gave it two stars because the replacement process was NOT a hassle.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Murfreesboro

Totally awesome

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little leary from reading the reviews last year, but this is one of the best items I have ever bought. It has worked great for 2 years now, just make sure when you put it up for the winter that it is cleaned out good. Last year I read that people were having problems with this. Just use some common sense as you would any other piece of yard equipment. I wish there were other fogging materials that you could use with it, but so far I have found none.All in all I give this 5 stars! basicly.....buy it....of get bitten up! lol
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Southern NEw JErsey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works BUT...

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Let me begin, I own a Pest Control/Termite Company in NJ for the past 22 years, I know insecticides well.
Purchased June 21, 2014 at Home Depot on the recommendation of one of my customers and friends. This is for a knockdown of flying insects, especially mosquitoes and some flies, not a cure all. After trying it with my friend then going to purchase one for myself I brought it home, put in a propane tank and solution and it lit up (coil heats up) and off and running.
I saw them fly and drop, especially under my large deck it was a great addition to my sprayers and it could get where only my very expensive, electric sprayers could and the smell was not offensive at all. Overall it worked.
So why one star, Well I let the nozzle cool down on the back of the truck and later set it on my truck seat. Now directions say 'keep on flat surface' and that's a no brainier. Now if you look at a truck seat it down toward the back so the unit was sitting level with the seat cushion..
Got up today, went to church, returned home, that would be less that one day later after using it, opened the door and the smell was there, the solution had leaked out of the unit, soaking my cushion and my seat is ruined.
Would you be upset with a new piece of equipment that leaked?
So back to Home Depot Monday to file a claim and return this 'piece of equipment' and wonder, did anyone else have this problem?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Propane Insect Fogger

Black flag fogger

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this unit about 8 years ago and it works great. No problem with lighting
And once heated it spews out a massive amount of fog. We store it in the garage in a plastic bag lying flat and have had no issues with it leaking. Always careful to protect the tip end cause if it gets damaged lighting problems can occur.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product needs work

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Live in country, lots and lots of skeeters. Had it for a month, use a lot. Mostly just chases them away for a short period, except for the big ones. The can sprays like yard guard work better at keeping them at bay than the liquid for this product. After a few uses the knob is very hard to turn and the ignitor button is iffy, it won't light 98% of time unless I use a lighter. Knob design needs changing for sure; have to use pliers to turn it. I'm not going to recommend this product only because of the insecticide...it doesn't work well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: knob and ignitor design bad, insecticide needs work
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Orlando
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 and out

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is garbage. Won't stay hot enough to fog. After trying 3 of them I gave up. Ironically the version this one replaced was actually better.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Propane Insect Fogger
from key west
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great for 2 years

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
great product, except after 2 years of limited use it started having problems. the ignitor stopped working (butane lighter solved that), then soon after it started leaking fluid somewhere, so then i dis-assembled it to try to repair the leaking and noticed the yellow plastic around the metal nose was more than slightly melted due to heat from the coils (i would fog for about a 1/2 hour at a time). i thought that was the cause of the leaking fluid as the plastic halves would not go together properly causing the leaking fluid. i re-assembled it best i could and now if i am careful and only 1/2 fill it the unit still works OK. again i have to light it with butane lighter. some hints: make sure you turn the propane valve all the way open after first minutes, allow it to heat-up the coils at least 3 minutes before pulling trigger, and try to time your trigger pulls about 1 minute apart to allow the coil to heat-up again. as for the melted plastic housing i believe the wrong yellow plastic formula was used, i had a burgess unit a quite a while ago but it got clogged up. that burgess unit had a different black plastic housing with a much higher heat resistant plastic so no melting. i am going to buy at HD the electric version (looks much like my old burgess unit) as i really need a working fogger. that electric unit seems to have the same heat resistant plastic as before. also i agree the fluid is very hard to get, i suggest ordering the 64 oz. package on-line from HD, have it shipped to your local store for "free shipping" pick-up. i remember around $15.00.
Pros: great when it works, kills mosquitoes
Cons: Not Durable, should work longer, should have a more heat resistant plastic housing, neds mechanical re-design, cutter orange unit appears to be same design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Propane Insect Fogger
from northeast il.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was very disappointing, it worked three times and and that was that, it leaked very badly, it used up the insect repellent like it was going out of style, I would not recommend this product to anyone, it was a complete waste of money for me and I regret purchasing this product, if you want a good fogger, then look elsewhere which is exactly what I'm doing.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Tarpon Springs, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have owned several foggers & this one is great.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live on 5 treed acres and the mosquitos are everywhere. This fogger works like a dream. I placed my order on line and picked up the fogger at my local store. It was fast and easy.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Propane Insect Fogger
from St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Here's Johnny!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Famous scene from The Shining where Jack Nicholson pops through the door and goes ballistic - that's how you'll feel with this "weapon" ,-]
I have a bamboo jungle in my (Florida) back yard surrounding my hot tub. Tiny mosquitoes wait outside my back door and swarm around my ankles as soon as I walk outside. While in the tub, they whiz around my face.
When I saw the fogger on the this web site I couldn't wait - I ran to an HD retail store and bought one....It REALLY fogs. Stay upwind.
Don't connect the propane till ready to use (forget the off switch). Click the spark lighter but don't expect to see some big confirmation of ignition - it takes a few minutes to reach critical mass. When you see it start to drip a bit from the nozzle, then press the trigger and watch it blow. I stepped out on my porch an hour later and the "no-see-ums" and skeeters were gone!!
FREE AT LAST!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, looks wicked -]
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Propane Insect Fogger
from Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is a piece of JUNK!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used once. Had to use match to light as ignition switch didn't work. Next day went to use and switch fell off. It was then impossible to get propane to flow. Phoned the toll free number provided. Was asked to leave message and phone number. It has been 2 weeks and have heard nothing.
I definitely would not recommend this product!
Cons: Not Durable, junk, lack of customer service
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 >>